ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Personal Health Information & Self-Help

Basic Chakra Information

Updated on April 14, 2014

Simple explanation of Chakra

I can't believe no one has done this simple explanation yet. I am still learning, but want to share. I listen and take it all in, and see where to store the knowledge.

There are seven basic chakras, AKA energy centers in the body.. Starting from the bottom they are the root chakra, the sacral chakra, the solar plexus chakra, the heart chakra, the throat chakra, the brow chakra, aka the third eye, and the crown chakra.

The first, the root chakra, represented by the color red, sits at the base of your spine. It gives you a firm foundation. If a person is well grounded, has self confidence and self esteem, they have a balanced root chakra. It is basic to our survival, the fight or flight, governed by the adrenals.

Going up is the second chakra, the base chakra, located in the lower pelvic region, the sacral area. is represented by the color orange. It is considered the center for nurturing, tenderness and intimacy. Physically it balances the renal system: the kidneys, ureters and bladder, also the lymphatic system

The third is the solar plexus, represented by the color yellow. This is where your ribs are joined together in front. It has been called the seat of our personality. When does one take charge vs just taking action. Here opinions are formed, a course of action is thought out, but it depends on you what happens next, how strong is your solar plexus to follow through to your full potential. Physically it encompasses the pancreas, and the entire digestive system. Those with gall bladder problems and diabetes, need to pay attention.

The fourth chakra, is the heart chakra, represented by the color green traditionally, but some call it pink. It encompasses the emotion of love and healing.Our heart beats, and we breathe automatically, but we can will them to change. Calming breaths will drop high blood pressure. We can rethink relationships always and make changes with the help of our heart. It balances our spiritual and our human sides. It allows unconditional love,

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra, represented by the color blue. It is the voice chakra, it gives you verbal expression. Develop it for all communication skills, listening to the spoken, unspoken and written, also your creativity. You can have better wit, and not to take yourself so seriously. Physically it covers your throat and ears.

The sixth chakra, aka the third eye, is in the middle of your forehead. It is represented by the color indigo. I call it your instincts, seeing what is not seen to the naked eye. Being aware of the unknown. Some call it inspiration, instinct, perception, wisdom and vision. Revisit your childhood dreams, you don't have to keep your feet on the ground.

The seventh chakra, at the crown of your head, imagine you are a flashlight, and a giant picks you up, flicks your switch, and light comes from the top of your head, I have heard various colors, mainly purple, sometimes gold or silver. To me it represents openness to knowing universal truths. Kings and gods wear crowns to protect this chakra.

The ancients wore clothing to protect the chakras. There are meditations and exercises you can do, and crystals to get to aid your chakras, (match the colors) As I said, my path is barely walked on, but I'm learning.

To balance your chakras you can find meditations on u-tube, do a search on yelp for a practitioner near you, or purchase an instructional book to teach yourself.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.