ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Games, Toys, and Hobbies»
  • Computer & Video Games

Review of Lego Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues

Updated on January 31, 2010

Many of you know that I am a big fan of the Lego video game series, and they have recently put out a sequel to Lego Indiana Jones.  Considering that they covered the original trilogy in their first version, one would wonder why they would devote an entire game to Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, which many thought was one of the most disappointing sequels of all time. 

Rest assured, Lego Indiana Jones 2 not only lets the player have as good a time as one possibly can playing the Crystal Skull film, but the player can also go back to the original trilogies to replay some levels from the Original trilogy.  Of course, the levels from the original trilogy are kind of odd.  For example, remember that classic bar scene from Raiders of the Lost Ark where the bad guy Toht is trying to get the headpiece from the Staff of Ra.  Well, in this version, Toht gets a hold of the headpiece and uses its ability to shoot a laser to try and kill Indiana and Marion.  Yeah, it was definitely not the film, but at least the player gets to have a blast building mirrors to deflect the beam to get the bad guy. 

Lego Indiana Jones 2 follows the same format of the other Lego games.  That is, the character goes through levels with typical Indy obstacles.  The player can bash things to get studs, which are the money in this game.  Oftentimes, when the player smash things, he or she can often build other things out of the wreckage. 

There are a few things that Lego Indiana Jones does that are different than other Lego games.  The other three Lego games, Lego Star Wars, Lego Indiana Jones, and Lego Batman feature a starting point where the player goes through many levels, each with several sub-levels in the middle. Lego Indiana Jones 2 starts out in that Area 51 warehouse from the fourth movie, and you have to beat Crystal Skull levels to get the crates there to open up so you can beat more stages of the game. 

Within these crates is some sort of “staging area” where the main character accesses these levels.  In these staging areas, the player must find specially colored bricks of red, green, and blue.  This is very different than the other Lego games, as most of the time, the player is looking for ten treasure chests (or canisters) and one red brick per level. 

Another change in the game is that the two-player feature works better as both of them can go one way and one player can go another.  The screen splits for this, so there isn’t a time where one player is being blocked in going one way. 

The Wii version of this game had an interesting feature which allows the player to shoot or whip by targeting with the Wiimote and hitting the B button. 

Another major change is the “create your own level” feature.  You have to play at least one level of Crystal Skull just to access it, and so I didn’t get to use it much.  It looks like in order to use it, you have to go through it as if it was a level in and of itself. 

All in all, the game is full of puzzles within my puzzles, as well as some fun action.  You should be able to get it very soon. 


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.