ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Eldar Codex 6th Edition Review Warhammer 40k - Part 7 - Heavy Support

Updated on June 22, 2016
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Heavy Support
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Heavy Support

Introduction

Welcome to Part 7 of my New Eldar Codex review for Warhammer 40k 6th edition. Murphy, here, your humble servant and keyboard monkey. For quicker updates and general gamer musing, follow me on Twitter (@BenMurphy). In this part of the review I will be focusing on the Heavy Support section of the army list.

If you have stumbled upon this review without first having read any of my other parts, you may want to go back and read at least a few earlier articles. Do you know what Battle Focus is, or the Exarch Power Marksman's Eye? If not, just click on Part 1 below to catch up. We will wait.

You may have heard that Heavy Support is the most crowded of all sections in the new Eldar codex. Quite simply, there are no bad choices, and too many good ones. Our first look will be at the last Aspect Warrior unit of the army. Behold.

New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Dark Reapers
New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Dark Reapers

Dark Reapers

A perennial favorite of Eldar players, the Dark Reapers. Why have they always been so popular? I think its because people like extremes. The Eldar are generally defined as fast, in-your-face, and lightly armored. The Dark Reapers break these rules. They are perfectly happy sitting in the third story of a building and raining death down on enemies from that spot for the entire game. In 6th edition 40k, they can do this, and more.

  • Heavy Aspect Armor (3+ armor save)
  • Slow & Purposeful - give them relentless, so may move and fire!
  • Reaper launcher w/ starswarm missiles - 48" Str 5 AP 3, Heavy 2
  • Can upgrade to Starshot missiles - 48" Str 8 AP 3, Heavy 1
  • Reaper rangefinder - ignore jink saves.
  • Can field up to 10 in one unit for 2x + 12 = 72 points each. Yes, you must do math to figure that out.
  • Wave Serpent as transport - New review and tactics here!

Of course one warrior can be upgraded to an Exarch, and why wouldn't you?

  • BS 5 - 2+ to hit!
  • Can upgrade as other Dark Reapers or:
  • shuriken cannon
  • Eldar Missile Launcher - like a space marine missile launcher w/ frag and krak, but frag is AP 4 and both are pinning.
  • With the Eldar missile launcher, you can also upgrade to Flakk
  • Or take a Tempest Launcher - 36" Str 4 AP 3, Heavy 2, Barrage, Blast
  • May also take two powers from the list: Night Vision, Fast Shot, Marksman's Eye

Murphy's Take:

Dark Reapers are going to take out infantry and vehicles, and possibly flyers. I think it is an expensive anti-air option, but considering the Exarch can get flak missiles, and the other reapers can do damage on a 6, it's not like you are wasting a whole tac squad for the hope of a single krak missile.

Did you see the stats on that Tempest Launcher? Two blast markers, or three if you give the Exarch fast shot, and those are all AP 3, in addition to the AP 3 missiles of the other reapers. These guys are going to rock, and with decent range and armor, you might be able to keep them alive for a few turns!


New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Heavy Support
New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Heavy Support

Vaul's Wrath Support Battery

I hate Thunderfire Cannons. Every dang game they blow my troops to shreds. I mention them here because it's the only artillery I routinely see on the tabletop. I wonder if the new Eldar codex will change that? The Vaul's Wrath Support Battery brings artillery to the Eldar army with some powerful weapons. They are pretty cheap before upgrades and can lend some long range firepower to an army that needs it.

  • Remember that the Guardian crew are BS 4 now.
  • Can field up to 3 support weapons
  • Starts with a Shadow Weaver - 48" Str 6 AP 6, Heavy 1 Barrage Blast, Monofilament. Note that this is the updated profile from the official FAQ, not what is listed in the codex.
  • Remember that Monofilament weapons are +1 Str on anything Initiative 3 or less (non-walker vehicles as well). It also auto-wound everything on a 6 and becomes AP 1.

If you don't like the Shadow Weavers, you can also upgrade them to:

  • Vibro cannons: 48" Str 7 AP 4 Heavy 1 and Pinning. The special Vibro rule is that for each hit with a Vibro weapon from the same unit, all hits after the first are at +1 Str and -1 AP for that phase. So if you hit with all three vibro cannons, the hits will be at Str 9 and AP 2.
  • D-cannons: 24" Str 10 AP 2, Heavy 1 Barrage, Blast, Distort

Murphy's Take:

I think support batteries are going to be overlooked by most players because they just aren't as flashy as say, a Wraithlord, or a squadron of War Walkers. I think they are amazing, though.

Remember that when shooting at Artillery units, the gun's Toughness is always used, so all shots will be dealing with Toughness 7. Wounds are then allocated to the closes model as normal, however. It's possible to shield your support battery with one of the extra guardians. With two wounds on the gun, however, I don't know if this is necessary. Just be careful of Poisoned weapons and keep these things in cover if at all possible!

Which weapon is best? The Shadow Weaver is pretty good against infantry and it has the range to keep out of trouble. Vibro cannons can pack a heavy punch against armor: if you hit all three times, you basically get 3 lascannon shots for less than 100 points. The D-cannons are just amazing, however. Three barrage blasts at Str 10, AP 2, and Distort? The only problem is that they only have a 24" range. I think they will be great for area denial because your opponent is not going to want to put much in their range . . . not before he can neutralize them, which is not easy.

Personally, I would either magnetize these models or build them with your "most common" choice and inform your opponent if you wish to try something different with them. I'd even print out a little counter with the name of the weapon on it and place it in front of the battery, so we both could see and remember easily.

New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Fire Prism
New Eldar Codex Review 6th edition Fire Prism

Fire Prism

The Fire Prism is the mainstay battle tank for the Eldar race. It has a powerful Prism Cannon that can blast through tanks and decimate infantry units with equal ease.

  • BS 4
  • Armor 12/12/10
  • Fast, Tank, Skimmer
  • 3 hull points
  • twin-linked shuriken catapult - upgradable to a shuriken cannon
  • Prism Cannon
  • Eldar Vehicle Wargear can be purchased

Let's look at the Prism Cannon because it has three different firing modes:

  1. Dispersed - 60" Str 5 AP 3, Heavy 1 Large Blast
  2. Focused - 60" Str 7 AP 2, Heavy 1 Blast
  3. Lance - 60" Str 9 AP 1, Heavy 1 Lance

Murphy's Take:

Hello. How may I assist you, today? Press 1 to kill power armored infantry. Press 2 to kill terminators. Press 3 to destroy an enemy tank. Thank you for your selection. Goodbye.

Seriously, This is a great choice for your Eldar army because it does everything. The biggest problem, and oh it's a problem, is that AV 12. Every anti-tank gun in your opponent's army will be aimed at this thing from turn 1. Here's some tips to help you, though.

Remember that Fast vehicles can shoot up to 2 weapons at full BS when moving at cruising speed (12"). This means that there is no penalty for zipping around the board, or in fact, coming on from Reserves. If you know you are gong second, keep the Fire Prism in reserve, enter when available and blow up a tank. Hopefully your other units will be engaging infantry-based anti-tank guns already.

Secondly, all skimmers get Jink, which grants a 5+ cover save for simply moving. If you purchase a Holo-field, you are increased to a 4+. The holo-field is a must have and it also implores you to keep your tank moving!

Eldar Vehicle Wargear Review

I have been trying to find a place to review the Eldar Vehicle Wargear and I suppose I had better get to it. Since there are so many vehicles in the Heavy Support section here is my summary below. Fist, realize that vehicles can choose any number of upgrades, so insane combos are welcome!

  • Crystal Targeting Matrix - One use only. Vehicle can fire 1 weapon at full BS after moving Flat Out. Imagine the side/back shots you could pull of with this.
  • Ghostwalk Matrix - gain Move Through Cover - and ignore dangerous terrain tests!
  • Holo-fields: gain +1 to cover save if you move.
  • Power field: only available to war walkers (free) - gain a 5+ invulnerable save.
  • Spirit Stones - ignore Crew Shaken on a 2+ and Crew Stunned 4+.
  • Star Engines - Move Flat Out 24" or walkers gain +3" Run.
  • Vectored Engines - Pivot to any direction after firing in the Shooting Phase.

Any or all of these upgrades can be taken on Eldar vehicles. I didn't mention it in my other review, but the Flyers cannot purchase upgrades. Seems odd, but there you go.

Eldar Heavy Support

Which of today's options make you drool?

See results

More Heavy Support Coming Up!

That covers the first half of the Eldar Heavy Support. What is the better half? We will have to see. Still to come are two-more Grav-tanks, War Walkers, Wraithlords, and the brand new Wraithknight! I'd cover them here, but you can see that I'd have another 2,000 words to type and I need a break! Once you have rubbed the awesome out of your eyes, click the link below to continue to the:

As usual, this is where I invite readers to take the poll above and make comments below! I love receiving feedback from the community, as I think it's what makes this hobby stand apart from other gamer-related interests. If you haven't read the other parts to this Eldar Review, check them out and read over the comments; several readers have been contributing great insight! If you want to read non-Eldar related articles, you can find a few linked to below:

Thanks for reading. Murphy Out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Kuldeep 2 years ago

      wow. these interpretations are great. im siginng this song for sign language but i had to know what the song means in order for me to translate it into sign language. so thank you so much i don't know what i wouldve done without you. i believe you skipped a few lines though like sell it till your last days and i don't want to answer

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Actually, I think it's correct. I read the rule again and it does say that Fast Shot cannot be used with Template weapons... however, the Tempest is not a Template weapon (aka Flamer template), it is a Blast marker weapon. 6th edition 40k separates the two, one is a Blast and the other a Template and they often have different rules. Go ahead and make that Fast Shot Exarch with a Tempest :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Oops, I think you are correct. I have to correct it. Thanks for the read and feedback!

    • profile image

      Liam 4 years ago

      Thought the tempest launcher couldn't be used with fast shot, it's rules say fast shot does not affect template weapons :(

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      we have the Firestorm, but that's not in the dex, so it's not tournament allowed...

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      That is a good point hunters are a bit of a glass cannon, but it seems like you either get a unit that will take out flyers fast, or a squad that gives you an ok chance but can kill something else way better.

      Sure be nice if there was another anti air squad or something.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      I've got a Wraithknight built and a Crimson Hunter in the post, I can't just pass up on new models (I mean, the damn thing's beautiful xD) and yet I -still- don't have any wraithguard/blades

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      SomeEldarGuy just doesn't want us to buy new shiny toys . . . and watch them get shot down in a fiery blaze of glory :) I will admit that the Dark Reapers are likely more survivable!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thats an awesome combo, Andy. I looked up all that wargear and I didn't find any mistakes. Seem legit! It would make an awesome "Solitaire" too, if painted up in Harlequin colors. Just a solo badass zipping around the battlefield, killing characters and locking down vulnerable units, and cheap too! The only problem is that another badass character who survives his initial attacks is probably going to insta-kill him . . .but that can be said of a lot of characters.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Ray, I'm thinking exactly along your lines :) The tempest Exarch is just too good to pass up, especially compared to 2 flak shots at a Flyer, at only Str 7 to boot!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Jimmy, I think you are right! There are actually more HQ choices that most other armies, save for the recent Daemons release. Of all the "unit" sections, I think Heavy Support has the most difficult decisions, but your choice of character can affect the whole playstyle of your army, and we only get to choose 2. It's a great point, you made!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Continuing with the Dark reaper AA role, I'd take them as a cost effective option, Crimson Hunters are expensive to say the least, and have a large chance of being shot down early in the game, whereas Dark Reapers are much more survivable because you can keep them out of the way easily, due to their long ranged weapons and nifty 3+ save.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      But remember an Autarch will be killed by instant death from most heavy weapons, one wound and he's GONE, all those points down the drain. I still think Heavy Support is the most crowded, Farseers are still great, the avatar is very pricey but you get your money back for him, and Autarchs are a run-of-the-mill characters who can perform most tasks, Warlocks are great and their powers are unique in the fact that they have a buff/nerf ability.

      However you may have misunderstood me, in your FOC you have 2 HQ choices, Warlcoks don't count towards these, so you have a choice of 2 from the Avatar, Autarch, Farseer and Spiritseer, and I'm not sure I'd want 3 of these on the field at the same time because it'd make for a very unfocussed list.

      Whereas Heavy Support you have 3 choices, from which you choose basically a list of 7/8 really good units (not too sure about night spinners still) just mathematically that's an overlap of 4/5 units left out at the most.

    • profile image

      Andy 4 years ago

      My favourite combination in the new eldar codex:

      Autarch on jetbike, fusion gun, laser lance, mantle of the laughing god, replace pistol with shard of anuris, one of banshee mask/ mandiblasters.

      +2 str and rending from shard, also with instant death and fleshbane in a challenge and fearless

      +3 str and ap3 on the charge from laser lance

      +1 att from 2 special weapons

      2+ re-rollable cover saves from Mantle with jink on a jetbike. Mantle also gives hit and run.

      Fusion gun str8 ap2 melta

      Banshee mask / mandiblasters -opp gets -5 initiative on the charge / a str3 ap- auto hit at initiative 10

      All this gives you an autarch with toughness 4, 2+ reroll cover, 3+ armour, 4+ inv with 3 wounds. 4 att base, str8! ap3 rending on the charge, str 5 rending not on the charge with hit and run including 2+ to wound instant death in a challenge. He is Initiative and WS 6 and then gets a BS6 shot with a fusion gun and all the movement of an eldar jetbike. He also gets the effect of a banshee mask or mandiblasters if you wish for an extra 5 or 10 points. On top of that +/- 1 to reserve rolls from path of strategy.

      All this comes out at 175 points, 180 with mask, 185 with mandiblasters. That's cheaper than Eldrad, the Avatar or any Phoenix Lord. This makes a truly amazing HQ!!!

      For those of you wondering how I got 2 remnants of glory, there is nothing stopping you as long as you swap each with a weapon (mantle doesn't need swapping). You can take as many as your wargear let's you with a limit on one of each per army.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      You do make a point SomeEldarGuy the fire prisms are great and will blow apart whatever tank there is, especially if you put on the crystal targeting matrix to get behind the heavier tanks and blow them to bits, or vectored engines to make it harder to get shot in the back, but the holo-field does seem like the best option, but any of them work depending on whatever you plan on doing.

      you are also dead right on the dark reapers, but I'm going to leave the anti air to the crimson hunters, they seem to have a better chance of taking them down, and I prefer my reapers to nail the tough guys, and my tempest launcher exarch to butcher the little guys when there are no big guys left

    • profile image

      Jimmy 4 years ago

      I have to disagree with you on heavy support being the most crowded. It is surely the HQ.

      With farseers no longer pretty much mandatory you can literally choose anyone as your HQ.

      The Avatar is better, autarchs are better especially with remnants of glory, farseers still a good choice though and can also choose remnants of glory, Spiritseers unlocking wraithguard/blades to troops, Illic unlocking pathfinders (precision galore), eldrad still good , yriel probably not as good- rolling a 6 on a save is supposed to be good thing! And on top of that you have all the very strong Phoenix Lords which can all be argued for very strongly.

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      Also 10 warlocks should almost always give you 2+ armour saves and shrouded.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      great deathstar unit, 10 warlocks with a Farseer on Jetbikes, it's the ultimate troll unit...

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      I like the idea of lots of warlocks with windrider jetbikes. Jet bikes are a lot better because they are a lot cheaper.

      Ld8 isn't too bad- 70% chance of success. With lots of them it hopefully shouldn't matter although because they take tests, perils of the warp has become very deadly to them indeed.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Warlocks are potentially overwhelming with so many buffs/debuffs being thrown around. Unfortunately, they are only Ld 8, so they are going to fail a test eventually. Also, unless you have a bunch of guardian squads to hide them in, they will be all grouped together in a single unit, which will be a ripe target for enemy shooting. However, as they are written they will make a guardian heavy army very awesome!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Jimmy, let me check my article and the FAQ again. I had it up when I was writing the section on shadow weavers, but I might have still typed it wrong. And I'll correct the power field entry too! Thanks for reading!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Andy, everything you said is exactly why I like support batteries. They are a durable unit that is immune to one shot kills, and it can lay down the hurt. Each weapon has its uses, so you can customize it to your army.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Crap, that one had actually slipped by me :L ah well, with a 48" range the unit isn't losing much.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      One small correction, Dark Reapers don't have the Battle Focus special rule, so no running and shooting. You are correct that they can walk and shoot, though, due to Slow and Purposeful (which grants Relentless). Still, they are an amazing unit! They are going to attract a lot of attention, though, so keep them under cover. If your opponent is shooting at your Reapers, though, they aren't hitting your Banshees that Bob and I like :)

    • profile image

      Bob 4 years ago

      I like the idea of throwing a bunch of warlocks into an army. With the primaris being conceal you can give a major buff to a jink save on a unit of jet bikes. With lots of warlocks you can throw a lot of cool powers at the enemy of buff the unit they're in.

      I like the idea of -3 leadership with physic shriek or dominate or +/- 1 armour save - 2+ armour jet bikes or 3+ armour terminators to be ripped apart by dark reapers or any other ap3 weapon. The other powers are just a bonus. With lots of these you are bound to annoy your opponent and get lots of random useful bonuses which can actually really help.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Power field yea, but Holo-fields are different, both are great.

    • profile image

      Jimmy 4 years ago

      Oh and I think only war walkers can have power field.

    • profile image

      Jimmy 4 years ago

      Didn't the errata/ FAQ say that the shadow weaver was ap6 not ap4 and just corrected that it said large blast not blast in the reference at the back of the codex.

    • profile image

      Andy 4 years ago

      Aren't monoliths ammune to lance which makes it harder for fire prisms to kill them or was that old monolith rules.

      I think the support batteries are a lot better than people think they are, while other heavy support choices are arguably better, they are sooo cheap at just 30 points a piece with a shadow weaver or vibrio-cannon and 55 with a d-cannon. I like the idea of guided vibrocannons, that's 3 str9 shots a turn (if you hit with all of them) for just 90 points and a farseer can now guide them from 24" away. It's also 3 toughness 7 models with 2 wounds and a 3+ armour save.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      and honestly Support Batteries are the one unit I don't have any insight on, but for 30 points a piece I guess it could be much worse, that barrage is great for targeting targets behind barriers, like an aegis, as the damage originates from the centre of the template, if the centre in behind the barrier, the occupants don't get a cover save...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      It's a shame flyers can't get Holofields, it'd make them THAT much more survivable, but if you want a survivable flyer, I guess you don't get a Crimson Hunter or Hemlock, you'd go for the Nightwing Interceptor with it's constant 5+ save, increased to 3+ when diving...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Ghostwalk Matrix is -great- can't stress that enough, it means you can get vypers into ruins without risking immobility, so you can get a nice cover save without hassle, the only thing better than it is the Holofield, which is a MUST for every Eldar vehicle, regardless of what the vehicle's being used for, because every 5+ jink you have is upgraded to 4+, making for a carbon-copy of Eldar Titan Holoshields, (which are great!) and the only reason I'd take a Crystal targeting matrix is when you have a lower powered weapon and want to reach the back armour of a tasty looking tank, then unleashing hell at it, I guess it's overkill to give one of these to a Fire Prism right?...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Dark Reapers are great, and I think you're downplaying their flexibility, with their standard kit, they're killing SM equivalents in their stride, (well actually while in full sprint, as they can use battle focus n' all because of their relentless) and are taking down tanks with relative ease, and all those pesky skimmers (yes I'm looking at you other Eldar player..) are going to be going out of their way to avoid these guys' rangefinders. Then the exarch gets the ELM with Flakk; fast shot is a must for this, but even without it the Exarch'll be taking down or at least a threat to any and all aircraft, which means on the whole the unit can take on everything bar 2+ armoured units with no problems at all, but hey, if you've already killed everything else on the field, no one's going to care about those insignificant terminators over there...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      They've lost their combined fire rules in this ed, but who cares when they can one-shot a monolith?

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      thanks this is going to be a big help, but didn't the fire prisms have some special rule that allowed two of them to link up their shots for an even more powerful one, or am I hallucinating.