ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Aladdin, Disney Movie Review

Updated on December 13, 2013

"Tonight the part of Aladdin will be played by a tall, dark, ugly man"

The line above (I'll leave you to find out when it happens) and a whole load of other lines, is one of the things that makes this movie so special.

I think I have watched most, if not all the Disney animated flicks, but this is the one that I keep coming back to, time and again.

The story is great, the music award winning (deservedly so, in my opinion) and the humour just keeps on coming.

Right from the start of the first scene, which is introduced by a slightly odd narrator, there are hilarious gags, both visual and spoken, such that it can be hard to keep up with the pace. Hence, you will need to watch it more than once to appreciate it all.

Many of the jokes will appeal to adults as well as the kids - without getting crude or innuendo laden, a good thing in my book - and even those children who are too young to 'get' it will find themselves engrossed in a gripping adventure story.

Why am I not surprised?

All the characters are superbly voiced and interact with each other really well.

Aladdin, the Princess Jasmine, her father the Sultan and Jafar his 'trusted' Vizier are all interesting and amusing in their own way. There is great interplay between Aladdin and the Princess, both feeling trapped in their very different worlds.

The standout performance has to be Robin Williams as the Genie and it is his quickfire wit that really sets things alight. I especially like the Genie's song when he is explaining his powers to Aladdin.

Sidekicks get a special place here too. Aladdin has Abu, a very clever monkey, but I have to admit to loving Iago the parrot, the right hand 'man' to the evil Jafar, even more.

I feel sheepish

However, the real surprise in this film and one which at the time it was made, elevated the art of animation to a new level, is ...the magic carpet!

There is something about how it moves: it flies, trembles, waves in the air, sits up, lies down and even somehow hangs its head, which just begs you to believe that 'it' is really a person with feelings.

As the Genie says at one point, "I can't believe it, I'm talking to a rug!"

I would highly recommend Aladdin to young and old.

If you already know and love the film, then you know that the headlines I have used in this review are all funny lines taken from it. Why not take the poll below and vote for the your favourite one?

If you haven't seen it before, then ask someone to get it for you for Christmas, or buy it for the kids so you'll have an excuse to watch it too!

Background photo credit: Aladdin's Lamp.

Aladdin has so many funny lines in it, I have listed a few of them below for you to vote on.

What's your favourite funny line in Aladdin?

See results
Sleeping Beauty (Two-Disc Platinum Edition)
Sleeping Beauty (Two-Disc Platinum Edition)

I watched this a lot when I was kid, but had forgotten about it.

It was only when my own kids saw it that I realised I knew all the music.

Great use of a classical piece gives it a sense of culture too.

 
The Jungle Book (Two-Disc 40th Anniversary Platinum Edition)
The Jungle Book (Two-Disc 40th Anniversary Platinum Edition)

What can I say?

"I wanna be like you-hoo-hoo"!

 
Beauty and the Beast (Platinum Edition)
Beauty and the Beast (Platinum Edition)

Very 'clean' and colourful animation in this one.

Watch out for the ballroom scene in particular.

 

Guestbook

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @asereht1970: Thanks!

      Thank you for reading.

    • asereht1970 profile image

      asereht1970 

      4 years ago

      Great review.

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @PAINTDRIPS: Glad to be of service, lol.

    • PAINTDRIPS profile image

      Denise McGill 

      4 years ago from Fresno CA

      Nice review. I have to laugh at the great Robin Williams funny lines. Ha. Made me laugh!

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @TheHonestWebGuru: You're welcome.

      Thanks for reading.

    • TheHonestWebGuru profile image

      TheHonestWebGuru 

      4 years ago

      I love this movie! Thanks

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @Minoru10: Well put.

      They do seem good at pulling our heart strings, although I think they do it better in this one than in some of the others.

      Thanks for dropping by.

    • Tim Bader profile imageAUTHOR

      Tim Bader 

      4 years ago from Surrey, UK

      @DANCING COWGIRL: Thanks for reading.

    • Minoru10 profile image

      Michael Yoshinaka 

      4 years ago from Honolulu, Hawaii

      I loved this movie along with the music,the magic, and humor Disney brings in their movies.

      Even after conflict or adult like situations in a movie there is always something all of us can relate to individually within the story or characters. Disney always seems to touch our hearts and make the magic happen in any event.

    • DANCING COWGIRL profile image

      Dancing Cowgirl Design 

      4 years ago from Texas

      Disney movies are the best of all times.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)