ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Seriously Good Popcorn-Review of the Chicago Mix

Updated on October 5, 2014

There are many unusual food items that become trendy here in Japan. Pancakes are one of those things and although it's been a few years since the pancake boom started, lines to indulge is still beyond absurd.

Recently, another American import has arrived on the Japanese culinary scene. Since the opening of Garrett's Popcorn in Harajuku, popcorn is on everyone's mind as well as taste buds. Hour-long lines are the norm to get your hands on them. Honestly, that's something I could never do and no matter how tempting it may seem, I much prefer to use my time in other ways.

So it didn't surprise me when I started seeing bags of gourmet popcorn popping up all over town. In addition to the local brands, imports such as G.H. Cretors Popcorn can now be found in almost any medium to high-end supermarket. Now they don't come cheap and at 500 yen ( approximately $5 US ) per bag, they certainly are gourmet. Being curious as to why everyone was crazy about them, I went ahead and sprluged on a bag of the Cretors Chicago Mix, which is a mix of their cheese and caramel popcorn.

The first thing I noticed was how fresh the popcorn tasted. Seriously fresh popcorn from a bag? That's what I thought, but each kernel of popped corn was crispy and full of corn flavor. The company claims that they use all natural ingredients such as real cheddar cheese and cane sugar caramel ( no corn syrup ) as well as using only GMO-free corn and that's a very good thing indeed.

Interesting Facts

  • Making popcorn since 1885.
  • G.H. Cretors are credited with inventing the modern popcorn machine.
  • Made in USA

The Bottom Line

The sweet and salty mix combined with the crispness of each kernel of corn really feels like a party in your mouth. This popcorn was so good that I actually went through an entire bag in one sitting. I felt so guilty that I skipped dinner that day. Remember what I said about how costly I thought they were? Well, I went back to that store and bought myself three more bags! Honestly, what's in this stuff?

If you love popcorn, you owe it to yourself to try a bag. Others just don't compare to this stuff. And if you end up eating an entire bag yourself, just skip dinner like I did. Believe me, it's totally worth it.

Check out the Pictures Below

Photo Gallery

Click thumbnail to view full-size
Amazing Cretors Chicago Mix PopcornThe best popcorn on the planetThe best popcorn on the planet
Amazing Cretors Chicago Mix Popcorn
Amazing Cretors Chicago Mix Popcorn
The best popcorn on the planet
The best popcorn on the planet
The best popcorn on the planet
The best popcorn on the planet
6pk Hawaiian Hurricane Microwave Popcorn
6pk Hawaiian Hurricane Microwave Popcorn

I remember this used to be one of my favorites when I lived in Hawaii. I guess you could say this is sort of a fusion or pan-Asian popcorn, which definitely has Asian flavors added to the buttery mix. Definitely addicting.

 

Q & A Session Video

Learn more about the background of the company from Claire Cretor, President of GH Cretors Popped Corn.

Are you a popcorn lover? Do you prefer caramel or cheese flavored ones? Please leave a comment for me here. Thanks for dropping by.

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • LauraHofman profile image

      Laura Hofman 

      4 years ago from Naperville, IL

      I've seen this product in the stores and never tried it. You've convinced me! Sure sounds tasty...I love popcorn. The sweet and salty mix is intriguing.

    • esmonaco profile image

      Eugene Samuel Monaco 

      4 years ago from Lakewood New York

      My favorite is with butter, but you could twist my arm, and I would opt for caramel!!

    • Minoru10 profile image

      Michael Yoshinaka 

      4 years ago from Honolulu, Hawaii

      I like the Hawaii version with the arare (japanese rice crackers) and furikake mixed in.

      So I will have to try this one when I find some.

    • PaigSr profile image

      PaigSr 

      4 years ago from State of Confusion

      No time for a comment - I have to go make some popcorn. With extra butter.

    • BodyHairRemoval profile image

      BodyHairRemoval 

      4 years ago

      I'm always up for some good popcorn! I love caramel the best.

    • TransplantedSoul profile image

      TransplantedSoul 

      4 years ago

      This looks like a great snack. Light enough to be healthy, but good enough to satisfy.

    • Diana Wenzel profile image

      Renaissance Woman 

      4 years ago from Colorado

      Based on your review, I'll have to give this popcorn a try. Oh yes... I do love my popcorn. So interesting to learn about the food fads in Japan. What will be next?

    • Merrci profile image

      Merry Citarella 

      4 years ago from Oregon's Southern Coast

      I love popcorn. It was sounding so good just last night. Plain with butter is my fav, but caramel would be a taste treat! It's hard to imagine waiting in a long line for popcorn OR pancakes though. That's amazing. Appealing review that is making me hungry for breakfast now.

    • Elsie Hagley profile image

      Elsie Hagley 

      4 years ago from New Zealand

      No I have never eaten popcorn, but with your review it is very tempting, I will try some if I can find it in New Zealand. My choice would be caramel.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)