ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

"11.22.63" by Stephen King, a Book Review

Updated on January 17, 2013

Book review


“If you had the chance to change the course of history, would you? Would the consequences be what you hoped?

Jake Epping, 35 teaches high school English in Lisbon Falls, Maine, and cries while reading the brain-damaged janitor's story of childhood Halloween massacre by their drunken father. On his deathbed, pal Al divulges a secret portal to 1958 in his diner back pantry, and enlists Jake to prevent the 11/22/1963 Dallas assassination of American President John F. Kennedy. Under the alias George Amberson, our hero joins the cigarette-hazed full-flavored world of Elvis rock n roll, Negro discrimination, and freeway gas guzzlers without seat belts. Will Jake lurk in impoverished immigrant slums beside troubled loner Lee Harvey Oswald, or share small-town friendliness with beautiful high school librarian Sadie Dunhill, the love of his life”


This is the short summary of 11.22.63 by Stephen King, known to most people for his horror novels. And this one is surely a different kind of Stephen King work.

So is it worth reading?

I bring to you: My Pros and Cons of Stephen Kings ”11.22.63”:

Pros:
- This book have a good little romance story medled into it, and maybe I am just a sucker for clear cut romances without sob sob stories and love love sappy details, but it was a nice edge to the book
- THE ESSENSE OF THE BOOK.
I loved reading about the whole ”saving JFK” by traveling back in time, part.
- This book was well written, that I will not criticize.

Cons:
- Why is this book so long? I spent 500 pages reading about life in the 1960s, whereas 90% where irrelevant to the book.
I could have just picked up a non-fiction book on the topic if I were THAT interested in how they danced, or how good the beers used to be 50 years ago, in a far away land.
- My guess is that a lot of people will pick this book up because of the JFK-theme, so it’s too bad that the JFK-part is just a secondary story, cramped together in the last pages.
- Change the past a bit and the whole world will fall together, earthquakes will kill us all and the dark dystopian times have come.
No. Don’t overdo it Stephen.

I tried reading this book multiple times, and having to do that is just a big turn-off for me.
I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars, which is what I felt like it deserved.
It was a good enough novel as such, but it could have been 300 pages instead of 800 and I would probably have enjoyed it more.

Stephen King seemed to be on a mission to write a novel about a special occurance, a special date and time in history, but when the plot of the book becomes less than secondary, then you know you have to cut out some irrelevant details.
I was not up for reading pages and pages and pages of life in Lisbon Falls in the 50’es and 60es. Not what I came for, and not something I appreciated when I was finally done with this book.

I will recommend this to: Stephen King fans and people who love long descriptions of icecream, streets and beers.
Partly recommend to: Someone who is interested in history.
Not recommended to: People who get bored after 2-300 pages. You will never get through this.

Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • ct92 profile imageAUTHOR

      5 years ago from Denmark

      Thank you Gus!

      I am not a native english speaker, so you could definitely be right in the fact that I have some mistakes here and there. I hope to get even better at the english language with time, by writing and reading.

      Thanks for you feedback :)

    • GusTheRedneck profile image

      Gustave Kilthau 

      5 years ago from USA

      Howdy ct92 - You write well but could benefit from a readback sometime later in which you could do a little editing - not about what you want to say, nor about how you went about saying it, but just for the little nit-picking things like a wee bit of spelling and the like. I read this book review due to its headline, part of which dealt with the JFK assassination. Well, I suppose that you really did speak to that event by letting the reader here know that King shortchanged his readers by not dealing with it appropriately - even at the end of his book.

      Glad you are here, and happy that writing makes you happy.

      Gus :-)))

    • ct92 profile imageAUTHOR

      5 years ago from Denmark

      Yeah I know right? It's too bad, because the idea is super great!

      My hope is that Stephen King turns on his own time machine, goes back to before he wrote this book and then rewrites it to fulfill our wishes.

    • JeremyBentham profile image

      JeremyBentham 

      5 years ago from Missouri

      I completely agree with you on this book. Two of my obsessions are Stephen King and the JFK assassination. So I could not wait to read this book. Very disappointing. It was a romance novel with some JFK stuff thrown in.

    • ct92 profile imageAUTHOR

      5 years ago from Denmark

      Thank you for the feedback, I really appreciate it! :)

    • Monis Mas profile image

      Aga 

      5 years ago

      Thanks for the interesting review. I like Stephen King, and this unsusual for him book got me interested. I enjoy learning about history, but if it's too much of it, and pages and pages of descriptions, I usually get bored. Voted up and awesome!

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)