ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Alternative & Natural Medicine

Self Healing and Reiki

Updated on October 7, 2016
Kathleen Odenthal profile image

Kathleen Odenthal is a freelance writer from New Jersey. She has a passion for holistic healing and health.


Do you participate in any forms of alternative medicine?

See results

What is Reiki?

Reiki is a Japanese word that means "spiritual energy", as well as "universal life-force energy".

The western world has learned to associate the term Reiki with the spiritual healing process created by Mikao Usui, a Japanese Buddhist priest. It is holistic therapy that encourages healing of the body, mind, spirit and emotions.

The fundamental purpose of Reiki is to encourage personal and spiritual awareness and growth.

The Four A's of Self Healing

Reiki is a self healing therapy and can be broken down into four basic steps, called the "Four A's of Reiki":

  • Acknowledgement- If you don't think you need to be healed, then Reiki won't do much good for you. We are all flawed, defected from time to time. Acknowledging these flaws or defects are present is step one.
  • Acceptance- Realize that who you are in this moment, flaws and all, is perfectly fine. You need to accept the fact that although you may want to feel better, where you are now is also okay. This is step two.
  • Awareness- Self reflect and focus on what is really bothering you, not the surface issues, but the core root that is affecting your energy. Step three is becoming aware of your demons so you can prepare to rid yourself of them.
  • Action- Step four is about making actual changes in your life that will solve your problem and help you heal.


Auras and Chakras

Reiki works to heal your aura, re-align your chakras in order to cleanse your spirit, your body and your mind. But what is an aura, and what on earth are chakras? Well, your aura is a field of light around your physical body that reflects your spiritual and physical well-being. Some people claim that they can see peoples' auras, but a large majority agree they exist despite physical proof.

Your aura, combined with the rest of your energy body, form your life-force energy, known as your Ki. This is highly accepted in most areas of the world and is a principle of Taoism. Our Ki changes day to day, but that is the natural ebb and flow that all of the energies in your body possess.

Chakra is Sanskrit for "wheel, disk or vortex", but in holistic medicine, a body's Chakras are a funnel shaped energy consisting of seven major points. The seven major Chakras are the Root Chakra, the the Sacral Chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra, the Heart Chakra, the Throat Chakra, the Brow Chakra, and the Crown Chakra. The Root Chakra is the lowest, and is also known as your Base Chakra. It is located at the base of the spine. The Crown Chakra is representative of your relationship with the heavens or their own spirit. It is located at the crown of your head.

When your Chakras are out of balance, which can happen from stress, work, and day to day frustrations, Reiki can be used to re-align your Chakras.

Just like your seven Chakras, your aura also has seven layers as well. Foggy, cloudy auras are a sign of sickness, either mentally or physically. Your Chakras and your auras are deeply connected to each other. The three outermost layers of your aura are lighter and finer than the inner layers and connect to your first three Chakras. They represent your connection to your body, your emotions and your mind. The fourth layer of your aura connects to your heart Chakra, and they work as a bridge between the outer and inner layers. The fifth, sixth and seventh layers connect with your bottom three Chakras.

Meditation as a form of Self-Healing


Reiki Survey

Have you ever tried Reiki?

See results

Detecting and Healing Energy Imbalances

In order for Reiki to work, as well as any other self healing practice is for you to become aware of energy imbalances in your body. Energy imbalances can come from illness, a poor emotional state, or any hiccup in your day to day life. It is possible to scan your body, a Japanese technique called Byosen Reiken-ho, in an effort to detect any imbalances before starting a self healing practice.

Scanning is done in six steps and requires that you are in a quiet place where you can focus. To begin, you start off by sitting or standing in a comfortable position. The next step is to place your hands, palms downward, above your crown Chakra. Slowly move your hands down your body, Chakra by Chakra, tuning in to any sensations you feel. Numbness, tingling, warmth, and cold sensations can all occur as you pass by certain Chakras. When you sense one of these differences in your energy field, hold your hands over that area. The sensation should ebb and flow but keep your hands still. When the sensation has completely gone away, you can move on to the next Chakra. Once all the Chakras can be passed by in one cycle without any disturbances, place your hands at midchest height and bow to give thanks for this cleansing.

© 2014 Kathleen Odenthal


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.