ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Hoard: A Review

Updated on July 15, 2012
Why can't Milton Bradley make soemthing like this?
Why can't Milton Bradley make soemthing like this?

What it is

Hoard is a quick drop into some fun addictive gameplay. Made by Big Sandwich Games, which has since been accuired by Z2Live, this little gem from 2011 is a rarity. The game itself doesn't have a story, and the only hint of what the story is is the fact that the edges of the map look as if you are on the edge of a table, so it may be just a board game that wizard kids play. Who knows, it doesn't take the time to make some corny, cheesy stroy, it just gets into the fun. If they had gone that route honestly it would have only cheapened the experience. The gameplay itself is you control a dragon and fly around the game area and destroy things and collect gold for them. You can destroy farms, or cities, kill knights, archers, and mage towers (DESTROY THE MAGE TOWERS) you can also detroy the carts of grain going to the farm to the city, or the carts of goods going to other cities or castles for trade. You can kidnap princesses for ransom, and you must constantly be on the lookout for theives coming to steal your hard earned gold.

Then there are other dragons to compete with, who are doing the same thing. You can steal their hoard with power ups, or freeze them with ice breath, or many other options to be discovered in game. If you terrorize a town enough, and protect it from the competitor dragon or dragons, they will send you tribute in the form of carts of gold directly to your hoard.

Gotta remember defense, dead dragon does no damage.
Gotta remember defense, dead dragon does no damage. | Source

You pick a mode, which you can choose between treasure, princess rush, survival and co-op, then you pick a map, then you jump in for 10 minutes of fast paced fun. Not screaming holding onto your seat crazy driver face paced more like comfortable acceleration into high speeds fast paced. Which is nice, each dragon starts off with the same stats and as you gain gold in your hoard you level up, getting to put points in speed, fire breath, carrying capacity, and defense. If you don't want to co-op and want to compete against other players, you can go to multiplayer and play via lan or over the internet.

Cold is the winter of your discontent.
Cold is the winter of your discontent.

Critisism I have heard

Looking at people talk about the game, alot of people say that the gameplay in Hoard is way too shallow. That seems to be the main complaint from critics, to that I say sometimes you have to take a game for what it is. Hoard is a relatively inexpensive game, $10 is full price on steam, watch for it and you can get it on sale. I also does exactly what is is designed to do, it gets you in quickly and entertains you and lets you leave when you need. Those deep complex games often times have a large entry time where you get in, you check your inventory, look over everything you need make sure your ready to go out and play, then the gameplay itself takes a while, not something you can do on a lunchbreak, or while the wife is going to be just a few seconds longer getting ready. A game of Hoard is 10 minutes, so you can easily get 1, maybe two games in that time frame.

Along those same lines personally, sometimes I need shallow gameplay. Being able to enjoy simplicity for what it is is relaxing. I am not sure if you have figured this out yet, but life outside in the world is tough, and alot of times it sucks, and requires alot of thought. Sometimes mindless fun is a blessing in it's own right. Hoard delivers that, you just go start destroying the countryside.

If you want to have to think, pushing a gold medal score on all the maps can get challenging, and will require some strategy. You have to make decisions like, do you burn the town down and clooect it's loot, or do you let it thrive and attack the shipments it sends to other towns. Do you burn the castle down, or let it gain money for higher princess ransoms, and more powerful knights to come save her? So it is not without thought, but if you just want some fun and don't care about score, you don't have too.

When a level begins alot of tiles fall from the sky to make a gameboard.
When a level begins alot of tiles fall from the sky to make a gameboard.

The Flaws I See

There are two major flaws that I see that really are easy to fix, but they are worth mentioning. if you play the game on PC it is worth getting a controller, the game was designed with a controller in mind. The keyboard and mouse make it possible to play, it just doesn't seem to mesh right. This won't be an issue if you play in on the PS3 or the PSP, I would say on XBox, but that is another flaw, it isn't available on XBox.

The other problem I have had with the PC version is getting into multiplayer, it is hit or miss sometimes I have to wait much longer than others, and I don't think it is the amount of people playing, I think it has to do with the matchmaking system. Their have been improvements made to this since launch but it could still use some love and tweaking. I doubt this problem exist on the PS3 cause it will use the Playstation network to set up multiplayer. So if youhave problems then it is a population issue.

My Rating

I don't give a 8/10 or stars or anything like that. I also don't break down into catagories, because some games might be designed to have 8-bit graphics. Then you also run the issue of, "why did you give FF7 a 10 and Gears of War a 8.5?" issues, so this is how I rate a game, you have an idea of what the game is like, and about, if applicable, and here are some simple questions about the game I am going to answer for you, the potential consumer.

Fun is rarely complex
Fun is rarely complex

Do I own a copy of this game? Yes

Where is my copy of this game? Loaded on my PC

Would I sell you my copy of this game, if possible? No

How often do I play this game? Once or twice a month

Have I given it as a gift? Not yet

Would I recommend it to you? Yes

Where to Buy

Hoard is sold on Steam and on the Playstation Network, and at reatailers who sell PSP games.

You can get it on PC at the time of this review writing (7/15/12) for 40% off, but keep a watch cause during steam summer sell, ending 7/23/12 you might find it on the daily deal or in the flash sell area for even cheaper.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • JohnGreasyGamer profile image

      John Roberts 

      6 years ago from South Yorkshire, England

      You're getting a lot of bang for your buck. $6 dollars is around £2.50, but I think the recommended retail price will be the same as dollars. And the DLC would probably be around 50 pence/£1.50 each, unless again it's sold at £3 a piece. I'll have to have a look tomorrow morning and see if I can get to the sale before it ends. Thanks again ^^

    • Morgaren profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim 

      6 years ago from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

      It's worth $6, (not sure what that translates into for you) and the downloadable content is maybe an extra $3 on sale right now, the DLC gives more types of carts to kill and different maps, and a desert backdrop, the original game just has snow and green forest

    • JohnGreasyGamer profile image

      John Roberts 

      6 years ago from South Yorkshire, England

      Sounds perfect for me then, as I've got plenty of time to kill! ^^

    • Morgaren profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim 

      6 years ago from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma

      I have played it for hours straight when I first got it. Each game is 10 minutes unless you do survival, then its how ever long you go without dying. 12 games in a row isn't an unreasonable stretch to go. I now I would play four games, go get something to drink, surf the internet for a few minutes, then go back to it.

    • JohnGreasyGamer profile image

      John Roberts 

      6 years ago from South Yorkshire, England

      Very nice review, I might have to pick this one up next time Steam doesn't crash upon startup. Unfortunately, that'll probably be.... never. Looks like a great game though, and I'm sure I could have hours of fun. Do you reckon one could play around two hours straight if said player had the time? Or is it just a casual game (otherwise you get bored and lose loads of interest)?

      Voted up, useful and interesting ^^

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)