ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Does oatmeal have gluten?

Updated on December 9, 2014

Oatmeal does not have wheat and hence by itself oatmeal does not have gluten.

Historically oats were not included in a ‘gluten free diet’ which forms a part of treatment for celiac disease. It was thought that oats trigger toxic reactions in the gastrointestinal system that were similar to those caused by wheat, barley and rye. However, recent studies have revealed that oats consumption is safe for most adults and children with celiac disease. It is also important to note that not all oatmeal is free from gluten. It can get adulterated while processing, especially in facilities that also process rye, barley, wheat and other gluten-rich grains.

Gluten in oatmeal:Recent research

One of the studies printed on the Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology revealed that the Immunoglobulin A levels did not rise alarmingly in subjects who consumed oats in a gluten free diet, as opposed to the other test group that did not consume oats. The experts thereby concluded that celiac disease patients can endure oats.

A different study that checked nine different types of oats however came to the conclusion that some types of oats can cause adverse reactions in celiac patients as compared to other varieties, irrespective of the place where they were processed.

Most of the recent research work made use of uncontaminated pure oats in the studies. The researchers eventually concluded that only a very small percentage of celiac patients cannot tolerate even pure oats. Study is still on to find out the cause of such intolerance.

In the year 2003, the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics gave permission to celiac patients to consume oats. The academy however suggested that the quantity of oats intake on a daily basis should be limited to just half a cup of uncontaminated pure oats.

The current studies have prompted many celiac organizations and medical experts to permit celiac patients to consume moderate quantities of unadulterated pure oats as part of their gluten free diets. The professional advisory board of the Canadian Celiac Association has pronounced that adult patients can safely eat 50 to 70 grams of dry rolled oats daily, while affected children can intake 20 to 25 grams a day.

It may however be noted that most of the oat products commercially available in the market are usually adulterated with barley, wheat, and/or rye. The contamination may happen at the time of harvesting, warehousing, processing, transportation, milling and/or packaging.

How to find the right kind of oatmeal?

It is important for people with gluten sensitivity or intolerance to find oatmeal, oat flour and oats that are guaranteed by the manufacturers to be pure and devoid of any traces of gluten. Most major brands of oatmeal come with some level of contamination due to the reasons discussed above. Fortunately, there are some manufacturers and growers who provide gluten-free oatmeal. A few good choices are listed below:

  • Over 50 different gluten-free oat products are sold by Bob's Red Mill, including thick rolled oats, oat bran, rolled oats, quick-cook oats, and steel-cut oats.
  • GF Harvest, formerly known as Gluten-Free Oats, also sells numerous gluten-free products such as whole-kernel oats/oat groats, whole-grain oat flour, rolled oats and granola. They also offer organic gluten-free oat products.
  • Uncontaminated and pure oats are also offered by Cream Hill Estates. The company guarantees that their varied products, including groats, rolled oats and oat flour are gluten-free.
  • Gluten-free oatmeal in delicious cranberry and regular flavors are offered by Holly's Oatmeal. It is also possible to custom blend such flavored oats.
  • Other popular manufacturers that offer gluten free oatmeal include Montana Monster Munchies, Montana’s Gifts of Nature, Glutenfreeda Foods, Avena Foods and NoNuttin.

Important information

Oats are nutritious and a welcome addition to the otherwise bland gluten-free diets. However, it is best to consult a dietician or a doctor before adding pure, unadulterated oatmeal to your gluten-free diet. Follow the dose prescribed by your doctor and moderate the consumption of oats. Patients also need to make sure that their current condition, i.e., celiac disease, is well-controlled before commencing on a gluten-free oatmeal diet.

Always keep a lookout for any adverse changes in your health. In case of any health problems, seek immediate medical attention.

Oats are rich in fiber. Hence, after adding oats to the diet patients need to drink lots of water and other fluids. Also, you may experience some gastrointestinal problems like gas and bloating or changes in stool pattern in the initial stages. Once the body adjusts to the additional fiber, these abnormal symptoms will abate.

Follow the below listed guidelines when shopping for gluten-free oatmeal:

  • Do not order for oatmeal at restaurants as contamination is possible in the kitchen.
  • Avoid shopping from bulk bins as the same scoop may be used for other grains like wheat, etc.
  • Always check the label and verify if the product is marked ‘gluten-free.’


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.


    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at:

    Show Details
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the or domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)