ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Diseases, Disorders & Conditions

Joint MD: An Honest Review

Updated on June 25, 2010

A Brief Introduction To Joint Pain:

If you suffer from any type of joint pain, I feel you can have relief with Joint MD. Here's my story: An honest review.

For most of my 42-plus years I’ve led a pretty active lifestyle. There were no video games, PCs, MP3s, cable TV, or even CDs when I was a kid; which was not that long ago! Instead, we kept busy by riding bikes, playing countless games of baseball, football, etc., and in general, burned off the majority of our calories in a healthy, physical manner.

As I got older and moved forward in life, my active way of doing things continued. My job was very physical; carrying and lifting literally hundreds of building products every day. At the time, my body felt great. Sure I had the usual aches and pains, sore muscles, and minor injury here and there. For the most part, however, my lean, yet moderately-muscled frame, held up. And thankfully, still does…well sort of.

When I decided to leave my business to pursue other interests, little did I know the residual damage my body had absorbed. All in all, though, I feel pretty good. With a proper diet and exercise regimen I should be fine.

My goal for this hub is to explain why I chose Joint MD over similar products designed to reduce joint pain based on what I now know regarding basic cell biology and simple pharmacology. I hope my ramblings do not offend you.

 

Diagram showing the areas of tight junctions within a cell. This is one area where many nutrients and other substances are transported between cells.
Diagram showing the areas of tight junctions within a cell. This is one area where many nutrients and other substances are transported between cells.

Why I Chose Joint MD: A Semi-Educated Decision

Now what does all this rambling mean?

In short, since I don't like the long-term effects of non-steroid anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs), I looked for alternative ways to reduce the pain and inflammation associated with my hip and shoulder. If left unchecked, both will create major issues for me down the pike. And since I'm planning (hopefully) to enter the realm of physical therapy within the next 2 years, I need to be up to snuff, so to speak, when it comes to my mobility.

Wow! That’s a long introduction I know. One, however, I feel is necessary to explain with credibility the remainder of this hub.

In my various trials and errors regarding alternative remedies for joint pain and inflammation, the only products that seemed to work were those containing Glucosamine. What I discovered, though, was that the products that worked best came in liquid form; not necessarily a bad thing. But when I began having allergic reactions to the shellfish-derived ingredients, I was in trouble. What a bummer! Here were products that worked for the most part, but I couldn’t take due to their side effects. Off I was; back to the proverbial drawing board searching for another product to ease my woes. This is where Joint MD comes in.

I remember the day. My wife and I were in the midst of our weekly Wal-Mart journey when I saw it. At first glance it seemed like all the other pain-free-in-much-less-time products. The differences were: 1) The price seemed right (always the thrifty one I am). and 2) There was actual science behind what was being advertised.

So I did the irrational (in my eyes) and bought the bottle research undone. Hey! When your body is yanking at you—in the dead of winter at that—you sometimes pull the out-of-the-ordinary card from the deck. “What the heck,” I told myself. “If it doesn’t work, I’ll try something else.”

What that something else was? Who knows.

How does Joint MD Work?

Like most other medications, Joint MD Works at the Cellular Level.

Now that I have a better understanding of basic cellular biology—which is a fascinating combination of intelligent design and function—Joint MD works by decreasing neutrophil absorption at cellular tight junctions. What? You may ask...Allow me to explain; beginning with the definition of a neutrophil.

Neutrophils are a type of white blood cell that provide an early line of defense against bacterial infections, cell death, tissue damage, and other types of trauma. Our bodies produce neutrophils in large quantities in bone marrow; releasing them into the general bloodstream where they circulate for short periods of time (often no longer than a few days) waiting for an opportunity to act.

In the case of joint pain, neutrophils are simply performing their role as an integral member of the body's inflammatory response. Without going into great detail on how neutrophils identify and react to certain damaged tissues (by means of carrier and messenger proteins), allow me to explain why neutrophils are often referred to as search and destroy cells. Here is the process:

  • They [neutrophils] search for damaged tissue.
  • They attach themselves to the damaged tissue or pathogen.
  • They engulf the cell and poison it (killing both the pathogen and the neutrophil).
  • And finally, all waste products are eliminated from the body via various means.

OK. OK. You're muttering. But how does all this cell biology stuff relate to reducing joint pain?

With a combination of ingredients (which, by the way, are NOT revealed by the manufacturer, Iovate Health Sciences), neutrophil counts are reduced in entering the cells where inflammation is taking place. Thereby reducing inflammation. Which raises another question: What happens to the tissue creating the immune response in the first place? (for example, your aching joints)

Over time, and with reduced inflammation, your body's tissues eventually heal. Sure it takes awhile depending on the scope of injury. But it happens. Bones and joints are very complex. But the primary building blocks of both, osteocytes and chondrocytes respectively, will eventually do their job.

The role of joint relief products such as Joint MD is to reduce the immune-related swelling leading to quicker healing.

Joint MD: In Conclusion

In short, Joint MD has worked for me. My flexibility in both my hip and shoulder is improved and the level of pain in both areas has also decreased. I need to stress, however, by no means am I saying that Joint MD, or any other similar product for that matter, will cure arthritis or other joint-related diseases., It WON'T! What it has done, at least for me, is reduce the nagging pain that "welcomed" my every morning.

Also, I feel it fair to mention. I am NOT an affiliate of Joint MD. Nor am I making any direct revenue other than that generated from advertising sources. My goal is to share what I feel is an honest review!

Too many review sites, IMO, are monetarily-focused and subjective. This is not. I use Joint MD every day and I do feel better. That's all.

I welcome any questions and comments.

For information on the product and how to use it, I refer you to Google.com.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Sam 2 years ago

      I think this website still sell some sort of JointMD www.pharmacybounty.com with all the necessary ingredient... I might go wrong anyway...

    • profile image

      filipe da costa 3 years ago

      i just start today, i hope this works i have so much pain...

    • profile image

      peter 4 years ago

      does anyone know if crushing these tablets will decrease / increase the effectiveness of them. I'm new to them ,second day, but the suckers are just too big for my liking.

    • profile image

      ernest 4 years ago

      just 4 caplets and its really good for me!

    • profile image

      Pharmb254 5 years ago

      Hello! deecadd interesting deecadd site! I'm really like it! Very, very deecadd good!

    • profile image

      Karen 5 years ago

      Just read all the comments. thanks everyone. I have been looking for something other than Advil or Tylenol. I'm going to give it a try. FYI I use a Canadian website for my supplements plus other things.www.well.ca. Excellent to deal with and this is were I'm going to order from. I've used them for over a year now and great service. I am not affiliated with them just a big fan and a good customer.Again thanks to everyone for your help. Oh the frustration! well, you know.........

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 5 years ago from Midwest USA

      I've taken it both ways with similar effect. Thanks for reading!

    • profile image

      ina 5 years ago

      just purchased joint md, it seems effective, so i will try too. can this caplets be taken with stomach full or empty?

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 5 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thanks! It's good to know this product is still around in Canada at least.

    • profile image

      Brian 5 years ago

      Picked some up today at Walmart - Orillia, Ontario

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 5 years ago from Midwest USA

      I haven't been able to find the product for over a year. My antidote has been an increased exercise regimen without high-impact activity, i.e., swimming, elliptical training, and cycling. It seems to work for me.

    • profile image

      peg 5 years ago

      love the stuff but can't find it anywhere and i am almost out

      has anyone had any luck finding it lately

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 5 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thanks to all recent commenters. Yes, this product definitely worked for me. I'm glad to see I am not the only one.

    • profile image

      William Burns 6 years ago

      I'am a man of 66 years old and 320# ,i started using Joint MD

      5 years ago for bad knees,i could hardly walk, i was sheduled

      to have both knees scoped. I read an article on Joint MD in a

      a magazine and decided to try it.I had takin it exactly as it

      prescribed,within two week's the swelling went down and the pa-

      iin went away,i cancelled my scoping ,i now take it once a day

      it has been a God send for me, it worked for me!

    • profile image

      will 6 years ago

      just bought one at shopper drug mart for $18.99.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 6 years ago from Midwest USA

      Melva,

      I know Joint MD can be hard to find because I haven't seen it for at least a year in any store I used to purchase it at. It is a bummer since the results were always good for me. Thanks for reading.

      RJ

    • profile image

      Melva Fischer 6 years ago

      I have been taking Joint MD for a few years,works great!!told my sister about it and she has had great results also.Hope I can buy it in Canada as the other products do not work for me.

    • profile image

      Debi Smith 6 years ago

      I received my order from Canada today, only 8 days later! I am surprised. The product packaging and caplets look identical to what I was taking before. I've already taken a dose. Can't WAIT for it to start working for me like it did before.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 6 years ago from Midwest USA

      Hello all,

      Thanks for all the recent comments. I've heard that Joint MD can still be purchased online; whether or not the formula is the same seems to be the question. One site to try is nutritionwholesalers.com.

      RJ

    • profile image

      Debi Smith 6 years ago

      FYI:Joint MD worked for me. It is very disturbing that it can no longer be found in US outlets however I did find it online at CanadaDrugs. Free shipping to US. http://www.canadadrugs.com/otc/product/Joint+MD+/1...

      I've placed an order for 100 tabs for 35.64. You can order up to 1000 tabs. It states it will take 21 days to arrive. Last time I ordered a prescript from Canada it took 30 days to arrive (diff pharm). I am doing a test order and see how it goes. I so hope it is the same product I used to use, that worked! ::crossed fingers::

    • toknowinfo profile image

      toknowinfo 6 years ago

      Interesting info. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

    • profile image

      DePuy Pinnacle Recall 6 years ago

      Thanks for sharing your review on Joint MD. I'm looking for ways to improve the flexibility of my hips.

      I have had a DePuy Pinnacle hip implant in the past, and have heard reports about the possibilities of a recall. This is extremely making me anxious. There are some reviews regarding the Pinnacle case on this site: http://www.depuypinnaclerecall.com

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 6 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thanks Anne. I find it hard to believe that such a good product would totally disappear. Thanks for putting out the word.

      RJ

    • profile image

      anne godin 6 years ago

      You don't have to buy it at Walmart, I just bought a bottle at the pharmacy Shoppers Drug Mart. A lot of product Joint MD there, in Canada of course.

    • profile image

      Grace 6 years ago

      Thank you Rob. I am here to offer a hearty "SECOND" to your review.

      I have kept an almost empty (now) bottle after I could no longer find it at Wal-Mart which is where I had been buying). I cannot even (really) find it on line and those sites that do have it are selling it at 3-4x's what it cost at WallyWorld.

      2 arthroscopic surgeries and rotator cuff surgery and THIS is what was working for me.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 6 years ago from Midwest USA

      To all respondents, thanks for such kind comments.

      I am unsure why Joint MD is difficult to find. Only the conspiracy theorists know for sure. It can be a shame at times.

      RJ

    • profile image

      John 6 years ago

      Have been taking joint MD for about 2 years, amazing results, have recommended it to friends and co workers. Again amazing results for them, even cancelling knee surgery for one.

      First it dissappeared from walmart, now I can not even find it on the web.

      I have read reviews where people have even quit taking celebrix because of it,,,is this why this excellent and affordable product is disappearing? Cutting into the big drug companies profits?

    • profile image

      Linda  7 years ago

      It worked so well for me and I hate that I can not find it anywhere local. I took my last one last week and I can tell already that I am not taking it.

    • profile image

      PAT 7 years ago

      Looks like Walmart online is not carrying Joint MD anymore.

    • profile image

      Gary Engelbrecht 7 years ago

      I have used Joint MD for several years and I always bought it at WalMart. However the local WalMart has stopped carrying it. I was unable to find it at Walgreens also.

      Before I started using Joint MD I tried several Glucosimine/Chondroitin supplements with no appreciable results. I couldn't raise either arm past shoulder height w/out terrible pain. That all stopped after the first week using Joint MD.

    • profile image

      NONA 7 years ago

      I work at an online supplement store and we sell it for about $10 a box. It is nice to have in the freezing winter wind. the store's website is www.TopShapeSupplements.com

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      PAT: Thanks for the update. I will do as you suggest and possibly make changes to this hub. I will keep you all posted.

      Rob

    • profile image

      PAT 7 years ago

      If you call up Lovate Sciences on the website there was a settlement of 5.5 million dollars they had to pay to the Federal Trade Commission on July 14, 2010. Also included are false claims about their MD Products. I like Joint MD but it bothers me that they took down all their websites for the MD Products. The ftc said the guys in whit coats shown on their website where not real doctors. I would be careful taking the supplement. Maybe get your liver checked once in awhile. I don't feel comfortable buying it any more. Go to www.ftc.gov and check it out for yourselves.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thank you all for leaving such informative comments. I, too, have seen Joint MD available online. I was, however, unaware of the lawsuit against the manufacturer pertaining to another of their products. I still have a small supply of Joint MD but have not used it since the weather has warmed. It seems my joints are much easier to move in the heat and humidity:) Once again, a big thank you for contributing in such an informative manner. Good luck in all you do!!

    • profile image

      Bonnie 7 years ago

      Thank you for the information Pat. Very interesting reading. May try this as well. Looking for anything that relieves throbbing pain.

    • profile image

      Pat 7 years ago

      I found the key ingredient in Joint MD is SierraSil. That is the indgedient that helps relieve pain in 2 weeks. Research SierraSil on the internet.

    • profile image

      Scott 7 years ago

      You can buy it at vitacost again..it's in stock as of t his post. Got it last week.

      http://www.vitacost.com/Iovate-Joint-MD

      Wal-mart carries it online

      http://www.walmart.com/ip/Joint-MDCaplets-EZ-Swall...

    • profile image

      PAT 7 years ago

      Ever since the lawsuit with Hydroxycut all the websties for the MD products disappeared. The weightloss product causes liver failure. All the stores in our area don't carry Joint MD anymore. I loved it for Rheumatoid Arthritis.

    • profile image

      Bonnie 7 years ago

      Have beeb using MD for almost a year and it has been the only thing that helps with the pain in my hands. After being on it for about 5 mths I developed lumps in the palms of my hands. Dr. said it could be a result of the MD, however without it my hands throb. Has anyone else experienced any problems?

    • profile image

      Griff 7 years ago

      I am living in Canada and can be purchased at Walmart here. The cheapest price is at Walmart also.

    • profile image

      Catherine 7 years ago

      I have suffered from oseoarthritis for the past 4 years.

      I started taking this product about 2 months ago and my results are amazing.

      I do not wake up with the pain any longer.

      I am more flexible and am able to exercise more and that is the best treatment for arthritis.

      It is a supplement so don't forget you have to keep taking it as a daily regiment . Worth every penny!!

    • profile image

      bea thompson 7 years ago

      Gosh! without Joint MD I can't walk. I've avoided knee surgery for over two years by taking this daily as directed and I'm trying to find alternatives and I just found that RITE AID in San Diego carries it.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      To everyone searching for JointMD: I hope this fine product is still being made. I did check my local Wal-Mart last week and did not see it. This might be a bummer for many people. I haven't used the product for a few weeks now that the weather has warmed, but I know I'll be looking for it come winter time. If I do find a source, I'll update this hub.

      Thanks everyone for stopping by!

    • profile image

      Coni 7 years ago

      I called the # on the Joint MD box in hopes of finding out whether or not it is still being manufactured since the order I placed at Vitacost.com had to be cancelled "because it is no longer available."

      To my dismay, I only got a recording, which directed me to go to their web site by typing in the name of the product, followed by .com

      When I did thaT (JointMD.com) it just took me to a blank page. Can anyone tell me what chain stores still sell it?

    • profile image

      Keith 7 years ago

      I Have Been Taking Joit md For Over 5 Years And I Still Have Pain But Not near As Much As I Did. I Have Loose Joints All Over . Knees Pop ,Ankles ,Rists ,Elbows And All The Regular places But I Dont Seem To Have As Much pain As I Used To.

    • profile image

      MINDY 7 years ago

      To everyone out there Joint MD works!!!!!!!!!!!!!Since Walmart has discontinued it I've had to try other products, and none of them worked like Joint MD. I have torn cartiledge in both knees, and it did help ease the pain. No it will not repair it, but it made it 80% better! I could move my knees with relative ease. Now that I have stopped taking that hurt like crazy. I hope it works for all of you.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      Coni:

      I was unaware that Wal-mart discontinued this product. Since I have almost a full bottle, I haven't looked lately. Next time I'm there, however, I will. I'm fairly sure it's still being manufactured, though. Thanks for stopping by!

    • profile image

      Coni 7 years ago

      I've been taking Joint MD for a couple of years now. I'm only taking one per day. It is the only thing I've found that keeps my joint pain at bay 24/7.

      Sadly, it's no longer available at WalMart or even Walgreens. I'm wondering whether it's even being made anymore. Do you know?

    • Harvey Stelman profile image

      Harvey Stelman 7 years ago from Illinois

      Rob,

      You sound like a good man!

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thanks Harvey. I did an internship at the MS Society a few years back and was amazed at the resolve and dedication everyone there showed! I ended up doing quite a few elementary school assemblies, with professional help of course, on the basics of MS. I learned a lot in the literal sense, but the real wonder came from working with people. Take care!

    • Harvey Stelman profile image

      Harvey Stelman 7 years ago from Illinois

      Rob,

      I wish you all the best. You have educated me on this topic. If you want to know anything about MS, just ask.

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      Thanks Angela! Yes. The product does work as well as can be expected. Of course no med is going to completely eradicate pain (legally that is). But Joint MD does a fair job of reducing the attack of sore joints. The manufacturer suggests long-term use. This remains to be seen. For now, while the weather is cold, I'm on it. Let's see how the warmer temps treat my body. All the luck to you! Let me know how things go! Rob

    • Angela Blair profile image

      Angela Blair 7 years ago from Central Texas

      Thanks for the info Rob -- I'm going to check this out on your recommendation. After a pretty severe horse wreck a few years back some mornings are kind of hard to "kick-start" -- Best, Sis

    • Rob Jundt profile image
      Author

      Rob Jundt 7 years ago from Midwest USA

      Breakfastpop: Thanks for the read. Yes. Please do. It does take a while to see the effects -- usually about 2 weeks -- but keep at it. I now only take 2 each day. 1 in the morning and 1 at night. Let me know how things go.

      Rob

    • breakfastpop profile image

      breakfastpop 7 years ago

      Thanks for the info. I am going to look into this product.