ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Eldar Codex 6th Edition Review Warhammer 40k - Part 11 - Phoenix Lords 2

Updated on June 25, 2013
Eldar 6th edition Phoenix Lords Review
Eldar 6th edition Phoenix Lords Review

Introduction

Guess who's back? Yep, it's Murphy again (@BenMurphy) here with the second part of my Phoenix Lords review for the new Eldar Codex for Warhammer 40k 6th edition.

If you hadn't caught the first part of my Phoenix Lords review, which covers Asurmen, Jain Zar, and Karandras, then click the link below and come back. The first part describes the general stats and wargear that is common to all Phoenix Lords, so make sure you are up to date with it before reading this article, or else you might wonder why key elements are missing.

Of course, if you haven't read the original parts of the new Eldar codex review, you may check them out right here:

Follow the links at the end of each article to find the next part and you will make it all the way back here.

New Eldar Codex Review Fuegan
New Eldar Codex Review Fuegan

Fuegan

Fuegan, the Burning Lance, is the leader of the Fire Dragon aspect warriors. He is a destructive warrior, teaching that overwhelming force and obliteration should greet each enemy. More than that, though, he teaches that peace, even for the Eldar race, can be found through oblivion, rather than in fear losing their souls to She Who Thirsts.

  • Standard Phoenix Lord stats and Phoenix Armor
  • firepike - 18" Str 8 AP 1, Melta
  • meltabombs
  • Warlord Trait: Mark of the Incomparable Hunter - give him Split Fire
  • Eternal Warrior
  • Fearless
  • Feel No Pain

He has two Exarch Powers:

  • Crushing Blow - +1 Strength, so he's a Strength 5 Eldar!
  • Fast Shot - shoot twice with his firepike!

He also has the power called Unquenchable Resolve, in which for every unsaved wound that Fuegan takes, he gains +1 Str and + 1 Attacks for the remainder of the game.

His special wargear is an axe that still glows as if fresh from the furnace, even after thousands of years:

  • Fire Axe - Str user, AP 1, Armorbane

Murphy's Take:

I don't know if I've ever seen someone use Fuegan. I think he'd be a surprise for most opponents. Not only can he shoot twice with that firepike, he can fire at a separate target from the unit he's attached to. If he's attached to a unit of Fire Dragons, then that single unit is very likely to drop 2 tanks per turn of shooting.

Then, if Fuegan is assaulted, he's quite formidable. With a high initiative, strength, and an AP1 weapon, he will cleave through most opponents. As always, you have to be careful of powerfists, but at least he has Eternal Warrior so that he wont go down from one hit.

I like Fuegan, but I think he's more of a thematic character than a competitive one. I do like that he's a "shooting" character, though, but one that can kick butt in melee.

New Eldar Codex Review Baharroth
New Eldar Codex Review Baharroth

Baharroth

Baharroth is the leader of the Swooping Hawks aspect warriors, and he is called the Cry of the Wind. He is described as youthful and energetic, but is also a dedicated hunter of foes and his wrath it like that of a falcon descending on prey.

  • Phoenix Lord stats and Phoenix Armor
  • Swooping Hawk wings (jump infantry)
  • haywire and plasma grenades
  • grenade pack - allows for the grenade drop like the Swooping Hawks. He can do this solo, or his grenade pack adds to the total of a squad, so that a 5 man squad + Baharroth can get a large blast.
  • Hawk's Talon - 24" Str 5 AP 5 Assault 3
  • Warlord Trait - Falcon's Swiftness - Warlord and unit gain +1" Run speed.
  • Eternal Warrior
  • Fearless
  • Night Vision
  • Skyleap (see Swooping Hawks)
  • Herald of Victory - Doesn't scatter when deep striking

Baharroth has two Exarch Powers:

  • Battle Fortune - 4+ invulnerable save
  • Hit & Run

He also has a cool power called Sun's Brilliance. When he deep strikes, all enemy units within 6" must test for Blind. Against low initiative armies, that's a neat trick.

He also has one special wargear:

  • The Shining Blade: Melee, Str user AP 3, Blind.

Murphy's Take:

Baharroth got a decent update with the 6th edition codex. If you run him solo, he can jump from turn to turn and drop grenades on units, and with his his BS they will not scatter far. Really, though, I think he adds firepower and melee strength to a squad of Swooping Hawks. His grenade pack adds to the total so you can get a large blast template, and then his Str 5 shooting weapon can add to the firepower you send down range. From there, the whole unit can Skyleap and do it all over again, or perhaps jump around and assault vehicles with haywire grenades or pick off small backfield units like artillery.

New Eldar Codex Maugan Ra
New Eldar Codex Maugan Ra

Maugan Ra

Known as the Harvester of Souls, Maugan Ra is the only survivor of the craftworld Altansar and the founder of the Dark Reapers. Always a fan favorite, I think because his miniature is still so cool looking!

  • Phoenix Lord stats and Phoenix Armor
  • Warlord Trait - Mark of the Incomparable Hunter - gives him Split Fire
  • Eternal Warrior
  • Fearless
  • Hatred (Chaos Daemons)
  • Relentless

Maugan Ra actually has three Exarch Powers:

  • Fast Shot
  • Marksman's Eye - 5+ precision shots
  • Night Vision

He has one special wargear, the Maugtar, which has two profiles:

  • Shooting: 36" Str 6 AP 5 Assault 4 Pinning and Rending
  • Melee: Str +2 AP 3

Murphy's Take:

I'm actually a little underwhelmed by Maugan Ra. If you put him in a squad of Dark Reapers, he will likely kill fewer space marines than his troops. I probably shouldn't whine . . . not everybody fights against space marines constantly, and Str 6 AP 5 with Rending (and Pinning) is going to hurt a lot of other armies.

Since he can Split Fire from the squad he's in, you can fire Reapers (or even Dire Avengers) into one squad and then aim him at another. Strength 6 shots would actually do damn good against even Greater Daemons. I know my Keeper of Secrets would not like receive 4 shots from him. I do like that he is another "shooting" special character, something we do not see in a lot of armies, and by my count, the Eldar get at least 4 (Illic Nightspear, Fuegan, Baharroth, and Maugan Ra).

Which Phoenix Lord will lead your army?

See results

This is the End

I think I'm done. Seriously, I have written 12 articles covering the new Eldar codex for 6th edition Warhammer 40k. It has been my most in-depth review to date, and I can only attribute that to how excited I was to get the codex and revive an old friend. The book is a great read and the units are slick. There are some complaints, but we can't have everything! All around it is a solid codex that seems like a lot of fun to play on the battlefield.

I thank every reader who came back again and again, and especially those that left comments and suggestions!

So what's next? Well, I might stick with Eldar a little longer, but it will be to write a few tactics articles. Honestly, though, I will need to get a few more games in before I start commenting on that front. To that end, I have the new Chaos Daemons codex that I have yet to write about, but have had a few months to play with on the battlefield. Should I write about Daemons now that I have a handle on them?

I also have the new Tau codex, and the hopes of one day fielding a shooty army! The Tau were very new to me, so I didn't feel like analyzing the codex in as much detail at first, but I am feeling a little more confident with each new read. What do you all think? Comment below and give me a direction.

In the mean time, you are invited to read some of my other 6th edition 40k articles. I will link to a few "new" ones that I hadn't linked to before. Thank you again for reading, and I appreciate your support. Murphy Out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Hey guys, I decided to write up a Tau Codex review. I posted a link at the end of the article above, but here you go too!

      https://hobbylark.com/tabletop-gaming/New-Tau-Code...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Also, 1850 points is something we do at the local club. I want to say that a lot of tournaments in Florida were running that number for 5th edition and it's just carried over into 6th. It's slightly quicker and smaller than 2,000 but it gives just that little extra wiggle room for building an army compared to a small 1,500 point list. We play 2,000 also.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I went with cheap characters, so I had more troops. My opponent did a great job, and it was just a matter maneuvering and testing. Lilith had the advantage in speed because her Raider is an assault vehicle, whereas Jain Zar et al has to literally sit out a round while they disembark. If Jain Zar and Lilith can ever arrive at the same time, then they will be a killer combo. I'd let Jain Zar offer a challenge and then let Lilith tear through troops! I look forward to another test game.

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      odd part for me is that I almost field more footslogging models with my (expensive per model) emperors children at 1500 pts. Speaking of which, is 1850 really the new army list standard?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      that's Eldar for you, actually that's a reasonable amount models for that amount of points, but the vehicles and characters lower the headcount somewhat yes.

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      might be me but the armylists seem tiny- as in a low amount of models fielded for the amount of points

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      he had lelith and JZ, yet didn't use the Queens of Steel -.- that's an opportunity wasted man!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I put some more information on my eldar battle on my personal blog. I learned some interesting things and I have our army lists up there. Check it out :)

      http://forever-war.blogspot.com/

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      With a normal psyker, you get to roll the power and then decided where to deploy them or which unit to deploy them with. I don't see why we couldn't do the same with the warlocks. Otherwise, the random powers being attached to units with specific roles, is a hard pill to swallow . . . unless everyone always chooses the primaris power to get shrouded, which is not a bad power.

      BTW a game last night displayed two things to me: Wave Serpents are just awesome and Guardian Defenders can actually defend! A full unit with Guide (re-roll shooting misses) is murder on overwatch. It's hard to put them on the offensive without a wave serpent (that costs more than the unit does), but putting them in cover over an objective and they did great versus assaults.

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      that's mainly why I was asking about the sequence of the roll for powers/split up the warlock council, that would give you more choice on which power to join with the jetbikes

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      don't forget Jetbikes get super cover now as well, get a warlock in there and pick conceal, as soon as they move they're on a 3+ cover save.

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      that is most definitely true, I started the list with 3 units of rangers(one unit of pathfinders) and 3 units of jetbikes, super cover or super flexibility help a lot

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      plus Eldar Jetbikes just got the upgrade of the century, with semi-rending and a points drop, and increased to BS4

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      the odd part for me that when I build an eldar list that seems to work for me, I end up with a 85% shooty list, and with DE it's 80% close combat. quite the opposite and both could work like a charm. Then again I've never like guardians and love rangers so this might be just me

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Xarin, I will say that the Dark Eldar are strong, but they suffer from being a 5th edition codex. There are some great options still with Dark Eldar, but there are simply some units and army builds that just don' t work in 6th edition now. Some units got better, some barely work now. For instance, in 5th edition, you could take a bunch of webway portals and then assault your reserves right out of them. With 6th you can't do that... so your units jump out of webway portals and have to stand there a round before they can assault.

      Basically with Dark Eldar, you must must must buy a bunch of transports. You can either go small squads and run Venoms, or you could go with Raiders. Either way, expect to have 7+ transport vehicles mandatory in your army. This can get expensive money wise, but you can with games :)

      With the new Eldar codex, it is at least built for 6th edition. Everything works like it is was written to play. I think SOME Eldar aspect warriors seem weak on their own. For instance, Warp Spiders have AP "-" weapons, but they are Strength 6 and basically Rending. Banshees are great and fast, but have no assault transports and no assault grenades... weak?! But they just have to be used to assault troops in the open or be saved for later in the game.

      I think synergy is the key word with Eldar or Dark Eldar. As a note: I have both :) And they make great allies for each other.

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      don't know yet, might go eldar, might go dark eldar

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I completely disagree with that. The army is stronger than it was by a long, long way, there are less spiked units (either really good or really bad) and we've got some crazy new rules to go with them!

    • Xarin profile image

      Xarin 4 years ago from Apeldoorn

      Gotta say, now that I've read through the entire codex it's given me a bit of a meh feeling, this might be because I pretty much have to buy a completely new army(3rd edition biel-tan aspect warrior army) but I somehow feel underwhelmed. It can be quite shooty from the troop choices, however most of the aspect warriors seem to dissapoint a bit.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thanks!

    • profile image

      Pk 4 years ago

      Two words... Murphy80 legend

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      they don't have BF or relentless, but harlequins all have Assault class weapons, and Ra has relentless, and on average the range people will be scoring is 14", a full 10" short of the Shreiker cannons' ranges, so if you stay at around 22" away, you'll likely not have any fire coming your way, therefore you get no return fire to your 8 nasty rending/pinning shots...

    • profile image

      Calculon 4 years ago

      Hi - New here, but I have a question regarding 'Tropic Thunder':

      I may be missing something but I don't see the Harlequin having Battle Focus, or Relentless - which would imo diminish the value of the 'Tropic Thunder' approach (as the risk of getting caught flat footed inside of the 24" is higher). Can someone please tell me if I've missed something in this unit/rule interpretation?

      Thanks

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      tau using Eldar Jetbikes as allies is such a common sight nowadays, EJBs are just about the best allied unit out there for the Tau.

    • profile image

      Jim 4 years ago

      Or just a whole article on eldar allys :)

    • profile image

      Jim 4 years ago

      I say analyse Tau and how you can use them as an eldar ally because they're battle brothers

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I could've told you that, Wood Elves are my primary army ^.^ dead hard to play as of the moment but their models are all beautiful.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      The horse head is actually a Wood Elf horse head. It's a plastic bit from awhile ago. Honestly, any of the plastic horse bits from Warhammer Fantasy would work great. I bet Ebay still has some bitz sellers online. A little greenstuff to smooth out the edges. Thanks for checking it out :)

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Like the mod to the greater daemon, and where did you get the horse head for it, a friend of mine plays daemons and he would be interested in making a horse headed daemon.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      The inspiration for my modification was something out of Greek myth, sort of like the minotaur, but with an animal that was more classic; a stallion, which has always represented power, grace, and beauty in the natural sense. I thought it fit pretty good. Click the link above to check it out :p

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I think Slanneshi Daemons should share some looks in common with Dark Eldar, edgy and occult.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I agree, a Slaaneshi daemon shouldn't be all squid looking. That's why I modified mine like 10 years ago :)

      http://forever-war.blogspot.com/2013/06/chaos-daem...

      I think it has a different flavor now, still not what some people would expect.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      actually, that's EXACTLY what Tropic Thunder is xD; check out my first Hub. They brawl like Genestealers in combat, have some nice firepower and don't die if you don't go full retard :P

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Andy, I love the idea of putting MRa in with the harlees, and I just might have to field him and Fuegan in one army for some very good kills, Fuegan for 2 vehicles a turn with spit fire, and MRa for a good deal of infantry a turn.

      Also, since you mentioned you keeper of secrets, that has always seemed like a tseench daemon with the name and the fact that it looks outlandish with the horns and claws and the weird face, I would think a slaneshe greater daemon would look more like his master, perfect and beautiful, but it still is a good model.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      And Andy, that IS a good combo. It seems to be the most popular list for Maugan Ra. Our own commenter, SomeEldarGuy, wrote an article on here that mentions a similar unit build. He calls it "Tropic Thunder" for hilarious reasons of his own :) Check out his profile and you can read his articles there, too.

      I think you are right, though, it's funny that Maugan Ra doesn't really fit with his own aspect warriors, but matches up very well with the Harlees. Go figure!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I think I will do Daemon's first because they make great allies with Chaos Marines and vice versa. Ray, you are correct that I mostly have Slaanesh Daemons because that is what I started with years ago. I do have a good mix now, including a Tzeench unit, a Nurgle unit, and a unit of old Bloodletters I got cheap recently (missing some arms!). Check out the link to my personal hobby blog because I actually have some photos of a few of them up.

      forever-war.blogspot.com

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      About those rerolls . .. no joke! I'd completely forgotten b/c none of my characters in my standard armies have above a 5, or have anything beyond a bolt pistol if they do. Thanks!

    • profile image

      Andy 4 years ago

      Personally I think Maugan Ra is better than some people think he is. He is often overlooked because he doesn't work with a unit of dark reapers (his aspect) because of no ap3 firepower or an option for str8 or higher shots and also has no reaper rangefinder??? He is a dark reaper isn't he!

      Anyway, there is one combo that I believe works well with MRa and that is to put him in a unit of harlequins with a death jester and shadowseer.

      This gives you 3 str6 bladestorm (rending) shots from the jester and 5 str6 rending shots from MRa totalling 8 str6 rending pinning shots a turn! MRa also has the splitfire rule (from warlord trait) and has precision shots on 5+. Now with battle focus and fleet you can still shoot without hindering your advancement towards the enem to assault. Combine this with a shadowseer and you also can't be seen from anything more than 2d6 x2" away. This is going to really annoy your opponent. (Although if you get perils of the warp on your shadowseer that really sucks)

      Not only this, MRa also adds significantly to harlequins in combat. He is str6 ap3 4 attacks base in close combat with WS and Initiative 7. Not bad for a shooty IC. Combine that with the furious charge & hit and run from harlequins and you have a lethal shooting and assault unit that can't be seen from max 24" away. What's not to like!

      The 8 str6 rending pinning shots a turn is likely to annoy your opponent and make this unit a high priority target, thus causing them to waste a lot of shots to just trying to see them hence distracting your opponent from your other units. Not bad at all in my opinion.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I'd say do daemons first, they came out sooner and you do play them and since you have done the chaos marines codex and daemons are a part of them, so it would be cool if they had their own list.

      out of curiosity, are you a mostly slanesshe player or do you mix it up, because when you mention daemons its mostly the prince of pleasure's cohorts.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      BS7, anything above BS5 rerolls in increments of 1 from 6, so the Avatar of Khaine, being BS10, hits on 2+ with a reroll on 2+ Bs9 2+ then 3+, BS8 2+ then 4+ etc.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      He's not bad at all, but he's just dang expensive for a couple of S6 shots. I'm not sure where you got the 5+ reroll from, though?? It's been a long week with too many rules bouncing around my head :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I think I will do Daemons and Tau... it's just a matter of which one I do first :) Thanks again for reading and commenting.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      firing 5 S6 shots isn't bad when they're hitting on 2+ with a 5+ reroll, I like Maugan Ra, but I can't see a feasible use for him apart from in Tropic Thunder...

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Thanks murphy this has all been a big help, and i'm with asuran with how much you play deamons, do them they are going to have some fun stuff to talk about.

    • profile image

      Asuran 4 years ago

      Thanks for your hard work. Your review and all the feedback have helped me greatly with picking a direction with my eldar. I would like to see some tactics added, it be a nice addon. That being sad I also collect Tau :-) but if your passionate about Deamons perhaps you should go with that. What ever you decide ill be reading it.