ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

A Visionary Business - Book review

Updated on December 29, 2011

Visionary Business

Source

A Book For All Businesses

About Marc Allen

Marc Allen is an inspirational writer who writes from personal experience.

A man who has walked the walk, which, in my mind makes him qualified to talk the talk.

Something which you cannot say about everyone these days.

In this million seller book he lays bare his own story of how he started his business from scratch and struggled for years until he had a lucky break.

A chance meeting with a future investor supercharged the business with moral and ethical advice and Marc never looked back.

Who Needs This Book?

Until I had read this book there were a number of books I had read which I would refer to from time to time, usually when I needed a kick up the backside for losing focus on what I was trying to achieve.

You see I need a boss to in order to stay focused on the task at hand. Without going off pace or on different tangents - I think we all do more for a boss than we do for ourselves. Probably because we spend so much time at work. Surely the tables should be reversed? Unfortunately there are just not enough hours in the day to do our best work for ourselves while we are still working full-time.

Tangent over. You see this book is going to be my boss when I am working for myself. Yes I need to still work for a boss at the moment but it is a rare thing when you find a book which fires you up so much to make you believe that one day the boss will get the two fingers when you can walk away and say '' give the job to someone who needs it, because I don't need this one anymore''

Filled with no BS, just honest well written advice in a personal story form, you cannot fail to be enthralled by the story.

Back to the question...Who needs this book?

You know the answer already.

You do!

Why I liked the book.

The main reason I liked the book is because it is jam packed full of important life messages and wisdom. If you get the book you will see what I am talking about. In a round about way the wisdom was not initially down to the author's but his business mentor called Bernie.

Marc Allen believes that everyone in business should have a Bernie in their lives.

Bernie is an integral part of the author's success in business. Luckily Marc knew this from an early stage in their relationship and acted on his advice without question.

This is not the usual positive mental attitude book you are probably used to. It doesn't have chapters, only 12 Key steps. His guide to success. At the end of each key is a summary which reinforces the main points of the section.This means you can often go back and read the key points and it reminds you what was in that section.

Ideal if you just have time for a quick fix.

This is the first book I have ever read that is kept at my bedside all of the time. In most books I have read over the years there are sections which,once read you never want to re-read because they contain so much claptrap. This one contains no claptrap in my view.

It is a book I am now using to guide me through the minefield everyday until I finally get where I want to go.

What you can expect from the pages of this book

So what can you expect to find in the book. Here is a snapshot of the sections / 12 Keys to success.

Key One / Imagine your ideal scene

Key Two / Write your business plan as a clear and concrete visualisation.

Key Three / Discover your higher purpose

Key Four / See the benefits within adversity,and keep picturing success

Key Five / Plan your work and work your plan: the employee handbook, benefits,profit sharing,and stock options

Key Six / Avoid management by crisis: Make a clear annual goal

Key Seven / Give abundantly and reap the rewards

Key Eight / ''Love change, learn to dance and leave J Edgar Hoover behind''

Key Nine / Reflect on the events that have shaped your life, and discover the core beliefs you have created for yourself because of those beliefs.

Key Ten / Evolve through the three stages of a business, infancy / adolescence / adulthood

Key Eleven / Consider the mystical and spiritual side of the business. Practice your own form of effective magic

Key Twelve / Do what you love to do, and you'll create a visionary business, in your own absolutely unique way.


25 Principles of Visionary Business

The Principles

At the very end of the book the 12 keys merge into 25 principles to run and develop your Visionary business.

Too many to list here but the principles are laid out in such a way that you can use this section on a daily basis as part of the reminder process of keeping the book alive in your sub-conscious.

Delve back into it instead of reading the whole book over and over.

Worth it for this section alone I think and is the thing for me which gives this book the

poshcoffeeco***** 5 star rating

If you are serious about your business.

You Need This Book

It is true. If you want your business to grow everyone needs this book.I would go so far to say that without it you are destined for mediocrity.

It is such a fine line between success and failure in all parts of our lives. many people quit just before they reach their full potential and I am proof of this many times over. With this book as my guide now, I am, I know now on the right track and will achieve what I have set out to achieve.

Nothing would give me more pleasure than knowing only one person buying this book on my recommendation making a success because of it.

Please e-mail me here at Hub Pages when you achieve your goals.

Good luck.

poshcoffeeco.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • poshcoffeeco profile imageAUTHOR

    Steve Mitchell 

    6 years ago from Cambridgeshire

    Jools99,

    I am sorry to hear your news. If there is anything I can help with, you let me know. Thanks for reading and voting. I am here when you need me.

  • Jools99 profile image

    Jools Hogg 

    6 years ago from North-East UK

    Steve, started off on another of your hubs and ended up in this one cos I was interested in this. I will seek this one out once I'm free from my current shackles :o) I will need to start making some money of my own soon so need all the advice I can get.

    Voted up etc.

  • poshcoffeeco profile imageAUTHOR

    Steve Mitchell 

    6 years ago from Cambridgeshire

    htodd, so glad you like it. This book really has become my best friend and I use it everyday.

  • htodd profile image

    htodd 

    6 years ago from United States

    Nice review ..Thanks a lot

  • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

    Gypsy Rose Lee 

    6 years ago from Riga, Latvia

    Hope all your wishes for you and your family come true in 2012!

  • poshcoffeeco profile imageAUTHOR

    Steve Mitchell 

    6 years ago from Cambridgeshire

    Hiya GRL, thanks for reading and commenting. Hope you have had a great New Year.

  • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

    Gypsy Rose Lee 

    6 years ago from Riga, Latvia

    Thanks for this great review. Sounds just like the book every serious business minded person should read.

  • writer20 profile image

    Joyce Haragsim 

    6 years ago from Southern Nevada

    Good review, I'll have to keep your hub in case I ever printed.

  • poshcoffeeco profile imageAUTHOR

    Steve Mitchell 

    6 years ago from Cambridgeshire

    HCP Thanks for the comment. Even working for a company we all need to focus and follow certain principles. This book if used regularly will help you retain the focus, plan the work and then you can work the plan. Trust me you will find a higher purpose. I have, and this type of book has never had such an effect on me before.

    It could be that I was ready to be taught.

    'When the student is ready the teacher will appear' as they say.

    Hope this helps you.

  • H.C Porter profile image

    Holly 

    6 years ago from Lone Star State

    Nice review, you definitely convinced me to buy the book. I have been in business for myself as well as worked for companies, right now I am working for a company-and although I am qualified for the position and good at what it is I do, I am having a hard time relaying my point across to them, as to why they need to do certain things, and not do others things (via search engines, website, blogs, social media marketing).

    Does this book (or any that you know of) help regain professional focus when working for someone else- I need to revive my enthusiasm for work-even though I am frustrated-facing possible termination and finding it hard to focus on how to go about organizing a mess I didnt make but have to fix-because it is the right thing to do to benefit the company as a whole.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)