ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Live Life to the Fullest on a Gluten Free Diet

Updated on May 24, 2012

Celiac Suffers

For those who have Celiac Disease, you can still maintain a well-rounded lifestyle filled with a variety of foods. The disease does not have to take over your life. In this article, you will learn of information and resources to help those who have been resorted to a gluten free diet.

Persons with Celiac have an altered make-up of bacteria in their colon, which favors unwanted bacteria. So those who suffer, when they take in products with gluten, it can injury to the lining of the small intestine. This in effect causes a person bloating, diarrhea, upset stomach, cramps, gas, and even vitamin and mineral deficiencies. Some Celiac suffers will tell you they spend a lot more time in the bathroom then they would have liked to, before they found out they had Celiac.

Over 80% of people ingest wheat or wheat based products. However, for Celiac suffers they must avoid this food or any food containing this, all together. It is not always easy, however it is a must if you don’t want to suffer anymore. 9 out of 10 people who suffer don’t even know it is because they need to rearrange their diet to a gluten-free diet. However, by visiting the doctor and through a blood test, they will be able to know for sure. In addition, Celiac suffers are genetic as well.

Your doctor amongst others can be a source of reference on helping with what foods not to eat, however, a lot of suffers have resorted to researching the disease themselves. There are a lot of books out there on the market, including cook books for those who are on a gluten free diet.

Elizabeth Hasselbeck Gluten Free Diet

Gluten Free Rules

The following are a few rules to abide by when following a gluten-free diet:

1. Do not eat any of following grains: wheat, rye, and barley

2. Many restaurants are starting to accommodate those on a gluten free diet. If you are unsure, always ask.

3. When reading labels on foods at the store, it may very well contain gluten if it says the following: Stabilizer, Starch, Flavoring, Emulsifier, Hydrolyzed, and Plant Protein. Ask someone that works at the store, there may be an isle dedicated to gluten-free products, or they may know of specific products that are gluten free.

What Can I Eat on a Gluten Free Diet?

Milk and Dairy Products
In general, you can eat these products, especially cheese, milk, and eggs. But be careful with products like some sour cream, yogurt, and dairy creamers. Read the labels. Some manufactures add other products to confirm the texture of some dairy products. Most malted milk products contain gluten.

Vegetables and Fruits
It shouldn’t come as a big surprise that all vegetables and fruits do not contain gluten. They are the healthiest foods to eat on the earth. So eat up in abundance.

On a gluten free diet you can eat meat, as long as it is 100% Meat. This means you can eat any meat that is not breaded or contains a sauce that has gluten in it. If the meat is not 100% meat, always read the label or ask. Some restaurants or manufacturers add sauces to meats that contain flour or wheat based products, and this wouldn’t be good for someone suffering Celiac.

Bread and Grains
If you are a bread lover, being on a gluten-free diet is not easy. However, those with celiac must avoid most bread at all costs. So what type of bread and grain products can you eat?

Cream of Rice, cornmeal, hominy, rice, wild rice, gluten-free noodles, rice wafers, pure corn tortillas, specially prepared breads made with: corn, rice, potato, soybean, tapioca, arrowroot, carob, buckwheat, millet, amaranth, and quinoa flour.

Although not allowed to eat sweets like cakes, cookies, doughnuts, pastries, and pretzels, rest assured that you can eat certain potato chips, chewing gum, certain ice cream, chocolate, popcorn, jelly’s, brown and white sugars. Just make sure you always read the labels.

Gluten Free Gifts and Products

There may be more foods that you can eat while on gluten-free diet. I recommend the “Going Gluten Free Without Losing Your Mind Teleclass” which gives you all the tips and techniques to transition your lifestyle to one without gluten. It can also be a great gift for someone.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MananaBango profile image


      7 years ago

      Wonderful post, I remember when I was first diagnosed it was TERRIBLE finding anything to eat. I'm so happy this knowledge is becoming more available!

    • mama_em profile image


      7 years ago

      Great post! Once you get the hang of gluten free cooking, you don't miss out on anything.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)