ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: The Language of Flowers By Vanessa Diffenbaugh

Updated on January 1, 2013

Synopsis ( A Tease)

The author, Vanessa Diffenbaugh, takes the reader on a magnificent sojourn that underscores the life of her main protagonist, Victoria Jones, a young girl who was a survivor of the state foster care system. Abandoned at birth and bounced around from one foster home to another left Victoria with many scars, among them an attachment disorder that caused her to mistrust everyone in her personal universe.

However, Victoria found her voice and calling through the language of flowers. Her native ability to commune with the lush gifts of nature by creating bouquets that relayed messages to those she met, helped her to find her voice from within and the trust she never knew before.

The author, Vanessa Diffenbaugh was quoted as saying that she chose the language of flowers for Victoria because the mystery around this form of communication was "emotionally safe" and well suited to this young woman, a young woman who had a hardship trusting anyone.


The Language of Flowers

I've often taken for granted the many beautiful bouquets I have received in my lifetime, or the plantings I select year after year to grow in my garden, never really understanding or knowing that each flower carries with it an important message. For instance, the fragrant lavender I cherish dearly and look forward to seeing annually means mistrust.This flower, known for its lovely scent, is seen in so many bath products, and juxtaposed in bathrooms in scores of bed and breakfasts everywhere. Clearly, this is not a message any merchant wants to send to their clientele. Yet, it appears as the scent of choice in so many places.

And, do you know that basil, a flourishing herb that is enjoyed by foodies everywhere and is a staple in the most aromatic and delicious Italian cuisine means hate? This undermined every fiber of my being. How could something that good translate to something so bad? To me, this was a conundrum.

Or, how about the treasured mistletoe where young and old are lured to exchange romantic pleasantries? Well, it means, I surmount all obstacles. Interesting, yes? Indeed! Think about that the next time someone shoves you under that mistletoe.

This language of flowers appears to have been around for many years. It was a Victorian era means of communication, whereby a bouquet of flowers encoded a message to a person that could not be otherwise spoken. And like the main protagonist in this featured book, I too have become enchanted with the study of flowers and their mysterious language, and it is my fervent hope that you too will be captivated by their innate essence and by their divine messages.





About the Author

Vanessa Diffenbaugh studied creative writing and education at Stanford University. She used her craft to teach art and writing to youth in low-income communities.Ms. Diffenbaugh is also a foster mom which lends credibility to her novel and in particular, to her main protagonist, Victoria Jones.

Although this is Vanessa Diffenbaugh's debut novel, she writes with the flair of a seasoned novelist. Her character development is so exacting, that you, the reader, really feel with intensity the emotions of these characters as you enter into their world. And, her knowledge of the language of flowers will tug at your heart as you absorb and prosper from the messages embedded in each creation.

This is a good read and one that you will savor for a long time after closing its pages. Therefore, without hesitation, I recommend, The Language of Flowers to those who endeavor to find the joy in learning about new subject matter within the context of multifaceted characters who teach you that there is beauty in nature far above the aesthetic. And, that we each have the power to be an additive force rather than a subtractiveforce to other human beings while traveling the globe.

Creating a Flower Dictionary of Your Own

Like Victoria Jones, you can use a box to house the illustrations and definitions or you can opt to create an album.

1 Photo Album

Card Stock (to fit album size)

Take Photos of Flowers or Paint/Draw the Flowers or Download from the Internet

Use a Cricut machine to create headings and Definitions or Type them with a Selected Font from your PC

Place the Heading on Top (Name of the Flower)

Put a Picture of the Flower Underneath the Heading (Name/Genus/Species)

Put the Definition Below the Picture

Resources to Follow

Use the Dictionary to Create Cards or Even Make Your Own Personal Bouquets and Potpourri

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    3 years ago from New York

    rebeccamealey I enjoyed this story tremendously. Flowers are healing.

  • rebeccamealey profile image

    Rebecca Mealey 

    3 years ago from Northeastern Georgia, USA

    I've heard of this book. It was good to read your review. Thanks. Love the flower dictionary idea!

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    5 years ago from New York

    teaches12345 Thanks for reading this hub. Hope you enjoy it too.

  • teaches12345 profile image

    Dianna Mendez 

    5 years ago

    This books is highly interesting to me. I just finished watching Hugo and the Dickinson era it is pulled from reminds me of the background of this book. I can't think of a better way to express oneself than with flowers.

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    5 years ago from New York

    GypsyRoseLee Thanks!

  • Gypsy Rose Lee profile image

    Gypsy Rose Lee 

    5 years ago from Riga, Latvia

    Voted up and interesting. A fascinating read. I enjoy books that inform. Passing this on.

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    5 years ago from New York

    breakfastpop Read and let's talk about it.

    Deb This is a great fictional novel that has as a theme, the language of flowers. I am going to used the flower dictionary to guide me in writing poetry. It is a lovely way to honor nature, so enjoy. Glad this proved to be a positive review.

  • Deborah Brooks profile image

    Deborah Brooks Langford 

    5 years ago from Brownsville,TX

    robin.. I love these kind of books.. anything to do with crafts.. what a great hub.. I will study this and see if I can make my own flower book.. love it

    sharing

    Debbie

  • breakfastpop profile image

    breakfastpop 

    5 years ago

    I know I will. Thanks again.

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    5 years ago from New York

    breakfastpop It is a really good read. There is also a theme and model for forgiveness too. The author is a wonderful writer. Hope you enjoy it too.

  • breakfastpop profile image

    breakfastpop 

    5 years ago

    Her book sounds like just my cup of tea. Thank you for the review and for your interesting hub. Happy New Year..

  • RobinGrosswirth23 profile imageAUTHOR

    Robin Grosswirth 

    5 years ago from New York

    Mhatter99 Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for the read and support.

  • Mhatter99 profile image

    Martin Kloess 

    5 years ago from San Francisco

    Thank you for this interesting review.

  • billybuc profile image

    Bill Holland 

    5 years ago from Olympia, WA

    Interesting, but I really just dropped by to wish you a very Happy New Year! I hope this year is filled with happiness for you my friend. Thank you for your friendship this past year.

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)