ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel
  • »
  • Books, Literature, and Writing»
  • Books & Novels

Book Review - WARM BODIES by Isaac Marion

Updated on July 19, 2012
Source

I am dead, but it's not so bad. I've learned to live with it.

I mentioned in my last review how a few writers are getting noticed through self publishing, by either posting their novels on blogs or using the free e-book service on digital readers. The industry seems to be finding some gems with this method: Amanda Hocking being one example and the FIFTY SHADES OF GREY trilogy being another. Now Isaac Marion can add his name to the list with his debut zombie tale, WARM BODIES.

A ploy on Shakespeare's ROMEO & JULIET, R is a zombie who can't remember his name, just the first initial. When he's not hunting for food with his "best friend" he knows as M, R hangs around the 747 he's made home or riding the escalator in the airport where the zombies have made their main base. By no means is R your typical reanimated corpse. He strives to remember his previous life with little luck and merely goes through the motions as a zombie. He doesn’t really want to keep doing what he’s doing, but he also doesn’t want to fully die either. It's only through the collectibles he takes from trips into the city that allows him to recall any semblance of a life before death.

During a routine hunt, R and M's horde come across a group of survivors salvaging supplies. R eats a young man and doesn't think much of it until he bites the brain and is thrown into the kid’s memories. His name is Perry and he’s had a troubled life with the exception of one shining light: Julie, his girlfriend. When R sees Julie among the group, he rescues her, actually speaking her name, and manages to keep her alive until they return to the airport where he brings her to his “home.” With R swearing to protect her, he and Julie form an odd friendship, one that pushes R to think beyond what he knows. Can he truly break away from his zombie instincts and reintegrate into society or will his lust for Julie lead him to devour her as he did her boyfriend?

Marion originally self published WARM BODIES and sold it on his website until Simon & Schuster acquired the rights in 2010. I cannot say it enough: Why is real talent so often found hidden behind the same stories published day in and day out? Marion’s writing is amazing. It’s such a simple declaration, but it’s true. I found myself really falling into R’s mind as well as Perry’s since the dead teen just won’t seem to leave R alone. He wants him to look into his memories and through them R continues to learn there’s definitely more to the afterlife than what he thought. Suspenseful, bloody, funny, and romantic, WARM BODIES is at best a story for the horror fan who likes odd, quirky relationships throw into the mix. Aside from Julie, R and M have their own classic exchanges. And some of Perry’s inner conscious remarks to R are the perfect blend of comical and thought-provoking.

While some may be turned off by the idea of another zombie novel, I beg of you to give WARM BODIES a try. Not only does Marion throw in an interesting twist on the term “zombie,” but he also manages to create a unique, and at times weird, romance that works. Some may argue the connection between R and Julie is gross, yet for me the real beauty in their relationship was how they help each other grow. During certain moments you almost forget R is a zombie and that the world around them is falling apart. You fall in love right alongside them and root for them in the end. And now you’ll be able to root for them on screen for a movie adaption of WARM BODIES is planned for a February 2013 release. Aw, just in time for Valentine’s Day. Starring Nicholas Hoult, Teresa Palmer, Rob Corddry, Dave Franco, Analeigh Tiption, and John Malkovich, the film is being directed by Jonathan Levine (50/50).

Nicholas Hoult as R in the WARM BODIES movie adaption due out February 2013
Nicholas Hoult as R in the WARM BODIES movie adaption due out February 2013 | Source

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • jessramblings profile image
      Author

      jessramblings 5 years ago from New Jersey

      Thank you very much! Yeah, I love doing book reviews. And thanks for the name. He sounds familiar. I'll look into it.

    • carol7777 profile image

      carol stanley 5 years ago from Arizona

      You write great reviews. If you ever need help with marketing book..John Kremer is the man if you have not heard of him. Since I have read so many books I am thinking about doing more reviews. You set the pace here.

    • jessramblings profile image
      Author

      jessramblings 5 years ago from New Jersey

      Thanks! Yeah, I love books that give new twists to something we know so well, but also keep close to the original idea. This book definitely does that. I hope you enjoy it when you pick it up.

    • Jenna Kunc profile image

      Jenna Kunc 5 years ago from Colorado

      This sounds like an interesting book; a bit different from the typical zombie story. Great review! I'm definitely going to read this one.

    working

    This website uses cookies

    As a user in the EEA, your approval is needed on a few things. To provide a better website experience, hubpages.com uses cookies (and other similar technologies) and may collect, process, and share personal data. Please choose which areas of our service you consent to our doing so.

    For more information on managing or withdrawing consents and how we handle data, visit our Privacy Policy at: "https://hubpages.com/privacy-policy#gdpr"

    Show Details
    Necessary
    HubPages Device IDThis is used to identify particular browsers or devices when the access the service, and is used for security reasons.
    LoginThis is necessary to sign in to the HubPages Service.
    Google RecaptchaThis is used to prevent bots and spam. (Privacy Policy)
    AkismetThis is used to detect comment spam. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide data on traffic to our website, all personally identifyable data is anonymized. (Privacy Policy)
    HubPages Traffic PixelThis is used to collect data on traffic to articles and other pages on our site. Unless you are signed in to a HubPages account, all personally identifiable information is anonymized.
    Amazon Web ServicesThis is a cloud services platform that we used to host our service. (Privacy Policy)
    CloudflareThis is a cloud CDN service that we use to efficiently deliver files required for our service to operate such as javascript, cascading style sheets, images, and videos. (Privacy Policy)
    Google Hosted LibrariesJavascript software libraries such as jQuery are loaded at endpoints on the googleapis.com or gstatic.com domains, for performance and efficiency reasons. (Privacy Policy)
    Features
    Google Custom SearchThis is feature allows you to search the site. (Privacy Policy)
    Google MapsSome articles have Google Maps embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    Google ChartsThis is used to display charts and graphs on articles and the author center. (Privacy Policy)
    Google AdSense Host APIThis service allows you to sign up for or associate a Google AdSense account with HubPages, so that you can earn money from ads on your articles. No data is shared unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Google YouTubeSome articles have YouTube videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    VimeoSome articles have Vimeo videos embedded in them. (Privacy Policy)
    PaypalThis is used for a registered author who enrolls in the HubPages Earnings program and requests to be paid via PayPal. No data is shared with Paypal unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook LoginYou can use this to streamline signing up for, or signing in to your Hubpages account. No data is shared with Facebook unless you engage with this feature. (Privacy Policy)
    MavenThis supports the Maven widget and search functionality. (Privacy Policy)
    Marketing
    Google AdSenseThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Google DoubleClickGoogle provides ad serving technology and runs an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Index ExchangeThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    SovrnThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Facebook AdsThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Unified Ad MarketplaceThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    AppNexusThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    OpenxThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Rubicon ProjectThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    TripleLiftThis is an ad network. (Privacy Policy)
    Say MediaWe partner with Say Media to deliver ad campaigns on our sites. (Privacy Policy)
    Remarketing PixelsWe may use remarketing pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to advertise the HubPages Service to people that have visited our sites.
    Conversion Tracking PixelsWe may use conversion tracking pixels from advertising networks such as Google AdWords, Bing Ads, and Facebook in order to identify when an advertisement has successfully resulted in the desired action, such as signing up for the HubPages Service or publishing an article on the HubPages Service.
    Statistics
    Author Google AnalyticsThis is used to provide traffic data and reports to the authors of articles on the HubPages Service. (Privacy Policy)
    ComscoreComScore is a media measurement and analytics company providing marketing data and analytics to enterprises, media and advertising agencies, and publishers. Non-consent will result in ComScore only processing obfuscated personal data. (Privacy Policy)
    Amazon Tracking PixelSome articles display amazon products as part of the Amazon Affiliate program, this pixel provides traffic statistics for those products (Privacy Policy)