ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review: Think and Grow Rich by Napoleon Hill

Updated on September 8, 2010
Napoleon Hill - The author of "Think and Grow Rich"
Napoleon Hill - The author of "Think and Grow Rich"

The Book that Spawned an Industry

"All impulses of thought have a tendency to clothe themselves in their physical equivalent"

Sometimes it's good to go back to the source. If you've seen "The Secret" and read all the blurbs then you may know that much of the information has directly or indirectly taken from "Think and Grow Rich". Before you throw down big bucks on yet another course it is definitely worth going back and reading the original text.

I should mention that the version of the book I am reviewing is the 1937 original text. I picked up a copy in the late 1980s in a second hand bookstore, and read part of it before putting it back in the bookshelf, because something disturbed me. I couldn't remember what that was until I re-read the book this week, but I'll go more into that later. I know that there have been several revisions to the book in the meantime, so this review will not take those into account.

Napoleon Hill is a man of firm and definite beliefs. He spent 20 years studying successful men and how they thought before writing this book. The year was 1936, and America was just coming out of the Great Depression. This book was just in time for the turn around in fortunes, and published only 2 years before war was declared in Europe. The effects of the Great Depression can be felt just by reading this book, some of the desperation of the time seeps in. Hill tells us how it was a mindset rather than economic reality that led to the fall of fortunes of so many individuals.

He wrote this book to reveal what rich men do that others do not to succeed. It's about thought, and how that leads to action, which in turn leads to wealth. He breaks down the formula to success into 13 principles:

  1. Desire
  2. Faith
  3. Autosuggestion
  4. Specialized Knowledge
  5. Imagination
  6. Organized Planning
  7. Decision
  8. Persistence
  9. The Master Mind
  10. The Mystery of Sexual Sublimation
  11. The Subconscious Mind
  12. The Brain
  13. The Sixth Sense

His passion and belief in his life's work bound off every page. It's hard not to get swept up in Hill's enthusiasm for his principles. He shows you how to make them work for you, and how you need to change your thinking if you are ever going to succeed.

"Think and Grow Rich" is also a product of its time. When I picked this book out of a box the other day I couldn't remember what it was that had caused me to not finish reading it the first time. Some of Hill's views disturbed me. There is one section where the racism in the book is overt. In fact, I recall now, this is the reason I didn't finish the book the first time. I got to this part, and was so apalled that I couldn't read any further. This time I cringed and kept on reading, because I wanted to see what else Hill had to say.

When he starts talking about the place of women, I had was finding it hard to push on as well. It wasn't until I recalled that this book was written before women had even got the vote in the United States that I managed to mentally step back and continue on. It's possible that some of these sections have been edited in later editions, but without reading the revised versions I can't be sure.

This book is one of the first motivational self-help books. If you are working with the Law of Attraction then it's worth getting a copy and reading it for yourself. You will need to adjust what he has to say for the world we live in today. You'll be surprised just how much of the courses and books you see on this subject come directly from this book.

This book is well worth adding to your collection, either as a historical curiosity, or to use as a base for your studies into the Law of Attraction. Napoleon Hill certainly knew his stuff, and wasn't afraid to speak his mind, and because of that it is an interesting read. If you do get it take your time reading and have a notebook handy or a highlighter. There's more depth here than you see in the first round of reading.

Comments

Submit a Comment

  • profile image

    lali chouksey 

    6 years ago

    this book is very inspiring.

    thank u mr.hill

  • profile image

    WILLIS BONDO 

    7 years ago

    I have managed to read this and its true the book is very inspirational and development oriented. It gives very important hints on prosperity.Since we live alife of desperity, one do not need to apply every concept he/she gets from this book but which is relevant depending on what one does.

  • profile image

    jules henry 

    8 years ago

    THE LATE R A ALBERT, FOUNDER OF THE MISS WEST INDIES IN GREAT BRITAIN BEAUTY PAGAENTS (1963- 1993) WAS A GREAT FAN!

  • profile image

    scheng1 

    8 years ago

    It's a great book. I've read it twice and make it a point to read it every year.

  • profile image

    Ken at Free TGRbook.com 

    8 years ago

    I am studying this book. My biggest Goal is be successful like so many other people who read this book. But reading must be followed up by following the 13 steps which are in book. I am in a mastermind group which helps having positive people around you supporting each other.

    ken J meakin

    twitter

    facebook

    http://www.FreeTGRbook.com/KENMEAKIN

  • Hovalis profile imageAUTHOR

    Hovalis 

    8 years ago from Australia

    I must go and have a look for that one. Thanks WestOcean! :-)

  • WestOcean profile image

    WestOcean 

    8 years ago from Great Britain

    They say there is nothing new under the sun... I would also recommend Emmet Fox's Seven Day Mental Diet for another classic pre-war New Thought classic. The text is available online.

  • Hovalis profile imageAUTHOR

    Hovalis 

    9 years ago from Australia

    That's the thing I found as well. There are parts I agree with and parts that almost make me want to cringe. I think it is good to remember the decade in which this book was written when reading it. Opinions change over time, and so do sensibilities. What was considered normal and acceptable then isn't now. It can throw you when you read this book.

  • marcofratelli profile image

    marcofratelli 

    9 years ago from Australia

    I'm reading this book at the moment and taking some good statements out of it as I go - reading a book with a highlighter is a good idea. I have also come across statements/views/opinions that I disagree with or find offensive. One of them is where Napoleon describes Jesus as "a dreamer".

working

This website uses cookies

As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

Show Details
Necessary
HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
Features
Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
Marketing
Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
Statistics
Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)