ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Is a Tempur Mattress Right For You and Your Sleeping Partner? Tempur Mattress Review

Updated on June 19, 2011

Weighing in at 120kg on one side of the bed is my husband. On the other side, at 60kg and half the weight of my husband is me. Sleeping together has always been an issue. After several years of tossing and turning and constantly meeting at the dip in the middle of the mattress, we looked in to the Tempur Mattress and hoped this would solve our nightly battles.

What is a Tempur Mattress?

The Tempur Mattress is possibly unlike anything you have ever experienced before in a bed. It was conceived by NASA, perfected by Tempur and used in the space program. The material in the Tempur mattress is designed to allow your body to mould in to it, giving a feeling of weightlessness. This should be ideal for couples where weight distribution between the two is vast, as is the case with my husband’s larger frame and my lighter frame.

Benefits of a Tempur Mattress

For some sleepers the Tempur mattress comes with a number of benefits including:

  • less movement
  • retains body temperature
  • molds to fit your body
  • gives a feeling of weightlessness
  • eases snoring
  • less back and neck pain

All of these benefits are true for my husband’s experience with a Tempur Mattress. He swears by it and refuses to discuss the possibility of buying any other type of mattress now he’s tried this one.

Downside of the Tempur Mattress

In the mixed reviews at the Tempur Mattress Review site, some say it caused backache that had not been an issue previously. Others reported waking up with a ‘pins and needles’ sensation in their arms or legs. The ratings average for these reviews is 2.5 out of 5 with the general consensus being, “you either love it, or hate it”.

The problem of course is the expense. The mattress alone sits at the top of the range and it’s not something that can be returned simply because it doesn’t suit you. To get the full benefits and add the base and pillows, you are set for some serious money to get a good night’s rest.

For me, the struggle continues. It took several months initially to find any sort of comfort in sleeping on the Tempur Mattress. I noticed as the weather started to warm, so did the bed, which made the moulding easier. It was true for a while that I felt as if I was getting a better night’s sleep, even if I did occasionally experience a numbing effect in my arm. As soon as the temperature started to drop, the elusive peaceful sleep became a distant memory.

It could be worse. I could be sleeping on a park bench.
It could be worse. I could be sleeping on a park bench.

Has the Tempur Mattress solved our nightly sleeping battles? It has in that we don’t ever meet in a dip in the middle of the bed. We don’t in fact, meet at all. The viscoelastic material the mattress is made from makes it extremely difficult to move once you’ve moulded into position. I’ll persevere though, for when the weather is warm I do enjoy that sense of weightlessness and I must admit my neck problems don’t bother me as much as they used to.

Sweet dreams!

Copyright © 2011 Karen Wilton

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Ms Dee profile image

      Deidre Shelden 

      7 years ago from Texas, USA

      That's good to hear, Karanda!

    • Karanda profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Wilton 

      7 years ago from Australia

      Take heart Ms Dee, I think the Tempur mattress gets better the longer you have it or your body adjusts to the feel of it. I'm actually getting some good night's sleep these days and not so many aches and pains when my feet hit the floor in the morning.

    • Ms Dee profile image

      Deidre Shelden 

      7 years ago from Texas, USA

      Good to hear your experience. Mine is about the same but with a lest expensive brand and just 4 lb. foam.

    • Karanda profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Wilton 

      7 years ago from Australia

      RichERich1175 so sorry to hear about your sleeping problems. There is nothing worse than being sleep deprived. Hope you have a decent mattress at least. Sweet dreams.

    • RichERich1175 profile image

      RichERich1175 

      7 years ago

      Since I was a wee lad, I have had serious problems. I used to have night terrors, insomnia, and now I have sleep apnea. It might seem like it to a lot of people, but choosing the right mattress is so important. Thank you for your research into the area. It is appreciated muchly

    • vrbmft profile image

      Vernon Bradley 

      7 years ago from Yucaipa, California

      Well, you're a day ahead of everyone else, but what's the good of that if you can't meet any longer at the equator? I don't know. I think I might want that old mattress back or have someone sleep on top of the other, wouldn't be too bad if there is that sensation of weightlessness!! Yeah, sweet dreams or not so sweet!! It is past my bedtime here!! 10:45 pm, Thursday night!! I have a queen size air mattress and I'm getting ready to fill it up to the brim!! Unfortunately, no queen!! But she has the real bed!!

      Vern

    • Karanda profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Wilton 

      7 years ago from Australia

      Thanks for reading and the vote up b.Malin. Do think carefully before choosing a new mattress. It is a big outlay and a disaster if you have to sleep on something that's not comfortable for years to come.

    • b. Malin profile image

      b. Malin 

      7 years ago

      What a timely read for me...we are planning to get a new mattress, so I vote this Hub up. Thanks for sharing this useful information on the Tempur Mattress.

    • Karanda profile imageAUTHOR

      Karen Wilton 

      7 years ago from Australia

      The problem with trying these beds out, is that you need a good three months to get used to them! The snoring has definitely improved since getting the Tempur mattress (or so says my husband). It's true I was worse than him (or so he says).

    • schoolgirlforreal profile image

      schoolgirlforreal 

      7 years ago

      Hi Karanda,

      wow, I always wondering if those were good. Luckily, our store Jordan's Furniture which sells beds lets you try them out! Well, I hope things only get better and that you continue to sleep well, good to have some improvement eh?

      Sleeping with someone can be hard thouh..snoring and all is for the birds! lol

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)