ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Best Books Like Fifty Shades of Grey

Updated on May 3, 2014

Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy

The original and first book in the Fifty Shades of Grey was first released by a small-time publishing house in 2011 that found much success and criticism alike. This resounding success was demonstrated by its incredible sales, even exceeding those of Rowling's Harry Potter books. It has been classified in a rare literary genre - erotic romance. New York Times coined it as "Mommy Porn", due its immense popularity with women.

The second and third book in the trilogy, Fifty Shades Darker and Fifty Shades Freed, were released in 2012. A film adaptation, focusing on events of the first book, is scheduled for an August 2014 release.

There are still many undiscovered "gems" in this genre and this article will cover some of the top books like Fifty Shades of Grey.

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young

Described as a sexy book with a tinge of humor, On Dublin Street is very much an adult book every page you turn. Similar to Fifty Shades of Grey, it hinges between adult (sexual) and romance. If you love steamy sex and a romantic story, it is not to be missed! The book is currently rated 4.5 stars out of 5 on Amazon at the time of writing.

The award winning author, Samantha Young has also written a series of books after her original book received much praise: Down London Road, Until Fountain Bridge and Before Jamaica Lane. Note that the other books do not feature the same protagonists and are different stories.

Fun Fact: There are many streets in Dublin but there is no actual street named Dublin Street. Dublin is the capital of Ireland.

Bared to You (Crossfire Series) by Sylvia Day

Bared to You is the first book in Crossfire series by Sylvia Day. Like most protagonists (talk about originality) in such books, they are both filthy rich, sensual and riddled with a troubled past (child abuse). This book is so similar to the Fifty Shades of Grey books in so many ways; it is even written from a first person perspective. The other books in the Crossfire series, Reflected in You and Entwined with You also feature the same protagonists in a continual story. It doesn't just stop at the third book as there are 2 more books planned to be released in the near future.

The male protagonist Gideon Cross is a billionaire heartthrob and it is widely rumored that Henry Cavill from the movie Man of Steel will take on the role of this sexy character. Could you think of a more befitting actor?

Wicked Burn by Beth Kery

Wicked Burn by Beth Kery definitely ignites the passion and steamy lust for a sexual encounter with its captivating story. Unlike most erotic romance books, it does not drag into a long series but it is a single mesmerizing story on its own. The great story complements the imaginative sex scenes very well and it is a must read for Fifty Shades of Grey lovers. The protagonists are not just good in the bedroom but excel in other aspects of life, skillfully fleshed out in words by Kery.

This book was released sometime before Fifty Shades of Grey and seems to have received some of the limelight and attention paid to the genre recently.

Fun Fact: Some readers seem to dislike the fact that the male character has a feminine name (Vic Savian) and the female character has a masculine name (Niall Chandler).

Temptation (Temptation Series) by K.M. Golland

Similar to the Fifty Shades of Grey, Temptation is the first book in a series of three books known as, you guess it right, the Temptation series. It is Golland's debut novel and a rather successful one. The story focuses on a stay home mum that decides to go back to working life after nearly a decade. She works for an incredibly rich boss (yes, rich guy again) and strays into her struggles and irresistible temptations.

Temptation features children in its story, an element missing in Fifty Shades of Grey and in most books of this genre. A story based that is seemingly based on the premise of an unfaithful married woman cheating on her husband sounds unacceptable. But the story is deeper than that and you will be surprised by how similar the struggles of the protagonist are compared to yours (and the rest of us).

Sweet Surrender (Sweet Series) by Maya Banks

Sweet Surrender is the first book in the Sweet Series by Maya Banks. There are currently a total of 6 books in this series and Banks has written tons of other romance novels beyond them.

The alpha male (common element of the series) of Sweet Surrender is a cop / detective named Gray Montgomery investigating on his partner's murder. The relationship between him and the initial suspect and female protagonist, Faith is truly charming and believable. This book is not only ticks all boxes in the erotic romance sub-genre, but has the essence of a thriller too. Though the sexual scenes only kick in towards the end of the book but the best things always come last. If you enjoy this book, you will likely love the other books in the Sweet Series and probably all the other books Maya Banks has written (such as the Breathless Trilogy and the Colters series).

Do you think Fifty Shades of Grey has poor literary qualities?

See results

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • JessBraz profile image

      JessBraz 3 years ago from Canada

      Nice job!

      I read all three of the fifty books.. I also read the Bared to You series.. It's kind of a toss up for me as to which one I liked better... They are very similar, but the relationship aspect in each book is slightly different...In my mind, Christian Grey is hotter than Gideon Cross. :) ... There's just something about that name, Gideon.. The entire time I was reading the series I kept stopping to think "Man, I wish Sylvia Day had picked a different name for this guy... Gideon.. really?!" Lol.. I knew they were filming a Fifty Shades movie, I didn't know they were going to do one based on Bared To You.. That's exciting to hear. :)

      I'll definitely be on the lookout for your other recommendations the next time I head to the book store.

      Good job!

      Cheers,

      Jess.

    • merej99 profile image

      Meredith Loughran 3 years ago from Florida

      Hi unrealist. I found your hub as a Rising Star Candidate! Best of luck to you! Many, many moons ago I was tip toeing into the romance genre. I love writing but life got in the way a little. I was at an RT convention when they announced the first Brava series. Love them. Very sexy AND good writing. I haven't had time to read in a while (years actually) but thank you for the authors & reading recommendations. :)

    Click to Rate This Article