ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Heldrake Review and Tactics (Chaos Space Marines)

Updated on May 5, 2014
Heldrake
Heldrake

Overview

With the release of the first 6th edition army codex, Chaos Space Marines players now have a host of new models and tactics to employ. One of the most exciting releases is the Heldrake, our first Flyer unit for the chaos army. The Heldrake is not just a simple airplane flying around and shooting missiles or dropping bombs; it's a daemonically possessed fighter jet with a host of new weapons and new rules to accompany it. I've been using the Heldrake in my Warhammer 40k battles since the rules have been released, and before I even received the new model (hello, proxy)! It's been a very successful unit and has easily been the star in many battles.

In this article, I will review the Heldrake's special rules, the model, and its combat effectiveness. Also, I will provide a few combat tactics that I've learned through playing; what are its advantages on the battlefield and what dangers to avoid. As with all my articles, please leave comments or questions at the bottom of the article. I always reply and readers have always contributed great insight!

Heldrake from above!
Heldrake from above!

Model Review

"It's a bird . . . it's a plane . . . it's a mechanical daemon-dragon spraying our troops with helfire!"

Let me be honest here; I am not in love with the Heldrake model. When I first saw it, my thoughts were "Wow! Ummm... Hmmm.. Cool? Er... Odd?" There are parts of the model that immediately jumped out at me and that I really liked, but there are other parts that still make me wince. Nobody wants their expensive model to be the butt of an opponent's joke, and there are more than a few jokes to go around. However, I will say that the model has grown on me, and that with some planned-conversion, it will be an amazing centerpiece to any chaos force.

What I like:

  • The dragon face with weapons in the mouth.
  • The ironwork detail on its wings.
  • It's combination of metal and flesh; it's organic nature.

What I dislike:

  • The downward slant of its wings (it looks like it's flapping, not diving or zooming).
  • The missing back half (It's lack of dragon tail makes it looked like a plucked bird).
  • The engine exhaust on its butt.

The good news is that the model is physically impressive. It's huge and the detail really stands out when you see it with your own eyes. I would like to try to reposition the wings a little bit to make them stretch horizontally more, and I'm planning on adding some detail to the back half. My conversion article will be up as soon as its done! Even without my minor conversions, I think it's a model that players can be proud of once it's fully painted and killing Space Marines with every breath.

Now, let's see what goodies this guy comes with in the new Chaos Space Marines Codex!

Heldrake
Heldrake

Rules Review

There are a lot of new rules included in the new Chaos Space Marines Codex, and the Heldrake actually includes its fair share of them! Let's take a look at its profile.

Heldrake:

  • BS 3
  • Front/Side Armor 12, Rear Armor 10
  • Hull Points 3
  • Flyer and Hover
  • Armory: Hades Autocannon or Baleflamer
  • Daemonic Possession, Daemon, Daemonforge, It Will Not Die
  • Meteoric Descent

That's a lot of rules, so let's go through them one at a time.

Ballistic Skill of 3. This does suck a little bit, but it can be mitigated; more on that later. It's Armor of 12/12/10 is actually pretty good for a Flyer. It basically means that only dedicated heavy weapons or high strength special weapons (plasma, melta) or going to touch it. If you keep the Heldrake zooming then it can only be hit on a 6. It's not likely that a tactical squad of Space Marines is going to waste their whole turn to try to hit it with a single krak missile or plasma gun shot if they are counting on a 6 to hit.

However, any dedicated anti-air weapons (anything with the Skyfire rule) is capable of blowing it out of the sky. If your opponents are bringing any Fortifications with that quad gun, you will have to be careful. Having 3 Hull Points helps and, thankfully, we have a whole bunch of defensive rules with this thing, which keeps it alive a lot better than every other Flyer out there. We will get to that soon.

Flyer and Hover. The Flyer rule lets us do amazing things. We can zoom around the battlefield between 18" and 36" in a single turn, with one 90-degree pivot at the start of the move. You can literally hit both flanks of the battlefield in two turns, and your opponent will never be sure where you are going target.

Your best bet is to come straight onto the board on one of your flanks and target something on your opponent's flank. Next turn, you pivot 90-degress towards the other flank and head 18" or more down your opponent's battle line. On the next turn, you can either head off the table edge, or pivot 90-degrees again to hit another target. You should get between 2 and 3 turns with the Heldrake on the battlefield before you run out of room and have to head off the board.

If you do go off the table edge, don't worry. Your Heldrake enters Ongoing Reserves and enters play automatically on your table edge next turn. You don't really lose anything. However, be careful! If your Heldrake is off the table when the game ends, it counts as a casualty! This may not matter for a lot of objective-based missions, but it might!

Using Hover Mode. The Heldrake has the option at the start of its turn to switch to Hover mode, which lets it move like a Skimmer. Don't do it. It might be tempting to zoom towards an enemy unit and blast it, and then next turn convert to Hover mode and stay put to blast that unit again. Don't! Without the zooming rule in effect, units can hit you with their normal ballistic skill. You will be taking fire from every available unit on the field.

Heldrake
Heldrake

Killing In the Name Of . . .

Continuing with our rules review, let's look at what options the Heldrake has for killing things.

Meteoric Descent. With this rule, your Heldrake can Vector Strike an enemy unit that it moves over, including other Flyers. Usually this rule is reserved for Flying Monstrous Creatures, but we are a Flyer! At the end of your movement phase, nominate an unengaged enemy unit and resolve 1d3 + 1 strength 7 hits at AP3. Against vehicles, this is done against side armor (remember d3+1 hits, so you can even "glance" a vehicle to death in one pass). This is an amazing ability because it allows you to essentially target two different units in one turn: vector strike one unit on your way to blasting another.

Speaking of Blasting: Let's look at its weapon choices. The Hades Autocannon has a range of 36" is strength 8, AP 4, Heavy 4 with Pinning. That's 4 strength 8 shots! Remember that the Heldrake only has a BS of 3, though, so you will likely be hitting with 2 shots a round. That's not too bad, though! Consider that all Flyers have Skyfire, we can statistically hit another Flyer every round with 2 Str 8 hits. Most Flyers have only armor 11 or 12, so we are glancing on 3's or 4's, and many only have 2 Hull Points.

Let's look at the statistical chance of destroying a Space Marine Stormtalon (with AV11 and 2 HP). Each single shot from the Hades Autocannon has a 33% of glancing and removing a hull point, or a 25% chance of penetrating. Keep in mind that you have 4 shots and you only have to glance twice to destroy the Stormtalon. If you draw out a probability tree or do some statistics multiplication, you will find that you have a 41% chance of scoring at least 2 glancing hits on a Stormtalon in a single round of shooting.

This probability is scored against an AV 11 vehicle with 2 hull points. Versus an AV 12 or a 3 hull point vehicle, your chances for a 1 round kill are smaller. It's possible, but don't count on it happening in a single turn or without combined arms. If you consider, however, that any of these glancing shots could be a penetrating hit, then the odds go up of getting a kill. I would rate the Heldrake as medium-high threat against other Flyers.

UPDATE: The latest 40k FAQ states that the Heldrake's weapon is treated as a turret mounted weapon, measured from anywhere on the Heldrake's base. This gives it a 360-degree arc of fire! This makes for an interesting tactic: Vector Strike over a unit and then fire at that same unit with your weapon. This makes the Heldrake much better at killing Flyers as you can target it with two different attacks in the same turn, often hitting rear armor!

Also, you will rarely have to leave the field now because you can always 90-degree turn to stay on the field and then fire at any opponent in range (with your 360-degree arc of fire!). Thank you, Games Workshop for the boost!

baleflamer
baleflamer | Source

The Baleflamer

The Baleflamer is a Str 6, AP3 template weapon with the Torrent special rule. What does Torrent do? It let's you place the narrow end of the template within 12" of your weapon mount, and the wide end anywhere that isn't closer than the narrow end. At first, I thought this was just a flamer with a little extra range; no biggie. I could not have been more wrong.

With the Torrent rule, you can place the template almost sideways. Instead of shooting the flamer straight forward, place the narrow end of the template towards the flank of a unit and then "turn" the template so that it goes down the entire length of the enemy unit. This usually means that you will hit 6+ models, even if they are spaced out. Being strength 6 and AP 3 means that you will kill many Space Marines every turn. Also, being a template weapon, the Baleflamer ignores cover. Muahaha.

I rate the Heldrake as a Very High threat against infantry - save, perhaps, for Terminators in their 2+ armor. Every game that my Heldrake has survived towards the end of the game, I have racked up model kills in the double digits.

Being a Daemon

Beyond the fact that the Heldrake is a Flyer with some nasty weapons attached to it, the Heldrake comes with a host of special rules, some of them never seen before. Let's take a look at these.

Daemon. This special rule comes from the core Warhammer 40k 6th edition rulebook. It grants the Heldrake fear (which doesn't matter because a Flyer can never be assaulted), but it also grants it an amazing 5+ invulnerable save. This is terrific and has saved the Heldrake in battle every single time that I've fielded it.

Daemonic Possession. This is what reduces the Heldrake's BS to 3, but as an advantage, it ignores Crew Shaken and Crew Stunned results on a 2+. In the old edition, these results are ignored completely, but now you have to roll for it. You honestly might forget to make this roll, but hopefully your friendly opponent will have read this article and will gently remind you.

Daemonforge. This new rule comes from the Chaos Space Marine Codex. You must activate it at the beginning of a shooting phase and can only be activated once a game. During the turn you activate it, you may re-roll all failed To Wound and all failed Armor Penetration rolls. Remember the odds of killing a Stormtalon in one round with glancing hits (41%)? The odds just went up. The downside of this rule is that, at the end of the phase, the Heldrake has to roll a die, and on a 1, it looses a hull point with no saves allowed. I don't think this rule will come up much when the Heldrake is kitted out with the Baleflamer (you're wounding on a 2+ against most models), but it does dramatically increase the one-turn effectiveness of the Hades Autocannon.


It Will Not Die. This rule again comes from the core Warhammer 40k 6th edition rulebook. It states that at the end of a friendly turn, roll a d6 if a model has less than its starting number of hull points (but is still alive on the table). On a 5+, the model regains a hull point. In an earlier game with the Heldrake, I was down to a single hull point by turn 3, but by turn 6, I was healed back to full.

With all these rules combined, the Heldrake has a remarkable survivability on the tabletop. The fact that most units can only hit it on a 6+ (being a Flyer), combined with the 5+ invulnerable save from the Daemon rule, means that you will not be losing hull points easily. When you do, they will likely grow back over the course of the game. If your opponent only brings a single unit dedicated to hunting Flyers (the Aegis defense line with a quad gun, or a Stormtalon, etc), you will likely survive that first round of Skyfire and then retaliate without mercy.

Heldrake Weapons

How do you plan to equip your Heldrake?

See results

Conclusion

The Heldrake is a great addition to the Chaos Space Marines army. It not only gives us our first Flyer unit, but it gives us one with some amazing weapons and a host (a daemonic host!) of special rules. This might be the most survivable unit on the tabletop right now. It's not AV 14 like the Landraider or Necron Monolith, but it also is going to take far fewer shots, has a 5+ invulnerable, and can regrow lost hull points.

When loaded out with the Baleflamer, you will kill scores of power armored opponents. In my first game running the Heldrake (Chaos versus Chaos!), I killed two light tanks and more than 25 Chaos Space Marines with the new Flyer. In fact, I killed the two Vindicator tanks in a single round! I flew over one of the tanks and used Vector Strike to kill one (glancing away it's 2 remaining hull points), and then I used the Baleflamer on a group of chaos marines standing next to the other Vindicator. I killed 6 or so marines and just happened to penetrate the side armor of the Vindicator. Not too bad!

One thing is clear; if you take a Heldrake, your opponent will commit much of their energy to either A) killing the dang thing, or B) avoiding it as much as possible. They are going to suffer mobility in order to keep their infantry models spaced out as far as possible to avoid that Baleflamer template. Once your opponent's worry is attracted towards a single model, the rest of your forces will go almost unnoticed. Proxy the Heldrake and try it out for yourself, any big dragon model will do.

If you have any questions or comments about this article, please post them below. I always reply and I love the back-and-forth ideas that come with this community. Also, I have linked a couple of my other Warhammer 40k articles below, including my review of the new Chaos Space Marine Codex. Check them out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Arioch profile image

      Gordon D Easingwood 4 years ago from Wakefield, United Kingdom

      Excellent article, I am wondering if this model will make an appearance in Warhammer fantasy battle.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thank you for the compliment. Also, I was wondering the same thing about Warhammer Fantasy. I know that they recently released rules for using the Chaos Daemon's Soulgrinder in Fantasy and I think they are selling it now with a rectangular base. I could see them doing the same thing for Warriors of Chaos and our new Daemon Engines. Why else choose a dragon? Dragons are big parts of Warhammer Fantasy lore, so I could see them making a "drake" for 40k with the intention of it easily porting over to Fantasy. Here's hoping!

    • profile image

      RejjeN 4 years ago

      Isn't another use (if you are afraid of return fire) to move it up the board, vector strike, and then flat out off the board in the same turn. Rinse and repeat?

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      RejjeN, you absolutely could. Unless an opposing unit had the Interceptor special rule, your Heldrake would also be immune from enemy fire. This is very tempting.

      The downside would be that you are limiting your Heldrake to killing between 2-4 models a turn. Multiply that by maybe 4 turns and you'll get 8-16 killed models. That's not too bad, depending on the target.

      I think if your opponent had some dedicated anti-Flyers units, but LACKED the Interceptor rule, then this would be a great option. Not only do you keep your Heldrake alive, but you've also made your opponent invest points into units that will never get a target. Hmm, you might be on to something here . . .

    • profile image

      Evgeny 4 years ago

      Thank you! This article made me thinking which miniature to buy first, Helldrake or Forgefiend? Which seems more useful, considering all the options? I like the forgefiend more as a model, but helldrake doesn't seem so bad either.

      I currently run a korne army with 2 groups of 10 berserkers, 20 cultists, korne lord, 5 terminators, 6 possessed, hellbrute and 1 obliterator. Pure close combat list. It is fun to play, but I feel that I need more firepower.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Evgeny, I really like the Forgefiend model. I haven't used (or proxied) one yet, so I can't comment on how the two units compare. I am very tempted to run the Forgefiend with triple ectoplasma cannons... I love me some AP2 blast action! However, as my article can attest, I will vouch for the Heldrake. It has a higher marine-kill-count than any other single unit I've used in a long time.

      It will die on occasion, but it's technically more survivable than the Forgefiend. Both models are AV12, have 3 HP, a 5+ invulnerable, and can bring HPs back on a 5+. However, the Heldrake is a Flyer, which means fewer things can shoot at it effectively. I plan to eventually get both models and switch them out often to keep my opponents guessing. Hope this helps!

    • profile image

      ChA05 4 years ago

      Great article, I'll take the bale flamer and kill some marines and a couple light tanks. Distract with the the hell drake and rip out the enemy's throat with my berserkers.

      I agree about the model it looks like its been melta blasted in half, I'm gonna convert it to have a longer tail, looking forward to your conversion results to.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thanks for the props. I cannot wait to convert my official Heldrake (on order!). There are lots of bits for sale on ebay . . . I'm looking at some Dark Elf dragon bits or some stuff from the Vampire Counts monsters.

      Also, a Heldrake with Berzerkers would be great because they can't afford to ignore both!

    • profile image

      Smurf Marine 4 years ago

      Hi there Murphy, nice piece. I'm fairly new to the flyers of 6th edition and your article here is stupendous. Great analysis.

      I am wondering if you have a counter article for this. You see, I've been fried by that baleflamer countless times and my 3+ marines have just being dying senseless.

      My armylist has no flyers or skyfire rule. It is a hybrid alpha strike and shooty list. Any hints or ideas would be appreciated. Thanks.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Smurf Marine, sorry for the two-day delay! Yes, I do have a few counters to the Heldrake and its Baleflamer. You may not have the models for them, though. At least not yet.

      First, you DO need some kind of anti-flyer unit. Many flyers in this game can be ignored if you are running marines (3+ power armor is great against most flyers' weapons). However, you can't afford to ignore the Heldrake when it is blasting a unit every round or two.

      I suggest investing in some Imperial Guard allies. They have a few great anti-flyer units. First, the Hydra Flakk tank is great. Secondly, they can purchase the Vendetta flyer, with his multiple lascannons, all with the Skyfire rule.

      If you don't want allies, then you'll likely want to get the cheaper Space Marine flyer (Storm talon) and aim those assault cannons at the Heldrake and count on those Rending hits to strip away hull points.

      You can also buy the Aegis Defense Line and the Quad gun that comes with it. The quad gun has skyfire, is twin-linked, and also has the Interceptor rule, which means it can fire as soon as your enemy flyer enters from reserves. I've almost lost my Heldrake to that gun more than once.

      Your last option is to simply keep your power armored units inside transports for as long as possible. The baleflamer is not a reliable way to kill rhinos, so as long as your marines are inside, they are avoiding that Str 6, AP 3 template.

      Hope that helps! This game is an arms race, and unfortunately, we are forced to buy new models and try different tactics to stay competitive. This stresses my own limited budget, trust me!

    • profile image

      Smurf Marine 4 years ago

      Thanks Murphy. Good pointers there. Will have a go at the troops in rhino approach to bunker them. Worst case, I'll just get a Storm Talon. Not too keen for allies yet but we'll never know.

      It's true that GW is forcing us on an arms race to win our games. Good business idea when they are the sole arms distributor. LOL.

      Thanks again.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      lol, yes they are sole arms distributor. They don't care who wins, as long as we keep buying. Glad to help!

      My game last Saturday had my Heldrake facing off against a Vendetta and a Stormtalon. Both enemy flyers unloaded their payloads into my Heldrake, but I made 5 invulnerable saves and flew away without a scrape of damage :) Muahahah. Those Heldrakes are nasty beasts!

    • Michael J Becker profile image

      Michael J Becker 4 years ago from Hoschton, Georgia

      Murphy, great article and a superb read! I recently purchased a heldrake after an extensive amount of reading the codex and trying to figure out the heldrake vs forge/mauler fiend conundrum. What tipped the scales was...I love using defiler, landraider (zerkers to the brim) and oblits. With your article I plan on purchasing another drake for the hades autocannon and use both in conjunction with each other.

      Again thanks for the article!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Michael, first, thanks for the read and comment!

      Secondly, I think you're right that we have so many good choices in Heavy Support that the forgefiend isn't a "must have". Running two heldrakes will be great I think and I love the idea of running one with the baleflamer and one with the hades autocannon. Now that I'm seeing more Flyers in my local games, I keep wishing that I'd bring the hades autocannon instead. Having both on the table will be a great conjunction, I think. Also, it will avoid any issues of "cheese" because your two flyers are serving two different roles. It wouldn't be like throwing two bale flamer templates on a single squad... that would be fun, but evil :)

    • profile image

      Smurf Marine 4 years ago

      Hey Murphy... just far sharing, I think learned a possible tactic that could limit a Heldrake's devastation more so now with the FAQ allowing vector strikes to ignore cover saves and providing them with a 360 deg firing arc. How? See below;

      Suggestion 1: Corners

      A Heldrake can only vector strike a target it has flown over at the end of its movement phase. If I hug a corner, with say a Predator tank on a high ground, that tank would be vector strike proof since the Heldrake will fly out (into ongoing reserves) if it attempted to do so. It is also a good defensive spot since the S8 autocannon and S6 baleflamer will have a challenging time against AV13. And the Predator gets to pot shot the flyer from time to time if it had no other targets.

      I can't say the same for Rhinos in corners but if Heldrakes in your area uses the baleflamer most of the time, ur Rhinos may have a chance. Just make sure you go 2nd, have a Combat Squad hiding in the Rhino and an objective nearby.

      Suggestion 2: Area Denial

      If your army can fill up sufficient area and deny space for the Heldrake base, you can deny vector strikes. Against horde armies with tough armour in front like IG armies and Orks, there is just no place for them to fly over. Any direct approach will force them to either turn 90 deg away next turn or force them to hover (which is where they get popped from the sky).

      Can't say the same for the autocannon and baleflamer but with proper mech placement upfront, the hordes behind will take less casualties.

      Anyway, that's just IMHO. What do you think Murphy?

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Smuf Marine, somebody's been walking around with their thinking cap on! I'm very impressed! So impressed, that I will make sure that nobody in my local gaming scene reads this article and discovers your tactics, muahah.

      All kidding aside, those are some great tips! The fact that vector strike happens after the model finishes moving, really allows a player to deploy defensively. A predator in the corner is going to be pretty nasty (twin linked lascannons can hit Flyers from time to time!). I actually deployed my last Chaos Marine army in as much a horde formation as possible to deny Grey Knight deep strikes.

      Thanks for reading and especially for the great response!

    • profile image

      tv2112 4 years ago

      Murphy,

      Very nice article. I will ensure my friend that runs Chaos does not see it :) Actually he had already incorporated many of the tactics you listed.

      As for the model. His biggest complaint was bloody fingers. There are billions of sharp pointy bits on the model. He actually stabbed his foot (about 1/4" deep) when a wing section fell off the table and he he put bare foot out to cushion the fall. I totally agree about the downward slanted wings also. They were a pain in our tourney because the wings were catchiing on models it just flew over. I like the conversions you made to yours. Very nice.

      I played against his drake with my eldar. The thing got poped it was a 10 man squad of fire dragons hiding in a bastion. He came at the bastion and popped the quad gun (after it did 1 HP). Then the 10 meltas shots scored my 4 more hits :)

      I do not like Helldrakes.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thank you for reading! I'm glad to hear others are having success, both with it and against it! It is certainly not invincible, and I think 10 melta shots will do in most anything. You did the best thing you can do against the Heldrake: hid in a transport or a building!

      I'm also glad you liked my conversion. I can't wait to get the painting finished and post another article!

    • profile image

      Lano 4 years ago

      Thanks for the article, was looking to Resurrect my chaos army after 3 years out of WH40k, and found this thing, wow loving the model and your conversions.

      But you should really add an option in the vote saying "1 of Each" because that's what im planning :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thank you for the read and comment! The new Chaos codex is a lot of fun and the Heldrake is a big part of it. I keep putting off getting the beast painted (I'm waiting on more airbrush time!). Maybe I will log in and change the poll options :)

    • profile image

      Tom 4 years ago

      I don't see how the unit is anything but unbalanced

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I agree with you. This thing always earns back its points and I have only seen it killed once. It's not impossible to counter at all... in fact, the Aegis Defense Line with its interceptor rule, has a chance to take it out before it does anything. However, it seems like GW is upping the arms-race... where players have to buy new units to specifically counter the new units created by 6th ed and the new codexes. It's a great rule set, but a new addition to a gaming group can cause havoc until someone counters it.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      (thought I'd butt into an old hub :P) I saw some suggestions about a Hydra Flak Tank a page up or so, keep in mind that it's weapons may have skyfire; but don't have interceptor, so it snapshots ground targets (my skimmers are finally safe!), I'd only take it if you're definitely facing flyers. Also I've seen quite a few of these guys hitting the floor recently, don't get -too- cocky with them, a friend of mine takes a quad gun aegis in every game, and destroyed the Helldrake on the first turn it came in without a second thought with the BS5 guy he had controlling it.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I've heard the Hydras are making the rounds, too, and with so many Flyers out there, I doubt it will be wasted. It isn't great versus ground troops, but considering you can take this PLUS an Aegis Defense Line with Quadgun, I say its effective redundancy.

      I think the biggest threat to the Heldrake IS that quad-gun. It has almost killed my Heldrake a few times, and it was only due to good invulnerable save rolling that keeps me alive. The heldrake can be shot right out of the sky, but it can also take a beating and keep on eating!

    • John Wesley Fox profile image

      John Wesley Fox 3 years ago

      can you send me a copy of the errata that gave meteoric strike AP3 I will need this for the tournament I'm entering in August. Praise Slaanesh!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      There is no errata because the AP3 is in the main rule book. Look under Vector Strike in the universal special rules section. It says Vector Strike attacks are resolved at the model's base strength and at AP 3.

      The Heldrake's Meteoric Strike rule just gives it a Strength value of 7, since it otherwise wouldn't have a strength, being a vehicle. I hope this helps. Thanks for reading!

      BTW in yesterday's game, my Heldrake wiped out a 5 man space marine squad, 3/4ths of a vanguard veteran squad, and then on the next turn, vector struck a rhino (wrecked it), and then shot backwards with the baleflamer to kill the 5-man combat squad dead to a man. It was awesome.

      BTW, you might want to go to GW's site and fine the Chaos Space Marine FAQ, where it does state that the Heldrake's weapon is mounted on a 360-degree turret now :)

      http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductC...

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      your heldrake might be in trouble with the two new anti air tanks in the vanilla space marine arsenal with their 6th edition release. I wish you luck with surviving them.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Ray, thank you for your condolences! The good news is that both of these new AA tanks are only armor 12 and they don't have interceptor. I might be able to take them out before my Heldrake is shot down... maybe :) Honestly, though, I don't mind if lose it... First, I will get at least 1 turn to wreak havoc on my opponent. Secondly, I actually like it when my friends' models do what they are supposed to do. I always feel bad when I destroy a unit before it ever has a chance to do anything... maybe I'm playing the wrong game :p

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Eldar've got nothing to fear, just pitch up with some Starshot dark reapers and launch 5 krak equivalent missiles at it, you'll be fine! I don't think the SMs are that much to fear even after their update.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      SEG, both armies you mention (Eldar and SM) still have to endure one turn of the Heldrake coming on since neither option has the Interceptor special rule. Also, both options are not impossible to take out during my shooting phase. I hate running Chaos Havoks because they always get blow to bits in turn 1, just so they can't shoot at the enemy flyer next turn. Grrrr. Still, flyers are becoming a lot more balanced with the new units coming out. That's a great thing!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      oh, I was talking about the SM AA tanks, I'm very aware of the Heldrake's capabilities in early game play.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      and also the aforementioned quad gun really helps out, but as an Eldar, it doesn't fit their fluff (which is why each race needs their own fortifications!). Obviously there's the Crimson Hunter option for Eldar to take, and it'll deal with the Helldrake as it does with any other flyer, but that relies on fine tuned timing and an Autarch to fix your reserves rolls, and will cost an exorbitant amount of points.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Chapterhouse Studios ran a successful Kickstarter to get new defense lines with alien looking guns. They will go on sale this fall and I plan on picking on up for the Eldar. You use the same rules as the Aegis and Quad Gun, but it has an Eldar aesthetic.

      I think Eldar with a Quad + a Crimson Hunter will be enough. That gives you some cover to put some guardians (with Warlock and the Shrouded power), shoot at Flyers as they arrive, and the Crimson Hunter can finish them off and go hunting ground vehicles. That's my plan, at least :)

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      I've always kept my reapers kind of imobile and in cover with my other troops drawing enemies in so my reapers can rack up the kills. I would think fire dragons in a wave serpent would be better, as a smart person would keep their aa tanks out of site, and the hunter outranges the reaper.

      THANK YOU for the eldar quad defence info i so need to get one or two it will look so much better with my eldar than the ones i got now thanks.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Dark Reapers and Rangers behind the Aegis is great, then you can get holofield vehicles behind it as well for a massive cover save, then you can use War Walkers and Shining Spears (wow! We finally have a use for them!) to outflank and destroy those pesky tanks.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      I like the plan SEG, but I'm probably going to run Fire Dragons in a serpent and War Walkers with scatter lasers, good all around hunting force.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Anything that includes a Wave Serpent is a good call... Because it's a Wave Serpent, Also remember that if you get a Dark Reaper Exarch on a quad, it's firing 4 shots at BS5 -ignoring jink-, AND it has intercept, it's an awesome combo.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      Definitely agree with you on the serpents, but they make me feel the falcons i got a while back are useless.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      get some WS turrets and do a retro-fit, that's my 2 cents, check out Murphy's Serpent review he did a while back, and I've got a similar section on one of my Blue Chips hubs. And yea, Falcons are um... Terrible as of the moment (in comparison anyway), they're outclassed as a battle tank and transport by the wave serpent, and as a dedicated tank killer by the Fire Prism, a Pulse Laser's not going to cut it.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Hey, I like the Fire Prism! I just have no logical reason why I like it :)

      I do have to comment that it's funny that so many references have been made to the Aegis Defense Line in an article about the Heldrake :) Maybe that Fire Dragon exarch can take the Heldrake down when it comes on the board... but if it survives (hint... mine always survives, muahaha) then say good by to those troops lined up nice behind that wall.

      I think they way to beat the Heldrake is to keep things hidden inside vehicles, kind of like what you're saying, Ray! I would say put Dark Reapers in a wave serpent and then let them disembark so the exarch can fire at the heldrake... but one Str 7 shot ain't going to cut it :) You need a Crimson Hunter!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      (I was complimenting the Fire Prism, a S9 lance is monolith killing material!)

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      No logical reason for likeing the fire prism, what are you saying. It has 3 good modes of fire and several viable upgrades that will work with it well. There's your logic for ya.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      ^ this: "hello, this is the Prism Cannon hotline service! Press 1 to deal with large, unwieldy groups of infantry, press 2 to kill Terminators, and press 3 to destroy Land Raiders and Monoliths!"

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Ah, you are so correct. I honestly want that wraithknight, but I am thinking that a Fire Prism is a better all-comers unit. It's good against everything!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Also... I totally realized that you all said Fire Prism... and I was thinking Falcon. If you replace all our previous mentions of "Fire Prism" with "Falcon" then my dismay makes sense.

      Obviously, I get confused with words that start with the letter "F" :p

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Wraithknights can just assault stuff with AV14, that works normally. I mean, it's moving 12" a turn, so there's a nice chance of it getting to combat each turn.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I love the idea of a wraithknight just punching a tank until it explodes. Better yet, it stands a good chance to penetrate on its hammer of wrath attack! Just body slamming a tank and knocking it over is a damn cinematic sight! Why haven't I bought one yet?!!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      I've got one sitting on my desk, it's a magnificent thing, only dwarfed by my Titan. I think it's getting better the more I look at it in terms of rules, it's a well spent 240 points...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I might order one this month. I've been trying to build up the core of my army before adding the wraithknight. The army I've inherited was an old second edition one, so there were no vehicles included (as those were relatively rare in 2nd ed). I've fleshed it out with new dire avengers, a wave serpent, and some new Mymeara paint scheme on some of the models. I'd like 2 more wave serpents, the crimson hunter, and then the wraithknight :)

    • profile image

      Vakid 3 years ago

      TO Evgeny .......

      if your wanting your Khorne army to be more shooty the swap you berzerkers for normal chaos space marines with a mark of khorne and icon of wrath and some flamers or meltas and if you want vet of the long war. and combi plasma on terminators can be quite fun.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Good advice! Khorne marked marines are actually dang-good, only lacking Fearless to keep them in the fight. One bad round and they can be run down, but I think well work the points! Plus, if you're losing melee with them, you're doing it wrong!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      true, a 20 man squad of Khorne marines is simply put, TERRIFYING, only Tyranids would dish out as much damage as them in combat for that amount of points, and that's saying something.

    Click to Rate This Article