ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

31 Proverbs To Light Your Path (Review)

Updated on November 10, 2017
MsDora profile image

MsDora, seven-year online writer, shares poetry, creative writing, quotes and reflections on how writing and writers influence our lives.

This is the first of the more than 30 books written by Liz Curtis Higgs that I have read. Having seen her name repeatedly on books written for women, it was time for me to evaluate what she was offering. Pleased that 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path lives up to her purpose “to help women embrace the grace of God with joy and abandon.”

Format: Hardcover
Number of Pages: 224
Vendor: WaterBrook
Dimensions: 8 X 5.18 (inches)
ISBN-13: 9781601428936
Amazon Rank: #90 in Christian Books & Bibles Christian Living Women's Issues
Release Date: October 3rd, 2017

Source

The Content

Liz takes popular verses from the Book of Proverbs, dissects them by phrases and explains each one with relevance for today’s woman. Instead of the theological findings and academic significance which some Bible Studies offer, she does something more useful to the majority of readers. She concentrates on helping them gain and apply wisdom on the various issues of life.

For example, on Proverbs 15:16 (Better a little with the fear of the LORD that great wealth with turmoil), she comments on Better a little: “The same televisions that urge us to buy more, more, more also show us news stories of the rich and famous who are utterly miserable. Wealth can solve a few day-to-day problems, but it’s a poor salve for heartache or disappointment.”

Each verse for the day forms a short chapter. At the end of every chapter, there is a prayer followed a One Minute, One Step exercise to encourage immediate action on the lesson gained from the selected verse.

At the end of the 31 verses, there is a study guide, one portion for each chapter, which includes Bible passages outside the Book of Proverbs, questions which can inspire personal reflection, and some which may form the basis for group discussion.


The Impact

The power of her writing rests mainly in the straightforward manner in which she illustrates from her own life how she applies what she is teaching.

She shares on Proverbs 17:22, (A cheerful heart is a good medicine, but a crushed spirit dries up the bones), “A few Aprils ago I was diagnosed with clinical depression… I will leave any additional advice to those who are qualified to give it, but may I just say that there is no zero shame in taking an antidepressant… It doesn’t mean you don’t trust God. If your body needs more serotonin, then swallow your pride and swallow the pill your doctor prescribes.”

Source

Liz Curtis Higgs has authored over 30 books, her most famous being the Bad Girls of the Bible series. Here Burns My Candle was named 2010 Best Inspirational Romance.

In 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path, she relates her stories with humility and humor. They are all about how her life has improved since walking in God's wisdom, and she shares details that demonstrate some human struggles to which we can relate. Her prayer after the study on Proverbs 17: 22 is "Lord Jesus, how I love to laugh. Thank You for making that possible. Bless You for calling it holy. I am ever grateful for Your good, good medicine."

The practicality of the One Minute, One Step exercises is also powerful. Not only do they push readers to start acting of what they learn, they create a sense of well-being based on the performance of well-doing. After a lesson on gracious speech, the exercise asks the reader to “Text, e-mail, or tweet a brief, encouraging word to a friend right now. Make it personal and sincere. Rather than asking a question that requires a response, just let her know you’re thinking of her and what you appreciate about her.”

The Recommendation

Readers who want more than they get from the usual devotional consisting of only a Scripture verse and a lightweight commentary, will get more depth from 31 Proverbs to Light Your Path; and they will actually become wiser about maximizing their spiritual experience.

Writers, like me who want to write under the themes of Christian Living and Women’s Issues will learn from Liz how to tell their own stories in a way that empowers.

Anyone can gain light on his or her path from these devotionals which promote the Godly wisdom the author writes about.

Disclosure

Through Blogging for Books (http://www.bloggingforbooks.com/), I received this book free from the publisher. There was no request for me to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      3 months ago from The Caribbean

      You're welcome, Margie. Yes, if you like practical application of the Scriptures, you would enjoy the book.

    • Margie Lynn profile image

      Margie Lynn 

      3 months ago from Beautiful Texas Hill Country

      Thanks for the great review, I am sure I would enjoy this book!

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      6 months ago from The Caribbean

      You're welcome, Louise. The book met my expectations and I believe that if you get it, you will be satisfied too.

    • Coffeequeeen profile image

      Louise Powles 

      6 months ago from Norfolk, England

      I love the sound of this book. It sounds really interesting. Thankyou for telling us all about it and your opinion.

    • Guckenberger profile image

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      Thank you for introducing me Miss Dora. You're awesome!

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      7 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thank you, Alexander. She has written several other books, but this is the only one I've read. Glad that you like her work.

    • Guckenberger profile image

      Alexander James Guckenberger 

      7 months ago from Maryland, United States of America

      I love the Christian atmosphere that seem to emanate from the author. I am now interested in reading her works. Very good job on the review!

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Lori, I share your admiration of the author's confession of her own struggles. She tells them with humility and that's powerful.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Tamara, thank you for your kind words and gestures. I look forward to the song lyrics. This book really boosts purpose and peace of mind.

    • Rhyme Vine Poetry profile image

      Tamara Yancosky Moore 

      9 months ago from Uninhabited Regions

      This is an informative book review, Dora, that you have penned so well. I have a Kindle and can check out the sample of this book. After I send this comment, I am going to click on the book link in your post to check it out.

      Depression is a very real concern for those with ADHD. So, I appreciate your review :-)

      I am working on a set of Song Lyrics, right now, with you in mind. They are about Jesus!

      Tamara xxx

    • lambservant profile image

      Lori Colbo 

      9 months ago from Pacific Northwest

      I was hooked at her confession of clinical depression. I love that she advocates for people who suffer. This book looks wonderful and I am going to get my hands on it. Thanks as always Dora.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Bill, I was surprised seeing that she writes so many books, but this one is helpful. Thanks for weighing in.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Eric, I think I know what you mean. This woman may have something deeper to offer. Thanks for your input.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Devika, I always admire how positive you are. This book contributes to a healthy mood.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Joe, that's a challenge for you and me, both. thanks for your feedback.

    • lifegate profile image

      William Kovacic 

      9 months ago from Pleasant Gap, PA

      I agree with Eric - and you, Dora. There so much fluff out there, and fluff is not what we need. Thanks for your review of this more than fluff book.

    • Ericdierker profile image

      Eric Dierker 

      9 months ago from Spring Valley, CA. U.S.A.

      Thank you Dora. I would like to check it out. I personally do not care much for the normal layout and as you said "lightweight" stuff. It is like the are made for Hallmark just for sales.

    • DDE profile image

      Devika Primić 

      9 months ago from Dubrovnik, Croatia

      Positive thoughts always puts my spirits up and I focus on what is important. You shared a beautiful review of this useful book.

    • jo miller profile image

      Jo Miller 

      9 months ago from Tennessee

      Great review, Dora. Inspiring. I think I may need to catch up on some 'gracious speech' tasks.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks Peg. I was more impacted than I thought I would be. I'm glad I read the book; you would say the same.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks, Mary. I share your appreciation for that reinforcement exercise. Too many times, we think we'll apply it--only later. The author encourages immediate action.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 

      9 months ago from Dallas, Texas

      Powerful words from this author and as presented by you, Ms. Dora. I truly like the message about sending a friend a positive tweet, text or email without asking for a response or acknowledgement. Sounds like an inspiring read.

    • Blond Logic profile image

      Mary Wickison 

      9 months ago from Brazil

      It sounds like an excellent book. For myself, I can read a proverb and not understand the meaning of it so I can see how useful a book like this would be to clarify it and to give an actionable task to reinforce the idea.

      Wonderful review, thank you.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks, Asphalt. I appreciate your friendly feedback.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Linda, you will like this devotional. Not only is it good reading, it will inspire you to act on what you read.

    • profile image

      Asphaltcowboy65 

      9 months ago

      This looks fascinating. I appreciate the review, great motivation for future reading

    • AliciaC profile image

      Linda Crampton 

      9 months ago from British Columbia, Canada

      This sounds like it could be a helpful book. I like to read work that inspires me. Thank you for sharing the review, Dora.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Kari, you will enjoy this book. You can't lose by studying the author's commentary on these 31 verses.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Bill, thanks for your feedback. I appreciate your support.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Thanks for stopping by, Jackie. I appreciate your support.

    • k@ri profile image

      Kari Poulsen 

      9 months ago from Ohio

      This sounds like a wonderful book. I love daily readings and I think I need this one. Thanks for letting me know about it. :)

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 

      9 months ago from Olympia, WA

      A lovely review. Thank you, Dora! I'm all for any book which lights the path.

    • Jackie Lynnley profile image

      Jackie Lynnley 

      9 months ago from The Beautiful South

      Loved these verses, Dora and also your personal advice. Very sound.

    • MsDora profile imageAUTHOR

      Dora Weithers 

      9 months ago from The Caribbean

      Flourish, thanks for your question. I do enough research on the author and the book to determine whether I like them before I place my order. So, I have never had a book which I did not like. My first attraction to this book was the title because I have something similar in my head as a working title. I started off expecting more depth, but I soon found that her efforts to make the principles applicable was probably a better decision. However, if It turns out that I don't like the book, I would not say that I do.

    • FlourishAnyway profile image

      FlourishAnyway 

      9 months ago from USA

      I like her straightforward approach and the way you reviewed this. It’s neat that you can review books through this type of program. Have you ever read one that is just absolutely not your taste, and if so, did you just choose not to write about it (or did you instead try to find the positives)? Just curious. You’re such a positive lady, a real model for others.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)