ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Pasta Pot Review

Updated on February 7, 2018

Photo Gallery

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Love my Pasta Pot!
Love my Pasta Pot!
Love my Pasta Pot! | Source

I've only had the pleasure of owning a pasta pot for a little under a year now. It's one of those kitchen cooking items I thought would be nice to have but was never high on my priority list. Even the day I purchased it I hadn't set out to buy it. I was actually out shopping for a replacement pot and couldn't find the size I wanted. Hubby was with me that day and he spotted a Lagostina pasta pot that was on sale. Pointing it out to me, he said haven't you always wanted one of these? I told him yes I have but this wasn't the pot I was on a mission to buy.

Lagostina Pasta Pot

I walked up and down a few aisles and came back to have another look at the Lagostina pot. Then a light bulb went off and I started to think about how this wasn't just a pot to boil pasta in. It was the perfect size for making mashed potatoes for large family meals. I could use it for soups and stews if I needed to. At Christmas I'm always looking for a pot to make and mash turnip in, and this pot could certainly work. It would be great for those times when I just wanted a ton of veggies for dinner too. I picked up the box, put it in the cart, looked at hubby, and said sold.

I must say it is a very versatile pot. They say that spaghetti noodles taste better cooked in a pasta pot, and I have to agree with this. Also must add that I'm happy that the days of boiling the noodles and then having to dump them into a strainer in the sink are gone.

Steaming lobster, and crab legs is a breeze. I bring the water to a boil, place the lobster or crab legs in a steamer, then insert the steamer into the pot. When cooked I simply remove the steamer and allow the water to slowly drain into the pot.

This is one of those kitchen tools that I don't know how I ever lived without it for so long.

If you'd like to purchase this pasta pot you can do so by clicking the Buy Now button.

Steamer Bakets

There are pasta pots that come with a steamer basket included. If you happen to have one that doesn't like I do, this stainless steel steamer insert works nicely.

Demonstration on How to Cook the Perfect Pasta

© 2013 Susan Zutautas

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @sousababy: I have a couple of Lagostina pots that I really like.

    • sousababy profile image

      sousababy 

      4 years ago

      The great thing is everything is stored in the pot - no big colander to find space for. Lagostina pots are well-made, I especially like the handles on their cookware.

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @SheGetsCreative: I find I use mine more than I thought I would.

    • SheGetsCreative profile image

      Angela F 

      4 years ago from Seattle, WA

      They are great items to have in the kitchen.

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @ColettaTeske: No I haven't. I usually cook beans either in my crock pot or my old pot that I used to use for pasta.

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @Lorelei Cohen: I'm sure you'd love it.

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @Brite-Ideas: A staple in my kitchen now for sure :)

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @SusanDeppner: Thanks and I hope you get everything on your wish list. Which reminds me I have a few items to add to mine :)

    • SusanDeppner profile image

      Susan Deppner 

      4 years ago from Arkansas USA

      Great review! And something to add to my wish list as well.

    • Brite-Ideas profile image

      Barbara Tremblay Cipak 

      4 years ago from Toronto, Canada

      we have one as well - they're almost a staple in the kitchen aren't they?

    • Lorelei Cohen profile image

      Lorelei Cohen 

      4 years ago from Canada

      I have never owned a pasta pot but the convenience would sure make it nice. My old colander would be out of the house so quick.

    • profile image

      ColettaTeske 

      4 years ago

      @Susan Zutautas: It works pretty good. The lid does stay on while you pour the water out. Have you tried cooking beans in your pasta pot?

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @masunyoananda: Before I bought mine I thought why would anyone buy a pot for making only pasta ... then once I started to think about all the things I could use it for I had to have it.

    • profile image

      ColettaTeske 

      4 years ago

      I have a pasta pot that has holes in the lid. Just secure the lid and turn the pot over in the sink. It works pretty good but it's getting old. This looks like a great replacement. Thank you!

    • profile image

      masunyoananda 

      4 years ago

      I do have one like this and really it's very practical and durable too. Thanks Susan...:)

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @aka-rms: They're great :)

    • Susan Zutautas profile imageAUTHOR

      Susan Zutautas 

      4 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      @ColettaTeske: I've seen those and have wondered if they worked well.

    • aka-rms profile image

      Robin S 

      4 years ago from USA

      I've got a pasta pot too and I LOVE it.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)