ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Janet Evanovich-Stephanie Plum Series

Updated on May 5, 2013

Janet Evanovich

A Book Review-Janet Evanovich

Janet Evanovich is a prolific writer with over 45 novels under her belt. She is most well known for her Stephanie Plum series. When she graduated from high school she attended art school but soon directed her talent to writing. She was born and raised in New Jersey and her main character in this series is Stephanie Plum also lives in New Jersey.

Grouping the entire series of Stephanie Plum for one review may seem like an ambitious project for one hub. However the highlight of this series is not the different mystery plots, but the irresistible characters with their very unique personalities and the crazy adventures they seek. You will delight in the easy story telling manner that Evanovich achieves to keep your interest page after page.

Evanovich has created a series of pure fun, and even though there is often a feeling of repetition in events, it will not stop you from hungrily waiting for the next book to be released.




The Series

The series follow the antics of Stephanie Plum. The first book starts out with her losing her job as an underwear buyer for a department store. She is also newly divorced after a very brief marriage when she found her husband to be cheating on her. Her main dilemma in life is that she is unable to pay her bills and desperate for work.

Her new career as a Bounty Hunter beings working for her annoying and slime ball cousin Vincent Plum, She gives new meaning to the career of the Bail Bondsman and her experiences will amaze and delight you. She manages to find trouble at every corner, and her hair seems to receive the brunt of everything. I will leave that to your imagination and you will soon find out. Paying her bills is her main goal in life and that remains the daily challenge; and she seems to avoid eviction from her apartment by the skin of her teeth. Stephanie is high spirited, fun loving and nothing gets her down for long. Along with lots of humor there is romance, mystery and just plain fun. Try to begin your Stephanie Plum adventures with the first book. However, if you cannot, Evanovich always reviews the characters, basic information and what is currently going on in Stephanie's life.

Hopefully after the book review you will be charmed into going out and start reading this series.

The Series

One For The Money: Harper Torch paperback edition.
Two For the Dough: Pocket Star Books edition.
Three To Get Deadly: St. Martin's Publications.
Four To Score: St. Martin's Paperbacks
High Five: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Hot Six: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Seven Up: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Hard Eight: St. Martin's Paperbacks
To The Nines: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Visions of Sugar Plums: St. Martin's Press
Ten Big Ones: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Eleven On Top: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Twelve Sharp: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Plum Lovin': St. Martin's Paperbacks
Lean Mean Thirteen: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Plum Lucky: St. Martin's Press
Fearless Fourteen: St. Martin's Paperbacks
Plum Spooky: St. Martin's Press
Finger Lickin' Fifteen: St. Martin's Press
Sizzling Sixteen: St. Martin's Press Smokin' Seventeen: St. Martin's Press
Explosive Eighteen: Bantam Books

.

Minor Characters

Dickie Orr: Stephanie's ex-husband and lawyer. Stephanie found him with her old grammar school friend in a compromising position.

Stephanie's Parents: Stephanie Plum's mom is a long suffering wife, daughter and mother. She spends most of her days in their row house cooking, cleaning and praying for Stephanie's safety. She has great hopes that she will marry some day soon. Stephanie's father is a retired postal worker and watches a lot of television. His one escape in life is that he drives a cab part-time and can get out of the house away from the continual craziness.


The Characters are what Make The Series

Stephanie Plum: The heroine of the series. She is in her early 30's, about 5'7" and around 135 pounds. She has beautiful shoulder length brown curly hair. She can eat almost anything she wants without gaining a pound, which is a good thing as most of her diet is fast food and an abundance of sugar laden food. She can be scatter-brained at times but has a keen sense of adventure. She is kind hearted, loving and attached to her family.

Joe Morelli: He is a plain-clothes cop by profession. Joe and Stephanie know each other intimately from past experiences during her teen years. Joe is two years older than Stephanie. He was a wild kid in his youth but has settled down with a house and a good job. Joe is Stephanie’s on again-off again boyfriend who is constantly exasperated with her antics and constant messes she manages to create. He is forever bailing her out of trouble.They have this ongoing love/hate relationship. When it is in love mode it is great and otherwise, well you will have to read the book to find out. He is handsome, tall and muscular and most women adore him. He has been known to propose to Stephanie a few times.

VIncent Plum: Vince is the owner of VIncent Plum Bail Bonding Company . Vince is Stephanie’s boss as well as her first cousin, He is 45 years old, skinny and short. He loves the women, but they don't always love him in return. He is thought of as a slime ball and the black sheep of the Plum family.

Grandma Mazur: She has lived with Stephanie's parents for two years since her husband died. She is known to pack a gun and look for trouble. She loves to attend all funerals even if she doesn’t know the person who died. She once accidentally burned down the funeral parlor. The older she gets the more adventurous she is. She even tried to get Vincent to hire her as a Bounty Hunter.

Ranger: His real name is Ricardo Carlos Manoso. Ranger is a hunky Cuban-American with black hair who sports a pony tail and only wears black cargo pants and black t-shirts. He owns and runs a security company, though no one knows exactly how makes his money, and is known for his questionable business practices. Ranger also has bailed Stephanie out of many difficult situations. They have had a few romantic moments together, that Joe Morelli knows nothing about.

Lula: Lula works for VIncent Plumb as a file clerk and occasionally drives Stephanie to assist in captures. She is a large black woman who enjoys wearing tight spandex skirts in bright colors. She frequently changes the color of her hair-pink, orange or even green. She seems to be happy to join in the trouble with Stephanie. She stops frequently at fast food places so she and Stephanie can keep their energy going while capturing the bad guys.






Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • Georgie Lowery profile image

      Georgianna Lowery 4 years ago from Slaton, Texas USA

      I loved these books. I think I made it to number eleven. Did you see the movie One For The Money? I heard it wasn't so great but I still want to see it.

    • billybuc profile image

      Bill Holland 4 years ago from Olympia, WA

      I used to read these often and then for some reason quit; I don't think I have read the last ten in the series for whatever reason. Now you have given me incentive to do so. Great summary of a very good writer!

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      georgie lowery: I kind of enjoyed the movie as it was fun to see faces to the characters. It was cute. I think you will enjoy it. Thanks for joining in.

      Billybuc: It is a fun series and I loved reading each book..mindless reading but an excellent writer. Thanks for stopping by.

    • Janine Huldie profile image

      Janine Huldie 4 years ago from New York, New York

      Carol, I have never actually read this series (I was more in the Sookie Stackhouse--Trueblood series), but after your detailed article find myself interested and may have to look into the first book on my IPad to read. Thanks for covering all the bases here with the series, because you truly did a great job. Have voted and shared too!!

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thank you Janine: Nice comments and votes and share. I cannot ask for more. You will love the series. The books are so funny and such easy reading.

    • profile image

      summerberrie 4 years ago

      I've been looking for a new author to read. The character's really look interesting. Thanks for sharing this information. Voted up and useful!

    • Nell Rose profile image

      Nell Rose 4 years ago from England

      Hi carol, usually when I read a book review I normally just either love the books or they are not my type of story, but these sound really good. It maybe something to do with the fact that I am an avid Dog the Bounty Hunter fan and have been known to sit through 5 or 6 episcdes in one sitting! lol! so yes it sounds good to me, thanks! voted up! cheers nell

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      summerberrie: I think you will love the series and it will take a while to get through them.

      Nell Rose: The books are just plain fun as I said. I wish I could start over..well actually I could.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hello Carol. I had to vote funny because of your description of Lula. You were able to skirt the issue of her former employment choices keeping a G rating on your review. Tight spandex indeed! Well done. I love Stephanie Plum and her comic lines have had me giggling long into the night many times. The last one I read is number 14 and may have missed a couple in between so I have more reading to do.

      You did a great job making this series sound interesting and presenting the characters in their true light. I love Grandma Mazur! A pistol packing grandma! haha.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thanks for lovely comments and spending time to share your thoughts. I so appreciate your kind words. Evanovich is quite an author to pull this off so well.

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 4 years ago from San Francisco

      Good and very personable review. thank you

    • vespawoolf profile image

      vespawoolf 4 years ago from Peru, South America

      I'm going to look into this series! I've never heard of it before, but the characters sound so appealing and fun. Thank you for sharing with us!

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      mhatter99: Thanks for stopping by and nice comments.

      vespawoolf: You will love the series. It makes for fun and light reading.Take a few minutes off or an hour in between hubpages. HAHA.

    • Glimmer Twin Fan profile image

      Glimmer Twin Fan 4 years ago

      I've always thought it would be fun to meet Ranger. Oh well...a girl can dream.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      He is a pretty neat guy. I am with you. Lucky Stephanie...

      Thanks for dropping by!

    • barbergirl28 profile image

      Stacy Harris 4 years ago from Hemet, Ca

      I am a big fan of the Stephanie Plum Series and I have read every single book. I look forward to them continuing and I will admit that I even rushed out to see the movie One For the Money on opening weekend, as well as purchased the Blu-ray the first day of release. I think Evonovich is a great story teller and this idea was genious! :)

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      I so agree with you. And she is so good at making the characters alive. And sometimes authors fail miserably in this department. Thanks for dropping by.

    • Eiddwen profile image

      Eiddwen 4 years ago from Wales

      A great review.

      Eddy.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thank you so much for lovely comment.

    • travel_man1971 profile image

      Ireno Alcala 4 years ago from Bicol, Philippines

      Those sets of Janet E. books will be ideal for Saturday or weekend readings.

      Thanks for sharing this awesome review. :)

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thanks so much for lovely compliments..Can't get enough of those. They are fun reading and the books really go fast.

    • suzettenaples profile image

      Suzette Walker 4 years ago from Taos, NM

      Good review of the series. One of her novels was made into a movie with Kathryn Heigel playing the main character, Stephanie. It was funny! Sorry, I can't remember the title - senior moment! LOL I enjoyed it but have not read any others in the series. I will have to pick-up some more of her novels. Great beach reading!

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Yes it is great beach reading...I think I told you we lived in Bonita Springs for four years and went to the beach often..Do you ever go to Docs? Thanks for dropping in.

    • PegCole17 profile image

      Peg Cole 4 years ago from Dallas, Texas

      Hi Carol, I adore Stephanie Plum and the whole series. My sister sent me the first couple of books and after that I picked them up along the way. This was the way to go in reviewing the series rather than each individual book. You've made the series sound appealing and delightful with your character descriptions. I love Grandma Mazur and often burst out laughing at her commentary. Lula is quite the character too. Great review!

      Peg

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thank you Peg: Always nice to have compliments from writers I admire. Thanks for stopping by and have a wonderful weekend.

    • pstraubie48 profile image

      Patricia Scott 4 years ago from sunny Florida

      Hello Carol

      Janet is one of my favorites. I have not read all of these yet but they are on my list. Right now I am busy reading some nonfiction but when I get a break I will read more of them.

      Sending you Angels this evening...:) ps

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      I have totally non intellectual tastes in reading. I keep promising myself to read some non fiction . I am so addicted to mysteries and have read thousands of mystery books. Thanks for dropping in and commenting..Say hello to my favorite angels.

    • profile image

      Jane Holmes 4 years ago

      I, too, enjoy this series. I have read most of them and keep returning for more. A great hub about Janet Evanovich - The Stephanie Plum Series. A great review of her works! Keep up the good work.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      thank you Jane Holmes..It is a great series and such a fun read. We all need humor in our lives.

    • rajan jolly profile image

      Rajan Singh Jolly 4 years ago from From Mumbai, presently in Jalandhar,INDIA.

      An informative read of a review of the Stephanie Plum series. The description of what to expect in the series and your review of the characters makes me want to read it.

      Voting this up, interesting and sharing.

    • torrilynn profile image

      torrilynn 4 years ago

      thanks for this hub. I enjoy reading books that focus around romance and mystery. voted up.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      Thank you Rajan...It is a great series for non serious reading. Something to read after a major day of thinking..Thanks for shares and votes.

    • carol7777 profile image
      Author

      carol stanley 4 years ago from Arizona

      A definite fun series. Thanks for stopping by and voting.

    Click to Rate This Article