ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Glenfiddich Whisky 125 Years Christmas Special: A Review

Updated on January 22, 2016
tobusiness profile image

Jo has been an ITU nurse at the London North West NHS Trust for 14 years. She obtained her RN at University College London Hospital.

Glenfiddich Celebrate 125 Years, This Christmas
Glenfiddich Celebrate 125 Years, This Christmas | Source
Source
Source
Source

Glenfiddich 125 years Christmas Special; A Review

As we get ready to celebrate Christmas and bring in the New year, 'Mayan's doomsday prophecy notwithstanding', many of us are looking for something extra special, and they don't come more special than Glenfiddich Single Malt Scotch Whisky.

The Glenfiddich Distillery was founded in 1886, by William Grant in Dufftown Scotland in the Glen of the River Fiddich. The Glenfiddich single malt whisky first ran from the stills on Christmas day 1887, exactly 125 years this Christmas. Not very much has changed in the distillery since then. Glenfiddich is still independently owned and run by the fifth generation of the same family who continues the tradition that began 125 years ago.

The Company will be celebrating the 125th anniversary of this quality product with an enormous bottle designed as a Christmas tree of single malt at the distillery in Dufftown

The celebration tree stands over ten ft high made from 665 bottles. The tree was created by the company's artists in residence, project co-ordinator Andy FairGrieve, and built by distillery engineers and the bottling hall staff.

Glenfiddich is said to be the most awarded single malt Scotch whisky in the world. The 12-year-old Glenfiddich is enjoyed by more people around the world than any other single malt whisky.

The Glenfiddich original signature single malt Scotch whisky is of an exceptional quality; it is allowed to mature in American and Spanish oak casks for 12 years tended by a team of experts to ensure that the whisky develops a complex, rounded flavour with notes of fresh pear and subtle oak.

Glenfiddich's Awards Includes-:

  • Gold Medal 2010, Scotch Whisky Masters

  • Silver Medal 2009, International Wine and Spirits Competition (IWSC)

  • Bronze Medal 2009, International Spirits Challenge (ISC)

  • Gold Medal 2007, International Spirits Challenge (ISC)

  • Gold Medal 2007, International Wine and Spirit Competition (IWSC)

  • 2008, Glenfiddich 40 years old, the only single malt variant of any brand to win a trophy at both ISC and ISWC in the same year

  • 2007, phenomenal success at International Wine and Spirits Competition winning four coveted gold and gold 'best in class' medals for its 12 Year Old, 15 Year Old 30 Year Old and Rare Collection 40 Year Old

  • 2006, a golden year, winning ten medals across the range of International Wine and Spirits Competition.

Set in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfiddich, meaning 'Valley of the Deer' in Gaelic, is immersed in a place of beauty, with castle ruins and bubbling natural spring. The vibrant colours of the surrounding hills and forests add to the romance of this location.

Glenfiddich is the only Scotch whisky distilled to use a single source of natural spring water, taken from the local spring called Robbie Dhu. Whisky lovers and connoisseurs or whisky explorers who merely want to experience this remarkable place can make a 3 hours tour of the distillery. During the tour, visitors will enjoy the tasting of Glenfiddich whiskies up to 30 years old, must be over 18 years to do this tour priced at £75 per person, and includes an invitation to bottle a rare, cast strength bottle of Glenfiddich.

With such pedigree, one would be forgiven for imagining that raising a glass to wish a happy birthday to this old Scots favourite, will require a bank loan, but surprise, surprise. Glenfiddich comes in a range of prices, mainly depending on the age of the whisky.

Range of Glenfiddich

  • Glenfiddich 12 years old, signature malt, pioneer of the single malt Scotch Whisky category, is said to have a beautifully balanced nose and refreshingly complex flavour. Priced at £31.29

  • Glenfiddich 15 years old, Their unique Solera system marries whiskies matured in sherry, bourbon and new oak cast to create a deliciously harmonious and intensely honeyed single malt. Priced at £36.79

  • Glenfiddich 18 years old, this whisky is patiently matured in the Oloroso sherry and bourbon casks, before being married in small batches to create a smooth, rich and mellow single malt. Priced at £43.49

  • Glenfiddich Rich Oak, £34.79

  • Glenfiddich Age of Discovery – Madeira Cast Finish, £90.49

  • Glenfiddich Malt Master's Edition Sherry Cast, 49.99

  • Glenfiddich 15-year-old Distillery Edition, £43.29

  • Glenfiddich 21 year Old, £99.69

  • Glenfiddich Gift Ideas, Single Malt Collection (3x20cl) £35.00

The Glenfiddich Rare and Vintage Whisky, however, can range from £262.99 for their 30 Year Old to the 50-year-old at £15,000,00

Always drink responsibly.

For something a bit special check out Forwhiskeylovers

More Hubs By Tobusiness

Christmas Cake With Figs and Honey

Santa's Little Helper; Christmas Limericks

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Ok Doc, I'll see what I can do :). Have a very Happy Christmas.

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Sen.sush 23, thank you for the comment and for stopping by, much appreciated. They do say, a little of what you fancy does you good! So if you get the opportunity try the others, and a very Merry Christmas to you.

    • profile image

      lovedoctor926 

      5 years ago

      Merry Christmas! keep those funny limericks coming..

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Imkarn, I must say, I don't see you as a whisky girl, I see bubbles, a glass or two of Boli. maybe? :)

    • sen.sush23 profile image

      Sushmita 

      5 years ago from Kolkata, India

      tobus, though whiskey is not always my preferred drink, I too am well acquainted with this single malt. I have only tasted the 12 year variety, and your description of the older ones makes me lust for more. Nice review; lots of information that whiskey lovers may enjoy reading too.

    • ImKarn23 profile image

      Karen Silverman 

      5 years ago

      Whew..i'm impressed - you know your whiskey, girl! lol..

      While i can appreciate a good tale and a well written hub - alcohol has never held any attraction for me - and personally - i think it all tastes the same: kinda like shit!

      (ooooo...i know - that's almost sacrilegious...and - at this time of year too..)

      tsk, tsk..

      (Love the comments!)

      up and sharing, dear

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Sid, very much appreciated.

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Gypsy, a little now and then is nice, and on special occasions.

      Thank you for stopping by, always appreciated.

    • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

      Gypsy Rose Lee 

      5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

      On the occasion love scotch. Thanks for sharing this interesting hub. Passing this on.

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Mhatter, your body is very clever, just telling you to take it easy, alcohol makes me giggle like a school girl then sends me to sleep. Now I take a little on special occasion and the odd nightcap.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      One of my favorites. I am an honorary Caledonian. Really. I cannot drink anymore. No one knows why. My body will not accept any alcohol. It now makes me vomit.

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Wetnose, yes it does look rather impressive, I don't know if the bottles are full or empty, if full it will need to be well guarded. Thank you for for stopping by.

    • wetnosedogs profile image

      wetnosedogs 

      5 years ago from Alabama

      That tree must be fantastic to see in person.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      Jo, you are sweet to even think of me. No worries; I'm way beyond being tempted just from reading an article about booze. Thank you for concern my friend.

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Billy, I wasn't sure if I should have warned you in advance,but you are wonderful as always, thank you for the visit and generous comment. This can be a tough time of the year, but I know you will remain strong. My very best to you.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      5 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I am much too familiar with this product. LOL Nice review, Jo! I think I'll pass on a taste test. :)

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Sue, the Johnny Walker Gold is also pretty special, I think it's closer to the Glenfiddich 12 Year Old, a bit more expensive and of course its blended whereas Glenfiddich is a Single Malt, but I'll be doing some tasting this Christmas. Cheers!!

    • tobusiness profile imageAUTHOR

      Jo Alexis-Hagues 

      5 years ago from Lincolnshire, U.K

      Frank, a man who knows his whisky, have a tot for me this Christmas Many thanks for the support much appreciated.

    • Just Ask Susan profile image

      Susan Zutautas 

      5 years ago from Ontario, Canada

      Great review!

      My son brought home a bottle of Johnny Walker Gold this past week ... an OH MY! Smooth is an understatement for it. Plain delicious.

      Cheers!

    • Frank Atanacio profile image

      Frank Atanacio 

      5 years ago from Shelton

      and what a review this is.. in fact im going vote up pin and share..:)

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)