ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Tyranid 6th Edition Codex - Exocrine Review

Updated on January 13, 2014
Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition
Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition

Introduction

The new Tyranid release for 6th edition Warhammer 40k has brought us several new models, and in some cases, some new old models. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the Exocrine is back from 2nd edition! What once was an Armorcast model of yellow resin is now a highly detailed plastic miniature, and it has rules to go along with it. This rule will take a look at those rules and give some insight into how to use it on the battlefield.

If you missed my Tyranid Harpy and Hive Crone reviews, check them out here:

If you haven't read about the new Tyranid Monstrous Flying Creatures, give them a read, too. They have some interesting offensive tricks, but they are a little fragile to Anti-air . . . is there a solution? Also, if you are looking for the new Tyranid Haruspex, check the links at the bottom of this article for my new review. That thing is a beast!

Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition
Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition

Exocrine Stats and Rules

The Exocrine is a piece of living artillery. It's job is to slowly march forward and take down enemy heavy weapons and infantry in support of your advancing hordes. Will it do the trick?

Stats

  • Heavy Support
  • WS and BS of 3 . . . or BS 4 - see below!
  • Str and Toughness of 6 with 5 Wounds.
  • 3 Attacks if its gets stuck into melee.
  • Leadership 7 - so keep it in Synapse range!
  • 3+ armor save.

Don't forget that this thing IS a Monstrous Creature, so it gets all the special rules along with it: Move Through Cover, Hammer of Wrath, Smash, etc. Most of these rules advantage melee, something you'd like to avoid with the Exocrine, but they are there. Need to charge that Land Raider? Three Str 10 attacks on the charge isn't too bad! What else does this thing have?

  • Fearless
  • Hunt - Instinctive Behavior (assault enemies if failed LD outside of Synapse)
  • +1 BS if it doesn't move during it's Movement Phase, but can't charge in the Assault Phase.

This last special ability is interesting. The Exocrine has a relatively short range with its weapon (see below), so it's likely that you'll have to keep this guys moving for a turn or two. However, once you get it into position, it's nice to have a bonus for parking and claiming your territory.

Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition
Tyranid Exocrine Review 6th Edition

Exocrine Weapons

The Exocrine is a living tank, so what caliber weapon does it use?

  • Bio-plasmic Cannon - Two Modes:
  • Blast: 24" Str 7 AP2 Assault 1 Large Blast
  • Streams: 24" Str 7 AP2 Assault 6
  • Scything Talon - just gives it melee attacks, nothing special.
  • Can upgrade to a Thresher Scythe tail - an addition Str 4 AP4 attack in melee that has Rending.

The Exocrine can also be upgraded with Biomorphs:

  • Toxin Sacks - Melee gains Poisoned (and re-rolls failed To Wound verses most anything).
  • Acid Blood - Each unsaved wound suffered in melee causes the enemy unit to take a Str 5 AP2 hit.
  • Adrenal Glands - Gains Fleet and Furious Charge.
  • Regenerate - Roll a die at the end of your turns, on a 4+ you regain a lost wound.

Regarding Biomorphs, I'd probably keep the Exocrine cheap and not buy anything. Regeneration is tempting because it will likely keep your Exocrine in the game longer. Everything else is melee oriented and you just don't want your guy to be stuck in combat.

It's primary weapon is pretty nasty! Do you realize it's basically a plasma cannon with a large blast? Or an Assault 6 plasma gun? The biggest limitation is that it has a 24" range, which is why the Exocrine has a Toughness of 6, 5 Wounds, a 3+ armor save and, if given the Regeneration biomorph, the ability to regrow wounds.

Tyranid Exocrine Rating

3 stars for Tyranid Exocrine

Tyranid Exocrine Tactics

So what are you to do with the Exocrine? If anyone is familiar with WWII games, then this thing is a German StuG: roll it forward, gun firing, but keep it supported with infantry.

With a strength 7 gun, you can target most transports and light armor. The Exocrine will also make mist out of terminators or other heavily armored infantry. My idea is to use the Blast mode while moving forward because the difference between BS 3 and 4 is not much for a large blast. When you get to an area you want to control, then feel free to switch to the Assault 6 and use the increased BS 4 and you'll likely hit 4 out of those 6 shots... which is better against small units that a blast might miss entirely. You could also target an enemy Flyer and hope for hot dice!

Overall, I give it 3 out of 5 stars. This is an average rating, but I do think the Exocrine is a fine unit. It has great offense and survivability, but two inherit weaknesses: a short range for a heavy weapon, and it's single-mindedness. It can point and shoot, but not much else. Yes, it could crunch some infantry in melee, but you don't want it stuck there. Keep that bio-plasmic cannon firing and keep some units around it to avoid it being charged by a power fist.

Tyranid Exocrine

What do you think about the Exocrine?

See results

Conclusion

I was excited to see the Exocrine make a comeback! My buddy had the old Armorcast model and I always thought it was just awesome. A living assault gun, crawling forward, shooting plasma and eating anything in the way!

Looking at the rules, I'm pleased. That Str 7 large blast is just nasty! Imagine your opponent losing a squad of terminators in a single blast. Your Exocrine will not be a popular model, which is all the better for you, as it will attract fire away from your other army.

I hope you enjoyed the review! Before you go, take the poll to the right and let us know what you think of the new Exocrine. Love it or leave it? What about the new Haruspex? Check below!

Keep checking back for new Tyranid articles, and in the mean time, check out my other 40k articles below:

Thanks for reading! Comments below are always welcome and I always respond. Happy gaming for now. Murphy Out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ommokt profile image

      ommokt 3 years ago

      How can I play this game :o

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      ommokt, you can purchase rules and models from retail stores, ebay, or the company's website:

      http://www.games-workshop.com

      Have fun!

    • profile image

      Greg 3 years ago

      And get your friends to join you. It's a lot more fun building, painting and strategizing with more people. Plus once you get used to the mechanics and rules, you can play your own campaigns with your own rules! Many fun weekends are in store for you!

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      It's a hobby I've enjoyed for 20 years now :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Exocrine IMO is the strongest of the new releases (not fussed by the FMC's), 24"? not great, but for 'Nids that's artillery, and AP2 at that as well, with nerfs to CQC in 6th, an AP2 powerhouse like this is valuable indeed, and I like the suggestion of when to use the different modes - blast when moving, multi-shot when area-controlling - And as a high wound MC with regenerate, only dedicated firepower will topple the beast, a firm contender in many lists methinks. 4/5 from me. Also don't forget the anti-MC qualities of those 6 shots, in case you run into another 'Nid player...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      SEG, great points! I like the idea of targeting enemy MC's too. My greater daemons will not like 6 incoming Str 7 AP2 shots . . . Not at all!

    • profile image

      Slade1122334455 3 years ago

      Thing I like to do, expecialy if there is ruins in the center of the board, is move my exocrine up into the ruins with a venomthrope with him. This basicly allows him to shoot over the entire board with a 2+ cover save because of the shrouded. Or, I set him behind an aegis defence line, with the venomthrope, for 2+ saves. Makes a beast that basicly kills what it shoots at, and if they want to take it down they have to either charge into close combat with something, or waste a lot of fire power taking it down.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      ^you think you're gonna get to the center of the board before the enemy? a Ghostwalk matrix Wave Serpent can unload a full squad into those ruins without any trouble, then you've got a problem. But using venomthropes is always a good move for your valuable beasties, but one S8 hit and the thing's dead, and a cover save won't save you against enough shots.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Slade, you have an awesome tactic there. A Toughness 6 monstrous creature with a 3+ or 2+ cover save is great! Especially one that is dishing out large blast attacks that can melt any infantry that gets close.

      SEG, is right, though . . . your opponent will do everything possible to keep you out of cover. The Eldar have enough fast units to maybe get there first, but does every army have that speed? Nope! Even if they get there, that's what you have lots of bugs for; to flush them out and eat them. Keep up the games! We need more reports from the field. Less theory-hammer from me and more real-game experience! I hope to get some soon.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      This creature is going to give the marines eldarguy was worried about blasting his warriors a good blasting. And its draw fire value gives warriors an even better chance of survival. Looks like we have some good methods to keep synapses.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      very true, I've already seen a tactica on using dual flyrants criss crossing between venomthropes to keep flying and synpase coverage, while having a 3+ dive save! And yes, I'd use the Exocrine to melt a few power armoured threats, which is why I'd give it 4/5, because you don't even have to rely on weight of shots to get them now.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      If I hear that people are using this beast to win games, then I can certainly bump it up a star :) I absolutely agree with Ray that space marines are going to be targeting multiple heavy weapons towards Exocrines every turn, which might leave your warriors or even tyrants untouched for a turn or two. In 40k, having a single extra turn with a unit late in the game can mean victory or defeat.

      SEG, that's a great tactica! Two flyrants staying close to two venomthropes will be nasty. Opponents will quickly learn to target the venomthrope, but with those also in cover, they have a chance at living. Plus, giving those flyrants the primaris power adds 6" to their synapse range, so that's a big bubble of control.

    • profile image

      HeavyMetal 3 years ago

      I played a game last night at my LGS and did very well. I ran 2 dakka flyrants, 3 venomthropes, 3 21 man base hormie groups, two warrior groups with just a barbed strangler, harpy and crone, 2 mawlocs and the exocrine. The exocrine preformed very well and once you get it in position it does work. I even got lucky and fired the 6 shots while moving and hit with 5 shots and decimated a terminator group. The mawlocs are very good disruption units. I think base swarm hormies will be good, just use them to tarpit and they are still good at killing infantry. I rolled psychic shriek twice, warp blast, and paroxysm for my tyrants. Psychic Shriek was ok, and paroxysm helps keep heavy weapons in check and helps a lot with tarpitting too since you make it harder for the opponent to hit. Looking forawrd to playing more games and trying out different lists.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      Good list and it sounds like you did right with it. With that play, the exocrine might just deserve 4 stars. Got to ask, did your hive crone have to take any air units and if it did, how did it do. Always nice to know how things do on the field.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Awesome report, HeavyMetal! I didn't think about using Paroxysm as a means to simply tarpit a unit. You're so right, though, with marines having to hit 'gaunts on 5's, a Fearless swarm of those could hold on for a long time. I'm glad to hear about the Exocrine! It has such a devastating weapon that I think your opponents were having to make a tough decision every turn: shoot at the Exocrine or get rid of your synapse creatures . . . which I'm guessing might also be tough because of the venomthropes!

      If you check out the comments in the articles about the Harpy and/or Hive Crone, I think some people have commented that venomthropes might be a keep to keeping those flying monstrous creatures alive. I'm curious how your FMCs performed since you brought both :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Great report, 'Nids haven't lost their teeth, but however I'm seeing little variation in lists (oh you GW and your business strategies...) Excocrine deserves 4 stars, dat plasma.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      That probobly true, but with a new codex you have to give people a little time to think things over, try things out, come up with the unusual lists.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      well, I've had enough time to think about the Eldar now, so I've bought 2 more Wave serpents and 3 turrets to retrofit my 3 falcons into 'Serpents, adding to the 2 I already have, so I now have 7 Wave Serpents. Please, by all means try to be as evil as that.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      SEG, that IS just evil. Or is it simply efficient? :)

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Isn't that what 40K's about? Get as much out of your units as possible etc. 'Nids are going to have to master this to get a good show in, and looks like people are clambering up from the rubble and examining how good the price drops have been, now we can get 'fexes in 3's firing loads of S6 shots each and getting a LOT of HoW hits for a reasonable price...

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      Your right, but efficient evil is still evil.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      LOL, Ray. I can't wait to see the local 'Nid players start playing larger games. Everyone has been having a blast doing Kill Team these last few weeks, working up towards a tournament, I believe. On that note, I just found eight genestealers still on the sprue . . .

    Click to Rate This Article