ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Guide to Chakra Healing

Updated on January 20, 2017

What is Chakra Healing?

Chakras, or wheels or discs, are the center of activity within the body, the gateway to the aura, absorbing and transmitting energy back into the environment around us. This continual flow of energy affects one's physical and mental well being and can be absorbed from absolutely everything within our environment.  According to ancient writings on the subject, there are a total of 88,000 different chakras that cover the entire body, with the majority of them being miniscule as well as insignificant. However, there are forty chakras that do have a significant purpose and are located within the hands, fingertips, feet, and shoulder areas. The most important chakras of all are the seven main ones located along the body's central line, or the top of the head to the base of the spine.  All of the chakras are in constant motion, vibrating and rotating in response to energy. This activity within the chakras is able to influence that body in so many ways, including through the manifestation of chronic ailments involving both the body and mind. When there is a blockage of one or more of the chakras, inhibiting the flow of energy, an imbalance may result which has the potential to affect many areas in one's life.  A chakra may become blocked for one of several reasons, including childhood traumas, physical or emotional injury, as well as disbelief in the process due to preconceived notions, or even cultural conditioning that questions the validity of the idea. 

The Importance of Chakras and Healing

The healing process through the use of the chakras is designed to enlighten one and allow them to obtain a higher sense of self while healing from within. Involving many steps, each of which are designed to heighten your awareness of the chakras and the many powers they hold. Unlike conventional medicine, with the many chakra healing techniques, the true root of the problem is being addressed, rather than merely the symptoms it manifests.  There are four levels of healing involved with chakras, the physical, emotional, etheric, and mental. On the mental and emotional levels, healing is used to improve conditions such as depression, anxiety, insecurity, allergies, and fears or phobias. On the physical level, chakra healing may improve or reduce symptoms of nerve, lymphatic, or vascular congestion, and etheric levels involve healing gastrointestinal disorders or problems within the spine and joints. 

Various Chakra Healing Techniques

Chakras may be influenced or manipulated for positive health benefits using a variety of techniques including positive thinking and affirmations, eating certain foods, doing physical exercises including yoga, meditation, Reiki, and also aromatherapy and color therapy.  Two of the most commonly used chakra healing techniques:

- Aromatherapy: Aromatherapy through the use of essential oils derived from a variety of plant life is often used to strengthen the chakras, with different oils intended for use on specific chakras. The first chakra, or the base or root as it is often called, responds to cedarwood, patchouli, sandalwood, and vetiver. The second or sexual chakra needs jasmine and juniper as well as rose, rosemary, sandalwood, and ylang-ylang.

The third chakra reigning over the solar plexus requires bergamot, juniper, lavender, rosemary and vetiver, and the fourth, ruling the heart, needs essential oils of cedarwood, rose, and sandalwood. The fifth chakra (throat) responds best to lavender and patchouli, and the third eye, or sixth chakra must have geranium, lavender, rosemary, or spearmint. The seventh and final chakra, the crown, is strengthened by the oils of frankincense and jasmine.

- Color Therapy: Colors are a very powerful means of strengthening the seven main chakras, and are also a rather simple way of achieving healing and wellness. Using simple swatches of fabric or felt in the shades of red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo, and violet, place each one on all seven of the chakras, then close your eyes and begin to relax. 


Simple Meditation Techniques : Chakra Meditation


Submit a Comment

  • Denny Lyon profile image

    Denny Lyon 8 years ago from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

    Excellent hub, full of useful information! Blogging this on over to my healing blog, thanks for writing it!

  • profile image

    Marisa Ruso 8 years ago

    Great information for balancing the "energy body" or "blue Print" to balance the physical body. Thank you

  • countrywomen profile image

    countrywomen 9 years ago from Washington, USA

    Theresa - I also learnt some of these techniques in Pranic healing and Reiki. Great hub for alternative energy healing techniques.

  • hubber-2009 profile image

    hubber-2009 9 years ago from India

    I do not think that it is 'dumb', it is an 'alternative' healing method to run along side traditional medicine.