ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Eldar Codex 6th Edition Review Warhammer 40k Part 6 Flyers

Updated on June 23, 2016
New Eldar Codex Flyers Review 6th edition
New Eldar Codex Flyers Review 6th edition

Introduction

Whew! I'm back again, Murphy here (@BenMurphy) to finish out the Fast Attack section I started earlier. In this article I will finally get to the new Eldar Flyers! One of the biggest changes that 6th edition Warhammer 40k brought to the tabletop was the inclusion of Flyers. Love 'em or hate 'em, you cannot afford to ignore them if your opponent used them wisely. Ask my friends about my Heldrake . . .

Believe it or not, this is the 6th article I've written about the new Eldar Codex 6th edition. If you have somehow wandered the dark forest of the Internet and stumbled upon the cozy cottage of this review, then by all means drop your bags and stay for soup. However, you might have missed the fact that we are a whole village here; a house for every review. Check out my earlier Eldar Codex reviews posted below:

The other sections, Troops, Elites, and the first part of Fast Attack can be found my following those links above. Comments are welcome! Are you all caught up? Let's move on.

New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition
New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition

Vyper Squadron

Vypers are like bulkier jetbikes. They are true vehicles, so they eschew a Toughness statistic for an Armor Value and the ability to carry heavier weapons. You may take vypers in squadrons of up to 3. Let's take a quick look:

  • AV 10 all around (aka bolter bait!)
  • 2 hull points
  • Fast, Open topped, Skimmer
  • Shuriken Cannon + twin-linked shuriken catapult
  • May exchange the shurikan cannon for either a starcannon, brightlance, scatter laser, or an Eldar missile launcher (no flakk option).
  • May also exchange its twin-linked shuriken catapult for a shuriken cannon.
  • May also take items from the vehicle equipment list.

Murphy's Take:

A full squadron of vypers with two shuriken cannons each can pump out 18 Str 6 shots with Bladestorm each round. With some more points, you can equip them with Holo-fields, which give them a +1 to cover saves. Keep them behind some woods and you will be making 4+ cover saves all game long (and remember, space marines wont use the 5+ cover save you grant them by shooting through the woods). To save points, you could give only 1 of the vypers the holo-field, and keep that model out front so all the hits are applied to it first. It's risky, but it might be worth the savings in points.

New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition
New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition

Crimson Hunter

Here we are! The first of our brand-new Flyers for Eldar in 6th edition! The Crimson Hunter is a dedicated anti-Flyer machine, although I suppose it could also kill ground vehicles pretty well, too. What's more, you can even upgrade the pilot to be an Exarch, which opens up a few more options. At a glance:

  • AV 10 all around
  • 3 hull points
  • The Exarch is BS 5 (2+ to hit!)
  • 2 bright lances - 36" Str 8 AP 2, Heavy 1, Lance
  • Pulse laser - 48" Str 8 AP 2, Heavy 2
  • The Exarch can replace both bright lances with starcannons for free - 36" Str 6 AP 2 Heavy 2

The Crimson Hunter also has a few special rules:

  • The Exarch has Perfect Strike, which just allows Precision Shots on a 6
  • Skyhunter - When shooting at Flyers, re-roll failed armor penetration rolls
  • Vector Dancer - Free 90-degree turn after moving.
  • The Exarch may also take both Nightvision and/or Marksman's Eye powers.

Murphy's Take:

This is your Flyer defense. With a BS of 2+, firing all weapons for 4 shots, and the ability to re-roll failed penetration rolls, you can very likely take out other flyers in a single round. It's not guaranteed, but it's as close as you'll get in 40k. After you've taken out enemy Flyers, then it's time to turn your attention to ground vehicles, hopefully setting up side or rear shots.

The trick to this model, however, is going to be keeping it alive. At only AV 10, even space marines with bolters are going to be taking pot shots at it. Let alone an ork horde with sluggas or shootas. All they need are a couple of 6's followed by a couple of 6's and the Crimson Hunter is coming down. Your goal is to keep it in reserve until after your opponent's Flyers have arrived and after you've taken out anything with the Interceptor rule. Hopefully your Eldar army will present so many threats on the ground that your opponent will not risk taking pot shots at it, and letting your other units close uncontested.

New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition
New Eldar Codex Review Flyers 6th Edition

Hemlock Wraithfighter

While the Crimson Hunter is designed to take out other Flyers, the Hemlock Wraithfighter is designed to take out heavy infantry, and make infantry hordes scatter. It is controversial in the lore of the Eldar because it uses waves of negative energy to terrify opponents, which I suppose is worse than burning holes through them with hot plasma . . . ah, alien sensibilities. Let's look at what this unique Flyer has to offer:

  • AV 10 all around
  • 3 hull points
  • BS 4
  • 2 heavy D-scythes - 18" Str 4 AP 2, Heavy 1 Blast with Distort (auto wound/penetrate on 6's and Instant Death)
  • Mindshock pod - Enemy must re-roll successful Morale and Pinning tests within 12"
  • Spirit Stones - Ignore Crew Shaken on 2+ and Crew Stunned on 4+

On top of this, the Wraithfighter has a few interesting rules:

  • Vector Dancer
  • Psychic Pilot - Leadership 10 for using psychic powers
  • Mastery Level 1
  • Always knows Terrify from Telepathy - Malediction, 24", unit loses Fearless, treats all enemies as causing Fear, and must immediately make a Morale check.

A note about Maledictions: they must be cast at the start of your Movement phase and last until the end of your opponent's phase. This means that a Fearless unit that breaks due to the power (think Ork horde) will still not have Fearless on their next turn, so might continue to Fall Back. Note that space marines will still auto-regroup because they have And They Shalt Know No Fear . . . which is a different rule than Fearless, of course.

Murphy's Take:

I actually like this Flyer. Two AP 2 blasts can put the hurting on anything with power armor or better, and with the Distort rule, it has the potential for taking out multi-wound models or even penetrating vehicles (though I wouldn't count on that last part to win the game). The Terrify psychic power has me most intrigued, however. If you can get your Wraithfighter to start its turn within 12" of an enemy unit and then cast Terrify on it, then there's a decent chance that it will break and fall back. I don't see this being great against Space Marines because they will auto-regroup next turn (though it could push them off an objective or out of cover).

However, think about low leadership armies that often have Fearless units: Orks, Daemons, and Tyranids. Sending a 30 ork mob running backwards for possibly 2+ rounds could be very satisfying. They will also be ripe for an assault since they will have lost their Fearless and treat all models as causing Fear. Overall, the Wraithfighter should be targeting your opponent's Elites every turn with its heavy D-sythes and possibly making weaker units run. I think it might surprise someone!

Eldar Fast Vehicles

Which of these Eldar vehicles do you love?

See results

On to Heavy Support

That finally wraps up my review of the Fast Attack options for the new Eldar Codex 6th Edition Warhammer 40k. We have some great choices in the form of Aspect Warriors, support vehicles like the Vyper, and the new Flyers. Have you noticed that they've packed in almost too many choices into the force organization slots? I'm sure that's on purpose, and I think it's a great thing because it means we will see more variety on the tabletop. Hopefully.

My next goal will be to tackle the Heavy Support section of the new Eldar Codex, covering the famous grav-tanks, war walkers, and our last Aspect Warriors, the Dark Reapers. Before you read on, however, why not take the poll above and leave a comment below this article. Many of our readers have given great insight in the other articles, sharing strategies that I hadn't thought of yet, and even occasionally offering a correction (criticism welcome!).

Are you tired of reading about space elves? Why not select a new article from a variety of 40k 6th Edition themed entries? I also have a link to my personal blog where I have quicker updates and posts about my personal gaming activities. Give a follow on Twitter (link at the top of the article) for news updates, new articles, etc.

Thanks for reading. Murphy Out.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      somerandomdude, I know exactly what you mean, and they bring some great durability to the sterotypically fragile eldar forces. Now, the fun thing is that Eldar have 2 infiltrating characters, if you put on of these with Wraithguard, they can infiltrate 18" away on turn one! With some luck you could score a land raider kill on your very first turn, or just drop your hardiest unit into their back lines...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      somerandomdude . . . great input! I really like the Wraith units and your tactics are spot on. I recently read a battle report were an Iyanden wraith army totally destroyed an army of the new Imperial Knights. All those STR 10 weapons just blasted the knights to pieces. The Eldar player protected the wraithguard with his wave serpents, as you suggested, and then brought them in close and unloaded! Impressive to see. Thank for reading and the comments!

    • profile image

      somerandomdude 3 years ago

      Wraith guards are awesome, their T 6 and 3+ save make them stick around much longer than your enemy like or he need to use firepower he would have liked to use elsewhere to get rid of them and even then there is a chance they live :p

      They are also fearless and with the Iyanden supplement you can use a psyker to battlefocus them!

      Great units, S 10 AP 2 guns are amazing, if you need something to hold or clear objectives give them the d scythes, s 4 ap 2 flamers, give em a wave serpent with holo fields, ram it right up to where you need it, go flat out, next round you got an amazing coversave that combined with its serpent shield will almost make sure it stays until next round, I rely on this even for apocalypse games and I've been able to unload em every turn! Give them a spirit seer too if you want to make them super badass!

      Then unload, move, flame on and stay! Next you use the waveserpent to block other units from long range blasting your short range units.

      Have not tested blades yet but I plan to

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Question is what to buy after that, anyone had any good experiences with Wraithguard or Wraithblades?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      yes but I ignored the Pulse laser because they're only glancing on a 6, it's the brightlances that are the threat to AV14 ^.^

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Don't forget the Pulse Laser, which is also Str 8 and Heavy 2. Flyers can fire 4 weapons when moving, so you will be getting 4 shots on that Monolith.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      it just gets better for us :D I could see Crimson Hunters killing them actually, 2 brightlances at BS5 isn't to be ignored...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Actually, they FAQ'd it. Monoliths are heavy skimmers, and do not get a jink save anymore :) Yay for us!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      they do indeed get jink, but that won't help when there's 6 brightlance shots heading for them.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      Do monoliths get jink? They are skimmers aren't they.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Monoliths are very short ranged actually, so a bright lance or prism will give it some hassle, considering what Eldar do best is hopelessly outmanoeuvre slower forces with our superior speed.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Monliths used to be immune to Lance, but no longer. They changed the "living metal" rule when they released the 5th edition codex. Thus bright lances will be great against them, as will haywire grenades. It's funny how "weak" vehicles are in 6th edition, but how an AV 14 vehicle will still warrant all sorts of attention (rightfully so!).

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I do believe that Monoliths are not immune to Lance, however there IS a pattern of Land Raider that is, which the Black Templars can get their hands on.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      I can see banshees and harlequins being hurt by overwatch though.

      On another note are monoliths immune to lance? I'm sure they were at one point.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      sorry, misread the comment, thought you said that Harlequins were a support unit xD well, I guess Banshees could perform more of a 2nd wave offensive, engaging the remaining units.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      On fire prisms, aren't monoliths immune to lance so that is still 5 to glance 6 to pen with only 1 shot, good against land raiders though.

      I think you misunderstood me on the harlequins, I said they're expensive to buy, money wise and that banshees were more a support unit now not harlequins. I would actually love to try out harlequins as they seem really good.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      And I disagree with your comment on the Harlequins, they are more stand-alone than the other units, being able to take anti-tank and horde weaponry AND protect themselves with the veil of tears, they're beasts in combat (taking down literally anything they choose from Orks to Terminators to Tyranid warriors, the Initiative 6 helps on all of these) so if anything Harlequins are the only Eldar unit which are -really- good on their own once you've taken the full command characters.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      *cough* sorry, lil' too quick off the mark, but seriously it is fire prisms, fire dragons or full war walker squads with bright lances, or actually come to think of it, assaulting with Swooping Hawks because of their haywire grenades also works...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      FIRE PRISM

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      I already got 10 banshees and 12 scorpions and I would love to try out harlequins but they are a lot of money to buy :( I see banshees as more of a support unit to help scorpions (if they need it) or finish off already weakened units whereas scorpions are really good on their own.

      Do you guys have any idea what the best way to deal with monoliths or land raiders with the new codex?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I have literally NO idea what that means, well I guess I joined to make comments xD

      I'm gonna put a shout out for Harlequins actually, give them Harlequins kisses and you've got a unit that excels in both combat areas that Banshees and Scorpions are based around (armour penetration and copious amounts of attacks), sure they're 5 pts more than a Scorpion, sure they only have a 5+ invulnerable save, but somehow 4 WS5 S4 rending attacks per piece on the charge tends to shut people up about it, plus they ignore cover hindrances, can get the -awesome- Shadowseer and Death Jester with some great abilities, then the troupe master adds insult to injury with an extra attack and a possible power sword, they're expensive, but are more versatile than the other units because of the options for Fusion pistols and the shreiker cannon.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I think scorpions are going to be the go-to unit . . . until they somehow get bogged down fighting a marine tac squad and the small banshee unit eats through a similar squad. I agree that the scorpions are all-around better.

      But Banshees have their place. I see them as a fire-and-forget missile. Launch them towards an enemy unit, along with the rest of your army (scorpions included) and see what sticks.

      I have the same "problems" with my Daemonettes, but they miraculously survive long enough most games to get into combat. Yes, they have a 5+ invulnerable save, but it's target saturation that usually saves them :) I wouldn't invest $90 in 10 banshees, but if I already owned a squad (I do) then I would run them. Do it, Bob! Do it!

      BTW, SomeEldarGuy, congratz on becoming a level 1 commenter!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Howling banshees are an average unit at best for me due to their unfortunate situation. They're T3 and have a 4+ save, so survivability is questionable, and although they're WS4 with 3 attacks on the charge at AP3, they're only S3, and won't make a dent on 2+ save units, they're cut out for marine killing, but that's not going to happen in the first 2 turns even sometimes, so they'll have plenty of chances to be thinned down in number or outright destroyed.

      Whereas Striking Scorpions can infiltrate into prime positions, have 3+ saves, 3 attacks on the charge at S4 and an extra S3 I10 attack, because of weight of attacks they'll destroy most units, and will do that very quickly with a good deployment. For me there's no contest...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      and they don't get that immense non-unwieldy Powerfist, a Scorpion exarch with crushing blow and a Scorpions Claw will take down a Carnifex a turn with his unit. Oh and they get Stealth, so infiltrate them into a ruin and they start with a 3+ cover save.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      Striking scorpions are very good but banshees are cheaper and ap3. If your lose your scorpion exarch to a precision shot scorpions lose a lot against 3+ armour save models. But banshees are 1 less strength and a worse armour save and don't get an extra str3 auto hit (mandiblasters) so scorpions are probably better.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      True, but would you rather spend the points on infiltrating Striking Scorpions? They do some serious damage, and I'd pick them over Banshees most days.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      For the howling banshees save the money you would spend on a transport and get another squad instead. One of them is bound to get where you want them especially with the extra 3" run from acrobatics and with fleet. If they both die that means they've distracted your opponent from your other units anyway.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      only problem is Dark Eldar get assault transports -.- something Eldar -still- don't have... It makes Howling Banshees very hard to use.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Very true about different cover saves. I'm glad for the Internet because I'm always finding things that my local game store tends to ignore because they don't come up very often. I LOVE the idea of sniping characters with a fighter jet. I can imagine that Crimson Hunter Exarch scanning the battlefield for an elite unit with a general at its center, and then zeroing in like a fighter ace on a strafing run. I think Saim Hann lists are going to be powerful because they are surprisingly tough compared to a Dark Eldar list, which also has speed as its defining attribute. I'm working on the Heavy Support article as we speak, so hang in there, guys!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Also the Wind Rider host is still a strong army, get an Autarch leading a load of Jetbikes, with Vypers as fire support, and you can run (well, fly) circles around your enemy while getting some very nice amounts of Bladestorm hits.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I'm hearing stories cropping up of Crimson Hunters killing generals everywhere, once the exarch gets a precision shot, that S8 will instant death most characters (that aren't EW of course).

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      good point about saving points by getting only one holofield, but remember you can actively target the models with a lower cover save.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Great comments, guys. I've fixed the article about the starcannon and the mindshock pod. You both were correct on that. Thanks for the corrections. Usually it's just a mistype on my part or an oversight of having too much to think about, and fingers too slow to get it all in! I appreciate the input!

      Also, you would be correct that the Terrify power can't be used on the turn the Wraithfighter arrives from reserve. The problem is that Terrify is a malediction power, which must be used at the beginning of the psyker's movement phase.

      I think you guys are getting some good ideas about the Wraithfighter, the good and how to avoid the bad.

      I'm glad that the Vypers are getting a little love here :) Correct that the skimmers get that Jink save for moving, which is enhanced with the holo-field! I thought keeping them stationary behind a woods would work too. It's not very Eldar, but sometimes the best move is to stay put!

      Thanks for the reads! I will get the Heavy Support section up tomorrow if I have half a chance!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      looking forward to the Heavy Support section :) it's by far the most contested spot for the new Eldar, and I've got some nice tactics coming along for them, but I'll save that for that section.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I don't think the Hemlock can manifest powers on the turn it comes in can it? but the mindshock, as said before in the troops section, when used in conjunction with a diresword wielding exarch, can really assist in slaughtering a few multi-wound characters, especially if there's a psyker with Horrify to -3 their Ld stat.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Plus getting 3 Vypers in a squad is great for maximising the amount of vehicles you can have on the field for the slots you have, get 2 squads of 3 and you've got the start of a nice mechdar list. Then you can do the same for walkers then spam wave serpents.

    • profile image

      Andy 4 years ago

      I looking forward to using flyers, especially the crimson hunter as 2 of my friends have storm ravens!

      There is one thing wrong with the hemlock wraithfighter though. I think mindshock pod causes ALL successful morale or pinning tests within 12" to be re-rolled, that's including friendly units as I think the codex would have specifically said opponents tests but it uses ALL morale or pinning tests.

      If this is the case this can potentially be very bad for your units so you may need to use the fearless bubble of the Avatar to avoid re-rolling morale and pinning tests when using the hemlock wraithfighter.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      As for Vypers, I personally love them, they're skimmers, so once they've moved they get a 5+ jink, then with holo-fields (which are a MUST from AV10 2HP vehicles, not to mention open-topped...) they get +1 to that, making for a 4+ jink save once they've moved (Eldar Titan Holo-shields anyone? :P), they won't last long even with that though, which is a shame because they can swing a battle with the amount of firepower they can bring to bear; so deploy them well and get a good few rounds of shooting in before they get hit back!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Starcannons are AP2, might want to edit that. Crimson hunters are great, but like most Eldar units, are glass cannons, which you highlighted, chances are it'll take down; or at least cause threat to, whatever you need it to in any given turn, be it terminators, flyers or dreaded monoliths and land raiders, I tried it out, it's nice, but I'd combo it with an Autarch, to make the chances of it coming in AFTER enemy flyers much better, you don't want the CH going down in flames from the units it's meant to destroy oh so easily. On a side note, Nightwings are actually usable in games due to a very nice forgeworld in-game release, they get shrouded! so that means they have a 5+ save at all times, then when diving have a cosy 3+ jink...