ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

P90X, Ninety Days of Hell in Review

Updated on March 10, 2011



I just finished P90X, and although I love my yoga, I am by no means a fitness girl. I prefer the kind of exercise that sneaks up on you, leaving you panting but you didn’t see it coming. You know, like dancing, sex or running from wild animals. So why would I even consider such an intense program? Well number one I didn’t know what I was getting into, and two it was my boyfriend’s idea. If you follow my hubs you may remember I starting dating the man behind the six pack I found for my Favorite Part of a Man hub. Well a year and a half with me has taken its toll on his once perfect abdomen and he wanted it back. I just wanted to look better in my bikini for my trip to Costa Rica.

Forget "I can't" and say, "I presently struggle with." -Tony Horton

The first day was chest and back followed by Ab Ripper X.. Ouch! As I was struggling to do one pull up, I thought I could seriously kill my boyfriend for getting me into this. Death by push ups was not how I planned to perish, but I could clearly see it was possible. Tony Horton the inventor of P90X, was trying to wake muscles in my body that had been fast asleep since about seventh grade. By day two, I was so sore I had trouble drying my hair. I just couldn’t hold my arms up, let alone hold that fifty bound blow dryer. Day two was plyometrics. Doesn’t that sound like fun? Well, its not. I immediately started having violent thoughts. Some aimed at Tony some at my boyfriend, some aimed at the makers of my tennis shoes. Plyometrics is also called jump training. This proved to be painful in a debilitating way as my bad knee buckled in total refusal under me. Of course I did it anyway and made it much worse. By that night my boyfriend must have realized that I was not on board with this P90X torture tour, because he was reading the manual and found a solution. There are three kinds of P90X: Classic, Lean and Doubles. Lean changed the order of the 12 workouts and removed Plyo. Over all it looked like you did a little less weight training and more cardio. So we switched. That saved me. Day three was Back and Biceps followed by Ab Ripper and I didn’t even want to kill anyone at the end of it. Yes, Ab Ripper is as awful as it sounds. Its 350 variations of a sit up. Its saving grace is it only lasts fifteen minutes and you feel very accomplished afterwards.

The work outs go from an hour to an hour and half. Being a working mom, its kinda hard to find the time. Some days I end up pushing the work out till eight or nine at night, which isn’t ideal. The other time consuming thing is the P90X Nutrition Plan. They want you to eat all day long and very specific things. During the first phase you are carbohydrate deprived and stuffed with protein. Egg beaters, string cheese and sandwich thins were my secret weapons. Try separating whites from yokes six per serving and you will learn to love Eggbeaters too. Besides sandwiches, the “Sandwich Thins” worked great for turkey burgers which we found ourselves eating a ton, and they only counted as 1/2 a carb, hallelujah. I eventually bought a food scale because a lot of the measurements are in ounces and its easy to eat too much or even too little. I did have fun coming up with recipes that stayed within these tight constraints and still tasted yummy. Three products I found indispensable were "Spark" as a pre-workout drink. It helped me find the energy to make it through even the toughest work outs. Tony encourages recovery drinks after every workout for better results. Endurox is similar to the P90X brand but a little cheaper. Lastly, I ate a Cliff Builders Bar everyday. They have 20 grams of protein while many others have only half that, and the chocolate ones are quite tasty.

Besides the different weight training days there are cardio days, yoga and kempo days. I thought since I love yoga and I’m naturally bendy, that I would love yoga days. Nope, Tony took the love right out of it. There are enough sun salutations and downward dogs to gag a maggot. Seriously, like forty minutes of the damn things before you move into balance postures and stretches. The unrelenting deep lunges really played havoc with my knee until I found relief in a knee brace. Now after three months of doing his Yoga X, on a good day I can do every move and find myself waiting for him to keep up with me.


The big happy surprise for me was Kenpo X. Turns out I love kick boxing. Doesn’t feel like exercise, which is the true measurement for me. Its almost more like dancing with drums. I really enjoy the high kicks and punching and wonder who it is I’m fighting with such fervor sometimes. Now that P90X is over this is the one area I think I will pursue.


On the down side, Tony likes to talk -- a lot. His little jokes become terribly monotonous after a few weeks of it. Luckily there is a mode where you can turn off most of his chatter, turn up the music and he only pops in for quick cues, sans the stories and quips.


There are other players. Each program has three or four students behind Tony. Which is good, cause you’ll get tired of looking at his rippedness soon enough. In some cases they are better at the moves than he, especially in yoga. They don’t get to talk much but you get little bits of their personalities and I definitely have my favorites to watch in each program.... and I’ll say straight up “Dreya” is never one of them. She’s the poster girl and always looks like she’s posing and pursing in a mirror. She’s quite accomplished though. She choreographed Pink’s famous acrobat performance for the Grammies. I do love powerful Pam, ultra flexible Shawna and Vanessa, who looks like a sweet Irish girl but could kick your ass. I could stare at Adam’s beautiful and nibble, I mean nimble body all day and wouldn’t mind it if Eric sailed me away in his boat for some private lessons.


With three months of P90X behind me I’m feeling very accomplished. I’m glad I did it, but even more glad its over. My boyfriend’s stats are better than mine with a loss of 10 pounds and 7% body fat, while I’ve only lost 2 pounds and 3% body fat. The minimal weight loss doesn’t bother me because muscle weighs more than fat and I’m definitely firmer and stronger. When we started I couldn't do one pull up. Now I can do a few and butt load of pushups. Speaking of butts, for me the real proof is in the rear view. I can say with totally honesty, I now like the way my naked ass looks in the mirror and for me that makes it all worth it!


"Do your best, forget the rest."

-Tony Horton

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Stan Fletcher profile image

      Stan Fletcher 

      7 years ago from Nashville, TN

      What I can't stand is strong perfume in the gym. Literally makes me feel like I'm going to gag. The gym I go to now is more of a community center type place. I work out with senior citizens. Makes me feel better knowing I could kick all of their butts if I had to.

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Gyms are not for me, unless you can find one that doesn't have that meat market vibe. When girls are putting on makeup before they workout... I mean come on.

    • Stan Fletcher profile image

      Stan Fletcher 

      7 years ago from Nashville, TN

      Congrats! I usually prefer to go to the gym, but if I was going to work out with my TV, this would be the one.

    • Tony DeLorger profile image

      Tony DeLorger 

      7 years ago from Adelaide, South Australia

      I promise I'll be good!

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Thanks for coming by for a read Tony.... not to be confused with that other not-on-my -nice-list Tony. :)

    • Tony DeLorger profile image

      Tony DeLorger 

      7 years ago from Adelaide, South Australia

      Thanks for this tiring and witty account RB. Now I don't have to excercise anymore, I just have to read this hub. I'm feeling ripped already!

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Funny SD when I was younger I took my body for granted. Now in my forties I guess I'm willing to fight for it.

    • saddlerider1 profile image

      saddlerider1 

      7 years ago

      It's so nice to read this and work up a sweat remembering the days when I was such an athlete and kept my body toned and in great shape. I fought in the golden gloves as a teen, played hockey and was a contender for turning pro until an injury sidelined my NHL career.

      I ran every day and worked out in the gym, owned two sporting goods stores for almost 10 years that helped me keep the right mindset.

      Studied and competed in TaeKwonDo for six years and loved keeping the body in shape getting it ready for the next tournament, then finally my last achievement was completing a full 26 non stop running Marathon.

      Once I turned 40 it seems my responsibilities in life got to me and my regiment of keeping in shape slid.

      Now pushing 60's I am comfortable with my achievements but I sure wish I was in the shape I once was in. Thanks for the share Randy, excellent hub, nice to read that you are in great shape and a fine specimen of a woman for your man. Keep it going, never stop, unless injured.

      You can read about my marathon if you like, it was one of my earliest hubs here. Have fun..hugs.

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Thank you Micky. I need to stop celebrating and get back to it.

    • Micky Dee profile image

      Micky Dee 

      7 years ago

      Congrats to that beautiful backside!

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Well of course randslam. I reveal much in my hubs actually... except my real identity. :)

    • randslam profile image

      Rand Zacharias 

      7 years ago from Kelowna, British Columbia

      And so we learn about Randy Behaviour.

    • Randy Behavior profile imageAUTHOR

      Randy Behavior 

      7 years ago from Near the Ocean

      Thanks Hmrjmrt! I'm kinda stubborn and my boyfriend said it didn't think I could make it, so...

      Hi Jess. I enjoy the fluidity that comes with the awakening.

      Thanks Alekhouse. I won't lie; it was not a walk in the park. I'm glad I stuck it through.

    • alekhouse profile image

      Nancy Hinchliff 

      7 years ago from Essex Junction, Vermont

      Wow! That's quite a workout. Congratulations.

    • Jess Killmenow profile image

      Jess Killmenow 

      7 years ago from Nowheresville, Eastern United States

      You sing the body awakened! The physical even more alive swarms to sensation, warms to movement within the construct, experiences a special joy that you share with us!

    • Hmrjmr1 profile image

      Hmrjmr1 

      7 years ago from Georgia, USA

      Congrats Gal! That was a tough road you took, glad it worked out for ya!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)