ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Nicer Dicer Plus - An Australian Review

Updated on May 19, 2013

The NICER Dicer Plus. Does It Really Play NICE?

The Nicer Dicer Plus In Australia - I recently watched the Nicer Dicer Plus advertised on Australian TV. On first appearance it seems to be great time saver in the kitchen, so I set about finding out if it actually works as advertised. I researched all the mummy forums I could find.

I was shocked by what I found.

Most people felt they wasted their money with their purchase. Others, defending the product, mentioned that the naysayers simply didn't know how to correctly use the device. The purpose of the lens is to give you enough information to make your own decision.

Background History

The Nicer Dicer Plus is an upgrade to a previous Nicer Dicer model which sold millions in Europe and the USA. The dicer is manufactured by Genius, a company based in Germany.

The device is made of plastic and stainless steel and consists of a 10 piece multi chopper. The primary benefits being speed of dicing fruit and vegetables, no mess, easy to clean, and economical use of kitchen cupboard space when stored.

Judging from the all genius nicer dicer plus videos on youtube it is especially popular in Mexico, France and Germany, and it's picking up momentum in the Australian market.

In Australia you can't buy the Nicer Dicer Plus from say Target or Big W but there are many other alternatives that are available.

Don't forget to have your say of what you think of the Nicer Dicer Plus at the end of this review.

Genius ISO 9001 Certification
Genius ISO 9001 Certification

About Genius Products Germany - Genius GmbH

Genius Products was founded in 1995 and was originally called Euro Produkt Marketing and started trading as Genius GmbH after 2001. The company received ISO 9001 certification in 2010. Genius supplies a growing list of business partners in Europe, America, South Africa, the Middle East and Asia. Genius started broadcasting infomercials on German TV on June 2008 and this marketing model has since been adopted by it's business partners elsewhere.

Customer Reviews And Complaints

I did some research of the forums for real customer reviews and complaints about the Nicer Dicer Plus.

By far the biggest complaint is that blades are not strong enough for harder vegetables such as potatoes and pumpkins. This would seem like false advertising when you see the TV commercial and how easy it looks. It's as if they are not using any force at all and are simply opening and closing the lid to dice and chop. They obviously softened the vegetables by lightly boiling them first.

Another issue is that you still need to chop up the vegetables into small enough shapes anyway to fit into the small hole at the top of dicer. So what is the point, you might as well just continue using your knife and chopping board and slice the rest of the vegetable anyway? Saves washing up.

The blades are meant to be made of stainless steel but some customers have reported that they tarnish and bend over time. For the same price you could get robust food processor instead.

Despite the advertising. It's still a pain to clean and dry each attachment that you use.

Some people have complained that the containers do not fit properly. Please leave a comment if you found this to be true?

How To Use The Nicer Dicer Plus

A lot of user complaints seem to stem from improper use of the nicer dicer plus. It seems that some people are not doing the copping motion correctly. It should be approached with a quick and fast action - like a karate chop. This is especially true for harder vegetables such as potatoes. Also harder vegetables such as potatoes should be slightly softened by boiling them first..

Buy Nicer Dicer In Australia
Buy Nicer Dicer In Australia

Nicer Dicer Plus In Australia

Unfortunately, in Australia the Nicer Dicer Plus is only available from the TV infomercial call in number. But, there are alternatives dicers that you can purchase from other stores. They are just as good and a lot cheaper.

For a cheaper alternative in Australia check out Soldsmart Australia. The older dicers are less functional but a lot cheaper.

Ohki Australia have a great range of electric food processors. But, bear in mind that electric food processors do involve more cleaning and hassle than manual dicers, but there is the benefit that you don't have to soften the harder vegetables like potatoes first by steaming them.

Nicer Dicer Plus On Amazon

Nicer Dicer Plus is only available from Genius partners who only advertise by TV Infomercials. If you live in the US you can consider one of these alternative dicers from Amazon. Make sure you check out reviews by customers on Amazon before making a decision.

Nicer Dicer Plus English Youtube Video

Most of the videos on Youtube for the Genius Nicer Dicer are in German, French or Mexican. We found this English video that explains the product more.

Because the Nicer Dicer Plus makes slicing and dicing fast and effortless ....

we would like to know which vegetable you find the most frustrating to dice and chop?

See results

Have your say. The internet is full of fake reviews.


What are your experiences with the Genius Nicer Dicer plus?


Is it good or bad?


PLEASE, only comment if you have actually purchased the product.. Positive and Negative comments about the product are welcome. Help others by giving legitimate reviews.

Is The Nicer Dicer Plus Any Good?

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Preeti Shah 2 years ago

      Nice Product, I bought it from www.khareedi.com

    • profile image

      Neena 2 years ago

      I purchased nicer dicer plus from onlinestation, mentioning that they are providing original USA product, but I received it broken and it is a duplicate china product. I am contacted them so many times , but not responding. I am cheated , I want my money back please give me the solution.

    • profile image

      Eduardo 2 years ago

      Preza, elpizw na paartirises oti ta arxeia einai .tiff kai einai poliselida, kai na min eides mono tin 1 selida. Den einai mia selida kathe arxeio.Dokimase kanena programma opws to irfanview.

    • profile image

      Barbara 2 years ago

      A complete waste of money when I returned it the hassle and time to get refund the product did not do all it is craped up to do I was totally not impressed.

    • profile image

      myra-sarri 3 years ago

      Just I wasted my money! I am very disappointed!

    • profile image

      birdmob 3 years ago

      Wasted my money, went to cut baby potatoes into chips the first use. One blade popped out and the rest bent so cannot be used again. wouldn't recommend it, very disappointed

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      i am having difficulty using as it as i am unsure as to whether all potatoes etc have to be parboiled. it definitely is not as simple to use as it seems. especially want to make sweet potato wedges so do they need to be boiled first?

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I bought one too. It is absolutely useless. Was wondering if you took yours back and got your money back.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I bought this last week, have spent more time trying to get the half cut items out of the blade areas. have ended up cutting my finger and thumb trying to push food through the holes. paid $99 for it and am going back to Big W this week to get my money back. useless for hard veg and even the mushrooms only went through halfway. !!!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I bought my Nicer Dicer from Target (Australia) for $49.90 about three months ago and have never regretted it. I love home made soup, and save probably an hour each time chopping and dicing vegetables. Yes, you do have to cut vegies etc to size to fit the cutting grid, but it still saves you an enourmous amount of time. It struggles with hard vegetables such as suede, and tends to mash ripe tomatoes but everything else has been fine. I have had no problem whatsoever with carrots and potatoes and haven't had to steam or pre-soften anything. Also immensely grateful that I don't have to chop or slice onions by hand anymore!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I loved the Nicer Dicer Plus, I bought it from a shopping centre stall for $40 minus the tomato and grater attachments. However over time the plastic began to break and the lid has entirely snapped in half! I'd like to get a new lid or if there is a product with better plastic I'd love to know about it because it does save time.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I think its great, I make lots of soup and its fab. Easy to user and easy to clean. I bought mine from NGT Solutions

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I was lucky enough to be given one of these "incredible kitchen helpers" for my birthday, probably because I always rubbish informercial advertised products. One of the TV Commercials made it seem easy to cut ham into cubes - even on the TV ad, it seemed like it was struggling - I tried and it FAILED. Carrots straight out of the bag - had to cut them first into small pieces no bigger than 2 inches ling - and the "machine" did not like the carrots either. I tend to cut then cook rather than the otherway around. As for quartering applies - it was easier to use my sharp knife. The device ended up in the cupboard, and there it stayed..

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I bought the nicer dicer plus on eBay for $20 and to be honest that's all it,s worth i find the old sharp knife more realiable and less messy than the nicer dicer if you still have to cut your vegetables and fruit before you use the nicer dicer stay with the knife.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Does anyone have an English version of the Manual. Mine came with a German version.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      A complete waste of time and money.Bought mainly to chop sweet potatoes etc. because of arthritis.found it just as difficult as chopping by hand as you need to cut vegetables small enough to place in the machine,this renders the machine practically useless.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I've found it takes more time than just chopping stuff up myself. A waste of money! I can't get through hard things at all and even pieces of onion (which I have to chop up anyway to fit in) I have to put my whole weight on it just to cut one bit. Even capsicum just gets half cut through. The only useful bit is the grater but I already had one of them. Definitely not as advertised! Incredibly disappointed... Better off spending the money on a decent knife.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      @anonymous: I was quite impressed by that too!! Made chopping for Chutney a whizz :-)

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I read the reviews and / but bought a Nicer Dicer online so it was only $30. Nothing is magic so you have to do some preparation of your fruit and veggies first but overall I really like this product. It is quick after the initial peeling etc and makes great fruit salad, Greek salad and coleslaw. I have found cheese difficult to chop although the Feta was ok and tomatoes must be firm. There is an art to the chopping movement and you can't be too gentle but the product seems robust enough to handle that. It is relatively easy to clean. I think it is a good addition to the kitchen as long as you don't expect it to do all the work for you. Of course the TV adds are going to make it look like magic - after all they are trying to sell it!

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I have just been given a Nicer Dicer Plus as a gift and I think it is fantastic!. Yes the cutting area is small and you do have to portion vegetable pieces to fit but it still cuts down on the amount of time it takes to slice and dice food. I diced pumpkin without any dramas at all as well as zucchini, capsicum, eggplant and onion. Follow instructions and experiment a bit. It is an expensive unit but I am glad I have it. (I had planned to buy one at some stage but receiving one as a gift was an added bonus). I work in a high school in Food Technology and we are now going to purchase 3 for use by students.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      20 to 30 dollars on eBay

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Used a neighbours the other day to chop onions, apples and skinned tomatoes to make chutney. We halved all the veg anyway which is what we would do if preparing manually to chop. We lifted the lid up completely to place veg on cutters and it worked brilliantly - so much so that we both considered whether we should buy our own. Can get it very cheap on ebay and amazon.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      purchased one of these and found the grater great but you have to use smaller slices for the machine to really work and found if you par boil the potatoes it cuts like a breeze especilly for potato salad.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Can anyone tell me if I got the right product? It looks identical to the one on the infomercial, but came with no booklet. Mine's ok but can't do carrot or potatoes very well. Got it through Amazon UK

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I don't get how everybody has problems, ours works fine with potatoes and carrots

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      used the grater and while grating a carrot the gratter snapped, just bent in half.The tabs that hold it in to the unit snapped and fell into the food below and cut my thumb.Not happy.Taking it back to harvey norman

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      The blade area is too small. What would work better is if the blade area was the length of the container/ about the length of a medium sized carrot. The reason the blade area is so small is because otherwise the vegetables slip out of the blades when cutting. This can be solved simply by having the hinge on the long end/ side of the container with spikes on the lid to stop vegetables from slipping out.

      by Universal Ideas

      Making the world a better place together, forever.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Be aware that there are an AWFUL lot of fake products out there claiming to be the genuine Genius Nicer Dicer plus. Check out Amazon Uk for some of the varieties of nicer dicers - some of which are flimsy and down right dangerous. The real thing though is an absolute dream to use.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      Really good Lens, well thought out and presented. Best wishes to you for 2013.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      I bought the nicer dicer but found the blade area is way too small for any average size vegetable and have to cut to size first which is a waste of time. Cutting carrots, forget it. It is good for slicing mushrooms and other soft food like feta cheese, seeded tomatoes, capcicums and fruit. I also tried to dice up ham and but it gets caught in the largest blade so may as well just dice it while I have the cutting board out. In general I think if the cutting area was made much larger it would work better but you do need to push the lid down quite hard. Don't be afraid to put a bit of weight behind it. As for grating, no good either. I tried to grate some carrots but the platform bend and there is now a slight crack in it. Better off grating things in a normal grater so all in all for what you get I would not recommend it to any of my friends and regret buying it.

    • profile image

      anonymous 4 years ago

      just now got the delivery of broken product, very flimsy don't waste your money...

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      @anonymous: the book doesnt tell you much but use common sense its easy enough

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      i brought one of these things and yes it saves me time, there are some things it wont cut properly like oranges,even a knife wont do them properly, the cutting blades are not overly large so you have to cut things to fit, i think some people want miracles from this thing, what the heck do you want for $30? so far i have not had a problem but not every kitchen appliance works 100%, you can spend up to $200 ,$300 for a kitchen appliance that may do all of these things and still have it not work properly, i figure if it lasts a year with a bit of work it has to do then its money well spent, better lose $30 then up to $200 or more, i'm happy enough.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I am disappointed because as you say they must have prepared the food first, also my grater snapped in half while I was grating carrots and not much pressure was being applied.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      poor on chopping potatoes in to chips ended up with mini chips very disappointed with the product

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      can u help me whr i get nicer dicer plus in qatar

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I love this product.I have had absolutely no issues with its use,although I guess I am flying blind as there were no real instructions that came with it and may be not getting the best out of it.I do have the blades wet and hard vegetables wet when I am using it.Chops them with relative ease,although not as easy as it appears on TV ads

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      cannot use my nicer dicer as the instruction book is in german cannot read, do not know where i can get a book in english.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I reckon it works well. A bowl of water to put harder vegies in just before dicing seems to help.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      I have found it fantastic. Compact, easy to clean, doesn't take up much room in the cupboard and if you follow the instructions it is easy and time saving. I am buying another one for a friend.

    • profile image

      anonymous 5 years ago

      its rubbish, don't waste your money....