ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review - Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen by Jane Hawking

Updated on February 7, 2018

Why I Chose to Read Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen

I can tell you it wasn’t because of the mathematics, physics, or cosmology. Just the mere thought of anything with numbers or science is enough to send me into a brown paper bag breathing session.

That is only half a joke.

I have the Oscars to thank for this choice in book. With Eddie Redmayne up for Best Actor in The Theory of Everything, the movie adaption of Jane Hawking’s memoir, I got curious. I find other people fascinating and love learning about their lives, what sort of things they’ve gone through, how they dealt with and overcame obstacles in their lives. And honestly, what could be more intriguing that learning more about the man who’s lived far longer than anyone ever expected given that the life expectancy for ALS sufferers is three to five years once the symptoms begin. Stephen Hawking has lived with the disease for over fifty years.

**The e-book version I read was released in 2007. The movie tie-in edition, released November 7, 2014, may have additional information.

Eddie Redmayne on Playing Stephen Hawking - Ellen Show

Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen isn’t just about Stephen Hawking. Obviously. I hadn’t even known he’d been married, but it was intriguing to me, a marriage under the circumstances of Stephen’s illness. I’m a bit of a voyeur and I wanted to know what it was like for his illness to be such a large part of their lives. I hadn’t realized how large a part it played until I discovered that they’d gotten married shortly after Stephen’s diagnosis. Jane Hawking went into this marriage knowing full well Stephen’s illness was terminal.

How ballsy and selfless is that? Have to give credit where credit is due. I’m not sure many people would undertake such an endeavor. I’m not sure I would. Or could.

By NASA [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By NASA [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons | Source

The Review

Stephen Hawking is both a theoretical physicist and cosmologist. For the uninitiated (like your humble reviewer) a theoretical physicist uses mathematics to explain naturally-occurring phenomena and a cosmologist studies how the universe was created, how it evolved, and how it might end. There are probably more involved and better explained definitions of each, but for the sake of not getting bogged down, simplistic is probably better. Most people will know Stephen Hawking as the man in the wheelchair who uses a computer-generated voice to communicate, even if they know nothing else about him.

As the title suggests, Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen by Jane Hawking is a memoir, and it does, indeed, offer a rare glimpse into the time Jane spent married to Stephen. Told from Jane’s point of view, it offers a rare glimpse into the life of a man who’s beat the odds living with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS) and the toll his illness takes not only on him, but on everyone around him, especially Jane who handles his physical needs as his abilities decline on top of raising their children and traveling with him across the globe to attend conferences and schools and other meetings designed to further Stephen’s career.

TED Talks - Stephen Hawking: Questioning the Universe

The memoir bits are sometimes difficult to follow thanks to the seemingly extraneous information Ms. Hawking includes—information about physics and music and old composers and long-dead poets and other luminaries in various fields. Certainly these things played a large role in both her life and Stephen’s given their respective intellectual pursuits, but the vast majority of the time it’s unclear as to why she includes this information, especially to the extent she does. There is little effort made to tie the various intellectual threads into their daily lives or how they tie into the overall point she’s trying to make.

BBC 4 Radio Interview with Jane Hawking

Making these tangents all the more problematic is Ms. Hawking’s writing style, which comes across far more formal than informal. She’s very matter of fact and doesn’t hold back on her opinions and thoughts, but the presentation feels emotionally-lacking. It’s doubtful anyone would blame her for maintaining an emotional disconnect given the stress she must have been under, but readers may find it difficult to form an emotional attachment to the “characters” and the trials they go through. From fighting the National Health Service for the care Stephen needed (and still needs), having to make their own arrangements for his care, the effect being the primary caregiver while raising a family had on her, to battling his parents and siblings along the way, this is heavy-duty emotional “stuff” and the emotional impact must have been overwhelming. Yet the emotionless writing style lends itself to the impression that Ms. Hawking constantly plays the victim/martyr and Mr. Hawking is the perpetual jerk who believes his own hype. Because the memoir is from Ms. Hawking’s perspective, that’s to be expected to some extent, but it’s troubling she doesn’t delve too closely into her own shortcomings. Jane’s all come across as being solely due to her own feelings of inadequacy brought to the surface by those around her rather than even the slightest bit of her own accord. In short, it doesn’t seem like she takes any personal responsibility for herself, her own actions, and her own choices.

Stephen Hawking ALS Ice Bucket Challenge

Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen is an “abridged version of the original memoir”—the original memoir being Music to Move the Stars. Ms. Hawking includes a “Postlude” dated February 2007 that fills in the gaps between the time Music to Move the Stars (1999) and Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen were released. She speaks to what her, and Stephen’s, children are doing, how Stephen’s life is intertwined with theirs, and what happened to some of the other major players in their lives.

Overall, Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen does tell of Jane’s and Stephens lives together, how they met, what transpired during their marriage as Stephen’s health took a dramatic nosedive, and Ms. Hawking unabashedly relates the trials and tribulations they endured, but the emotional connection typically expected from a memoir isn’t there. That being said, their story is interesting and well worth reading, but there are tangential threads that aren’t tied into their story as well as they could have been.

The Verdict Explained

Positives

  • An interesting glimpse into the lives of Jane Hawking and her ex-husband Stephen
  • Unabashed look at living with ALS, for both the sufferer and the caregiver

Negatives

  • Lack of emotional connection for the reader
  • Tangential threads that aren't as connected to the story as they could be


The Verdict

3 stars for Travelling to Infinity: My Life with Stephen

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • kjpiercetrc profile imageAUTHOR

      KJ Pierce 

      2 weeks ago from Central Florida

      Hi, Gilbert.

      Thanks for stopping by! I'm glad you enjoyed my book review - I must admit, I'm not up on studying space exploration, but I love learning about people, and you're right... Stephen Hawking is definitely fascinating. I've no doubt the strain Jane endured was immense. I'm pretty sure most people would have buckled underneath it.

    • rebelogilbert profile image

      Gilbert Arevalo 

      2 weeks ago from Hacienda Heights, California

      I enjoyed your article K.J Pierce. I love to study space exploration and Stephen Hawking is a fascinating individual. You provided interesting videos. I sense from the BBC interview that Jane Hawking endured an enormous amount of strain trying to control the conditions surrounding her husband. She probably felt emotionally drained from her responsibilities.

    • kjpiercetrc profile imageAUTHOR

      KJ Pierce 

      12 months ago from Central Florida

      Hi, Catherine.

      Thanks for taking the time to read my review! Where did you write about Stephen Hawking and "The Grand Design"? I think he's interesting, too, though I'm more interested in the human aspects rather than the scientific aspects (mostly because I suck at Science, as interesting as I might find it lol). Enjoy your further reading! :-)

    • CatherineGiordano profile image

      Catherine Giordano 

      12 months ago from Orlando Florida

      I read your review with interest. I saw the movie and I just finished writing about Stephen Hawking and his book "The Grand Design." It made me want to know more about him so I think I will read his autobiography as well as Jane's memoir.

    • kjpiercetrc profile imageAUTHOR

      KJ Pierce 

      3 years ago from Central Florida

      Thanks Cornelia. Hope you enjoy it!

    • CorneliaMladenova profile image

      Korneliya Yonkova 

      3 years ago from Cork, Ireland

      Great review, I am going to search for this book today. Looks really intriguing :) Voted high :)

    • kjpiercetrc profile imageAUTHOR

      KJ Pierce 

      3 years ago from Central Florida

      Hi jlpark - you're very welcome - and thanks to you for leaving a comment. I haven't yet seen the movie, so you're one step ahead of me there. :-) If you decide to read it, I'd love to hear what you think.

    • jlpark profile image

      Jacqui 

      3 years ago from New Zealand

      Thanks for your review on this book. I've recently watched the Theory of Everything, and was thinking about reading it. I may still do so, but with warning of the lack of emotional connection from Jane to her reader - I will be better prepared.

      Thanks for sharing this.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)