ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

How to Clear Your Chakras

Updated on February 9, 2013

Chakras: What They Are & What They Do

For people interested in increased intuitive ability or spiritual power, an important first step is to clear your chakras and then, to keep them in balance. This is the starting place, the "you are here" on the journey to healing. Most of us have no idea that we are carrying negative energy and unresolved issues that need to be released. Chakra clearing is where you start that process.

The word "chakra" comes from a Sanskrit word that means "wheel". Often chakras are described as spinning wheels of energy. Chakras are energy centers connected to different parts of the body.

They also are connected to different types of challenges or issues we may face throughout our lives. Each chakra governs a particular area of our lives. We feel better when they are healthy and in balance, and less so, when they are not.

Unresolved or unhealed issues stay in our energy field for years and certainly affect the balance and health and functioning of our chakras.


Introducing the Chakras...

The following is a brief overview of each chakra and what it does...

1st Chakra: This is the energy center connected to your general health, your sense of security and stability, eveny our sense of rootedness and groundedness. Located at the base of your spine, it is your sense of home, your foundation.

2nd Chakra: Often referred to as the sacral chakra, and located in your lower abdomen, this is the area connected to your feelings and toy our sexuality, to reproduction and sexual pleasure.

3rd Chakra: This is the solar plexus chakra, located around your upper abdomen or stomach area. This is the area connected to your personal power, your empowerment, your will. Also to your ability to establish boundaries and your sense of protection.

4th Chakra: The fourth chakra is your heart center, located in the center of your chest. It is connected to your ability to love, both to give love and to let love in, the center for your feelings. The concept of having an open heart or keeping your heart open is connected to this chakra.

5th Chakra: This chakra, the throat chakra, is your communication center. This is the "say what you need to say" aspect of who you are, speaking your truth with integrity and courage, finding your voice. This area also governs your creativity, your artistic expression and your vocation.

6th Chakra: Often referred to as the brow chakra, this chakra is located in the middle of the forehead and is the energy center that governs intuition. Your ability to tune in and connect and receive intuitive guidance happens here. This is the area for spiritual vision.

7th Chakra: Located at the top of your head, this is the center for spiritual connection, often referred to as the crown chakra. This area governs your ability to connect with God, Source, the divine, and to draw in spiritual energy whenever needed.

Healing and clearing the chakras and keeping them balanced will create powerful positive change in your life.


How to Heal Your Chakras

How to Clear Your Chakras

Here are several ways to clear and balance your chakras, releasing the energy that needs to be released.

You can use the following techniques daily, weekly or monthly as a form of maintenance or use them as needed when you have had experiences that you believe may have put you out of balance.


Healing with Meditation

Imagine that your chakras are balls or circles and ask your mind to see them balanced in size and free of energy impurities. You can picture them one by one, based on color (see colors below), and see which ones seem cloudy or unclear, or smaller or larger than the others.

Image them self-correcting, becoming clear, changing size, etc., until they are balanced.

1st Chakra: red

2nd Chakra: orange

3rd Chakra: yellow

4th Chakra: pink or green

5th Chakra: blue

6th Chakra: indigo

7th Chakra: purple


“Unresolved emotions such as unexpressed anger can stay in the aura for years.”

~~Brenda Davies, M.D., The 7 Healing Chakras

The 7 Healing Chakras: Unlocking Your Body's Energy Centers
The 7 Healing Chakras: Unlocking Your Body's Energy Centers

Both practical and inspirational, The 7 Healing Chakras is a voyage of self-discovery that shows people how to achieve their full potential. Introducing the chakras, vortices of energy that connect the physical body with the spiritual, Dr. Brenda Davies follows a clear path through the seven power centers - each characterized by a different color - from the red-colored root chakra near the base of the spine to the white crown chakra at the top of the head. ~~Amazon product description


Aromatherapy for Healing

Essential oils affect you physically, emotionally, spiritually and energetically. Many essential oils have a vibration that is in harmony with the chakras and can thus, help keep them balanced.

1st Chakra: Sandalwood

2nd Chakra: Jasmine, Geranium

3rd Chakra: Juniper Berry, Rosemary

4th Chakra: Rose, Bergamot

5th Chakra: German chamomile, Geranium

6th Chakra: Clary Sage, Bay Laurel

7th Chakra: Sandalwood, Neroli

"Clearing as much as you possibly can within the subtle body often releases long-buried physical injuries, emotional crises, and trauma. Gradually, layer by layer, impediments holding the client back from complete wellness appear to dissipate." -Valerie Ann Worwood, Aromatherapy for the Soul: Healing the Spirit with Fragrance and Essential Oils


Crystal Healing

Take each crystal and place it on the corresponding chakra, lying still for half an hour. To intensify the impact, add four quartz crystals arranged in four points around the crystal you want to intensify.

1st Chakra: Red Jasper

2nd Chakra: Carnelian

3rd Chakra: Citrine

4th Chakra: Rose Quartz or Malachite

5th Chakra: Blue Chalcedony

6th Chakra: Sodalite

7th Chakra: Amethyst


Reiki for Healing

If you are a reiki practitioner, you can use the hand positions to balance your energy or concentrate on a particular chakra if you feel it is out of balance. If you are able to use the reiki symbols, that will intensify the healing work you do. If you are not a reiki practitioner, you can look for one in your area.

There are also chakra, crystal and reiki healers if you prefer to work with a healing practitioner.


Chakra Reading

For a limited time, I will offer anyone who reads this a free one-card chakra reading to identify which chakra needs your attention most. Go to my website, fill out the form and type "Squidoo: one-card chakra reading" in the comment section.

I'd love to hear from you! Jeanine

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • IntuitiveHealer profile image

      IntuitiveHealer 4 years ago

      @three michi: That's great! You're welcome. Hope you'll sleep better now! :)

    • three michi profile image

      three michi 4 years ago

      Hi Jeanine, Thank you for writing such an excellent lens, I wasn't able to sleep today because I was called to check in on my chakras and this helped!