ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

New Space Marine Codex 6th Edition Review - Part 3 - New Units

Updated on September 8, 2013
New Space Marine Codex Review
New Space Marine Codex Review

Introduction

Welcome back! Murphy, here, continuing my review of the new Space Marine Codex for Warhammer 40k 6th edition. To get updates about new review articles or general gaming nonsense, you can follow me on Twitter with @BenMurphy. If you are just joining the conversation, this is the third part of my Space Marine Codex Review: parts 1 and 2 covered new army rules, Warlord Traits, and Chapter Tactics. You can find Part 1 by following the link below:

This article will focus on the new units inside the Space Marine Codex, which is a departure from my usual codex review format. This codex is just so big that I want to skip to the new stuff and then go back and cover existing units that have seen some changes. Let's go!

Space Marine Stalker Review
Space Marine Stalker Review

Space Marine Stalker Tank

The Stalker tank is one of the new units in the new Space Marine Codex. It is a dedicated anti-aircraft vehicle that is designed to give the space marine force a counter to high-flying units without having to take an expensive Flyer of their own. The Stalker is equipped with two independent turrets that give the Stalker some interesting options.

  • Heavy Support Choice - 3/4ths of a hundred points.
  • Tank
  • 12/12/10 armor rating
  • 3 hull points
  • smoke launchers
  • searchlight
  • can take vehicle upgrades
  • icarus stormcannon array

Let's look at that Icarus stormcannon array. It has two modes of fire:

  • Single Target - 48" Strength 7, AP 4, Heavy 4, Skyfire, Twin-linked
  • Dual Target - 48" Strength 7, AP 4, Heavy 4 Skyfire with Servo Tracking

When shooting at a single target, the icarus stormcannon basically acts like a Quad Gun, but without the Interceptor. Now, here's a small problem. Without Interceptor, not only can it not fire when an enemy arrives from Reserve, but it also means that it can only Snap Fire at ground targets. Hmm.

When shooting at Dual Targets, it has the same limitations as above, but it can literally target two different units. The drawback is that these shots are only resolved at BS 2, so hitting on a 5+ . . . and you lose the Twin-linked rule as noted in the profile above.

Murphy's Take: I actually like this unit, despite the limitations above. For less than 100 points, you get a decent anti-air unit. It costs less than an Aegis Defense Line with a Quad gun, and it allows your other units to get "out front" without the need to stay back and man the Quad gun. If you like playing more aggressively, then this is a good choice for you.

Yes, at AV 12, it can be taken out before a flyer comes in. However, this is a vehicle. Keep it out of line of sight, behind a large building or something. When the enemy flyer arrives, you can move 6" into line of sight and open up with the icarus stormcannon. The option to fire at two targets is pretty good against low-AV flyers (Eldar, etc) as often a single Str 7 hit is enough to take an enemy down.

Space Marine Hunter Tank Review
Space Marine Hunter Tank Review

Space Marine Hunter Tank

The space marine Hunter tank is the second new unit and it is a dual hit with the space marine Stalker. You buy one box and can make either variant (or possibly with magnets make both). This model is interesting because it actually is based on the old Epic model from 15 years ago!

Unlike the Stalker, which unleashes multiple shots onto one or two targets, the Hunter fires a single, powerful missile.

  • Heavy Support choice. 7/10 of a hundred points.
  • Tank
  • 12/12/10 armor rating
  • 3 hull points
  • smoke launchers
  • searchlight
  • can take vehicle equipment upgrades
  • skyspear missile launcher

Alright, let's look at that skyspear missile launcher!

  • Skyspear Missile Launcher - 60" Strength 7, AP 2, Heavy 1, Armorbane, Skyfire, and Savant Lock

Once again, this weapon lacks Interceptor which means it cannot fire as an enemy enters from Reserve, and it can only Snap Fire at ground targets. However, it has Armorbane to roll 2d6 when penetrating armor, and this new rule: Savant Lock. What does this do?

Whenever you MISS with this weapon, you place a marker on any enemy Flyer or Flying Monstrous Creature. On the start of every one of your Shooting Phases, you roll a die for each marker on a target. On a 5+ you remove the marker and score a hit against the enemy's rear armor with the above profile. The only way for an enemy to remove a marker is to A) be hit! or B) leave the battlefield.

Murphy's Take: I like this Savant Lock rule! Is it entirely points efficient? Is it tournament competitive? Probably not in either case. However, it's fluffy! How can you not spit sound effects out of your mouth when placing a heat-seeking missile lock on your opponent's flyer? With the Armorbane rule, any hit will likely cause a penetration (2d6 + 7 versus AV 12 at the most). Just like the Stalker, you can hide this vehicle out of line of sight, then move out 6" and fire at the enemy.

A special note: both of these vehicles are honestly a little "underpowered" by competitive standards. I like this, though, because it lets both players have fun. What's the point of your friend buying, painting, and then fielding a cool Flyer if your new SM tank can blow it out of the sky using Interceptor with an 86% success rate? That's not fun. It's also not fun for your friend to bring a Flying unit that eats through a unit of your own every turn with impunity because you have few options to even target it (*cough* Heldrake).

By toning down the anti-air options, it ensures that Flyers will still be fielded, but that armies will have a decent chance to counter them from game-to-game. Both players get to do something fun (kill models), but most likely both players will eventually be successful at eliminating those continuing threats. You can't equate stomping heads at a tournament with having fun with your friends across the table. In that sense, these models are great choices.

Space Marine Centurion Review
Space Marine Centurion Review

Space Marine Centurions

The last of our new units are the space marine Centurions! There are two variants of the Centurions, the Devastator and the Assault version. I will review both here because they share stats and only differ in their wargear and role. Basically, these things can be described as a Space Marine inside a Space Marine! Let's look at stats.

  • Standard marine stats with some bonuses (below)
  • Strength and Toughness of 5
  • 2 Wounds
  • 2+ armor save ... but no invulnerable save.
  • Decimator Protocols - fire two weapons in the Shooting Phase
  • Slow and Purposeful
  • Very Bulky

So they have nice stats, but are vulnerable to AP 2 weapons and volumes of fire; just like Terminators, but without that 5+ invulnerable. They do have 2 wounds, which kind of balances things out. Let's look at the two variations.

Assault Centurion

  • 3-6 within a unit at more than 50 points each
  • twin-linked flamers (can be upgraded to twin-linked meltas)
  • ironclad assault launchers - similar to assault/defensive grenades (can be traded for a hurricane bolter)
  • Move Through Cover
  • Sergeant can take an Omniscope (Night Vision and Split Fire)
  • Landraider as dedicated transport
  • Dual assault drills (Str 9, AP 2, Armourbane, Specialist Weapon) NOT Unwieldy

Murphy's Take: These guys are a big Hmmmmmm for me. They will strike at initiative with powerful blows, so they can take out Monstrous Creatures, Terminators, and any real standard unit. However, they will not be able to perform Sweeping Advances, so they are just vulnerable to return fire and getting them across the table. You can purchase a Landraider, but now you are spending nearly 400 points for this unit and its delivery. I think they will work and be powerful, but deployment will be tricky.

Devastator Centurions

  • do not have the Move Through Cover ability
  • twin-linked heavy bolters (can be upgraded to twin-linked lascannons or grav-cannon and grav amp... explained below).
  • hurricane bolters (can be upgraded to missile launchers with frag/krak).
  • Sergeant can also take an Omniscope
  • Landraider as a dedicated transport

Grav Weapons

Before I give my two-cents, I have to describe that grav-cannon and grav weapons in general. So let's look at that.

  • grav-pistol - 12" Str * AP 2, Concussive and Graviton
  • grav-gun - 18" Str * AP 2, Salvo 2/3, Concussive and Graviton
  • grav-cannon - 24" Str * AP 2, Salvo 3/5, Concussive and Graviton

The grav-pistol can be taken by characters, including sergeants. Grav-guns are Special Weapons that most squads can take in leu of a melta or flamer. The grav-cannons can only be taken by Devestator Centurions.

The Graviton rule is crazy! Instead of having a strength, these guns will wound enemies based on their armor save. So power armored enemies are wounded on a 3+. Terminators on a 2+. Remember that these things are AP 2! Against vehicles, they only inflict damage on an armor penetration roll of a 6, in which case they take a hull point and automatically inflict the Immobilized result on the vehicle! The Salvo rule balances this out some, as you are only half-ranged if you move, but Centurions have Relentless with their Slow & Purposeful, right?

Murphy's Take: I suspect that anyone running Devastator Centurions will equip them with grav-cannons and grav amps. The grav amp allows you to re-roll wounds or armor penetration rolls (looking for 6's). With three centurions, you are pumping out 15 shots with AP 2 that wound on your opponent's armor save. This is an average of 10 hits and verses power armor, that's an average of 8-9 wounds with no armor save (remember the grav amp). Yeoch! Marines better look for some cover saves. Versus vehicles, you are hitting on average 10 times with 3 effects after re-rolls. That's 3 hull points and 3 immobilized results which spells death.

The balancing factor is that Centurions have to get within 24" to attack. This leaves them in range for a powerful counter attack from, what I will guess will be a lot of the opponent's army. Weight of fire, plasma, etc will take them out eventually. Though Toughness 5 means they wont be insta-killed by most things. I think they are a powerful unit, that will have diminishing returns as the battle rages on, but well worth taking.

Which new units are you purchasing for your army?

See results

Conclusion

This moves us through the new units for the Space Marine Codex! Personally I'm a fan of all these units, mostly because they are strong but not overpowered. I hate when a new codex comes out that completely dominates the game because there is no option to counter. All of these new units can wreak face, but they can also be countered. How about that? Take the poll to the right to tell the world which unit you think is worth it.

Alright, readers, I need some guidance. What should I review next? All comments are read and responded to and I'm hoping to get more articles up this week. Where to start? This codex is huge and there are several angles I could approach it with. In the mean time, feel free to check out of some of my other 6th edition Warhammer 40k articles.

Thanks for reading. Murphy Out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Good insight. I think Eldar have always been an "elite" army; fragile but powerful. I honestly haven't seen Tau as often in my local area as I'd have thought. They bring a lot of firepower, and a few units can be moderately tough to kill. They don't dominate the scene here, like they do elsewhere.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Eldar are a tricky case, and by all means I think they've been done very well aside from our resident badass (see - Wave Serpent...), in the hands of a competent player they're the best army out there as of now, however with a novice, you'll lose more often than you win. Eldar are not a forgiving army, nor were they intended to be. Tau I think are along similar lines, but towards the more forgiving end of the spectrum, plus, people don't grasp how to deal with multi-overwatch and Riptides, if you're experienced enough to deal with them, they are a very balanced army.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      If you take out the Eldar and the Tau codex, then I think all of the 6th edition codexes look pretty balanced. Even with the Eldar codex, it's really only a few key units that are just great! Some 40k websites are reporting decent results with the new Tyranid book, but are complaining that it's still an uphill battle and that there is a very limited selection of good army combos.

      I will admit that they could have done a great redesign for Tyranids like they did for Daemons. Daemons got much cheaper troops, with options to upgrade them via minor characters, AND they built in a few power builds that tournament players can go nuts with. I'm not sure that Tyranids got that . . . or that we've figured them out yet.

    • profile image

      (classified) 3 years ago from (classified)

      For Tyranids, I'm quite disappointed they didn't "improve" Tyranids, and the points might have dropped in some places, others got hit by the Nerf Sword, and the few remaining got stronger (Flyrant). But at least some things went well and not all things went downhill.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      No arguments from me. I think if you make rules for a model, you should produce a model . . . and your model should stand on its own merits, rather than copyright law. Customers should choose your model because it looks great and is a good value, especially for something as generic as a space-bug! More competition breeds better service and products, but that would be true free market capitalism, not what we have now with the courts usually protecting the largest companies. I've said too much :p

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      it's their own damn fault if you ask me, I think they missed out 10 kits upon the last Tyranid release, including our most important models; the Swarmlord and Spore! That and the 'Doom, Harpy, and a lot of others, its dirty business from GW, but that's not to be unexpected as they removed no less than 18 biomorphs off the 'Fexes last update and funneled money towards the new release MCs... But I won't go overboard on that argument xD

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Without spores, their game has certainly changed. Have you heard the skinny on why they left them out? They never made models for Spores, but their rival Chapterhouse did. Cutting spores out of the codex meant that they could both keep overhead costs down for making new models AND drop the market out from under a competitor's product. Savvy, if unfair to players!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      It's similar to last edition because there's been on a grand scheme, little change, quite a few nice point drops here and there, but a lot of options nerfed or removed (really shocked with 'Spores removal, they're far too important to remove IMO). So, onwards with MC Synapse!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      So there are LOTS of ways to keep Synapse. You just have to play the game how its written. Fighting Tyranids from a fluff point of view, has always been about killing synapse creatures before the wave of fearless bugs gets to you. I don't see why it should be any different now. The tricky part for the designers is give the game this classic conflict, without swinging the balance in favor of either player. I don't envy their position as it'd be a tough job, no matter who was writing it.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      they are, but they always have been, and there's the missile thing again which sucks, and their Haywire gun is a bit bad because of its short range. Troop tervigons can get regenerate and fleet, so y'know, you can do worse for a rolling monster with T6 and a bucket of wounds.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      The troop tervigon choice seem like a good choice for holding objectives, but i don't know if its the best choice. One thing i do know is hive guard are great fire support.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      as far as I can see, fill up your HQ with Flyrants, wings are underpriced and Flyrants have technically gotten better besides the loss of biomancy. As for other Synapse, small units of warriors are the most cost effective, or troop tervigons, but that forces you to buy 30 termagants.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I honestly will have to try making some Tyranid lists. I don't have a full army but the local shop has a whole bunch sitting in a display case. Strangely, the owner hasn't used the 'Nids in battle for quite some time . . . I'm just curious how many synapse creatures I can fit in a list. One squad of three warriors is not going to cut it, I'm sure. I can't imagine that such a terrible weakness can be written into a codex that will make them frustrating or useless to play. I can't wait to at least face them. Maybe next week I'll get some play in!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      1 missile = 1 dead warrior, and considering the synapse importance, 3 missiles or hunter-killers or whatever you can spare, I reckon will have more of an impact of the termagants and hormagaunts they're accompanying than the big nasty MCs. Normally I'd agree with the drawn fire argument, but for the cost of a warrior, which is not cheap, you don't really want those guys taking your hits!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      If marine players are waiting missile shots at your Warrior broods then they aren't targeting your MCs, are they? One tactical squad can kill (with a missile) 1 warrior in a round and you'll have three. Do they dedicate three tactical squads to wipe out your warriors? What's shooting at your Hive Tyrant, Carnifexs, or the new Haruspex?

      And yes, Tau/dar will just wipe out everything ... like they already do!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Flyrants have got cheaper though, which is nice and all, but will still get grounded turn one then blasted by the riptide across the board; by the way, IMO Taudar is the best army combo available as of the moment so not surprising on the turn 2 synapse wipe. Biovores are a nice surprise though, drop in points and all (not that they'll survive against Tau, 36" weapons match theirs and T4 won't cut it).

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Well, if they want to sell Warriors, they're going the wrong way about it, no changes to stats, Boneswords are AP3 (Ouch! Albeit rolling 6's to wound IDa, Boneswords are 20pts/model and now do nothing against terminators) and Lash Whips now increase I by 3 instead of reducing enemy to 1, and they do get Flesh Hooks, which are effectively assault grenades, BUT they're still T4 - missile bait - and without significant change on their unfortunate overpricing on the melee front. So not really usable on paper

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      SEG, agreed that Synapse is hugely important. You will have to have overlapping Synapse zones to keep those gaunts going. Are they trying to sell more Warriors? Combining warrior broods with HQ choices, and I think it will be okay.

      I just saw a battle report on Frontline Gaming where every Synapse creature was shot dead by turn 2 against Eldar/Tau. However, the guy running Nids admittedly didn't pack his list with synapse, AND, Eldar/Tau is the shootiest army out there! Not a great example of an average game outside of tournaments.

      The psychic powers do hurt because I know Biomancy keeps my Daemon Princes alive more often than not, combined with invulnerable saves, etc. Overall the 'nid MCs have higher toughness and more wounds, but are vulnerable to repeated batteries of heavies that Daemons can shrug off with some luck.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      the big blow for the popular HQ choices is the inability to use BRB psychic powers, no more Iron arm :L and while we'll survive on 'Nid powers alone, I regard this as a massive nerf, not to say that the Swarmlord didn't need one...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Normally I'd agree with you there, but hording Hormagaunts (which now gain +3" run, and fleet from Adrenal Glands; which every combat unit and MC will have inevitably) is high risk. The new IB-Feed rules are damning in many respects, on a failed Ld test, you roll d6, on a 1-6, the unit takes a number of S3 AP- hits equal to the number of models in the unit. So you kill the synapse, there's a not so small chance that you'll be losing half your 30 'gaunts! And to top that off, Scytals don't reroll anymore as I mentioned! Well... Cruddace is consistent in the grand scheme of things...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Tyranids, Tyranids, Tyranids . . . I am duty bound to write some reviews for the new codex which we just got down at the club. There is some interesting stuff there, and from a Non-Tyranid player, there are some interesting things there. I know the Internet is pissed about them now, but I'm holding my opinion for a few weeks. I think horde style armies are great in 6th edition and that goes double when you pepper in some MCs.

      They honestly look a lot like my Daemons. I'm not unbeaten at the local club, but I've done VERY well with the Daemon codex . . . and I don't run any of the "hot" lists like Screamer-stars, Flying Circus, Korn-dog spam, or any of the other crazy names people have come up with :)

    • profile image

      ray 3 years ago

      Id say play a few rounds with em and then tell us how they do. On paper is one thing, but on the field is another.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      uh, hold off on that viewpoint, things aren't looking great -.- 'Spores are gone, Doom is gone, Parasite is gone, Trygons, Mawlocs, Carnifexes have all lost attacks, for some reason Pyrovores haven't been removed, Yrmgarl genestealers are gone, Scytals no longer give rerolls, and you don't get extra attacks for a pair of weapons, you need 2 pairs to get an extra attack. Oh, CrushC's give +1S AP2 unwieldy Armourbane, not sure how that's better than d3 attacks, but to each their own opinion. 'Crone at S8 Vector Strike and Exocrine firing 6 or large blast plasma at 24" are very nice... Not sure if the new models are good because of marketing however...

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      since nids got nerffed in 5th edition, its a good thing they got a release this round. if I like what read, I might just have to get some. my group could use a tyranid player. still think the new models are a little gross, especially the hive crone and the haruspex.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Ray, I have 4,000pts Nids, say that again :P their last update screwed them over so much, 18 biomorphs disappeared of 'Fexes so the old models were useless, and they had a points rise, so GW channeled the money into new, better MCs, with the release of 6th ed, they can't outflank charge, and have to put up with overwatch, and they had 10 kits missing. I can see very well why they've been redone. By the way I'll be doing some hubs on the gribblies in the next few weeks.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      6th edition has been good for who they have done so far, be cool to see what dark elder would get. be cool if they got some kind of scourge character I know there is no real fluff for that. but it would be a cool looking model. bird like models are awesome.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I hope they finish out the 5th edition codexes completely in 2014. I can't wait to see what my Orks and Dark Eldar can do when brought up to snuff! I used to collect Tyranids, but I traded most of them to a friend a few years ago. I wish I had kept them, now! There are a few 'Nid players in the area, but they haven't brought out their bugs in a long while. I expect that will change very soon!

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      honestly surprised that tyranids are the new codex, their last release was in 5th edition if the net is reliable, no one here plays tyranids, so can't ask them. the models are amazing, yet kind of gross.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I had a similar idea about covering daemons... not by army list slot, but by patron deity. I've been playing the Daemon army more and more (just tied for first at a local tournament!) so my interest has peaked again!

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      You going to do anything with any of em, or start something else. I would still suggest doing daemons and an interesting way to do em is not by HQ elite ect. , but by daemon patron, khorn, nurgle ect. When people start out with daemons, they usually start witg one god then expand. It could work.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Yep, I've looked at the Black Legion codex, but I haven't used the rules yet. Most of my chaos marines are painted up like Night Lords, but I DO have Abaddon... There is some great wargear in the supplement and you can Ally with a normal Chaos Marine army, so you can do things like have 4 heldrakes in an army... not that I have 4 of them. I would probably be banned from the local store if I went that route :) I haven't seen much out of the new Imperial Fists supplement yet...

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      also just saw the iron hand sup codex, but it and the imperial fists sup codex are only on e book for now

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      yay for you murphy, looks like the black legion sup. codex just came out.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I've been hit and miss playing versus the new SM codex. They definitely got some nice buffs... but power armor still dies to most xenos weaponry when it's targeted correctly. The SM have given me a wooping, though, especially dual thunderfire cannons!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Eldar have no problems with Marines Ouroboros, bring out your Dire Avengers; or even guardians! Bladestorm'll tear them up, if not, y'know, there's always Starcannons and Suncannons, you will definitely be able to shoot them down one for one.

    • profile image

      Ouroboros 4 years ago

      While the grav guns may be balanced I am concerned about the rest of the codex, marines where powerful already, as a eldar player I know full well if I played marines, having learned on xenos all the dirty tricks, what I can do with them. Making them cheaper, then giving them a bunch of free abilities? I wont be able to shoot them down fast enough for one, for another, relentless devestators in a drop pod with meltas... it feels like space wolves all over again.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Ray, it looks like that new Apocalypse books has some awesome goodies for Chaos, including datasheets for units without models (Khorne Tower of Skulls, I believe).

      Lord Daidalos, thanks for reading and the reply. Gutan Tag! Yes, I think Grav weapons are very strong! My only concern with a land raider transport for Centurions is that you are spending 500+ points for that 36 inches range! Effective, but expensive!

    • profile image

      Lord Daidalos 4 years ago

      Keep in mind that Grav-Weapons deny cover-saves for vehicles, because there are no glancing or penetrating hits to save against, just results (like with failed dangerous terrain tests). That makes them a nice counter for the actual serpent-spam-lists. As for the range: Land Raider Transport solves all problems with that, giving an effective range of 36 inches in the first turn... pardon any mistakes and greetings from germany!

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Looks like we get a third apocalypse expansion. And bonusez for you, chaos gets a boost.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I'd love to do the Adeptus Sororitas book! I can't wait for them to get new models... if they ever do. The Daemon codex is fun to play with, but its also a hard book to understand. There is so much synergy that it almost just doesn't make sense :) It's certainly hard to explain, but it is a winning book!

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      are you going to do anything with the adeptus sorieties codex or daemon or finish what you haven't finished yet. I would recommend either daemons or finishing something. your pick.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      It's an odd choice by GW. Basically its the White Dwarf codex that was released the other year, with some updates to 6th edition (Warlord Traits, etc). No word as of yet if there are any major tweaks to the rules. We know that Sisters can now be fielded in units as small as 5 and take two special weapons (from some blog posts from Black Library).

      Still, no new models, so this is like a half release. Will they do a full, hardback release with new models this next year?

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      looks like the new codex is the adeptus sorietes. kind of a surprise to me. I was expecting an iron hand supplement codex.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      again true, having a sturdy unit which is fast moving to boot will scare the 2+ armoured units at the back of the board.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I actually had an idea on that, put a grav gun on bikes. you get a bit less range and less of a salvo, but you can get in range a lot faster. it would be killer if you were playing white scars.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Nick, thanks for the input! You certainly have a killer option, there. I skipped over the lascannon options because I felt that people could gauge its effectiveness based on old stats. However, when you put it all together, this payload is certainly more than just "oh, and you can take lascannons". I hadn't thought about how nasty that many Str 8 and Str 9 they are pushing out. Even targeting Flyers and hitting on 6's, I see a decent chance of hitting one with a great anti-armor weapon... and the range is incredible compared to the grav-cannons.

      I can see people getting burned on the grav-cannons, having to get them so close to deal with threats, that this might be the fallback option a lot of players turn to. Thank again!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      ^ agreed, I don't have the codex, but to any player that sounds like more of a worrying unit.

    • profile image

      Nick T 4 years ago

      Liking the review so far, my biggest issue would be that you've ignored one of the biggest assets of the devastator centurions - twin lascannons combined with missile launchers. Combine them with an omniscope for the sergeant and you've got a unit that can throw out immense anti tank firepower (3 re-rollable lascannons, with the tank hunters rule if you go with imperial fists chapter tactics, and 3 krak missiles, taking an omniscope also means you can split that fire against two targets) but retains redundancy against hordes through the frag missile option. This build also negates the downside of the grav cannon through its short range.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Templars man, they have about 6,000 at the moment.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      I wonder how much a battalion of Imperial Guard would cost? It's actually funny to me that a chapter of space marines is limited to 1,000 men, in a universe where battles might have millions of soldiers on a side.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Hey that's no fair! xD A whole chapter's impressive without 100x the amount of Guard backing it up!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Anything will die to a wall of titans with D weapons... that's why a SM chapter will likely bring titans of their own :P

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Oh I've got some friends to go to, we'll have 6 titans between us and some nice other super heavies, there'll be no problems there.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I kind of doubt you ,or anyone for that matter, have enough models to take down an entire chapter of marines. it would take a whole gaming club to muster enough troops to take em down.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Can't wait to kill all of them. I want to see some dead 'Smurfs! :P

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Wow! I heard rumors of this last month, but that's awesome to see it go live. Obviously it's just a promotional stunt. They might sell a bundle, as there are some rich players out there. I thought an entire company was a goal for many gamers to work towards... an entire chapter? Just wow!

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      You will not believe me, but games workshop has just put up an ENTIRE SPACE MARINE CHAPTER for sale, over 1000 models and a bunch of other stuff. I have seen cars go for less that what it costs.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Strength D weapons all but negate vehicle formations at the moment, a large blast D will wipe a whole formation out, no questions asked. And I can see Dreadnaught Vs Dream Walker in the near future!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Agh! I would love those formations! I think a unit of dreadnoughts would be great and would make people actually take them in their armies again. Once again, I feel like Apocalypse runs a lot more like how 40k "should" run... more thematic, where the rules (or lack of them) allows armies to play like their fluff describes.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I like the balance games workshop is introducing, it gives the game (at least for me) a more competitive spirit and a feeling of more achievement when you win and that you had a good round when you lost. I've never liked games where you would win depending on what army you chose.

      also, you will love this Murphy, the damnos apocalypse released a LAND RAIDER formation and a bunch of other armored ones, including several dreadnaughts. love it.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      You're correct, of course. The limited range is the balancing factor for grav weapons. They are incredibly powerful in many situations, but they are not overpowered. It's almost like GW is establishing a trend of balanced units... :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Regardless of how many shots it's firing, it's only at 24" range, now, lets say we've got some Starcannons hanging around, I can stick at 36" and not get any return fire from those Grav weapons. So I'll be hitting on 3's, wounding on 3's. These guys will also be prey to Snipers, as they traditionally have low armour, high cover, therefore negating the use of grav weapons.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thanks for reading! I appreciate the feedback. Also, I didn't remember about the dreadknight's weapon. I'm sure you are correct that they put the salvo rule there just for the sake of completion and future possibilities. I wonder if there are any psyker powers than can remove a unit's Relentless ability. Hmm....

    • profile image

      Fargo5 4 years ago

      Grey knight's had a weapon type, that was only to the dreadnight as well, and it would always fire at full salvo also. maybe its for a safeguard so should units in the future have the weapon. but is not a Centurion. good article btw.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Fargo5, you're absolutely correct :) I was pretty sure that Slow & Purposeful granted Relentless, but I didn't have my rulebook with me. It's kind of funny because grav-cannons are Salvo 3/5, but they can never be forced to fire as the 3 because the Centurions are Relentless. Strange :p I wonder if these new weapons will find there way into other, non-relentless units in the future.

      Also, Ray, you are correct that Chaos can take Imperium formations for Apocalypse. I don't see why we can't do it for normal 40k... Well, we do have Traitor Guard as allies we can take within the rules. There is a loud grumble around the net that the new SM codex will make a better Traitor Legions codex than the CSM codex will.

      Alpha Legion with Raven Guard chapter tactics. World Eaters with Black Templar chapter tactics. I'm even wondering if my Night Lords can't run with the White Scars tactics, even if they aren't all on bikes. Intriguing stuff!

    • profile image

      Fargo5 4 years ago

      Sorry i ment the Unit Centurion is "Slow and Purposeful" and by that they always shoot Salvo 5 even if they moved. according to the rules. so it's a no brainer to take Grav cannon.

    • profile image

      Fargo5 4 years ago

      in the Rulebook it says that units that are "very Bulky" shoot as counting as always standing still, so they shoot with Salvo 5 ALWAYS...

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Wait, didn't you say that chaos marines can use imperial formations, so can't you use the formations for space marines with chaos.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I gotta say, the assault centurion is the least useful unit out of all of these and i'd only take it if you know how to use it and are going to take a land raider anyway and don't know what to put in it.

      Not the biggest fan of the stalker, but i like the hunter, it has it's uses, especially if you want a mobile force and don't want to leave a squad behind for a quad gun.

      The devestator centurion i like, it has several good builds and can direct a good deal of fire out. I like em.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      The Warzone: Damnos would be great if I could get a copy. I didn't pre-order it because I don't run Necrons and I don't have an Apocalypse size marine force (and nowhere near one!). Maybe someone at the shop ordered it and will let me take a peak...

      Regarding the new SM tanks... I think if they had interceptor, they would be "too good". GW has to be careful to strike a balance with rules so that models aren't made obsolete and stop selling. Right now, the space marines have a better chance of taking out flyers than they used to (thus selling more kits to space marine players), but flyers also have a good chance of surviving (thus selling more flyer kits).

      Here is a suggestion for the AA tanks: keep them in reserve. Seriously, the benefit of of these tanks over the aegis defense line is that they are mobile! They can move 6" and still fire for effect. Keep them in reserve until the enemy flyer comes on, and then roll up and shoot. Or if your group plays with enough line of sight blocking terrain, then hide the tanks and move out to fire later.

      I think a good solution for marines is to perhaps have multiple AA threats. Take a tank for 75 points, a storm talon, and maybe a unit of devastators with flak missiles. Multiple threats with multiple uses.

      Grav weapons are certainly situational. I don't know if they are tournament worthy because you might build one list to fight all comers. At a local shop where you have an idea who you might be facing that day, they can be great! Almost every army I face is a power armored army with vehicle support. They would work great in my local meta because there aren't any horde armies. I am really the only active xenos player :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 4 years ago

      Centurions are a big "Meh" for me as a person facing these units, any AP2 weaponry's going to hurt BAD, when you're up against Rending (and particularly Bladestorm) these guys just aren't worth it, that's my opinion, they're great for the mid range capability, but when they face the big guns, you know who's gonna come out on top.

      As for the tanks, not having interceptor is a big 'ouch', as if I'm bringing in a Crimson Hunter, I get a round of 4 S8 shots against suspect AV12 before you even get to fire at your specialised target, so I can only suggest taking multiples of these guys to bulk it out, but then you use up more than necessary FOC slots, so it's a hard call. The price cost for them gives them some good use, but for AA duty, I'd suggest tactical marines with Flakk missile launchers, unless you really have an itch for another heavy weapon.

      Grav Weapons? Well, it's like playing against the Lore of Metal, they'll take heavy tolls on the expensive stuff, and fail epically against a gaunt horde running with 6+ saves... It's nasty for Marines and Necrons, but because of their limited range, I can only see them being blown to pieces by the Leman Russ on the other side of the field before they get used even once.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      Actually i think you should do the apocalypse dammnos release if you can get your hands on it, be cool to see if anyone gets any cool new formations.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 4 years ago from Florida

      Thanks again for the reads, guys. Yep, I'd forgotten that the Hunter was an Epic model until a random image search a few weeks ago brought up the old 6mm model! I might even have a blister of old hunters in my Epic shoebox in the closet.

      Regarding the points cost, of the centurions, I think I said something like "a little more than 50 points". I'm wary about putting specific points values because other sites refused to do so for fear of reprisal.

      I think some Space Marine lists and tactics would be fun to write. I'm thinking about a White Scars and Iron Hands combo... or Salamanders and Iron Hands, too. Of course, I still have more Apocalypse and even the Tau to write! It's hard to spend hours and hours on articles, though, when a subject already feels "old" like the Tau do. I'm still interested, but how many other people on the net are?

    • profile image

      Dan 4 years ago

      Great article! (as usual) I would just add that The hunter savant lock can also be lost when a unit gets locked in combat (pretty applicable to FMC), and also that I believe additional centurions are 60 points, not 50 (but I'm going from memory here).

      As for what to see next, I would love for some insight into various chapter-based combos (not necessarily allies), such as how to use flamers and meltas effectively as salamanders in the new codex. Or how to create a balanced ultramarines army, a hit and run white scars force, etc.. I realize that would be more a tactics article, but it would be cool to see nonetheless.

    • profile image

      Ray 4 years ago

      I gotta say, liking the new units, especially the hunter. i had an old friend who knew everything about space marines and was wondering if they would do anything with the hunter when i told him that flyers would become common with 6th edition. guess now i can tell him that they made it work.

      i'd say finish up what you haven't finished reviewing yet. maybe the apocalypse formations or tau.