ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Games, Toys, and Hobbies»
  • Collecting & Collections

British India William Coinage: A Brief Introduction!

Updated on January 8, 2013

William IV was born on 21 August 1765 in London. There are many coins that were minted in the year 1835 that had the effigy of King William IV on the obverse side of the coin and have the value mentioned on the reverse. As most of the British India coins were stuck under the authority of the crown, there were numerous amazing coins struck that bore the effigy of William IV.

Here, in this article we will discuss briefly about the various varieties of William coins:

- Gold One Mohur: This beautiful gold coin was issued in the year 1835. The coin weighs 11.66gms and it comes with a grained, as well as a plain edge.

- Gold Two Mohur: The weight of this gold coin is 23.32gms and it was issued in the year 1835.

- Silver One Rupee: There were a lot of varieties that were minted in the silver one rupee coins. These varieties were issued in the year 1835 and weighed 11.66gms. The numerous varieties include coins having RS incused, F incused, F raised, and no incuse.

- Silver Half Rupee: The half rupee coins have a grained edge and they weigh 5.83gms. These coins were issued in the same year as the one rupee coins. Moreover, the half rupee too had similar varieties to that of the one rupee coins.

- Quarter Rupee: This small coin weighs 2.91gms and was issued in the year 1840. There were two different kinds of quarter rupees that were minted. These varieties were the continuous legends and divided legends. Continuous legend means that “William IIII, King” is written continuously whereas divided legends means that “William IIII, King” is divided into two parts and mentioned on the obverse of the coin along with the effigy. Moreover, there were different varieties too, which were similar to the one rupee and half rupee coins.

- Copper Coins: There were three varieties of William copper coins that were issued. These consisted of Half Anna, Quarter Anna, and 1/12th Anna. All three varieties were issued in the year 1835. These copper coins did not bear the effigy of King William. Instead, they had the Coat of Arms Of East India Company on the obverse side of the coins. Moreover, their weight is different with Half Anna weighs 12.95gms, Quarter Anna weighs 6.47gms and 1/12th Anna weighs 2.16gms.

In 1896, William silver coins were withdrawn from circulation and later on, the copper coins were also stopped. Gold Mohurs were withdrawn much earlier. After the rule of King William IV, the new coins that were minted bore the portrait of Queen Victoria.

Do you want to add William coins to your collection? Check out these amazing British India coins for sale at


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.