ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

NFL Madden 2010 Nintendo Wii Review

Updated on March 20, 2010

Now before I go into this review I want everybody to understand that I love Madden, always have and always will. When my PS2 started acting up I traded it and all of my games in for an Xbox and Madden because the game play for Madden was so much better on the Xbox. I like other football games too, before my Xbox 360 died I had all the Blitz games, NFL Tour, and the NFL Street games for regular Xbox.

With that out of the way, I spent all day August 13th going crazy because I wanted to play so bad. I drug my wife down to Walmart and waited in the long until finally it was 12:01, on the way home I flipped through the book and looked through the features where I didn't see Franchise mode but I figured there's no way they would make a Madden with no franchise mode. Once I put the game in I saw that there was now a mode called "Road To The Super Bowl" which I figured was the Franchise mode, NOPE! I really want to know who thought it was a good idea to rob wii madden fans of a real franchise mode and instead give them crap basically. There is no pro bowl, no messing with your teams location, no offseason, no nothing just a single meaningless season.This alone makes Madden 09 better to me even if it was taken straight from the PS2, at least I can have a fantasy draft, at least I can play season after season, change my coaches, etc.

At this point I was still willing to give it the benefit of the doubt so I was getting my Lions all set up for road to super bowl mode when I noticed that their player rankings are complete bull. Matthew Stafford an 80, fine, Maurice Morris is an 83 and faster than Kevin Smith who is an 82 and who started every game last year while Morris was 2nd string in Seattle. Calvin Johnson also has 87 speed, I'm not saying hes Devin Hester but come on, have you ever seen him run a reverse?

His speed is in the 90's easy. Last but not least, 3rd round draft pick Sammie Lee Hill is a 59, THATS FIVE-NINE! So Madden is trying to tell me the worst two free agent DTs in the game Antwan Lake (67) and Kenny Peterson (67) are better than the 3rd round pick?

Once I finally got over all of its shortcomings and got into the game play it didn't feel like Madden, that's when I realized the entire feel of the game including off the field stuff was just like another game I've played.

Its like if your parents had told you that they got you Transformer toys for Christmas then on Christmas day when you open your presents you got Go Bots. Sure go bots are fun but they just aren't transformers, Madden 2010 is fun but it just isn't Madden.I mean play NFL Tour then play the 5 on 5 option for Madden 2010 and tell me its not the same game. Now I liked NFL Tour and bought it when it came out but EA Sports shouldn't put Madden on the box and sell me NFL Tour.

I think the part that really makes me mad is that unless I go buy another Xbox 360 or buy a PS3 this is it for me. EA Sports decided to take away NCAA 2010 on the Wii then apparently decided they were just going to make an NFL Tour for Wii and package it as Madden. So I'm going to have to wait another whole year before I can play a new game with some real depth to its season mode, that is if EA Sports decides to put out a NCAA game next year and if they actually decide to put out a real Madden game next year.

Madden 2010 is still fun and I would still buy it, others might not feel the same way though because I seriously doubt that NFL Tour sold as many copies as Madden because people look to Madden for more realistic style game play not arcade style game play. Essentially thats what it all boils down to, if you like football games with an arcade feel then you'll love Madden 2010 for the Wii. If you like football games with a more realistic style game play then your going to hate Madden 2010 for the Wii. If your like me and you like both but still want your Madden fix your going to be wondering what the hell your supposed to do for the next year while you wait for a football game with more substance to come out. It looks like I'm going to be playing Madden 2009 for my Madden fix and Madden 2010 for my NFL Tour fix.


The Re-Review

As you can see in the comment box below, I was informed that my biggest gripe with Madden 2010 actually didn't exist. EA Sports didn't make the bonehead move of actually taking Franchise mode out of the game, they just made the bonehead move to make it only available by putting in the code "THE WORKS". So a lot of the depth I felt was missing from the game was actually just hidden, with that being said Madden 2010 actually offers a good contrast of arcade style modes and classic modes. The overall gameplay still has more of an arcade feel to me which some Madden fans won't like but I still would have waited in line for it the night it released, I just wish I would have known about the code earlier.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • BSLIONS profile imageAUTHOR

      BSLIONS 

      6 years ago from Richmond, Va

    • profile image

      Matt 

      7 years ago

      Two minutes into playing Madden 10 I wanted my money back. I get that they are trying to make it easier for little kids or whatever, but to me its unplayable. No Franchise mode, or Superstar mode, and I cant find a single improvement from 09. EA should have put out a Madden for kids as well as a real-deal Madden for Wii. If it weren't for my wife, I wouldn't have ever bought a Wii (she's a Zelda fanatic). Not only can I not buy games I want because they aren't made for Wii (I'm talking to you, UFC Undisputed!!), but now I cant even enjoy the games that are still available to me... I need a 360 bad!!!

    • profile image

      wheres my cat? 

      8 years ago

      old ball coach..... you can go online and get cheats that will allow u to play franchise, superstar and situation modes.

    • profile image

      justin 

      8 years ago

      madden ten on wii is garbage it totally sucks and you cant even change rosters you cant even fight for the fumble i would rather buy the first madden then madden 10 on wii i hope ea sports heres this and at christmas i had got a wii and madden 10 on it i played and loked at the players i was so mad i turned the wii off like come on it looks like a 1995 john madden cartoon game on a sega its so unrealistic i'm 11 years old and i home who ever made this game makes a nother won on wii please i'm begging you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • JBeadle profile image

      J Beadle 

      8 years ago from Midwest

      It's odd that they didn't include the franchise mode and other things you mentioned which the hard core madden fans seem to love. I'm more about just playing the game against friends. Waiting to open it for X-mas for my WII... hoping it doesn't disappoint. I think I'm getting Tiger Woods 10 (mainly for the disc golf feature but I like golf golf too). With Tiger's bad press there might not be a Woods 11 next year!!! Great hub.

      Lions to the Superbowl though? Although, better them than the Vikes and their traitor Favre!!! The soul-less one we call him now in Wisconsin!

    • DoodleLyn profile image

      DoodleLyn 

      8 years ago from Upstate New York, USA

      Congratulations on your hubnugget nomination.

    • BSLIONS profile imageAUTHOR

      BSLIONS 

      8 years ago from Richmond, Va

      Holy Crap! Grogan, your a life saver! For them to make it a code is dumb but at least it is there, ok guys expect a re-review or some edits to this review probably monday since I have be at work in an hour. Thanks again Grogan, you may have just saved Madden 2010 for me.

    • profile image

      Grogan 

      8 years ago

      you can play franchise and superstar and do all of those things.

      Just go to extras and enter THEWORKS as a code and you get it all.

      In addition, there aren't "millions of madden fans on wii" in fact less than 900,000 bought it last year, and of those 400,000 were FIRST time buyers.

      That means there are at most 400,000 HARDCORE madden fans on wii.

      Why would they make the game for such a small number?

      They want to keep that group happy of course, but the overall goal is to reach more fans and bring them into the Madden world. That's the point.

    • BSLIONS profile imageAUTHOR

      BSLIONS 

      8 years ago from Richmond, Va

      oldballcoach, your reaction is exactly what I expected from Wii Madden fans who were looking for the realistic Madden experience that we are all used to. Quite frankly though you have the right to be mad, EA sports dropped the ball and sold you (and everyone else) a repackaged Xbox 360 game from 2008 (NFL Tour) instead of coming up with something truly "revolutionary" like they promised.

    • profile image

      oldballcoach 

      8 years ago

      Madden 2010 for Wii sucks, it makes me want to sell my Wii and buy a PS3 just so I can play Madden and NCAA 2010. EA sports and Ninetendo better get on the same page our millions of die hard sports fans will quit playing the Wii and go back to the PS3. I am pissed about the quality of madden, the fact that I can not play franchise, there is no season stats, pro bowl team, awards..etc. This is the worstest Madden that I have ever played, I want my damn money back

    • ripplemaker profile image

      Michelle Simtoco 

      8 years ago from Cebu, Philippines

      BSLIONS: Congratulations for being a Hubnugget Wannabe! Do vote, promote and enjoy the Hubnuggets which we have right here on Hubpages.

      To see the Hubnuggets Activities: http://hubpages.com/hub/How-to-Highlight-New-Write...

      Ripplemaker and the Hubnuggets Team

    • BSLIONS profile imageAUTHOR

      BSLIONS 

      9 years ago from Richmond, Va

      If you've got a PS3 you should check out this review.

      https://hubpages.com/games-hobbies/Madden-10-First...

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)