ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Tyranid 6th Edition Codex - Haruspex Review

Updated on January 13, 2014
Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition
Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition

Haruspex Introduction

You are reading another review from Murphy80, looking at the new Tyranid Codex for the 6th edition Tyranid Codex for Warhammer 40k. This time out we will look at the second half of the new Exocrine/Haruspex dual-kit: the Haruspex. I've already reviewed the stats, rules, and tactics with the Exocrine, so you can check that out here, along with their new Flying Monstrous Creatures:

While the Exocrine is a living tank; the Haruspex is much more akin to a walking sausage grinder. I'll let that vivid image sink in as we move on to looking at it's stats. This isn't going to be pretty, folks, unless you are a Tyranid player, in which (and to borrow a phrase from Khorne), you care not how the sausage is made, only that it is made!

Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition Codex
Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition Codex

Tyranid Haruspex Stats and Rules

Did you know that the name Haruspex is not made up gibberish? In fact, according to popular internet encyclopedias, it is the ancient Greek name for a person trained in divination via the interpretation of animal entrails. So there you go. Welcome to my most disgusting review yet!

Haruspex Stats

  • Elite Choice
  • Monstrous Creature - Hammer of Wrath, Move Through Cover, Smash, etc!
  • 3's for WS and BS
  • 6's for Str and Toughness, with 5 Wounds
  • 3 Initiative and Attacks
  • Leadership 7 - Stay in Synapse!
  • 3+ armor save

Weapons

  • Grasping Tongue - 12" Str 6 AP2 Assault 1 with Precision Shot.
  • Crushing Claws - +1 Strength and Armorbane.
  • Acid Blood - If it suffers unsaved Wounds in melee, the enemy unit takes Str 5 AP2 hits in return!
  • May upgrade to a Tresher Scythe tail - an addition Str 4 Ap4 attack with Rending.

Special Rules

  • Fearless
  • Feed - Instinctive Behavior - assault nearest enemies if failed LD and out of Synapse.
  • Feeder-beast - If you cause an unsaved wound in Assault Phase, gain back a single wound lost earlier.
  • Rapacious Hunger - When it charges, unsaved wounds it causes allow you to make additional attacks! These new attacks don't create more attacks, though.

Right, let's look at what Biomorphs the Haruspex can benefit from, as well as some general thoughts about it's stats and rules.

Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition
Tyranid Haruspex Review 6th Edition

Tyranid Haruspex Tactics

First off, the Haruspex can take options from the Biomorphs list and, unlike the other models I've reviewed, this is a melee-oriented beast, so they may be worth it!

  • Toxin Sacs - Gains Poisoned, which also allows it to re-roll failed To Wound rolls when it's Str 6 is greater or equal to an enemy's Toughness.
  • Adrenal Glands - Gain Fleet and Furious Charge. This will get you into assault with better results and bump you up to Strength 7, which might be great fighting other MCs.
  • Regeneration - At the end of your turns, roll a 4+ to regain a lost wound. Combined with it's inherent ability to regen wounds in melee, this thing could stay around for a long time!

Let's look at a nice combo: It's Crushing Claws bump the Haruspex's Strength up to 7, so Adrenal Glands will give you Str 8 attacks on the charge. If you further combine this with Toxin Sacs, these Str 8 hits will allow for re-rolls of failed To Wound rolls on anything up to Toughness 8 . . .Also, any of these unsaved wounds will allow for additional attacks! Not to mention it will be Fleet as it charges across the battlefield. Perfect for hunting Wraithknights.

Tactics

Obviously you will need to move this guy forward with your army and let it assault enemy units. With 5 wounds, it will likely get to where it's going, but the Haruspex is vulnerable to things like Devastator Squads or anything that can dish out multiple high Strength, low AP shots. This is where Regeneration comes in as a Biomorph, or getting it to regenerate via Melee attacks.

With it's high strength, Armorbane, but relatively low number of attacks, the Haruspex is best targeting low model-count units or enemy vehicles. With Smash, this thing will have 3 Str 10 attacks with Armorbane against any vehicle or 4 Str 7 attacks (8 with Adrenal Glands).

It's a big monster, but still try to use cover to your advantage. It only needs to have a tip-toe inside area terrain to get a 5+ cover save and with Move Through Cover, it's not a big deal to enter it. If you have a Venomthrope within 6", then that cover save just increased to a 3+ due to Shrouding.

Tyranid Haruspex Rating

3 stars for Tyranid Haruspex

Tyranid Haruspex Is It Worth It?

I like the Haruspex, and it certainly can have a place in your Tyranid army. With Adrenal Glands giving Furious Charge and it's Crushing Claws, it's pumping out nice Strength 8 attacks on the charge. This will insta-kill most characters and can chomp through even a Wraithknight!

That said, it is still a big beast that might chomp through 3 or 4 marines in a single round. How mad will you be when an Ork mob of 20 figures tarpits this thing for several rounds while the Nob whittles away at its wounds? Being Fearless, the Haruspex wont run away, so while it will chew through enemy elites, power armor, and even some MCs, it is susceptible to being tar-pitted.

I give it 3 out of 5 stars because it will do it's job quite well, but it isn't a Must Have of the new 6th edition codex.

Tyranid Haruspex

How does the new Haruspex stack up?

See results

Conclusion

This brings us to the end of another review for the new Tyranid Codex for 6th edition Warhammer 40k. What I like about the new Tyranid Codex is that it presents players with choices. It doesn't appear that any unit is so amazing that it overshadows everything else in the codex. I think this is how a wargame should play; every choice should be valid when compared to other options.

Take the poll on the right to give your approval or derision of the Haruspex! If you haven't already, take a gander at my other Tyranid Codex reviews or for those of another army:

As always, thanks for reading! Check out the comments section below and leave your feedback. I always respond and you readers always bring more insight into these reviews; ideas that I've missed! Until next time, Murphy Out!

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 2 years ago from Florida

      Thanks, for the read! I'm sorry for the late reply; I've been working on new articles, but the release pace has been too much to keep up with! It looks like the Tyranids got an update with new "drop spores" and creatures. I hope all armies get updates that aren't linked to new codexes!

    • Alex Johannsson profile image

      Alex Johannsson 2 years ago

      Great review, I never realized that this thing was effectively strength 7 (crushing claws) and could be get up to strength 8 on the charge with its adrenal glands. I guess I missed that when I read its profile in the codex, so thanks for pointing it out, otherwise I'd have never realized. Keep thinking the claws still just give random attacks like previous edition (I'm still in the process of re-starting nids. Haven't had a chance to game since 4th edition)

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I think you have the right idea! People often overlook abilities that lower initiative because they often compare everything to marines... for instance, my Fiends of Slaanesh lower initiative but my Slaanesh daemons already go faster than marines! However, versus things like Eldar (as you mention) this ability rocks! Now that high Eldar initiative is lowered to something much more manageable!

      Grey Knights do something very similar versus my daemons, using some wargear/psychic that lowers my initiative! I hate it when my greater daemons go last! So use this tactic; it's all about combined arms!

    • profile image

      theredterror 3 years ago

      Has anyone tried charging in a harpy at the same time to slow down something like a wraithknight? My friend plays eldar and high elves so naturally i always have to try to overcome speed with some tactics. I used to use twin-devourers to kill his avatar as he pretty much always failed his armour save enough times to drop dead so theres always ways around any armour or invun, with the change in the way lash whips work the harpy is probably the best way around speed now, in my opinion anyway. Anyone agree?

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Yes, I know many people waiting for new Wood Elves. For the Knights, I was lucky to have the cash on hand, and like I said, I see it as an investment rather than just toys :) Hopefully I can't paint them well enough to make a sale... If not, well, then I have some new toys to play with lol.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      wow, that's a hole burnt in your pocket! However, money well spent in my opinion, they're looking tasty. It's going to be even worse for me with the new Wood Elves in rumours across the board, first release in nigh on a decade.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Thanks for helping out, SEG :)

      BTW just pre-ordered 2 Imperial Knights...

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Chariot base is too small for it, the oval base size is 120mm x 95mm

    • profile image

      Curious 3 years ago

      Thanks for the swift reply, sadly I don't know the base-size of either Trygon or wraithknight. :(

      Is it the same oval base that the Burning Chariot or Bloodthrone use?

      Could a Haruspex be fit on a square base from WH Fantasy (chariot base)?

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      same as Trygon base as Murphy says. They limited its attacks to downpower it, however, a creature of it's size is still dishing out damage.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I believe it's the large oval base that the tervigon and wraithknight both use.

    • profile image

      Curious 3 years ago

      What size has the Haruspex Base?

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      I agree! Remember, though that those attacks from a charge can generate additional attacks. However, once a unit has survived the first round, you are only throwing 3 dice, plus any option tail upgrades. Seems a shame!

    • profile image

      JimmyG 3 years ago

      Looks good but I would have liked 5 attacks; 3 seems to few for such a mean looking beasty.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Yes, certainly a ploy to be had. Now you're thinking evil! Eldar are still an elite army, a bad player would fall for that trick and lose, a good player will not. Now to think of plans that don't give them a choice...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Agreed, if they square off one-on-one. I'm thinking that a Tyranid could pull it off if 1) he could already shoot off a wound or two from the Wraithknight early in the game (Exocrine or Heavy Venom Cannon, etc), and then 2) bluff that the Haruspex will charge something else, but then target the wraithknight.

      A smart Eldar player will see the play coming, but in the chaos of a battle with different objectives, you never know what can happen. A battle might find the Eldar player being forced to use the wraithknight to contest an objective late game; an objective that might be guarded by a surviving Haruspex. You never know!

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      But the problem is its got 12" movement, suddenly the haruspex is needing pretty decent run rolls just to break even on distance, all the while, it's getting hammered by it's considerable firepower...

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Ray, I agree that these should not be used against light infantry . . . all those high strength attacks will be wasted on things like Necron warriors, etc. Terminators and heavy infantry, for sure, and maybe some other beasties. While I think a Haruspex with hot dice could surprise a Wraithknight, a Wraithknight is just a tough model to beat by anyone. Of course, the Wraithknight will cost almost double what the Haruspex costs, so there's always that.

      Even a charging Wraithknight will be unlikely to kill a Haruspex in a single turn of Melee, so they both will be beating on each other for at least a turn.

    • SomeEldarGuy profile image

      Alex 3 years ago

      Uh, wouldn't start saying it'll chomp through Wraithknights when they are hitting faster and stronger than you, and can simply jump out of your range when needed to, if armed with D-cannons it can also Insta-kill you on a wound of 6. That's a risky move to play.

    • profile image

      Ray 3 years ago

      This thing seems like the flip flop of a furioso dreadnaught, with one being a infantry grinder, the other taking down harder stuff. I knew when i saw this model, its fluff would be gross, but this is to a whole new level. A grasping tongue, really.

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Thank you, sir! I try to be realistic if not a little optimistic. A lot of people who comment on websites are very competitive players, even amongst their local clubs. As competitive players they want the best options available and for their to be an even playing field. Is the new Tyranid codex on par with the Tau codex? I don't think so! However, many local clubs or groups of friends wont ever notice because not everybody plays Tau!

      Thanks for reading and commenting! Give the new book a try to see what happens. Report back if you ever have a chance.

    • profile image

      Fablesupernickle 3 years ago

      I'm loving this review, it's nowhere near as pessimistic as most of them are, just because the codex didn't entirely live up to rumored expectations

    • murphy80 profile image
      Author

      Murphy 3 years ago from Florida

      Good point, but for every dead ork due to acid blood, that's another wound off the Haruspex. If the Haruspex gets the charge, then those orks are going to be wounding on 6's... but it IS a lot of ork attacks. I'm going to run the through some numbers and see who would win. Hmm...

    • profile image

      Halollet 3 years ago

      I don't think it can be tarpitted by orks. Not with that acid blood going off every time its wounded. And that's a big base, with the pile in rule, that's a lot of potentially dead orks every time!