ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Health»
  • Nutrition»
  • Nutritional Advice & Tips

What Everybody Ought To Know About Healthy Nutrition

Updated on August 29, 2014

With all the fad diets that are being tried all around, it seems that people sometimes forget the question – what makes a healthy nutrition? Keep in mind that you could be eating three meals per day, but it doesn't mean that your nutrition is optimal.
If you want to know what makes a healthy nutrition, then you are in the right place. The rest of the article is going to discuss the idea of healthy nutrition.

According to the WHO healthy nutrition means eating the right quantities of food coming from all food groups. In other words, healthy nutrition means a balanced diet. According to nutritionists, foods are divided into five main groups.

The five main groups are fat and sugar, dairy, protein, fruits and vegetable and whole grains. Also, according to nutritionists, it's not enough to eat foods that come from five of the main groups, but you should also consume it in the right quantities.

Whole Grains

According to the USDA, you should consume 3 ounces of whole grains each day at the minimum. Whole grains are different from refined grains as the germ and bran are still attached to them. This makes whole grains much richer in vitamins and minerals and fiber.

Once whole grains are refined, the germ and the brand, together with the fiber, vitamins and minerals, are also removed.

Good sources of whole grains include cereals, pasta and breads. For flours and other foods, whole grains may be seen in wild rice, oatmeal, buckwheat, corn, bulgur and brown rice.

Fruits and Vegetables

Fruits and vegetables contain a lot of nutrients that are important for your body to function well as they are rich in fiber content, minerals and vitamins.
Several studies show that eating more fruits and vegetables can protect you from developing cancer, type II diabetes and heart diseases.

The WHO and other health departments recommends that you should consume at least five portions of varying fruits and vegetables per day. The fruits and vegetables may come in the form of dried, canned, frozen or fresh.


Proteins are essential for the body as they help you repair and build muscles. Foods that are rich in protein include essential minerals like B vitamins, zinc, magnesium and iron.
According to experts, your protein intake should be in the range of 20% to 25% of your total nutritional intake.

Good sources of protein include soya, nuts, beans, eggs, fish, poultry and meat.When consuming meat, nutritionist would advise that fats should be removed or drained away after it's cooked. Also, when consuming poultry, the skin should be removed. When preparing meat, fish or poultry, avoid frying them. Instead, prepare them through microwave heating, roasting or grilling as it’s healthier.

It's also advisable that you should eat fish twice a week at the minimum. Aim for fish species that are rich in omega oils like salmon, mackerel, sardines, fresh tuna and trout.

Keep in mind that when tuna undergoes a canning process, the essential oils are removed.
For vegetarians, good sources of protein include beans, soya, seeds, and nuts. Vegans may also need to supplement their dietary intake with B-12 vitamin and zinc.


Eating the right amounts of dairy is important for your body as they are a good source of calcium. Calcium is important for developing healthy teeth and bones.
Dairy products may include cheese, yogurt and milk. A lot of nutritionist would say that when shopping for dairy products, aim for the low-fat ones.

For people who do not consume dairy products that come from animal sources, alternative sources of calcium may include soya milk, cabbage and broccoli.

Fat And Sugars

Fats and sugars include food products that are rich in fat and sugar content. Examples of these include non-diet sodas, mayonnaise, margarine, butter, jam, biscuits, cakes, and chocolate.

Fats are divided into two major categories – unsaturated and saturated. Examples of saturated fats include fried foods, margarine and cream. Examples of unsaturated fats include oily fish and vegetable oils.

Nutritionist would recommend that consumption of saturated fat should be avoided or at the least kept to a minimum as increased consumption is directly related to the development of several serious diseases such as heart disease.

A healthy nutrition means that you are eating a balanced diet. You must consume foods that come from each of the five major food groups and with the right quantities. If you have plans of having healthy nutrition, then keeping notes of the points mentioned above will prove to be useful.

Interested In More Life Tips

If you liked this article then you might be interested to check out

‬This website is dedicated to providing you with super useful and original life tips that you can instantly benefit from.

It covers a wide variety of topics including but not limited to: Productivity, Health, Money, Sports, Pets, Mental Development, Entertainment and much more.


    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.