ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

The Five Stages of Death

Updated on August 26, 2012

The Stages

 There are five stages of death that each person faces when faced with death. They might not even be the person who is dieing. If you care about someone or are close to them, you will go through these stages as well. But what is the use of these stages? They help you accept death. The five stages are thus as follows.

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Depression
  • Acceptance

Five Stages of Death: Robot Chicken


The person will refuse to believe what is happening. "Death would never face me. I've made it this far and will continue living until I'm finished." However, deep down they know this is not true. They will not face the fact that death is near, even when it is the most logical thing to do. Most of their life a person believes they are invinsible. A situation must deeply harm a person emotionally for them to accept that they are not invinsible. This might occur in high school or college when they are fired from a job or wounded in a car accident. If a person has never accepted this reality, then death will be more difficult to come to face.

It may take days for the effect to take place, however, they will eventually continue on to the next stage of death.


The second stage of death hits people because they never see it coming. The person begins to change yet again and not in a possitive way. Their temper flares at even the slightest of mistakes. Where they once where with-drawn, they are now head-strong. Even the best of people, the nice happy person everyone loves in the neighborhood and family, will lash out at the innocent in an attempt to punish someone other than themselves for facing death. Not only will they attack people, but also situations and objects. They might become violent and cuss when they do not normally avert to bad language or physical abuse.


The third stage of death, trading with the devil or God. They will attempt to trade the life of the soon deceased for something in return. A person facing death will trade almost anything to live. Their job, their life style, everything changes. Suddenly they will turn religious, searching for a loop-hole in the seams of life. The Bible or Torah will be their favorite book. Observing and looking for an answer to their problems. People normally turn to religion in a time of crisis. Facing death is always a time of crisis in someones life. The person will become desperate wanting a way out of this nightmare. The sad truth is, they will not find a way out except of a miracle.


This is probably the most harmful stage. Depression hurts your body and mind more than the other stages. It messes with your emotions, actions, and exterior. Your health will slowly dissipate. Those around you will watch you in self-inflicted pain. What someone says meant to help you will go through one ear and out the other. Nothing will matter. The world will be an entire shade of gray. The birth of a child will be a horror to the person. They will feel like mourning the existence of another life in this world. Why? That life will be destined to face death as they do. People live only to die, otherwise they will see no reason for life.

Just to be around a person facing this stage is harmful to you. They will mess with your emotions. Even your attitude towards living will be in jepardy. When around depression, it is easy to turn to the dark thoughts. They will seem correct in all their assumptions even though a part of you will strive to deny their words in every possible way. The best you can do is visit them for short periods of time and think on the positive side of life. At least you lived.


The final stage of death, a person accepts the fact they are on the verge of death. They are not invincible, there is nothing to be done about what is to come, and being upset does nothing for the situation. When someone accepts death they find a way to cope with death.

They will spend time with their friends and family, attempting to make an impression on someone elses life. They want to know their life wasn't meaningless. Being with someone, spending time with them. They will enjoy the little things and take almost nothing for granted. Every little thing counts. They will pay attention to the beautiful bushes by the road, the fun of riding in a car, adoring the face of a child, taking a thrill out of hearing laughter. Life will be treasured to them.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Cristale profile image

      Cristale 4 years ago from Florida

      I love that episode of Robot Chicken and it's awesome that you made a hub about it! I really enjoyed seeing the video again and the background info was great!

    • epigramman profile image

      epigramman 5 years ago

      ....awesome hub presentation and you offer intriguing food for thought and much room for provocative debate for your readers as well - and I went through all five of these stages in one day and managed to survive and live to tell about it - and visit your hub the next day (which is right now although the Grim Reaper is knocking on my door and posing as a pizza delivery boy with a pizza that I never ordered - lake erie time ontario canada 6:59pm

    • libby101a profile image

      libby101a 5 years ago from KY

      I liked this. It was very creative! Thanks for the good read!

    • lburmaster profile image

      lburmaster 5 years ago from Houston, TX

      People who are dieing normally go through these steps. That is why it's called the stages of death. Or someone who believes they may die.

    • Trsmd profile image

      Trsmd 5 years ago from India

      It looks funny about the stages of death. Who might have experience these stages? Thanks for SHARING..

    • Darknlovely3436 profile image

      Annie 6 years ago from NewYork

      great hub