ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Kosher Caviar

Updated on May 5, 2009

Shop for Kosher Caviar

Not all caviar is kosher, but kosher caviar does exist! As long as the fish that produces the roe is a kosher fish, then the roe is kosher as well. There are actually a number of varieties of kosher roe to choose from. This lens will provide you with all you need to enjoy kosher caviar.

Salman Roe

Perfectly salty and delicate, this roe goes well on toasted black rye with hot melted butter.

Black Whitefish Caviar

It's not an oxymoron. Black whitefish caviar reminds of beluga caviar, except the it's kosher.

Golden Whitefish Caviar

Beautifully rich color enhances this luxurious roe.

Bottarga (Dried Mullet) Caviar

"Also called Sardinian caviar, bottarga is made with salted and pressed mullet roe. It looks like a square brownish-orange salami and keeps for months in the refrigerator if well wrapped. Bottarga is sliced paper-thin and served with olive oil as an antipasto, and it flavors one of Sardinia's most famous pasta dishes, maccheroni alla bottarga." (Taken from

A delicious Caviar idea... perfect for the shabbat table

A delicious Caviar idea... perfect for the shabbat table
A delicious Caviar idea... perfect for the shabbat table

What does it mean for food to be considered "kosher"?

Kosher, literally means "proper". Kosher food is food that adheres to Jewish dietary law - generally meaning it does not contain certain animal products or a mixture of products and that the food, including its preparation, was supervised to make sure that none of the ingredients or cooking vessels (pots, pans, ovens, cutlery, dishes, etc.) came in contact with non-kosher food.

Contrary to popular misconception, "kosher" does not mean that the food was blessed by a rabbi. Kosher meat can only come from animals that chew their cud and have split hooves and that are slaughtered in a certain way and salted to remove as much blood as possible. Kosher fish are those that have gills, fins, and scales. Dairy and meat must also be consumed separately and prepared and served with separate utensils.

There are dozens of kosher agencies that inspect and supervise food products. These agencies will license their symbol (called a heksher) to place on products to certify that the products are kosher. The most recognizable symbols are the OU (an O with a U in it), OK (circle with a K), or a Star-K. "Keeping kosher" generally refers to only eating kosher food.

More information on what it means for something to be kosher can be found here.


Submit a Comment

No comments yet.


This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

Show Details
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)