ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Gift Ideas for Fans of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander Series

Updated on September 29, 2014
Jamie Fraser Wallpaper
Jamie Fraser Wallpaper | Source

Unique and Swoon Worthy Gift Ideas for Your Favorite Outlander Fan

Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series has thousands, if not millions, of fans worldwide. If you have someone to buy for, any time of the year, that is enamored by this series, you will definitely want to check out my gift ideas for your favorite fan.

I am a HUGE fan myself, and I already own, or want to own, many of the gift suggestions below, so I consider myself a good authority on the subject.

I have included great ideas for Romantic gifts, Books as gifts, and also other miscellaneous ideas for that fan who seems to have everything ever created relating to Diana Gabaldon and her books.

I hope you enjoy browsing through these fun and unique gifts as much as I enjoyed compiling this gift guide for you.

Source

Who Are You Shopping For?

See results

Romantic Gifts

Since most of us female fans think James Alexander MacKenzie Fraser is the perfect example of a man, the 3 gifts below are guaranteed to sweep your Outlander Obsessed lady off of her feet.

Attention! All men looking for a special gift for your significant other who can't get enough of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series and swoons at the thought of Jamie Fraser, pay very close attention.

Below you will find 3 very romantic gift ideas GUARANTEED to sweep your lady off of her feet.

(Trust me, I speak from experience since I am a huge fan myself, and these gifts would melt my heart on the spot.)

1. "Da Mi Basia Mille" Necklace

"Da mi basia mille," he whispered, smiling. Give me a thousand kisses. It was the inscription inside my ring, a brief quotation from a love song by Catullus. I bent and gave him one back. "Dien mille altera," I said. Then a thousand more.

~ (Drums of Autumn, Page 153, By Diana Gabaldon)

Da Mi Basia Mille Necklace - Outlander Inspired
Da Mi Basia Mille Necklace - Outlander Inspired | Source

You can find this wonderfully sentimental necklace at Etsy

This necklace would be an incredibly sweet gesture towards your Outlander crazed sweetheart. "Da mi basia mille" means Give Me A Thousand Kisses in Latin. It adds an additionally sweet touch that the inscription on the backside of the pendant reads, "Dein mille altera," which translates to Then a Thousand More.

In the story, unbeknownst to Claire until 20 years later, Jamie inscribed "Da mi basia mille" in Claire's wedding ring before giving it to her. Throughout the 20 years they were separated by time, she has never removed her ring, just as she has never stopped loving Jamie. This part of the story always melts my heart when she discovers this secret inscription and is one of my favorite parts.

If you truly want to WOW your Outlandish Lady, I strongly suggest this beautiful piece.

(You may want to have a tissue ready after giving this gift, it's sweet enough to warrant tears!)

2. A Thousand Kisses Keepsake Box

"Da mi basia mille...it's Catallus. A bit of a love poem. Hugh Munro - he gave me the poem for a wedding present, wrapped around a bit of amber with a dragonfly inside it."

~(Dragonfly in Amber, Chapter 47, By Diana Gabaldon)

Outlander inspired keepsake box
Outlander inspired keepsake box | Source

You can find this lovely gift at Cafe Press

Another romantic gift idea for your beloved Gabaldon fan would be a gorgeous keepsake box with a piece of Catallus' poem written on the top, "Da Mi Basia Mille. Give Me a Thousand Kisses."

The poem by Catallus, given to Claire in Outlander reads:

"Then let amorous kisses dwell

On our lips, begin and tell

A Thousand, and a Hundred, score

a hundred, and a Thousand more"

In Outlander, Hugh Munro gives this poem to Claire as a wedding gift along with a piece of amber with a dragonfly trapped within it. This romantic poem and phrases from it continue to show up throughout Gabaldon's entire series as a reoccurring symbol of Jamie and Claire's undying and endless love for one another.

This gorgeous keepsake box would definitely make a truly unforgettable gift for the one you love.

3. A Celtic Styled Ring

"Reaching, he took the package from my lap and tore away the wrapping, revealing a wide silver band, decorated in the Highland interlace style, a small and delicate Jacobean thistle bloom carved in the center of each link."

~(Outlander, Chapter 23, By Diana Gabaldon)

Celtic Silver Ring
Celtic Silver Ring | Source

A silver, Celtic styled ring, similar to the ring Jamie gives Claire in the series, to show your loved one how much you care, would make an incredibly romantic gift. It doesn't even necessarily have to be an engagement ring or wedding band, but just a sweet token of how much you love your lady.

In the series, a reoccurring symbol of Jamie and Claire's love is the silver, Celtic styled ring he gives her in the first book. She doesn't realize until years later that he had engraved a message inside, "Da Mi Basia Mille." (Give Me a Thousand Kisses in Latin.)

While there are many beautiful options available on Amazon, check out Author's Attic as well for jewelry ideas. There is an entire page of Outlander related jewelry, from Claire's ring to Briana's bracelet.


Books as Gifts

Books are always welcome for us fans, especially if they are books pertaining to Jamie & Claire! I do love Lord John Grey too; he grows on me more and more with each story.

"The Outlandish Companion" by Diana Gabaldon

"Now Diana Gabaldon has written the ultimate companion guide to her bestselling series, the book only she could write - a beautifully illustrated compendium of all things Outlandish." ~Publisher's Note

Diana Gabaldon's Outlandish Companion
Diana Gabaldon's Outlandish Companion | Source

The Outlandish Companion was actually on my own Christmas List for 2012, and I did receive it, much to my pleasure!. This book would make a great gift for any fan, as it is provides a glimpse into the inner workings of Diana Gabaldon's fascinating mind while she was creating the series. After reading this book, I feel like I got to know Diana on a personal level and also feel like I know the characters better as well.

She provides in depth character profiles, her own theories on time travel, illustrations, personal stories, and answers to frequently asked questions from her fans, among many, many other interesting tidbits.

As a fan myself, this book appeals to me on so many levels and I can imagine other fans would feel the same.

"The Exile" An Outlander Graphic Novel" by Diana Gabaldon

Now, in her first-ever graphic novel, Gabaldon gives readers a fresh look at the events of the original Outlander: Jamie Fraser's side of the story, gorgeously rendered by artist Hoang Nguyen. ~Publisher's Note

Need a gift for a friend or loved one who is craving another dose of Jamie Fraser? The Exile: An Outlander Graphic Novel would make a great gift and contains enough Jamie Fraser to curb any fan's appetite.

A couple of the many great things about this book is that Diana Gabaldon discloses more about Jamie Fraser's whereabouts before he meets Claire and also presents the first portion of her first book, Outlander, from Jamie's perspective.

I do not yet own this novel, however, this one is also on my Christmas List for 2014. I'll keep my fingers crossed!

"Songs of Love and Death" by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois

"Torn from all he knows, Jerry MacKenzie determinedly survives hardship and danger, intent on his goal of returning home to his wife and baby—no matter the cost." ~Publisher's Note

"Songs of Love and Death" by George R. R. Martin & Gardner Dozois - "Torn from all he knows, Jerry MacKenzie determinedly survives hardship and danger, inte

I do recommend Songs of Love and Death for a fan who is impatiently awaiting the release of Diana Gabaldon's 9th book of the series, which has no foreseen release date yet. This short story is a juicy tidbit with a very interesting twist and builds more of a backstory for one of the main characters in the series.

This book is actually an anthology of many short stories by various authors. However, included within the anthology is Diana Gabaldon's short story, A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows.

I will have to admit that I purchased this book with the sole intention of reading A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows, however, I did enjoy the other short stories in the anthology as well. It was refreshing to read a variety of stories and experience different writing styles from other authors.

Gabaldon's A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows focuses on the back story on the parents of Roger MacKenzie Wakefield, a main character in the series. A reference to Jerry MacKenzie's (Roger's father) back story shows up in the seventh book of the series, An Echo in the Bone, in Chapter 21, "The Minister's Cat."

Now Available as a Stand Alone Book for Your Kindle!

A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows: An Outlander Novella
A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows: An Outlander Novella

You can also purchase A Leaf on the Wind of All Hallows as a stand alone, short novella if there is no interest in the other stories of Songs of Love and Death

 

"The Scottish Prisoner" by Diana Gabaldon

"God bless you, ye bloody English bastard,” he said through his teeth. It was his customary prayer when Frank Randall came to his mind- something he tried to avoid happening, but now and then… 'Mind them well!'" (The Scottish Prisoner, Chapter 6, By Diana Gabaldon)

The Scottish Prisoner by Diana Gabaldon
The Scottish Prisoner by Diana Gabaldon

The Scottish Prisoner makes a great gift for someone who is going through some serious Jamie Fraser withdrawals. While this book is actually part of Diana Gabaldon's Lord John Grey series, the story focuses on both Lord John Grey as well as Jamie Fraser and gives more insight into what Jamie Fraser was up to during his years spent while on parole at Helwater.

I have read the book myself and definitely enjoyed it. Especially the extra dose of Jamie Fraser! The Scottish Prisoner is actually the 4th book in this series, however, it is not necessary to read the others first.

A really great gift idea would be to purchase the entire Lord John Grey series, which would keep your favorite fan occupied for weeks, maybe even months, to come! I have not personally read any of the other books in this series, however, they are definitely on my list of books to read in the future.

Other Great Gift Ideas

Faced with the Fan who has EVERYTHING? Take a peak at these unique suggestions, I'll bet I've thought of some things they haven't...

Outlander: The Musical - On Audio CD or MP3

"Ye are Blood of my Blood, and Bone of my Bone.

I give ye my Body, that we Two might be One.

I give ye my Spirit, 'til our Life shall be Done"

(Outlander, Chapter 14, by Diana Gabaldon)

Outlander Musical
Outlander Musical

"Is Tu Fuil 'o Mo Chuislean" (Blood of My Blood in Gaelic) - Approximately One Minute Into The Song You Will Get Goosebumps!

Outlander: The Musical is a unique rendition of Diana Gabaldon's first book. I have not listened to the whole album in it's entirety, however, I have heard samples of most of the songs and they offer an alternative and fun retelling of the story, sure to thrill any fan of the series.

My favorite song is "Is Tu Fuil 'o Mo Chuislean," which means Blood of My Blood in Gaelic. This is the first line of the wedding vows that Jamie and Claire exchange in the story. The song is absolutely beautiful, so much so, that it is difficult to even describe with words. See the YouTube video on the right to hear the song.

One minute into the song gave me goosebumps, it is absolutely breathtaking!

Find Outlander: The Musical on CD at Amazon or Download Your Favorite MP3's

Find James Fraser Tote Bag

"Where did you learn to kiss like that?" I said, a little breathless. He grinned and pulled me close again. "I said I was a virgin, not a monk," he said, kissing me again. "If I find I need guidance, I'll ask."

~(Outlander, Page 282, By Diana Gabaldon)

Find James Fraser Tote Bag Gift
Find James Fraser Tote Bag Gift | Source

Many female fans of the series are enamored with Jamie Fraser and this tote bag would be a great, lighthearted and silly gift for your favorite Gabaldon fan.

I ran across this bag (as well as some other merchandise with the same message) while I was browsing Amazon and it made me smile, so I just had to include it. This fun piece would make a perfect gift among friends...and let's face it...we all have days that make us want to abandon life in search of Jamie!

I LOVE Your Feedback!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • profile image

      Peg 2 years ago

      Want to buy Outlander's cd by M. Kerr! Help!

      No longer available at Amazon!

    • lisln profile image

      LorLinda 4 years ago from Denver Colorado

      I am a Gabaldon too I am proud of my distant relative I have watched all her Outlander Series and they are good. In fact she is on here too and on facebook she seems like an awesome woman very kind and polite.

    • profile image

      dellgirl 4 years ago

      Great Gift Ideas for Fans of Diana Gabaldon's Outlander Series. Thanks for sharing.

    • lesliesinclair profile image

      lesliesinclair 4 years ago

      Although I've not read any of these books I'd love to own the ring.

    • profile image

      BarbaraCasey 4 years ago

      I'm glad to hear Diana Gabaldon is finally releasing a new book in the "real" series. The Lord John ones are okay... but it's past time for an honest-to-goodness Jamie-amd-Claire update.

    • BGrimes profile image

      BGrimes 4 years ago

      Awesome lens! I've only read the first book in the Outlander series, but I loved it and can't wait to read the others. You have some really great gift ideas -my favorite is the mug!