ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review - Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan

Updated on November 21, 2009

I just finished an incredible book called The Omnivore's Dilemma. I have heard good things about this book for years and finally borrowed it from the library. Written by Michael Pollan, it wasn't at all what I expected. And as frugal as I am, I have been paying my library fines for the last week, so that I could keep it and finish it. They wouldn't let me renew it, but I wasn't going to return until I was done - it is that good. But be prepared for it to change the way you think about food and eating. I found it truly fascinating and it has been a long time since a book made me think so much.

Michael Pollan believes we (the United States) have a national eating disorder. After reading this book, I would have to agree. The way in which we micro-process most foods and take them from something nutritious, delicious and edible and turn them into a jumble of artificial everything laden with chemicals. All so that we can have our meals quicker and easier than our ancestors. Also, so that the food manufacturers (not growers) can make more money. Pollan talks about how many calories the average person should have and how the food companies have spent decades trying to figure out a way to get us to consume more calories - just so they can make more money. I couldn't help but think about Taco Bell's "4th Meal".

The Omnivore's Dilemma made me wonder how we can call what we eat food. The majority of the foods we eat are not in their natural form. We no longer get our nutrients from nature as we should. We get what we need from fortified foods - foods no longer in their natural state, but processed. On page 303 Pollan states that-

"Instead of relying on the accumulated wisdom of a cuisine, or even the wisdom of our senses, we rely on expert opinion, advertising, government food pyramids, and diet books, and we place our faith in science to sort out for us what culture once did with rather more success."

I couldn't agree more. This makes me want to eat more and more locally grown food - namely food I grow myself. That is the only way to be sure of what you are getting. Realistically, aside from some fruits and vegetables, the average person is not capable of growing all their own food, and that to me is a problem.

I like the way The Omnivore's Dilemma is broken up. Pollan follows the different food chains from which we feed ourselves - industrial, organic and foraging.  He starts the book by talking about corn. Corn seems to be in everything and I can't imagine what a person would do if they were allergic to it. He follows corn from a farm in Iowa until it becomes our food. Funny, because it was food to begin with, but the amount of processing that turns it into other things is ridiculous. Eventually it makes its way to a feedlot where cattle are finished - on grain.

Most people don't realize that cattle are not equipped to eat corn. Cows need grass. But yet, because corn is cheap and the United States grows too much of it we are always in search of more ways to use it. So we feed it to animals that are not made to eat it and then fill them with antibiotics to keep them from getting sick from it. Nice. Because so much of the processed food we eat is laden with corn products, he completed his journey of following corn by having a fast food meal from McDonald's with his family in the car - where millions of people eat their meals each day.

Next he looked at grass, pastures, organic foods and animals raised on grass. He spent a fascinating week at a farm called Polyface in Virginia. They consider themselves beyond organic and have a completely natural way of raising animals, eggs and produce. They have it down to a science - a natural one that is. If only the food manufacturers would realize that if they grew food the natural way they would not have to use nasty chemicals that cause all sorts of diseases and bad things. Not just for humans, but for animals and the planet. If only everyone read this book. It will really change the way you look at food.

Lastly he wanted to cook a meal that he entirely created himself; from hunting the pig, to finding the morels, to collecting the yeast to growing the vegetables in his backyard. He wanted to see what it was like to enjoy food with the shortest food chain and in the way it was intended. Hunting, foraging, growing and harvesting things himself with nothing bought and no artificial anything. He called it the perfect meal, but admits that everyone could not eat like this all the time. I think we would be a lot healthier if we did though.

We have become too removed from our food. We don't want to think about how the steak we are eating for dinner actually came from a cow that had to be killed to feed us. We don't want to think about what is actually in a McDonald's hamburger or where our food came from. But we need to be thinking about - all of us. It seems our toughest decision is what to make for dinner - or alternately where to stop to pick up dinner on our way home. If only Americans knew what is happening to the animals that eventually become our meals. As Pollan puts it on the last page-

"But imagine for a moment if we once again knew, strictly as a matter of course, these few unremarkable things: What is it we're eating. Where it came from. How it found its way to our table. And what, in true accounting, it really cost."

I think that many changes would be demanded - and that would be a very good thing. I hope more people read The Omnivore's Dilemma - it should change how you think about food and hopefully, in turn, change some of what goes on before that food hits the grocery store.



Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • rickzimmerman profile image

      Rick Zimmerman 

      8 years ago from Northeast Ohio

      Great review, Jennifer! This will have to be one of my next reads. I'm now gaining on you; I've got 444 hubs, many with cartoons, humor & seasonal topics. (As a foodie, you should check out my Whopper Spaniel.) Regards, Rick Z

    • dallas93444 profile image

      Dallas W Thompson 

      8 years ago from Bakersfield, CA

      I thought eggs came from "egg plants." When I went on a field trip in the 6th grade to a slaughter house... I became "acquainted" with my food. It was gross... It was too up close and personal. I also remember growing vegetables in the 8th grade in an ag class. Warm, fresh tomatoes are the best !

    • LRobbins profile image

      Laurel 

      9 years ago from Germany

      Great review, I've wanted to read this book for a while now.

    • thelesleyshow profile image

      TheLesleyShow 

      9 years ago from US

      Excellent review! No amazon link to check it out for purchase? Thanks for the information!

    • kartika damon profile image

      kartika damon 

      9 years ago from Fairfield, Iowa

      I'm glad you wrote this hub because a friend has told me it is fantastic - really opened her eyes - this reminded me to look for it at the library! The issue of food and politics and the environment is definitely hot!

    • keira7 profile image

      keira7 

      9 years ago

      thank you for this verry nice hub.

    • Shelly McRae profile image

      Shelly McRae 

      9 years ago from Phoenix, Arizona

      Great review... I look forward to reading this book.

    • wesleycox profile image

      wesleycox 

      9 years ago from Back in Texas, at least until August 2012

      This sounds like a great book, I am going to have to read it. Thanks for the tip.

    • creativeone59 profile image

      benny Faye Douglass 

      9 years ago from Gold Canyon, Arizona

      Very good hub with advice we can all use. creativeone59

    • rebekahELLE profile image

      rebekahELLE 

      9 years ago from Tampa Bay

      this book is on my must read list. my son's girlfriend has the book and told me about it. I've read about him online and watched some of his videos. Amazing~ thanks for posting.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)