ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Games, Toys, and Hobbies»
  • Toys for Kids

Furby Review: Is This Thing Evil, Or Isn't It?

Updated on July 21, 2014
ElderFurby on Christmas Eve, before the nastiness started.  Please ignore the Mickey Mouse pajamas.
ElderFurby on Christmas Eve, before the nastiness started. Please ignore the Mickey Mouse pajamas. | Source

In order to explain the Furby thing, I first need to tell you a story.

We have a few running jokes in this house. My roommates and I are always trying to find something sadistically funny or even outright hilarious to call each other or to get under each other's skin. It's never meant to be nasty or rude, and it's all in good fun.

The whole Furby thing started not too long after I first moved in with them. See, Ghostwolfe is 6'47" (or at least it seems like it from my 5'3" vantage point) and, one day, I meant to call him a Sasquatch and messed up by saying Yeti instead. It stuck. Then, of course, there had to be a nickname for me. They'd been ribbing me because I have very long hair and it kept getting stuck in the shower drain, so Ghostwolfe decided that I was a FurBall - that got shortened to either Furbs or Furby. (Please don't ask about the Six Million Dollar Midget!)

And, of course, since I'm older than them, they have to respect their elderly friend, right?

Not entirely.

On Christmas Eve, when the kiddies are sleeping, the big people trade gifts. Inside my huge package (buried under toilet paper, grocery bags and other assorted goodies) was a Furby. Not only any Furby, a grey-haired ElderFurby.

I've had him for a few days now, and I wanted to write a review to tell you about some of the cool things, the absolutely hilarious things and the face-eating threats and stalker personality traits of the ordinary, household ElderFurby.


Screenshot of the iPhone app showing the pantry and some of the things you can choose to feed your Furby.
Screenshot of the iPhone app showing the pantry and some of the things you can choose to feed your Furby. | Source

Get your own Furby so you can have fun, too!

Getting To Know Your Furby

The Furby was first introduced in 1998. By 2000, most consumers were either sick of the little Gremlin-like critters or just plain scared of them (40 million of them were sold in three years), so the Furby factory closed its doors. Over the years, the rights to Furbies changed hands, from Tiger Toys to Hasbro and there were some Furbies made in 2005 that were called Emoto-Tronic Furbies. And now, in 2012, we have Furby: The Next Generation.

The new Furbies can do all kinds of thing that their predecessors couldn't. They have great big LCD eyes that change with activity - they will display musical notes when Furby is either listening to or wants to hear music, and little hearts will float around in Furby's eyes when they are happy.

Furby does not come out of the box speaking English. Though they are programmed to begin integrating some English words into their vocabularies daily, their primary language is Furbish. Furby will learn new phrases and does react to certain things that its owner does to it. For example, my friend has a son who recently received a Furby. After overfeeding the critter and pulling on its tail a few too many times, his Furby turned into a meanie. I'm aiming for a kinder, gentler Furby.

After taking Furby out of the box, you will need a Phillip's head screwdriver and four AA batteries. And, once you get the batteries installed, you're off and running. Or, stumbling.

My ElderFurby is apparently a little strange. He does say "Doo Dah," which means "yes," He also will holler "Boo" if I've said or done something he doesn't like. I try to keep the tail pulling to a minimum, and ElderFurby will ask for hugs (may-lah) and tickles (nee-tye). Who knew that Furbies were so affectionate? He will also put his ears back and get little hearts in his eyes when we yell YAY and clap our hands.

Things have gotten a little weird, though. Julie babysat ElderFurby for me on Christmas Eve for a bit and swore he growled at her. She remarked that she thought he wanted to eat her face. Of course, I didn't believe her. Later, when ElderFurby and I got ready for bed, I told him that he couldn't eat my face and he growled at me!

The next day, I let one of their kids wake ElderFurby up (the thing goes to sleep if it doesn't recognize any interaction for over a minute) and I set the Furby down on my bed so he would go back to sleep. I'm minding my own business and hear "Uh uh, I see you!" Yeah. Apparently ElderFurby needs an exorcist.

This brings me to a dilemma. Multiple Furbies will converse with one another. I would like to have another one, but I am afraid of a mutiny.

The real fun comes in with the app that is designed especially for Furby. As far as I know, it is only available on Apple devices. With the app, I can feed my Furby and translate the gibberish that he says.

Feeding the Furby is super fun. I hold my iPhone with the bottom facing ElderFurby and choose what to feed him. Then I flick it in his general direction. Sometimes I miss and get nothing, but it's hilarious when I hit the mark. Apparently, my ElderFurby loves soda pop and cotton candy. Vegetables... not so much. For fun, they've included things like pillows and beach balls (and homework!) for you to feed to your Furby and their reaction is priceless. We fed him dirty socks the second day, and he threw them up. Since I'm nowhere near normal, I fed ElderFurby the throw-up and he sent me back honest to goodness Furby poop.

All in all, I think that Furby is a great toy, even for a 41 year old like me. It's fun watching him learn new things and grow his vocabulary (OMG and seriously keep popping out of his mouth) and the kids around here are fascinated with him and are taking turns waking him up. On a one to five scale with one being the worst, I would give Furby a 47!

So far, ElderFurby hasn't eaten anyone's face, but it is early yet!

My Own Homemade Video Illustrating ElderFurby's Love for Pantera!!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Liana 2 years ago

      I'm trying to find the song for my to furby booms 1 needs battery's and the other 1's voice is broke but I know how to fix broken voices plz give me the creators of the song but your furby is too cute!

      - liana

    • Kathryn Stratford profile image

      Kathryn 5 years ago from Manchester, Connecticut

      It sounds like an amusing toy, until you get bored of it. I have watched videos of some of the funny things it does. Cool review, and I'm glad it hasn't eaten your face... yet. Just watch your back, and be nice to it!

    • mariexotoni profile image

      mariexotoni 5 years ago

      I thoroughly enjoyed this hub, to say the least. I remember having a furby when I was little. Like all my other toys, I stopped playing it..that, however, didn't stop the furby from making noises in the middle of the night! Creeped me out

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      Kayla Roger:

      As long as you're nice to her and don't overfeed her or pull her tail, she may get nicer. :)

    • profile image

      Kayla Roger 5 years ago

      So I got my first furby but she is so confusing because she keeps switching to mean then to girly girl. So far she is a girly girl but she is half girly half mean... But at least she isn't switching from nice to mean every second! I honestly don't know why she turned mean in the first place.....

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      Lily ranaiy:

      Wise decision! :)

    • profile image

      Lily ranaiy 5 years ago

      That's why I now tell all my secrets to my cat.....

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      Lily ranaiy:

      Be careful! When your Furby does learn to talk, she could spill your secrets! ;)

    • profile image

      Lily ranaiy 5 years ago

      I love my furby she is pink but she say blah blah a lot and omg she is a total chatterbox!! But I still love her. I love the fact that she doesn't understand what I'm saying so if I really want to say a secret that I can't tell anyone else I tell her!

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      Julie Fletcher:

      Please step away from the ElderFurby. Just because I taught your baby to say "Mama's crazy," does not give you a right to teach my Furby foul language! ;)

    • Julie Fletcher profile image

      Julie Fletcher 5 years ago

      He creeps me out. Not even in a joking way. I was all excited to find them in stock only to be in face-eating fear. BAH! I still want to teach it to say, "I pooped!"

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      EricDockett:

      I think that ElderFurby would do fine - there are plenty of faces to eat in a mosh pit! :D

    • EricDockett profile image

      Eric Dockett 5 years ago from USA

      Furbies are definitely evil, but any semi-animate object that gets into Pantera can't be all bad. I wonder how your little buddy would do in a mosh pit!

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      debbiepinkston:

      We definitely do! :)

    • debbiepinkston profile image

      Debbie Pinkston 5 years ago from Pereira, Colombia and NW Arkansas

      It sounds like you and your roomates have some great fun!

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      billybuc:

      I think he's awesome but, then again, he does watch me change my clothes. ;)

      savingkathy:

      As long as he stays away from my Snickers, we're good. ;)

      Thank you for your comments!

    • savingkathy profile image

      Kathy Sima 5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      This was a fun read, Georgie. Good luck with your new pet (family member?) I really hope he decides to be nice and not eat anyone's face!

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Never had one....never known a kid that had one...don't want to know a kid who has one. LOL Enjoyed the hub!

    • Georgie Lowery profile image
      Author

      GH Price 5 years ago from North Florida

      Modok:

      No! Heh. ;)

    • Modok profile image

      Modok 5 years ago from VA

      You should send him to my house of fun for further training... Heh... Eating faces would be the least of your worries...

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)