ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Eldar Codex 6th Edition Review Warhammer 40k - Part-8 - Heavy Support 2

Updated on June 16, 2013
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Heavy Support
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Heavy Support

Introduction

Welcome back, readers! Murphy (Twitter: @BenMurphy), here, faithfully finishing what I started with the second part to my Heavy Support review. These Eldar army list sections are so full with quality units that I've had to split some of them into two articles! In this article I will be finishing the Heavy Support by looking at the remaining two grav-tanks, war walkers, the wraithlord, and the brand new wraithknight!

If you didn't read the first part of my Heavy Support review, then you missed out Dark Reapers, Support Batteries, and the Fire Prism grav-tank. You can read all about them by clicking below:

You'll notice that these articles are listed as Part 7 and Part 8. Yes, there are more parts to this review and if you haven't checked them out, please give 'em a read! I've already covered most of the new Eldar Codex in Parts 1 - 6. You can read through all the parts by clicking on the first link below:

Now that we are all caught up, let's continue on with Part 8 - Heavy Support 2!

New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Night Spinner
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Night Spinner

Night Spinner

The Night Spinner is another grav-tank with a different take on killing things than the Fire Prism. Instead of focusing energy though a giant crystal, it acts like an armored Warp Spider and laces its targets with bundles of monofilament wire. Let's look at its stats:

  • AV 12/12/10
  • 3 hull points
  • Fast, Tank, Skimmer
  • Twin-linked shuriken catapult - can be upgraded to shuriken cannon
  • Doomweaver

The Doomweaver is another weapon with a split profile. Both profiles have the monofilament rule, which adds +1 Str to targets with Initiative 3 or less (or no Initiative). It also auto-wounds on a 6 and turns into AP 1.

  • Dispersed: 48" Str 7 (or 8) AP 6, Heavy 1 Barrage, Large Blast, Monofilament, and Pinning.
  • Focused: Template Str 7 (or 8) AP 6, Heavy 1 Monofilament, Torrent

Of course, the Doomweaver can also take Eldar Vehicle Wargear from the list in the last article.

Murphy's Take:

The Night Spinner is great for taking out large groups of infantry; say Ork mobz, Tyranid swarms, or Imperial Guard blobs. What about space marines? You will likely be hitting 5-7 guys in a decently spread out unit, and with such a high strength, you will likely be wounding most of those. The rending will come up here and there, but you are mainly hoping for volumes of wounds to make marines fail their saves.

Here's an interesting combo: take the Crystal Targeting Matrix, which lets you shoot one weapon at full BS after you move Flat Out. The torrent weapon doesn't use BS, but since it's no longer a Snapshot (BS 6) I believe you can fire it after moving Flat Out. Use this combo to jet to a weak point and then Torrent the crap out of an enemy unit that your opponent thought was safe.

New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Falcon
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Falcon

Falcon

The Falcon is a rare bird, in that it is a tank with offensive power, but is also a mini-transport, much like the Razorback is for space marines. You sacrifice some firepower compared to the Fire Prism or Night Spinner, but the advantage is that you can port around a small infantry unit.

  • BS of 4
  • AV 12/12/10
  • 3 hull points
  • Tank, Fast, Skimmer, Transport
  • Pulse Laser - 48" Str 8 AP 2, Heavy 2
  • Shuriken Cannon - can exchange for a starcannon, bright lance, scatter laser, Eldar missile launcher.
  • Twin-linked shuriken catapult - can be upgraded to another shuriken cannon
  • Transport 6 models

Remember that Fast vehicles can shoot 2 weapons at full BS when moving at cruising speed (12") and the rest are snap shots. Also remember that scatter lasers can make your other weapons twin-linked if you hit once. So you can zip up to 12", hit with your scatter laser and then have your Pule Laser still fire at BS 4 and be twin-linked, as well as have an extra shuriken cannon hitting on 6's but twin-linked. That's not too bad for a transport.

Murphy's Take:

I'm afraid that the Falcon is going to be overlooked by most players because there are so many other great Heavy Support options, and the fact that the dedicated transport, Wave Serpent, is actually damn good on its own. The Falcon has decent output for killing infantry or tanks (a twin-linked bright lance can do wonders!), and it can drop of a little squad of killers. A six model transport cap is great for a small unit of Aspect Warriors. I don't see a problem, other than the fact that the Falcon is competing with other Heavy Support units.

New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition War Walkers
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition War Walkers

War Walkers

I think War Walkers have always been popular and they seem to continue that trend in 6th edition lists. I've seen a lot of lists across the Internet where people are taking 1 full unit of 3. They have changed slightly in 6th edition, so let's look:

  • BS 4
  • AV 10/10/10
  • 2 hull points
  • Walker, Open topped
  • Armed with 2 shuriken cannons
  • Equipped with a Power Field free (5+ invulnerable)
  • Fleet
  • Battle Focus (run/shoot or shoot/run)
  • Scout

So the walkers got hit with open topped, meaning they are easier to kill once penetrated. However, they gained a free 5+ invulnerable. They can also fight in close combat with a WS of 4, a Str 5, and 2 Attacks, but I don't think this is a winning proposition for them. The real benefit is that they can customize their weapons for whatever need you might want them for. Each shuriken weapon can be exchanged for:

  • Bright lance
  • Scatter laser
  • Starcannon - 36" Str 6 AP 1 Heavy 2
  • Eldar Missile Launcher - can then be upgraded with Flakk missiles
  • Can take Eldar Vehicle Wargear

Note that not every War Walker needs to be equipped the same way. Volumes of fire are usually the best option, but you certainly could equip them to kill infantry, but throw a bright lance or two into the mix to pop vehicles or add a punch to infantry kills. Once again, remember that hits from a scatter laser make all your other weapons twin-linked for that model.

Murphy's Take:

These guys are fast and loaded with guns. They can take a 6" move, run d6" (re-roll with Fleet), and then can Battle Focus to shoot their weapons. Or do the reverse, move, shoot, and then run backwards or towards cover. If you equip them entirely with starcannons, you are getting 4 Str 6 AP 2 shots with each walker. That can take out a terminator squad, a power armored squad, or even light transports. Dual scatter lasers are not bad, pumping out 8 Str 6 shots each, which is going to eat away at light vehicles and force a lot of armor saves for infantry. You really can't go wrong!

New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Wraithlord
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Wraithlord

Wraithlord

Wraithlords have been stalking the tabletops of the far future for 20 years now, and they've always been awesome! Just like the Avatar or Dark Reapers, I think they are so popular because they turn the notion of fast, paper-thin Eldar on its head. Wraithlords are all about toughness! With amazing stats, weapon options, and all the benefits of being a Monstrous Creature, they are a great buy and they look just fantastic on the tabletop.

  • WS and BS of 4
  • Str and T of 8
  • 3 Wounds
  • 3 Attacks
  • 3+ armor save
  • Fearless

It doesn't come with a lot standard (2 shuriken catapults), but it can be upgraded:

  • exchange catapults with flamers
  • can take a ghostglaive: +1 Str, AP2, Mastercrafted (important for a re-roll in melee)
  • May take up to 2 of the following weapons:
  • Shuriken Cannon
  • Bright Lance
  • Scatter laser
  • Starcannon
  • Eldar Missile Launcher - no Flakk upgrade

Murphy's Take:

It's interesting to note that the Wraithlord is also a Character. It can't join units, but it can accept and issue challenges. As a Daemon player, I cannot stress how useful this has been. For instance, when you opponent charges you with a full squad of terminators, expecting to powerfist you to death, you simply issue a challenge and kill that sergeant, forcing the other termies to just stand and watch. On the next round of assaults, you use your higher initiative (compared to power fists or thunder hammers) to hopefully kill the remaining models before they strike. This also gives you an opportunity to counter-charge with another unit.

With Daemons, I often set my Greater Daemon up to be charge by my opponent. Yes, I give up an extra attack for assaulting, but this is okay. Once I've been charged, I accept or issue a challenge, killing the enemy character and making the others sit around. On my turn, I then counter-assault with the Daemonettes that were trailing the Greater Daemon. Hello, Terminators, and goodbye. The same trick should work great with the Wraithlord and, say, Harlequins.

Of course, I hadn't even mentioned the shooting potential of the Wraithlord. Load him up with whatever weapons you want and walk around shooting things, and mopping up units in assault. The real advantage of the Wraithlord, however? It will attract fire from opposing units, letting your squishier infantry or tanks approach with fewer casualties. Present your opponent with choices, none of which are good.

New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Wraithknight
New Eldar Codex Review 6th Edition Wraithknight

Wraithknight

I started this multi-part review of the new Eldar Codex 6th edition with the goal of eventually writing about the new Wraithknight. The Wraithknight is an awesome model, with incredible stats, and I think it is the figurehead of the new Eldar release. I couldn't wait to write about this guy.

Something happened along the way, though. I grew to like the rest of the Eldar army just as much! There are so many great things in this codex, that the Wraithknight is not just another good choice. You do not need the Wraithknight to win, nor even to have fun. I still think it's great, but it is no longer, to me, the focus of the Eldar army. That said, let's take a look at it:

  • WS and BS of 4
  • Str 10 and T 8
  • 6 Wounds
  • Initiative 5 - important for killing marines!
  • 4 Attacks
  • 3 + armor save
  • Jump Monstrous Creature
  • NOT a character like the Wraithlord, so no challenges
  • Fearless

Apart from some awesome stats, the Wraithlord can carry around some awesome wargear:

  • Comes with two heavy wraithcannons - 36" Str 10 AP 2 Assault 1 Distort
  • May exchange these two weapons for a ghostglaive and a scattershield - the ghostglaive can't add to its strength, but it gives Mastercrafted. The scattershield 5+ invulnerable save and all units within 6" test for Blind.
  • Or it can exchange for a suncannon and scattershield - The suncannon: 48" Str 6 AP 2 Heavy 3 Blast
  • It can also buy two more weapons, chosen from: shuriken cannon, scatter laser, and starcannon.

Murphy's Take:

You basically have three builds with this guy:

  • Keep the two heavy wraithcannons to kill enemy tanks, and maybe purchase anti-infantry guns to keep it flexible.
  • Purchase the ghostglaive/scatter-shield to make it more melee-killy, and purchase infantry killing weapons to shoot with. Note, you will be relying on assaulting tanks to kill them reliably . . . and being JUMP monstrous creature makes it likely you will get there.
  • Purchase the suncannon/scatter-shield and the scatterlaser to just go to town with 3 twin-linked AP 2 blasts. You can still kill vehicles in melee.

I wish that there was an anti-tank option available to purchase as a secondary weapon. I think they did not allow this because it would be too easy an option. Now we have hard choices. Keep the Str 10 wraithcannons? Or go infantry-kill and leave tank hunting to melee or other units? For 300 points for a single model, I wish it could do both. I suppose it can IF you keep the wraithcannons and then upgrade to two other weapons, and just pick and choose every round. You pay for it in points, though.

All around, I still love this unit. It is going to attract fire from everything your opponent has, it cannot be one-shot killed except for the rare Insta-death weapon. It is a jump troop, so it has the maneuverability that I wish all monstrous creatures have. Be careful, though. Terminators will eat it up! That Toughness 8 doesn't mean much against power fists, and you cannot challenge the sergeant to save yourself like the Wraithlord can.

I don't have this model yet, but I plan to buy one this summer. It will just look great on the table, it will attract enemy fire, and it promises to kill heads every game. What's not to like, other than the $ price tag and the points price tag!

Eldar Heavy Support

Which units in this section wets your whistle?

See results

Special Characters and Phoenix Lords

That wraps up the Heavy Support Section. Didn't I say that this was the most crowded section of the army list? There are just too many good choices to be limited to three per army. I wonder if people will start playing 2,000+ point games to field more stuff? I'm sure people have comments, corrections, suggestions, and tactics. Please, take the poll to the right and then leave a comment at the very bottom of the article.

I've said that Heavy Support was the most crowded, but a commenter earlier made the point that the HQ was the most crowded. With Farseers, Autarch, Spiritseers, Warlocks, and a host of special characters, how could we be limited to only 2 choices? He made a great point, but also made me realized that I haven't reviewed the Special Characters yet! How could I forget about Eldrad and the Phoenix Lords? Truthfully, I didn't forget about them, but I wanted to wait until I had a better understanding of the army as a whole before I delved into how to best use our famous characters. Never fear, for I am tackling them next!

If you want to take a break from pointy-eared goodness, please check out some of my other 6th edition Warhammer 40k articles below. I've also posted a link to my local gaming store and my personal blog where you can find modeling updates, personal projects, etc.

Thanks again for reading. Comment below! Murphy Out.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      Yay war walkers have flack missiles now I can get my swooping hawks for fast, reapers for one heavy and walkers for another and still have a good anti air option that can move around.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      With Reapers and Walkers sporting Flakk, you can set up a nice air defense force. I like that in both cases, the missiles can be used to target infantry or tanks, as well. All around, they are both great choices. Now what to do with the extra Heavy slot?

    • profile image

      Pk 3 years ago

      So correct if wrong as my copy of the codex is still on its way, wraithgaurd and variants are no longer big and bulky? As you say they can fit in a falcon or is that just a over looked mistake? Thanks

    • profile image

      Andy 3 years ago

      Pk- wraithguard/ wraithblades have the bulky special rule so they count as two models each in a transport and with a min squad size of 5 they can't go in falcons.

    • profile image

      Andy 3 years ago

      For the wraithknight I would go for 2 options.

      1. Go for the base 240 point version- 2 Heavy wraithcannons. This way I would charge towards the enemy tanks while shooting them to pieces. Although missile launchers may kill the wraithknight quite quickly and it's so big you can't exactly hide to get cover. You just hope you shoot enough tanks to death better before it dies while hopefully getting into assault.

      2. Go for scattershield and ghostglaive for 250 points and move and run towards the enemy tanks. With a 5++ save the wraithknight is more survivable and with such a big thing approaching so quickly towards your opponent, they can't afford to ignore it. It then acts as bait and allows your other units to advance. It is also more likely to get to assault and with master crafted should kill any tank it touches. I don't see the point in then getting it to have ranged weapons as then it is getting a bit too costly and there are plenty of things in the codex with those options. If you want it to shoot stay with wraithcannons or go even just go with wraithlords instead. The suncannon is going on to make the wraith knight a bit too costly, and if you really want to kill terminators there are plenty of other things in the codex that can kill them and are a lot cheaper.

      In my opinion, jut keep the wraith knight basic and don't upgrade him too much.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      always go suncannon with the Wraithknight, get a scatter laser on it's shoulder, twin-link the suncannon then take out whatever infantry unit's nearby, seriously this thing takes out a unit per turn, NO EXCEPTIONS, the reason I'd take the Ghostglaive is to get a cheap invulnerable save.

      Also note that the Wraithknight -CANNOT- fire all of it's weapons in one turn, it has to pick 2 to fire, this is another reason to take the Suncannon, as it's dishing out more firepower for a single gun than any of the other options, so you have a spare shot to twin-link it with, whereas with the Wraithcannons you cannot fire a scatter laser and both cannons, so you lose out on the twin linked.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Falcons, as much as I love them... Well if you're playing for the win, there are better places to put your points, take a squad of War Walkers with whatever loadout you need, it'll do much better than a falcon, I've explained on the other hubs how I think War Walkers are a strong contender for the best HS slot, regardless of it's frailty.

      Aaaaaand Wraithlords are Wraithlords, notice how they can take a Ghostglaive -AND- 2 heavy weapons now? That means you have an extra weapon than from the last update folks, nasty prospect, even if the Ghostglaive isn't as effective as the ol' Wraithblade, that's a 5pt upgrade for a world of hurt, I love these guys, they're very symbolic for the Eldar, looming over the frail Guardians and Aspect Warriors with a whopping T8 and all the heavy weapons you need. Extra bonus is of course losing Wraithsight, which in 6 turns of game time means on average you'll get an extra turn from this beast, I'd say it's been upgraded more than anything this update ^.^

    • profile image

      Bob 3 years ago

      The one thing I don't like about the new codex is that there is limited anti air. There is only really the flakk eldar missile launcher and the crimson hunter and only a dark reaper exarch or war walkers can get flakk eldar missile launchers.

      I really wish that you could upgrade to flakk for many more units as this limits your heavy support choices.

      Personally I think every missile launcher should have the ability to get flakk missiles for 10 points. This means you can tailor your army to how you want it much better. As long as your paying the points to get flakk for each EML I don't see the issue, it's only different ammunition so I don't see why a vyper, falcon, wraithlord or even a guardian heavy weapon platform can't get flakk on their EMLs yet a dark reaper exarch and a war walker can. What's the difference!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      it's a tough call, but yes we're severely lacking in "convenient" anti air, actually I was expecting Falcons to have an upgrade to give them AA mounts for their Pulse laser, as, well, Falcons by the fluff are meant to fly n' all, I was also expecting Swooping Hawks to be able to plant haywire grenades or something on flyers, as again, it says in the fluff they can do. However, having EMLs with Flak means they are by far the most versatile weapon we have access to.

      Also, well the Crimson hunter is the best AA unit in the game in terms of offensive capabilities, don't forget that, just follow the rules for using glass hammers and you'll be fine :) (however I'm starting to disagree with how weak it is, maybe it should have shrouded like the Nightwing does? It only seems natural as their the best pilots in the galaxy...)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      "Eldar are the undisputed masters of the skies" maybe GW should make truth come out of that statement? -.-

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Yes, they have the Bulky rule, which means they take up to transport slots each. I goofed when I mentioned putting them in the Falcon. I edited it so it only mentions Aspect Warriors. However, you can still put a squad of 5 into a Waveserpent (plus a Spiritseer). Thanks for finding that mistake!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Those are some great ideas, Andy. I agree that there are so many options, that people will be tempted to load up on everything and spend over 300 points. That will work, as it makes sure your expensive model has something to do every turn. I agree that this will kill tanks in melee quite easily, especially being a jump monstrous creature. One thing to note about cover saves... the latest FAQ says that Monstrous Creatures need to be just inside of area terrain to gain the 5+ cover save. It doesn't matter how tall it is :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I think the Wraithlord is the sleeper hit in this section. Everyone looks towards the Wraithknight, but I think the Wraithlord is a more efficient killing machine, it does nearly as much damage in melee and it can actually fire every weapon you buy for it. As I mentioned, it's also a character, so it can make challenges and even do precision strikes.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Bob, I agree. My cynical side tells me that they purposefully limit the availability of Flakk so that Flyers survive more, which means players will use them, and thus buy more of them :) Flyers are generally pretty weak and fairly expensive, so if they were shot down too easily, nobody would take them. Remember, we can always buy an Aegis Defense Line with a Quad cannon, and wussy guardians can man it. I do wish there were more Flakk out there, though!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      However, can a Wraithlord Deep Strike? ;) just when your favourite unit's cornered, jump in the big guns and watch as your opponent cries tears of blood xD

    • profile image

      Pk 3 years ago

      S.E.G makes an excellent point but without reading the codex as mine still has not arrived (damn the British postal service grrr) I think wraith lords are getting over looked by there big brothers, but there's only one thing worse than being picked on than on big guy and that's two guys and you could easily field two lords for the price of one night ?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      actually you can take 2 wraithlords for the price of one knight, but that'e with neither upgraded, and the Knight has it's weapons basic, the wraithlords have shuriken catapults/flamers only.

    • profile image

      Jim 3 years ago

      "Just follow the rules for glass hammers and you'll be fine"

      And what are those rules exactly? I'm not great with weak flyers they always seem to die too easily when I use them. Any tips?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Basically kill before you're killed, before the flyer comes on the board, clear out any significant AA, do a "they came from the skies!" on any aegis quad guns if you can, use an Autarch to delay the Flyer's arrival as much as possible, then wreak havoc when it comes in because there's no AA left to take it down easily.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      PK, I'm with you that I think that two Wraithlords might be more effective than 1 Wraithknight. I'm going to play around with some combos over the next few weeks to see.

      Jim, everything SEG said is true. You have to take out the enemy AA before your Flyer comes in. Easier said than done, I know. An army with several long-rang threats all targeted on an AA unit is a great combo to run with a Flyer. Can I ask what army you are using?

    • profile image

      Jim 3 years ago

      But when standard str4 weapons can glance your flyers to death, what do you do?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      the amount of shots they'll fire at you to glance you to death is high to say the least, that means that you'll be redirecting fire from your scoring units, so it still serves its purpose, or you could stuff a load of wraithblades in their faces and draw the fire onto them instead, leaving the flyers untargeted

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      actually I'm annoyed that the Crimson Hunter is 10/10/10, given that it's more sturdy than the Nightwing, with the same AV -.- I'd think it's be 11/11/10, keeping in line with the Hornet Tank, which also doubles as a flyer.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I struggle with the 10 armor, as well. It's the same for my dark eldar raiders, and they get shot to hell every game. I think the difference will be that you only have 1 Flyer, so it will be harder to target with every unit, and as SEG said, target priority. Shove high priority targets in their face and make them choose who to target.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      I'm on maybe a 15 win streak purely through prioritisation, first turn you take care of any 36"+ ranged weapons they have access to, to protect your advancing troops, and -always- put your aspects against their prime targets first, in other words, don't put Swooping Hawks against Terminators or a Tyrannofex. But that's game management, which is the most important skill for an Eldar player to have (well Wraith armies less so, but that's a different army from vanilla Eldar), they've never been an easy army to win straight off the bat with, and that's not changed this update either. Going back to Swooping hawks, last edition I had some fun with my brother's unit when he was facing me, he deep strike mishap-ed and I got to choose where to put them... so I thought, ok I'll put them on the far side of the boar- oh wait. *puts them in front of The Avatar of Khaine* have fun!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Here's a whole other Hub for you right there: Eldar Tactics :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      might have to collaborate to get a decent hub on that :) it's a big topic! Where would you even start?...

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      Well murphy i would go with a fire prism or a falcon with a scatter laser loaded with fire dragons, either way, you get good versatility.

    • profile image

      Pk 3 years ago

      Ok so wraith nights shield blind rule- all models test for blind- as written this includes wraith night ? A model with no eyes ? I think this is going to need a FAQ. Thoughts guys?

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      The fire dragons versus a fire prism . . . both are more survivable versus different things. A fire prism can be one-shot killed by an anti-tank gun, whereas the same shot would only kill a single dragon. However, a bunch of double-tapping marines could wipe out a fire dragon squad with bolters, and they also have a much shorter range. Why not take both? :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      No, the Wraithknight itself doesn't need to take a blind test. I assume that the light expands outwards from the model being hit. It certainly can hit friendly units, though, but with such high initiative, most Eldar will only be blinded on a roll of a 6. Still, be careful!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      The Wraithknight counts as the attacking unit for the purposes of the blind rule, so it isn't affected itself.

      And I'd take a Fire Prism for most cases, having 60" range certainly beats 12" range, so it can be a long ranged support vehicle. However, Fire Dragons, as soon as they open fire, -something- is dying, they just need to get in range first.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      That's what the falcon is for, speed up to a tank, get in close enough for the melta rule to kick in, and boom, dead tank. While that is being done, the falcon can be smokeing the infantry who would kill the dragons.

      Looking at it though, i probobly will take both and a reaper squad with flakk rockets.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      I'd choose a Wave Serpent over a Falcon, (as I explained in my 2nd hub why the wave serpent is -awesome-) plus, wave serpents are more survivable, cheaper, and have a larger transport capacity!

    • profile image

      Fred 3 years ago

      Have you covered wave serpents yet?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      ... Somehow he hasn't from the looks of it ... That's, um, an oversight xD

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Basically Wave Serpents are great, their shield is now an -awesome- cover denying weapon with a massive 60" range. Get a scatter laser turret and twin link that thing and it'll take down aircraft as well, for a very reasonable 120 points!

    • profile image

      Pk 3 years ago

      my codex finally arrived (postage wasn't right I had to collect) and I played my 1st game in 7 years using 6th ed (as best could) and cleared an 800 point list of space marine monkeigh by turn 5 now that's what I call a codex

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      No, I haven't written about them yet. To be honest, usually dedicated transports are kind of boring, so I skipped over it when I covered troops. I thought I'd fit it in somewhere later. I see that was a grave mistake now, so I might go back and add it to the end of the Troops article I did. I will post an update here to let people know.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Awesome, Pk! Way to hand it to the marines!

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      you are right SomeEldarguy I'm going to switch the falcon for the wave serpent and nice job on the blue chips, especially the double diresword one i'm going to have to try it out.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      The next article is up, guys! The link should be up at the end of this same article. I'm sorry its taking so long, but thanks for sticking with me :)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Guys, also, there's a link above to the NEW and REQUESTED wave serpent review and tactics! Whew, it's been a busy night for me!

    Click to Rate This Article