Haunted Sites in the Capital District
Albany Area Hauntings
The Capital District is an amazing place to discover haunted locations, and places of unknown paranormal activity. Albany itself was settled in the early 1600s, giving this area a rich history with extraordinary old buildings.
This area is home to the haunted NY State Capitol Building, as well as Troy's Pinewoods Cemetery known as the "Gateway to Hell".
This is an extremely incomplete list of Capital District locations rumored to be haunted. Perhaps you've even seen or been in one of these ghostly places.
The State Capitol Building
The New York State Capitol building, in Albany, is said to be haunted by the ghost of Samuel Abbott, a night watchman at the Capital who died there during the fire of 1911.
Throughout October, a free tour of the building entitled "Capitol Hauntings" is offered, which shows the exact location of Samuel Abbott's death, as well as dives into the legend of the Secret Demon near the Great Western Staircase, and discusses the hidden murals in the state Assembly's chamber.
Pinewoods Cemetery / Forest Park Cemetery
(aka The Gateway to Hell)
Brunswick, NY is the location of an abandoned cemetery which is legend to have one of the seven Gateways to Hell inside.
This cemetery is reported to have a statue of an angel which appears to be bleeding, as well as a headless angel, and other headless statues. The area is quite overgrown since the cemetery has been almost entirely out of use since the seventies.
Pinewoods Cemetery is now completely closed, and visitors are considered trespassing.
Learn more about the haunting of Pinewoods Cemetery:
- The Legend Behind New York’s Gates Of Hell Is Incredibly Troubling - onlyinyourstate.com
- Pinewood Visitor Forum - StrangeUSA.com
- Information & Photos - findagrave.com
- Spectral Attack at Forest Park Cemetery - ghostvillage.com
A Look Into Pinewoods Cemetery
The Cohoes Music Hall
The Cohoes Music Hall
There are a hundred stories of people experiencing something paranormal at The Cohoes Music Hall in Cohoes, NY.
This theater is allegedly haunted by the ghost of Eva Tangua, a popular vaudeville star. Eva Tangua made her debut at the Cohoes Music Hall, where she was actually booed off the stage. I guess now she boo-s back!
Eva died in 1947 after a successful Hollywood career, but many people working at the theater have reported seeing someone watching them, feeling a cold wind, smelling perfume, and having props go missing and then reappear - especially the leading lady's hat. Also, many photos have unidentified spots on them, often near the leading lady.
Read more about the Ghost of Eva Tangua here.
Read about the life of Eva Tangua
Vale Cemetery - Schenectady, NY
Connect With Others Interested in the Haunted Capital District
- Haunted Troy | Facebook
Welcome to a Facebook Page about Haunted Troy.
- Haunted Hudson Valley | Facebook
Welcome to a Facebook Page about Haunted Hudson Valley.
- Northern New York Paranormal Research Society | Facebook
Facebook is a social utility that connects people with friends and others who work, study and live around them. People use Facebook to keep up with friends, upload an unlimited number of photos, post links and videos, and learn more about the people
Ten Broeck Mansion
Albany, New York
The Ten Broeck Mansion is a brick federal-style home that was built in 1798, for General Abraham Ten Broeck and his wife, Elizabeth Van Rensselaer after their home burned in a fire. It was later renovated in the Greek-revival style
There are many reports of strange occurrences in this building. It has been suggested that the mansion is haunted by an unknown soldier who fought in the War of 1812.
The building has been owned by the Albany County Historical Association since 1948, and is operated as a historic house museum. In that it is maintained with period décor and furnishings, this building can be especially eerie.
9 Ten Broeck Pl
Albany, NY 12210
A Look Inside Saratoga County Homestead - Homestead Sanitorium
Saratoga County Homestead (aka Homestead Sanitorium)
Saratoga County Homestead, often referred to as the Saratoga County Homestead Asylum, was a building used to treat people with tuberculosis between 1914 and 1960. It re-opened in 1961 as either an infirmary or a nursing home.
Take a look at these photos and videos that show how the building looked historically, and walkthroughs of how it looks today.
The Photos of Homestead Saniforium are just stunning.
It is not recommended that the public visit this site as it is in very poor physical condition, and has much exposed asbestos. Entering the building without permission is trespassing, and therefore illegal and ill advised.
Ghost Hunters Visit House in Albany NY
More Local Hauntings
- Union College: Haunted by Alice Van der Veer
In 1672, young Alice and her father were supposedly burned at the stake by an angry mob, somewhere near what is now Jackson's Garden, after dad killed one of his daughter's suitors...