ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Review of 'Getting Rid of It' by Betsy and Warren Talbot

Updated on February 8, 2013
Source

Are you ready to declutter your home and pare down your possessions? If you are, you might be a little overwhelmed about where to start. Or overwhelmed at the miryad of websites and books available to browse through. How do you know which website or book is legitimate? Or will even put you on the path of success?

Recently I read a book called "Getting Rid of It: Eliminate the Clutter in Your Life" by Betsy and Warren Talbot. This book claims to help you pare down what you have to the necessities and teach you how to sell what you don't need and want.

The Authors

Betsy and Warren Talbot say they took about two years eliminating the clutter from their home. They decided that they wanted to travel around the world and having all their stuff was not going to help them towards their dream. They sold their items through a variety of options (see below) and now operate a site www.MarriedWithLuggage.com. They have more books on their life and they focus on writing about creating the life you want.

The Book in a Nutshell

The book starts of trying to prepare you for the emotional journey (I wholeheartedly agree with this) that you will probably go on when trying to eliminate your clutter. It goes on to provide you with different and straightforward methods on finding out what method works best for you, from completing one project at a time to getting rid of one item at a time.

Before the book delves into decluttering different parts of your house, it talks again about parting with the item and its sentimental value. Maybe part of why you can get rid of certain things is because they hold such vivid memories for us?

The book then ends with how your life might change after you go through this whole process.

Will This Book Help Me?

In a word: yes. I have started my decluttering process months ago, so some of the basic advice, such as where to sell your stuff wasn't new to me. What I found interesting (and many websites don't point this out) is how emotional it can be. The chapter entitled "Sentimental Value" is short, but very honest and to the point. A point that really stuck out to me was when Betsy and Warren write " If an item is truly valuable to you, you will not lose track of it or forget about its existence." I have had many items I thought I cherished but have been sitting in a box for the past few years. It is currently on a pile of items I am going to sell.

Each chapter also provides some simple and easy to follow advice, along with a weekend challenge, which is also easy to follow. Some of the ideas are quite creative, fun, and incorporates the people you love in your life. Some of my favorite ideas include:

  • Holding a reverse birthday party where you sell/give away your things
  • Holding a staging area in your house to try to sell more items when buyers from Craigslist come to pick up their items

Conclusion

This was a quick, easy and interesting read, and very useful for people who have no idea where to start. It can also be useful to people who have already started the decluttering process as a reminder of what to do or for some new ideas. The weekend challenges are easy to do as long as you are honest about what you need and want.

Head over to Betsy and Warren's website www.MarriedWithLuggage.com to check out their writing.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • sarahshuihan profile imageAUTHOR

      Sarah 

      5 years ago from USA

      tebo-good idea with borrowing books from the library. I say if you read a book more than a few times then it might be worth it to purchase it :)

    • tebo profile image

      tebo 

      5 years ago from New Zealand

      Another reminder to declutter. I have started and must make it a mission or it will never happen. Not too fond of e books either. I often get books from the library. At least they have to go back. Good hub, thanks.

    • sarahshuihan profile imageAUTHOR

      Sarah 

      5 years ago from USA

      Thanks for stopping by anyway Mhatter99!

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 

      5 years ago from San Francisco

      A little late for me, but thank you for this great review.

    • sarahshuihan profile imageAUTHOR

      Sarah 

      5 years ago from USA

      Thanks for stopping by Warren. I don't like getting too overwhelmed by what I have, and 5 years ago I wanted so many things around me. It's funny how our mindset changes in so little time huh?

    • profile image

      Warren Talbot 

      5 years ago

      Sarah, thank you for the great review. Betsy and I are delighted you enjoyed the book and found our story and lessons helpful. We continue to apply the same principles with the few possessions we still own and recently paired down a few things out of our backpacks. It seems that once we go through the process it makes us manic in the desire to eliminate before it can overwhelm.

      Also, I agree completely on the point above about books. We both carry Kindles due to our lifestyle, but any chance we get to find English used books we jump all over it. Nothing can replace the smell and feel of paper.

    • sarahshuihan profile imageAUTHOR

      Sarah 

      5 years ago from USA

      mactavers - interesting! I think I'm too cheap too, print books tend to be cheaper for me since I buy used.

    • mactavers profile image

      mactavers 

      5 years ago

      Me neither. While my e-reading is great for outside my home and travel, I really love my books. The last statistic I read was that only 31% of Americans prefer an e-reader.

    • sarahshuihan profile imageAUTHOR

      Sarah 

      5 years ago from USA

      yeah interesting. I used to have a lot of CDs and LPs I'm currently getting rid of. Books are my vices, and I'm not really convinced ebooks are a good replacement for now.

    • mactavers profile image

      mactavers 

      5 years ago

      I just took a one day seminar class in How to De-Clutter, and out of the 35 people who took the course, one third of the class said they couldn't throw away papers! I'm thinking about selling and giving away things, but stacks of papers? I really was surprised. The instructor of the class, brought pictures of her home and the types of containers she had used for keeping clutter at bay, but she freely admitted she was a quilter and crafter that had one whole room of "organized" fabric. We all have our weak points. Funny

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)