ArtsAutosBooksBusinessEducationEntertainmentFamilyFashionFoodGamesGenderHealthHolidaysHomeHubPagesPersonal FinancePetsPoliticsReligionSportsTechnologyTravel

Book Review of Enslaved by Ducks by Bob Tarte

Updated on June 18, 2013
Book Cover
Book Cover | Source

Not many books strike me with a heartwarming interest to review them, but this one has done just that. For those of you that know me, are aware that the first thing on my mind is birds and animals, so this book up for review has got to be about those creatures. Undoubtedly, you are correct.

I was handed this book by a friend that told me that I would love it, that it was right up my alley. Well, Jeannie, you were right.

“Enslaved by Ducks” is truly the sort of book that any animal lover would truly enjoy reading. It brings a smile to one’s face, an ever-knowing nod when a certain animal situation occurs, and the deepest understanding that only an animal person can ever elicit as a species.

Get Your Own Copy

This wonderful book by Bob Tarte shows how a person totally unacquainted with animals can quickly learn that they all have different persona and their own way of doing things. This man married an animal lover, and was quickly injected into the world of what it means to care for animals, deeply and unequivocally.

He specifically begins this book with a cast of animal characters, and there are certainly many. The saga begins with cats and rabbits, and soon moves on to parrots, doves, canaries, parakeets, European Starlings, ducks, geese, and turkeys. If I have left any out, I apologize to Bob, Linda, and the animals affected.

Bob quickly learns that all these wonderful creatures are far from the same. They all possess temperaments, and experience both happiness and sadness, along with other specific emotions in between. Both Bob and Linda Tarte go through a myriad of events with these animals, some that have passed on and others that are still quite full of life and spunk.

Meet Bob Tarte

They learned a great deal from rehabilitators and veterinarians, and certainly spared no expense on giving these wonderful animals the quality of life that they deserved. They provided care above and beyond what many other people do.

There are many entertaining stories that we can all learn from within these pages, and other stories that are quite sad that we will still get something from.

We will also learn about the intelligence factor of animals and how some of them actually played an important part in the lives of both Bob and Linda.

I’d like to end with this fact: animals will always enrich our lives, both domestic and wild. Opening one’s heart, like Bob Tarte did, to life like he never dreamed about until he married Linda, shows the true beauty of humanity. Not only that, they made a huge difference in the lives of some misfit animals that were unwanted in this world. We can all reach that wonderful pinnacle of caring.

This book is an excellent read for those of us that love animals, those that are curious about them, and people that just want to experience life on the other side of humanity. “Enslaved by Ducks” is a five-star must-read out of five stars according to my standards.

Comments

    0 of 8192 characters used
    Post Comment

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Il n'y a aucune gratification instantanée dans le monde des animaux, Jonghun.

    • profile image

      Jonghun 2 years ago

      Non mais euh, y en a qui voudraient tout tout de suite on diairt Le meilleur, c est l attente je trouve, je m en pourle8che de9je0 les babines de ces tartes !PS: et alors on est de9je0 mercredi et la suite n est pas blogue9e mais qu est ce que c est que ce travail Mr Long ? !!!

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 2 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Merci beaucoup pour votre soutien.

    • profile image

      Lucy 2 years ago

      Est-ce qu il va y avoir des projections de fanire ? Est-ce que Kystes va renverser son saladier sur la teate d Adeline? Ou l inverse?Jusqu of9 ira la bataille?La tension est palpable, ils ont l air chaud les concurrents!Ouh, j en peux plus, c est trop drf4le, j attends la suite. Bravo.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thanks, Shanti! I sent Bob an e-mail of the article when I did it, but he has slow internet, so I hope he was able to read it.

    • Shanti Perez profile image

      Shanti Perez 4 years ago from Spokane, Washington, U.S.A.

      Super!

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      gamby, the book is wonderful and so light hearted in many places.

    • gamby79 profile image

      gamby79 4 years ago

      After having read this and watched the video I definitely plan on reading this book! Thanks for sharing.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Yes, Johan, by all means. Sounds like something that I would like?

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Thanks, mhatter, glad that you enjoyed it.

    • Johan Smulders profile image

      Johan Smulders 4 years ago from East London, South Africa

      Will look out for the book. Sounds facinating. There is a book about birding called 'the tribe' that I need to also review and recommend. Thanks!

    • Mhatter99 profile image

      Martin Kloess 4 years ago from San Francisco

      good review. thank you

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Yes, Jeannie, that is wing droop. I don't know if the wing is broken or what. We also have a limper in the clan, too.

    • profile image

      Jeannie Dibble 4 years ago

      Thanks so much Deb for this wonderful book review. As I mentioned to you that I found this wonderful book at a thrift store and it was the cover that pulled me closer to pick the book up ...I only had to read the cast of characters to be hooked.

      I love to pass my books on if worthy and this one certainly ended up in the right hands...I wish Bob and Linda lived in our Boomer Lake neighborhood..I saw a young Canada on Sat. with a wing hanging kind of low...

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Yes, Joyce. Read this book AND write your story!

    • writer20 profile image

      Joyce Haragsim 4 years ago from Southern Nevada

      This sounds right my alley and maybe it will get head back to writing my children's stories with animals talking.

      Voted up awesome and interesting, Joyce.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Nettlemere, you will love it. There's plenty of humor in there and it is a really easy read.

    • aviannovice profile image
      Author

      Deb Hirt 4 years ago from Stillwater, OK

      Glad to hear it, Letitia. It's infectious, isn't it?

    • Nettlemere profile image

      Nettlemere 4 years ago from Burnley, Lancashire, UK

      I'm certainly putting this book on my wanted list. Having kept ducks myself the title's a winner and your description makes it a 'must read'.

    • LetitiaFT profile image

      LetitiaFT 4 years ago from Paris via California

      This sounds like a wonderful book! I married someone with no interest in animals and now he brings home cat toys when he's not rescuing starling hatchlings from the beaks of carrion crows!

    Click to Rate This Article