ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

31 Proverbs To Light Your Path (Review)

Updated on November 10, 2017
MsDora profile image

MsDora, six-year online writer, shares poetry, creative writing and reflections on how writing and writers influence our lives.

This is the first of the more than 30 books written by Liz Curtis Higgs that I have read. Having seen her name repeatedly on books written for women, it was time for me to evaluate what she was offering. Pleased that 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path lives up to her purpose “to help women embrace the grace of God with joy and abandon.”

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 224
Vendor: WaterBrook
Dimensions: 8 X 5.18 (inches)
ISBN-13: 9781601428936
Amazon Rank: #90 in Christian Books & Bibles Christian Living Women's Issues
Release Date: October 3rd, 2017

Source

The Content

Liz takes popular verses from the Book of Proverbs, dissects them by phrases and explains each one with relevance for today’s woman. Instead of the theological findings and academic significance which some Bible Studies offer, she does something more useful to the majority of readers. She concentrates on helping them gain and apply wisdom on the various issues of life.

For example, on Proverbs 15:16 (Better a little with the fear of the LORD that great wealth with turmoil), she comments on Better a little: “The same televisions that urge us to buy more, more, more also show us news stories of the rich and famous who are utterly miserable. Wealth can solve a few day-to-day problems, but it’s a poor salve for heartache or disappointment.”

Each verse for the day forms a short chapter. At the end of every chapter, there is a prayer followed a One Minute, One Step exercise to encourage immediate action on the lesson gained from the selected verse.

At the end of the 31 verses, there is a study guide, one portion for each chapter, which includes Bible passages outside the Book of Proverbs, questions which can inspire personal reflection, and some which may form the basis for group discussion.


The Impact

The power of her writing rests mainly in the straightforward manner in which she illustrates from her own life how she applies what she is teaching.

She shares on Proverbs 17:22, (A cheerful heart is a good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones), “A few Aprils ago I was diagnosed with clinical depression… I will leave any additional advice to those who are qualified to give it, but may I just say that there is no zero shame in taking an antidepressant… It doesn’t mean you don’t trust God. If your body needs more serotonin, then swallow your pride and swallow the pill your doctor prescribes.”

Source

Liz Curtis Higgs has authored over 30 books, her most famous being the Bad Girls of the Bible series. Here Burns My Candle was named 2010 Best Inspirational Romance.

In 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path, she relates her stories with humility and humor. They are all about how her life has improved since walking in God's wisdom, and she shares details that demonstrate some human struggles to which we can relate. Her prayer after the study on Proverbs 17: 22 is "Lord Jesus, how I love to laugh. Thank You for making that possible. Bless You for calling it holy. I am ever grateful for Your good, good medicine."

The practicality of the One Minute, One Step exercises is also powerful. Not only do they push readers to start acting of what they learn, they create a sense of well-being based on the performance of well-doing. After a lesson on gracious speech, the exercise asks the reader to “Text, e-mail, or tweet a brief, encouraging word to a friend right now. Make it personal and sincere. Rather than asking a question that requires a response, just let her know you’re thinking of her and what you appreciate about her.”

The Recommendation

Readers who want more than they get from the usual devotional consisting of only a Scripture verse and a lightweight commentary, will get more depth from 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path; and they will actually become wiser about maximizing their spiritual experience.

Writers, like me who want to write under the themes of Christian Living and Women’s Issues will learn from Liz how to tell their own stories in a way that empowers.

Anyone can gain light on his or her path from these devotionals which promote the Godly wisdom the author writes about.

Disclosure

Through Blogging for Books (http://www.bloggingforbooks.com/), I received this book free from the publisher. There was no request for me to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Guckenberger profile image

      Alexander James Guckenberger 3 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Thank you for introducing me Miss Dora. You're awesome!

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 3 weeks ago from The Caribbean

      Thank you, Alexander. She has written several other books, but this is the only one I've read. Glad that you like her work.

    • Guckenberger profile image

      Alexander James Guckenberger 3 weeks ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I love the Christian atmosphere that seem to emanate from the author. I am now interested in reading her works. Very good job on the review!

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Lori, I share your admiration of the author's confession of her own struggles. She tells them with humility and that's powerful.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Tamara, thank you for your kind words and gestures. I look forward to the song lyrics. This book really boosts purpose and peace of mind.

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Tamara Yancosky Moore 2 months ago from Uninhabited Regions

      This is an informative book review, Dora, that you have penned so well. I have a Kindle and can check out the sample of this book. After I send this comment, I am going to click on the book link in your post to check it out.

      Depression is a very real concern for those with ADHD. So, I appreciate your review :-)

      I am working on a set of Song Lyrics, right now, with you in mind. They are about Jesus!

      Tamara xxx

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 2 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      I was hooked at her confession of clinical depression. I love that she advocates for people who suffer. This book looks wonderful and I am going to get my hands on it. Thanks as always Dora.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Bill, I was surprised seeing that she writes so many books, but this one is helpful. Thanks for weighing in.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Eric, I think I know what you mean. This woman may have something deeper to offer. Thanks for your input.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Devika, I always admire how positive you are. This book contributes to a healthy mood.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Joe, that's a challenge for you and me, both. thanks for your feedback.

    • lifegate profile image

      William Kovacic 2 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

      I agree with Eric - and you, Dora. There so much fluff out there, and fluff is not what we need. Thanks for your review of this more than fluff book.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 2 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      Thank you Dora. I would like to check it out. I personally do not care much for the normal layout and as you said "lightweight" stuff. It is like the are made for Hallmark just for sales.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 2 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Positive thoughts always puts my spirits up and I focus on what is important. You shared a beautiful review of this useful book.

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 2 months ago from Tennessee

      Great review, Dora. Inspiring. I think I may need to catch up on some 'gracious speech' tasks.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks Peg. I was more impacted than I thought I would be. I'm glad I read the book; you would say the same.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks, Mary. I share your appreciation for that reinforcement exercise. Too many times, we think we'll apply it--only later. The author encourages immediate action.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 2 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Powerful words from this author and as presented by you, Ms. Dora. I truly like the message about sending a friend a positive tweet, text or email without asking for a response or acknowledgement. Sounds like an inspiring read.

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 2 months ago from Brazil

      It sounds like an excellent book. For myself, I can read a proverb and not understand the meaning of it so I can see how useful a book like this would be to clarify it and to give an actionable task to reinforce the idea.

      Wonderful review, thank you.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks, Asphalt. I appreciate your friendly feedback.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Linda, you will like this devotional. Not only is it good reading, it will inspire you to act on what you read.

    • profile image

      Asphaltcowboy65 2 months ago

      This looks fascinating. I appreciate the review, great motivation for future reading

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 2 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like it could be a helpful book. I like to read work that inspires me. Thank you for sharing the review, Dora.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Kari, you will enjoy this book. You can't lose by studying the author's commentary on these 31 verses.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Bill, thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your support.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for stopping by, Jackie. I appreciate your support.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 2 months ago from Ohio

      This sounds like a wonderful book. I love daily readings and I think I need this one. Thanks for letting me know about it. :)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 2 months ago from Olympia, WA

      A lovely review. Thank you, Dora! I'm all for any book which lights the path.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 2 months ago from The Beautiful South

      Loved these verses, Dora and also your personal advice. Very sound.

    • MsDora profile image
      Author

      Dora Weithers 2 months ago from The Caribbean

      Flourish, thanks for your question. I do enough research on the author and the book to determine whether I like them before I place my order. So, I have never had a book which I did not like. My first attraction to this book was the title because I have something similar in my head as a working title. I started off expecting more depth, but I soon found that her efforts to make the principles applicable was probably a better decision. However, if It turns out that I don't like the book, I would not say that I do.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 2 months ago from USA

      I like her straightforward approach and the way you reviewed this. It’s neat that you can review books through this type of program. Have you ever read one that is just absolutely not your taste, and if so, did you just choose not to write about it (or did you instead try to find the positives)? Just curious. You’re such a positive lady, a real model for others.