ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Alternative & Natural Medicine

The 7 Chakras And The Effects Of Chakra Healing

Updated on November 23, 2010

What Are Chakras?

According to a lot of ancient traditions, all humans contain chakras or spinning disks of color and light, through the body. Of these chakras, 7 have the energies that are intrinsically connected to every aspect of our lives. The chakras relate to the physical body, mind and feelings, as well as the patterns that dominate our lives. Each chakra is in charge of a variety of emotions, body parts and states of mind. These will affect who we are in the world and what we attract into our lives.

The 7 Chakras and their color and location.
The 7 Chakras and their color and location.

The Effects of Chakra Healing and Chakra Balancing can include:

  • Emotional release and transformation
  • A great sense of joy, love and peace
  • Compassion, empathy and healing relationships
  • Decisive steps that may lead to life change
  • Transformations in relationships or career
  • Healing from illness and increased health
  • New opportunities
  • Breakthroughs on a personal level

Description Of The Chakras

The 1st or Base Chakra is red and affects the foundations in our lives. It affects our need to survive, energy, physical strength, our home, family, stability, a sense of safety, security and our sense of belonging. It is found at the base of the spine and affects this area of the body as well as the skeletal system, legs, feet and immune system.

The 2nd or Sacral Chakra is orange and relates to our interactions in the world. It rules how we relate to others, sexuality and relationships, money and career as well as our emotions and creativity. It is found at the lower abdomen and is connected to the reproductive organs and kidneys.

The 3rd or Solar Plexus Chakra is yellow and relates to the ego, the self esteem and personal boundaries. It relates to our identity as well as our intellectual mind and knowledge. It rules to anger and fear, as these feelings protect the self, even when it is illogical. It is located in the stomach or solar plexus area and governs the digestive and nervous system as well as the liver.

The 4th or Heart Chakra is green or pink and affects love and the heart. It is connected to our feelings of centeredness and our relationship to our higher selves, the divine and the world around us. It relates to a sense of empathy and compassion as well as grief. It is found in the middle of the chest and governs the heart, blood and lungs.

The 5th or Throat Chakra is blue and rules communication. It relates to the ability to speak clearly, communicate the truth and communicate the inner self. It also relates to the feeling of being understood. It is located at the throat and rules the throat, ears and jaw.

The 6th or Third Eye Chakra is indigo or purple and governs the capacity to understand things from a higher perspective. It relates to the ability to see the bigger picture. It rules wisdom, intuition, perspective and the ability to see clearly. It is located on the forehead between the brows and rules the eyes, nose and head.

The 7th or Crown Chakra is violet or white and rules the connection to divinity. It governs gratitude and the ability to perceive beauty and the divine in nature. This Chakra is opened each time you connect to God, the universe, nature or life with a sense of openness and gratitude. It is found at the very top of the head and rules the head, brain and nervous system.

How The Chakra Healing Affects Your Life

The chakras also govern the health of career, relationships, money, family, health and home. When the Chakras are out of balance, this can create an array of issues. By understanding, clearing, balancing, shifting and activating the chakras that rule these areas and the issues surrounding these areas, wonderful, deep and life changing changes can take place.

Many incredible outcomes have been claimed to have occurred from experiencing chakra healing and chakra balancing including recoveries from a large variety of ailments and diseases including cancer, relationships beginning, others deepening, meetings with new people who improve the course of life, breakthroughs in psychological issues, depression, anxiety and stress and career opportunities occurring as well as financial improvements.
These have been reported to be some of the effects of chakra healing and chakra balancing. Above all a deeper sense of self and a deeper connection to spirit can be felt from balancing the chakras. It has been said to center you, ground you, open your heart, your intuition, your creativity and your passion. Chakra healing and chakra balancing can you put you in the right state to hear your highest self and experience the presence of the divinity in your heart and in your life.

Guided Chakra Meditation


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • themysticallights profile image

      themysticallights 7 years ago from Los Angeles


    • Guru-C profile image

      Cory Zacharia 7 years ago

      Very nice information about the significance of each of the chakras and how balancing the chakras can bring the body, mind and spirit into alignment.

    • CMHypno profile image

      CMHypno 7 years ago from Other Side of the Sun

      Good information on chakras and welcome to Hubpages

    • authorfriendly profile image

      authorfriendly 7 years ago from Charleston, SC

      Polarity therapy and other western versions of Ayurvedic medicine have a lot to offer the west, and a knowldge of the chakras is one of the most obvious areas that western medicine can benefit.

      David Berndt