ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Holidays and Celebrations»
  • Halloween

Lord of the Rings Halloween Costumes

Updated on September 14, 2014

There and Back Again, This Halloween

Go as a Hobbit or one of the much-beloved characters from J.R.R. Tolkien's stories - Aragron, Arwen, or Legolas! There's Gandalf the Grey and Gollum, too! Or scare everybody by being a Ringwraith!

Lord of the Rings - J.R.R. Tolkien's tales of Middle-Earth

This sweeping fantasy series was written by J.R.R. Tolkien, over several decades and during World War II, was first published between 1954 and 1955. Beginning with The Hobbit, published in 1937, the stories follow the lines of Men, Hobbits, Elves, Wizards, Orcs, and Dwarves during a dark time in the lands of Middle-Earth.

The tales follow the characters who come into contact with the One Ring, or the Ring of Power, forged by a Dark Lord known as Sauron. As the One Ring comes into the hands of Bilbo Baggins during a journey into the Lonely Mountain. After the events of The Hobbit, set many years later, follows The Lord of the Rings.

The One Ring, now in the possession of Frodo Baggins, must be destroyed before Sauron can regain it. The Fellowship of the Ring follows Frodo, along with his Hobbit companions, who are joined by Aragon, Legolas, Gimli, Gandalf, and Boromir, as they journey towards Mount Doom, the only place where the One Ring can be destroyed.

Hunted by the Nazgul, the Fellowship is eventually sundered and the survivors left to travel on their own. Frodo and Sam continue on to Mount Doom, guided by Gollum, the previous holder of the One Ring. Untrustworthy and tricksy, Gollum wants nothing more than to get back his precious.

Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli travel to Rohan, to gather support against Sauron and his orc armies. Aided by Gandalf the White, they uncover the dark forces who have poisoned the lands of Rohan and aid the people at the battle of Helm's Deep.

Beaten back, Sauron sends forth the Nazgûl and his vast armies of orcs and supporters, who attempt to bring about the destruction of men. Leading his people, Aragorn is forced to face his lineage and inheritance and become the king they so desperately need. The showdown and final battle at the Black Gate is made possible by Frodo and Sam, who finally reach Mount Doom and throw in the One Ring, ending Sauron's reign.

J.R.R. Tolkien have been beloved by readers and have been made into live-action films by Peter Jackson. The first trilogy, released as three films between 2001 and 2003, follows The Lord of the Rings. The second trilogy, concerning the events of The Hobbit, were released in 2012-2014.


Son of Arathorn and Ranger of the North

Descended from a line of kings, Aragorn son of Arathorn is Isildur's heir and set to become the High King of the Reunited Kingdom. Before that, though, he was the 16th Chieftain of the Dúnedain of the North; known as Strider, he was familiar to the Hobbits and a friend to Gandalf long before the events of the Fellowship of the Ring.

Fostered by Elron, Aragon would fall in love with his daughter, Arwen. He would save the Hobbits from the Nazgûl and help them journey to Rivendell, where he became a member of the Fellowship. After the Fellowship was broken, Aragon would travel with Legolas and Gimli to try to garner support among the Rohan, fight at Helm's Deep, and led his people through battles up until the fall of Sauron at the Black Gate. Aragon was then crowned King Elessar Telcontar.

Aragon was portrayed by actor Viggo Mortensen in the live-action films.


Daughter of Elrond, the Evenstar

The half-Elven daughter of Elrond, Arwen Undómiel is also known as Arwen Evenstar. The youngest child, she met her future husband, Aragorn, when she returned to her father's home after living with her grandmother Galadriel in Lórien. At the time Aragorn was Elrond's ward.

The two would be reunited during the events of the Fellowship of the Ring. Arwen would chose a mortal life and her fate became tied to the One Ring's, as Aragorn fought the forces of Sauron. She would marry Aragorn and become Queen of the Reunited Kingdoms.

Arwen was portrayed by actress Liv Tyler in the live-action films.


First Grey, now White

One of the Istari, or Wizards, who were sent to help aid the people of Middle-Earth, Gandalf is known as the wisest. At first known as Gandalf the Grey, he returns as Gandalf the White during the events of The Two Towers.

Gandalf opposes Sauron and is a member of the Fellowship of the Ring. After the Fellowship is broken, he accompanies Aragorn, Legolas and Gimli to the Rohan, traveling to Helm's Deep to bring back up to the fighters. He was present at the final battle at the Black Gate, when Sauron and his armies fell.

Gandalf is portrayed by Sir Ian McKellan in the live-action films.


Once Sméagol

Sméagol was once one of the River Folk, who went fishing with his cousin Déagol for his birthday. Déagol discovered the One Ring in the water and Sméagol killed him for it, when Déagol refused to give it to him.

Shunned, corrupted by the One Ring, Sméagol fled into a cave in the Misty Mountains. His body twisted and deformed, he slowly became Gollum, the name derived from the choking coughing-like sound he made. He kept the One Ring, until he lost it in a network of caves, where Bilbo Baggins came upon it.

Gollum was portrayed, via CGI and motion capture, by actor Andy Serkis.

The Hobbits of the Shire

Hobbits are a mortal race who dwell in the area known as the Shire, in Middle Earth. Longer lived than men, they are also known as Halflings, due to their shorter stature. They also have slightly pointed ears and large furry feet.

The most famous of Hobbits includes Bilbo and Frodo Baggins, Samwise Gamgee, Peregrin Took, and Meriadoc Brandybuck.

The hobbits are portrayed by Elijah Wood (Frodo), Sean Astin (Samwise), Billy Boyd (Pippin), and Dominic Monaghan (Merry). Ian Holm portrayed the older Bilbo, while Martin Freeman will play the younger Bilbo.

Legolas the Elf

Son of Thranduil

A Sindarin Elf from the Woodland Realm, prince Legolas Greenleaf joined the Fellowship of the Ring. A master bowman, his keen eyesight and hearing aided the nine members of the Fellowship as they began their journey to return the ring to the fires of Mount Doom.

In addition to being handy with a bow, Legolas is also a master swordsman.

Legolas is protrayed by actor Orlando Bloom in the live-action films.


The Nine Riders

Also known as the Ringwraiths or the Nine Riders, the Nazgûl were men who were deceived by Sauron, when he gave them nine rings of power. Because of their lust for power and greed, they slowly fell under his power until they became undead creatures who served him.

Led by the Witch King of Angmar, they are clad in black cloaks and silver mail hauberks and ride black horses. They answer to Sauron, who uses them to try and capture Frodo Baggins and steal back the One Ring.

You Tell Us!

Which is your favorite?

See results

My Precious.... Candy!

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    No comments yet.