ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Furby 2.0 Review

Updated on August 28, 2017

Furby 2.0

New Furby 2.0
New Furby 2.0 | Source

New furby 2012: Furby 2.0

New Furby Review: Furby 2.0

Furby is back, new and improved! Some of you may remember the original Furby frenzy back in 1998, and again during Christmas of 2007 whenFurbysales exploded. Hasbro has sold over 40 million Furbies since its introduction in 1999. Hasbro has created another Furby frenzy with the introduction of the newest Furby, Furby 2.0.

The R&D team at Hasbro has redesigned furby with the latest technology to thrill today's tech crazed kids. The newest Furby 2.0 is now a gigapet, which gives it the ability to communicate with children as well as other Furby 2.0 pets.

Furby 2.0: New Look

The new Furby 2.0 has been given an electronic makeover. The Hasbro team kept with much of the original look and shape from the original Furby, but upgraded the original cluncky large plastic eyes with two LCD lights. The LCD lights show the eye movement digitally given the Furby 2.0 a much broader range of expressions.

The fur on the Furby 2.0 has been upgraded as well, it is much fuller and softer than the original 1998 furby. For christmas, the Furby 2.0 will be available in ten colors, however the most popular color seems to be the violet purple which is already sold out at many retailers.

Other physical differences, are the newest Furby is slightly larger than its 2007 predecessor to house the increased technology and motor. The movable ears are slightly larger and are also made of plastic.

New Furby 2.0
New Furby 2.0

Furby 2.0: New Technology

New Furby 2.0

One of the most significant upgrades to the Furby 2.0, is the new Furby is now a gigapet. This means that the Furby 2.0 is now an interactive pet that can communicate with your child and other Furby 2.0's. Depending on how your child interacts and plays with the Furby 2.0, they will alter their Furby's personality, making it truly their very own pet.

There are multiple sensors strategically placed in the Furby 2.0 to allow it to feel when it's turned upside down, when it's tickled, when it's being fed and allow it to act accordingly. The new Furby 2.0 dances, moves, talks to you, tells jokes, and can even chew, eat (not real food), and burp.

Furby 2.0: Interactive software

The new Furby 2.0 connects to iPads/iPhones

Possibly, the most ingenious feature of the new Furby 2.0, is its ability to interact with today's hottest technology: the iPAD, iPAD mini, and the iPhone. The Furby 2.0 able to utilize Apple applications on these devices. There is even a free app that translates the Furby's native language, Furbish, until it eventually learns English. The Furby 2.0 learns English the more you talk to it. There is also an app available to help you feed your little Furby.

In addition to Furbish, the Furby will also be available in the following languages worldwide: Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, and Spanish.

Furby 2.0: Pricing and Availability

The Furby 2.0 is currently priced at an average price of $54.00 USD at most retailers such as Target, Walmart, and K-Mart. However, the pre-orders are sold out at most of these places. You can find the new Furby 2.0's for sale on Amazon and E-bay for around $80-$90 USD (includes S&H).

The Furby is currently available in six colors: Violet, Teal, Black, Red, Yellow, and White. Four new colors will be introduced before Christmas: Plum, Pink, Navy Blue, and Green.

What color Furby is most popular?

Currently, the Violet Furby 2.0 is the most popular, followed closely by the Teal.

New Furby 2.0 Product Review

4 stars for Furby 2.0

The new Furby 2.0 is an excellent buy. It is interactive and playful and responds to your childs personality and play habits, truly becoming a one of a kind tech Pet for them. It conveniently connects to iPADs, iPAD minis, and iPhones. The are multiple free apps available to play with your Furby, but aren't required to play with the Furby 2.0. It is also priced modestly for a tech toy, at $54.00 UDS.

The only negative we could find with the product was that it does not have an on/off switch. For some parents, that will be a little aggravating, but the Furby 2.0 will eventually turn off and go to sleep once left alone for long enough.

Furby 2.0 Hottest toy this Christmas

The Furby 2.0 has made the list for the hottest Christmas toys this season!

Hottest Christmas toys for 2012

Comments

Submit a Comment
  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    7 years ago from US

    Unfortunately no the language can't be changed

  • profile image

    Victoria 

    7 years ago

    I have a French speaking furby boom but speak English can the language be changed to English???

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    7 years ago from US

    No unfortunately there isn't a way to switch the language from its original.

  • profile image

    Ulisesmdp 

    7 years ago

    Novel Treasure: with the latest furby app is it possible wen buying an English language Furby to change the language to Spanish?

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    You can now download the latest furby app from android or iPhone and Portuguese is one of the 24 languages.

  • profile image

    Juliana 

    8 years ago

    Does it speak portuguese? My daughter wants it, but she doesn't speak english.

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    Unfortunately no. The language you buy it in is the one it stays in.

  • profile image

    Marcio 

    8 years ago

    Is it possible wen buying an English language Furby to change the language later on to e.g Portuguese Brazil?

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    My niece adores gets. I think they are great. A cult classic again

  • Skylanders profile image

    Suzanne Kirkhope 

    8 years ago from California

    I had one of the original 90's Furbys and did find it amusing, Then when we were a a friends last week I got to see one of the new editions. I couldn't believe how different it was. I might have to invest in one for my daughter!

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    You should be able to use the optimized iPad apps for the iPad mini, according to Apple. If the Furby app isn't available through the iPad mini, then you will have to download it directly from the Furby website on your pc, or you can use an iPhone if you have one.

  • profile image

    Zaeema 

    8 years ago

    I can't seem to get the furby app. Maybe because I'm using a iPad mini.pls help me I really need the app to play with my ferby

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    I don't know for sure, but I don't believe this is possible without contacting the manufacturer and purchasing a different chip. The furby "base" language is not interchangeable without altering the base chip.

  • profile image

    Mary 

    8 years ago

    Is it possible wen buying an English language Furby to change the language later on to e.g French, German, Dutch or Spanish?

  • Novel Treasure profile imageAUTHOR

    Novel Treasure 

    8 years ago from US

    My husband said he actually had the very first one back in 1998. We bought one for my daughter for xmas this year, so I'm hoping she really enjoys it.

  • jose7polanco profile image

    Jose Misael Polanco 

    8 years ago from Los Angeles

    These furby are so popular, even the hispanic actor Gabriel Montiel (werevertumorro) used them the youtube mexican series of X-men.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://corp.maven.io/privacy-policy

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)
ClickscoThis is a data management platform studying reader behavior (Privacy Policy)