ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Games, Toys, and Hobbies»
  • Computer & Video Games

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning - Character Customization: Abilities & Destinies

Updated on February 3, 2012

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning is a new action role-playing video game for Xbox 360, PlayStation 3, and Windows. There has been a lot of role-playing action video games released in the past few years such as Fallout, Oblivion, Skyrim, Dragon Age, etc. What makes Kingdom of Amalur stand out is that there is a ton of customization in the game. And the exploration factor of the game is immense.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Races

There are 4 different races you can choose at the start of the game; the Almain, the Ljosalfar, the Dokkalfar, and Varani (Noble Human, Light Elves, Dark Elves, and Nomadic Human). The race you choose does not decide what type of player you become, however, there are certain bonuses with each race. For example, the Varani race gets a 2+ bonus to lock picking, so if you are thinking about becoming a rogue based character, then choosing that race will benefit you.

The race you choose in Kingdoms of Amalur can be fully customized. You will be able to alter the facial features such as skin tone, eye color, hair styles etc.

Kingdoms of Amalur: Ability Trees & Destinies

It is ultimately up to the player to decide what type of character they want to become. There is a skill-tree system where you can either advance your Might, Finesse, or Sorcery skills. Might corresponds to a fighting type character. Finesse corresponds to a rogue type character. And Sorcery is a mage based character. Note that you don't have to stick to one type of class in Kingdoms of Amalur. If you like a warrior type character, but would also like to use sorcery magic -- you can do that.

Every time you level up in Kingdoms of Amalur you will be given skill points to distribute to the various abilities; Might, Finesse, and Sorcery. If you decide at one point in the game that you do not like the way you built your characters abilities, then you can to redistribute the points by visiting a Fateweaver and paying them gold.


Destinies are basically cards that you unlock once you acquire a certain amount of points in the Might, Finesse, and Sorcery abilities. For example,once you have spent 28 points in Might, you'll be given access to the "Soldier card." This grants bonuses to melee attack damage, block efficiency, and stun duration.

Some destiny cards are unlocked when you have a combination of points spent on both Might & Sorcery, Might & Finesse or whatever combination you distribute points to. If you spend most of the game spending points on all three abilities, you'll eventually have access to some of the most versatile destiny cards in Kingdoms of Amalur.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.