ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Alive Women's Energy Vitamins - A review

Updated on September 20, 2010

Promoted as Natural

For some time now I have been feeling tired. After some thought, I concluded that it might be due to many factors, but certainly my diet and exercise, or lack of exercise had something to do with it. I decided to do better and started eating healthier food, more fruits and vegetables, making more food at home using fresh ingredients and less processed food and eating out. This, by the way, is also a less expensive path. Since I knew this might take some time to work, I decided to take a vitamin as well. I bought a well known brand that the bottle said would increase energy. In a week I began to feel more energetic. It seemed to be working!

Since I believe all vitamins and many products for that matter are basically the same and all you pay for is the brand name, I switched to Alive Women's Energy by Nature's Way when the first bottle ran out. This product is promoted as "natural" and as good as other brands and it was less expensive than what I had been taking.  After about two weeks, I noticed I felt less energetic than I had before. My diet was essentially the same as it was when I started the first bottle of vitamins, but I could tell a difference. My energy level was better than before I started any vitamins but it was definitely less than on the other product.

I began an exercise program, which I had intended to do anyway. I thought that might boost my energy, which it did. I continued on the same diet. There are fifty (50) pills in the Alive bottle. I am down to the last tablet which means I have taken it for forty-nine (49) days. That is seven weeks which I believe is an adequate trial of this vitamin.

Are all vitamins the same?

It seems that they are not
It seems that they are not

My theory was obviously wrong

While Alive Women's Energy is promoted as a natural substance, with pictures of vegetables and fruits on the label, I found it to be less effective than the more commercial vitamin I started out with. I could tell a definite difference in how I felt on the first vitamin and the change when starting the second one. After seven weeks there is not much change other than what I found when I started exercising. The other product was definitely more effective and I intend to go back to taking it. If I see a definite increase in energy, than I will conclude it is the vitamin and not some other factor and I will plan to review that product at a later date.

Alive Women's Energy by Nature's Way does boost energy to a small extent, but not as well as some vitamins made by other companies. Is "natural" always the best? That depends on what you want. Even with the addition of exercise, my energy level did not come all the way up to where it was before. The vitamin was not ineffective because it did help somewhat, but the results were less than I expected. Sometimes you get what you pay for. 

What is your experience with vitamins?

Do you think all vitamins are basically the same?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      BJ spivey-rivers 

      4 years ago

      I had taken One A Day Women's Active formula

    • profile image

      SDR 

      4 years ago

      What was the first vitamin you took before the Alive brand?

    • bjspivey-rivers profile imageAUTHOR

      bjspivey-rivers 

      6 years ago

      Thanks for the feedback. I did compare the labels and the vitamins were identical. I think one may have been better absorbed than the other.

    • bjspivey-rivers profile imageAUTHOR

      bjspivey-rivers 

      6 years ago

      Good thought. But no, there was no caffeine in either of the vitamins

    • bjspivey-rivers profile imageAUTHOR

      bjspivey-rivers 

      6 years ago

      The two vitamins were pretty much identical. I think it may have been that one was better absorbed than the other. And it was not one vitamin but several, thus, a multivitamin. Thanks for your feedbback.

    • profile image

      MJL 

      6 years ago

      No offense, but your body doesn't change with one vitamin. Also double check the dosage on the bottle.

    • profile image

      britter 

      6 years ago

      could your first vitamin have included caffeine in it?

    • profile image

      Searching for wellness 

      6 years ago

      Maybe u should compare the ingredients and the amounts of each one between the vitamins. Maybe the first one had more of what ur body was lacking and that's why the 2nd one isn't working.(ex:320% vitamin D vs100%)

    • profile image

      Bob Woolmer 

      7 years ago

      Hi this is really good, Interesting post about The Power of Information Review launches. Good day

      http://www.nutrovita.com/19151/Nature-s-Way/Alive....

    • bjspivey-rivers profile imageAUTHOR

      bjspivey-rivers 

      8 years ago

      Thank you Pamela99 for this helpful tip! I will look into Puritan and Pure Herbs as I continue my little one person experiment.

    • Pamela99 profile image

      Pamela Oglesby 

      8 years ago from Sunny Florida

      This is an interesting topic. I have ordered vitamins from Puritan for years. Recently I have have a friend who really likes Pure Herbs and they are on line under that name. I am going to check them out. This lady is a little older and a picture of perfect health so I figured I might as well check them out. Thanks for the information.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)