ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

World of Warcraft: A smoldering inferno after a glacial age, Cataclysm

Updated on February 2, 2013
Deathwing | Source

After the ice age that came with Arthas, the next evil brings fiery destruction to Azeroth. Deathwing, The Destroyer, left his destructive mark upon the world, forever changing the world as we knew it. So now it's time to get to level 85!

Various areas had to be redone after the Cataclysm (just in Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimdor, Outland and Northrend were unaffected). There was no new continent in this expansion, instead, they opened up some areas that were closed in previous WoW games, like Hyjal and Twilight Highlands. Oh, and for the first time we have a full zone that takes place underwater. For this, one of the quests rewards is the Abyssal Seahorse, a pretty cool mount if you ask me.

Wrath gave us a new profession, and now, Cataclysm brings us a new secondary skill, Archaeology. As a secondary skill, everyone can learn it, and it has quite a few benefits to level this one up. You level up this skill by surveying archaeological sites that appear in your map, after a certain number of surveys, that digsite banishes and a new one appears. Among the goodies that you can get through this skill, there are level 85 epics, gold (through all the vendor trash you can sell), and more.

World of Warcraft: Cataclysm Cinematic Trailer

This expansion also featured a couple new battlegrounds, even though their mechanics are pretty much the same as the first ones (Warsong Gulch and Arathi Basin). And two new races as well, the Worgen for the Alliance, and the Goblins for the Horde.

Besides the obvious new quests, monsters, zones, secondary skill and all the Azeroth's changes, the talent trees got redone quite a bit themselves. We now just get 41 points with the new trees - Blizzard's take on this was that they wanted people to not use dual-spec on PvE and PvP specs on the same branch, but rather have them have two different specializations, which both can function as PvE and PvP alike. For example, a warlock in WotLK could use his dual-spec for a Destruction PvE and Destruction PvP. The talent changes in Cataclysm were intended so if you choose a Destruction build, that can serve as both PvE and PvP, and so you can choose a different specialization as your other spec.

The talent changes were one of the things that pissed off most players, since Blizzard's has been making WoW easier and easier, more child friendly. Due to the now restricted talents, there isn't really that much variety between builds, not to mention you can't create hybrid builds anymore. If you want to spend points on another tree, you first have to spend 31 points in your primary tree, which is kind of annoying.

Which was your favorite Cataclysm Raid?

See results


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)